Smoking in Pubs after hours

12345679»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Nerro

The fact is smokers have crappy sense of smell, and the fact is that smokers are disgustingly smelly, in fact I've often noticed they have a fair bit of BO and they don't seem to notice. Its just a fact that smokers are reeking and their yellow teeth and fingers make them repulsive not only to smell, but to look at too.

Only a complete and utter moron would smoke these days, in fact anybody taking up smoking in the last 20 years deserves all they get when they suffer an agonising death from whatever smoking related illness they get. Self-inflicted and they deserve no more respect than the junkie in the street.

Death to all smokers and lets ban it! The best way to start would be to simply hire hit squads, they would roll up and take aim while the stinking smokers are standing outside having a puff. This smoking ban makes it nice and easy for the hit squads to clean up the streets!

I would not even want paid for it, I would volunteer to take aim, bonuses for head shots! I think people should be tested while pregnant, if they are smoking, then abort the pregnancy or if its too late then take the child of them.

Are you working full time or part time as an idiot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Nerro wrote: »
    Are you working full time or part time as an idiot?

Why work when the state provides such generous welfare support?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Report the pub to the Gardai and also to whatever organisation is responsible for the smoking laws enforcement as the publican is breaking so many laws the place should be shut down! There are not just laws regarding closing times and selling alcohol after hours but also health and safety at work for the employees as well as the health of others on the premises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Report the pub to the Gardai and also to whatever organisation is responsible for the smoking laws enforcement as the publican is breaking so many laws the place should be shut down! There are not just laws regarding closing times and selling alcohol after hours but also health and safety at work for the employees as well as the health of others on the premises.

Ah here, captain bringdown mcsquarepants, chill out people are just enjoying a late drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

foggy_lad wrote: »

Most pub's in Ireland would be shut down then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Most pub's in Ireland would be shut down then!

No they would not. Silly post. It is a fact that only a minority of pubs permit smoking and participate in lock ins. I have the official stats, so my opinion should be considered fact..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

No they would not. Silly post. It is a fact that only a minority of pubs permit smoking and participate in lock ins. I have the official stats, so my opinion should be considered fact..

You have the official stats on lock-ins? Can you pm me these pubs for next weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I work in the hospitality industry and the vast majority of my friends work in the industry and we are all aware of pubs having lock in in both rural/urban locations.
    The staff/management often decide if a lock in will take place depending on who's left(will they report it) in the pub at closing time depending on who's in the pub..
    I can think of countless bars that lock-ins take place in off the top of my head and smoking takes places in all of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

The fact is smokers have crappy sense of smell, and the fact is that smokers are disgustingly smelly, in fact I've often noticed they have a fair bit of BO and they don't seem to notice. Its just a fact that smokers are reeking and their yellow teeth and fingers make them repulsive not only to smell, but to look at too.

Only a complete and utter moron would smoke these days, in fact anybody taking up smoking in the last 20 years deserves all they get when they suffer an agonising death from whatever smoking related illness they get. Self-inflicted and they deserve no more respect than the junkie in the street.

Death to all smokers and lets ban it! The best way to start would be to simply hire hit squads, they would roll up and take aim while the stinking smokers are standing outside having a puff. This smoking ban makes it nice and easy for the hit squads to clean up the streets!

I would not even want paid for it, I would volunteer to take aim, bonuses for head shots! I think people should be tested while pregnant, if they are smoking, then abort the pregnancy or if its too late then take the child of them.

Dont post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭HelenV

I work in the hospitality industry and the vast majority of my friends work in the industry and we are all aware of pubs having lock in in both rural/urban locations.
    The staff/management often decide if a lock in will take place depending on who's left(will they report it) in the pub at closing time depending on who's in the pub..
    I can think of countless bars that lock-ins take place in off the top of my head and smoking takes places in all of these.

Feck, wish I was a bit younger. Bet they're good craic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I wonder if we'll ever have bars and clubs that stay open past 2AM in this country?

It's fúcking shocking that we don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭wally79

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    I wonder if we'll ever have bars and clubs that stay open past 2AM in this country?

It's fúcking shocking that we don't

There are clubs that stay open past 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

wally79 wrote: »
    There are clubs that stay open past 2.

There are pubs that do so too. Just not quite legally.

I work in the industry. Smoking ban is one of the best and worst things to happen in a while. Yes, smoking smells. Yes, it's bad for you. It also covers a multitude of other smells. The smell of beer sweat. The smell of ****e aftershave and perfume.

The smokers were driven to smoking areas. Then the smoking areas were all prettied up, and the non smokers followed, because that's where all the cool people were. And now they're bitching about that. (I'm not including smoking at the doors, because that's a bit manky.)

To be honest, the fine for having a person smoking on the premises is far outweighted by the risk of finding people on the property after hours. That could end up in a closure order, and big bastid fine. And the punters could be prosecuted as well.

I can, however, tell you that the bars around here that do well from the hotel staff are the ones that don't necessarily follow the guidelines. Think of it like this, you've just finished an 11 hour shift, along with 5 or 10 others, not including the chefs. You fancy a drink or 2. It's 11pm on a Tuesday, and you're off the next 2 days. What are you going to do, hit a pub that there may be a chance of a lockin, or go home to an empty bed. I know which I'd do.

You are already breaking the law, the proprietor is breaking the law, the staff are breaking the law. Few heads smoking? On the scale of things, it's the least of your worries.