How's Ye're Feet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Honestly never understood any sort of 'skincare routine' that anyone has.

I mean at a stretch I could understand (and I certainly do appreciate!) women wanting to have softer skin etc.

But in men I mean just.. what's the point like?

I don't even care about it being supposedly un-manly or whatever, I just do not see any utility in it, unless there is a medical reason of course.

It's f**king skin like! It's just there. It does it exactly what it says on the tin!

People say you should use moisturiser and that it will keep you looking younger for longer and all that but it's a load of bollocks if you ask me.

Bottom line is we are all going to look like **** when we get old, and no amount of snake oil is going to change that fact!

Well it does make your skin look nicer as well as feel nicer, better than dry and cracked and wrinkly.

But ye it is sorta puzzling the effort and expense people go to to make their skin look nicer from the outside. But if you really care about looking better as well as feeling better, you do that from the inside out, I.e. by what you eat. Not by putting expensive crap on your face. Its amazing what's socially acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

PLL wrote: »
    Does either that ped egg or micro pedi yoke work? I have so much hard dead skin on my feet it is painful... I really need recommendations on how to treat it

If its really bad you'd need to go to a chiropodist and have them remove it with either glycolic acid or a blade. Some beauty salons do a callus peel which is also good. Then you would use your micropedi to remove it when it's starting up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

:) My feet ..... (Don't click if ye easily disgusted)

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n201/ptpc/ThoseFeet_zps248cb413.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I like my feet, even though they are small and a bit broad. I am prone to hard skin though. I can keep it under control, by using a pumice stone and moisturising about 4 times a day, but that's about the only way. I find this regime a pain in the h*le, so sometimes I just embrace my inner hobbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

4 times a day, you must be kidding !
    I tried some of them dry heel creams and ointments, but if you look at the ingredients they're just glorified hand creams, grossly overpriced.
    I'm finishing the tube I have and not buying any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭catonthewire

Mine are aching at the moment...
    Walked the Walls at Derry yesterday, still recovering....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I have lovely feet, thankfully. :) I am very proud of them. I'd put up a pic but I don't want to come across as a sluh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

I felt bad for her when she turned blue in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. :)

That was Violet Beauregard. Verucca Salt was the other girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

My brother has a verruca on his foot that he lets the dog lick.

He's a strange fellow.

I heard that was the best cure for a verruca.

Just don't let the dog lick you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Mine are in good condition, I never really have them out , I wear shoes all the time. Not a fan of sandal wearing people, especially flip flops and the annoying squelching sound they make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

auldgranny wrote: »
    That was Violet Beauregard. Verucca Salt was the other girl.

Oops. Been a while since I watched it. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Feet are disgusting. They should be surgically removed at birth and replaced with hooves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Kelly06

yer all a pack of amateurs....If ye want to get rid of hard skin on your feet this is the stuff you need.....

http://sklep.podologiczny.pl/product-eng-7632-Lopalmed-Skin-softener-100-ml.html

all you do is put it on cotton wool and place on the callous after a few minutes the skin is soft enough to scrape off. Its great stuff alltogether....

also try these things

http://1000hour.com.au/products/softsole-exfoliating-foot-peel

a whole layer of skin falls off your feet after a week....its gross but weirdly satisfying at the same time....!!!!

I use one of these bad boys a couple of times a week to get rid of the rhino skin -
    http://s1.thcdn.com/productimg/0/600/600/33/10543933-1319653684-137106.jpg

And then slap on some body butter and your feet are as good as it gets. I paint the toenails in summer because pink toenails make me happy.

I don't like feet in general, and neglected ones are pretty gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

PLL wrote: »
    Does either that ped egg or micro pedi yoke work? I have so much hard dead skin on my feet it is painful... I really need recommendations on how to treat it

If you have a big build up of dead skin then the best thing to do is go to a chiropodist to get rid of it all because a Pedegg just won't cut it like his tools. They cost around €40 a visit which isn't cheap but trust me, you'll feel like you're walking on air afterwards. From there use the Pedegg as needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Muahahaha wrote: »
    If you have a big build up of dead skin then the best thing to do is go to a chiropodist to get rid of it all because a Pedegg just won't cut it like his tools. They cost around €40 a visit which isn't cheap but trust me, you'll feel like you're walking on air afterwards. From there use the Pedegg as needed.

Just had two sessions with a chiropodist to remove the armour plating that had built up on my feet from years of wearing steel toe cap and sole work boots. Now bouncing around like a ballerina. Saves a fortune in socks too so pays for itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 LeonKyr

I also had many problems while running trails... blisters... I was recommended callus remover gel from simon and tom.. really worked super fast for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

Plazaman wrote: »
    Lads and Ladies. How's ye're feet?

I've just gone to town on my heels with a PedEgg. WTF? Do Ye Have To Do This?

What's with heels? The PedEgg and it's cohorts have several ads so I'm assuming it's not just me.

Do you grate/cut/scrape your heels/foot/feet?

The real reason I ask is hopefully there's a way to reduce this growth? . I think I have cut a full grown baby of my heels in the last number of years (PS I'm aged 37+).

Plus I've have a peppermint and eucoylptis shít on the feet at the mo but as soon as I stood up to go to the jacks, I slid into the cabinet and broke some wine glasses.

HELP!

I grate and cut. Mine are awful. I tried an acid peel once it did nothing.

Bafucin wrote: »
    I grate and cut. Mine are awful. I tried an acid peel once it did nothing.

I did not cut anything, just gel based on argan oil from simon and tom. got it on amazon..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

en seeing as how (i'm given to understand) that wearing make up actually is fairly unhealthy for the skin in the first place.

Feel free to correct me though ladies as I am obviously not an expert!

If you're using anything but the worst muck, makeup is good for your skin. If it's halfway decent there's SPF in it and it makes your skin look better. At the end of the day, cleanse it all off, cleanse again and moisturize. It's only unhealthy for your skin if you're using one that's really crappy or really not suited to your skin type.
    4 times a day, you must be kidding !
    I tried some of them dry heel creams and ointments, but if you look at the ingredients they're just glorified hand creams, grossly overpriced.
    I'm finishing the tube I have and not buying any more.

They've different concentrations of the ingredients. They're actually quite a bit stronger than hand creams because the skin on your feet is a lot tougher than the skin on your hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Bafucin

I have no idea why mine get so bad. I am convinced it's genetic I must ask my brother..I would ask my sister but I think it's mostly men?

I do use a moisturizing cream almost every other day on them. The shower gel I use is supposedly moisturizing. Maybe its my footwear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

If you have smelly feet, mix 50:50 mouthwash/warm water and soak your feet. Feet smell no more. Great success.

Bafucin wrote: »
    I have no idea why mine get so bad. I am convinced it's genetic I must ask my brother..I would ask my sister but I think it's mostly men?

I do use a moisturizing cream almost every other day on them. The shower gel I use is supposedly moisturizing. Maybe its my footwear?

most probably it is foot wear. There are many articles about this subject at beautysolutions dot io in the blog section.