Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

And is it a touch up thing (30ml or so) you want or a larger quantity?

About 5 litres would do nicely, redoing the engine bay on the 900 see

Stheno wrote: »
    Ladies thanks, once we past puberty and can drive :pac:

And ladies :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

About 5 litres would do nicely, redoing the engine bay on the 900 see

You'd do an entire car with 5 litres. And possibly have some left over.

Even better!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Even better!

What are ya looking for?

2 pack paint it's called, I've only heard of it recently, no idea how it works, or where to get it, but I want to repaint my engine bay

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

2 pack paint it's called, I've only heard of it recently, no idea how it works, or where to get it, but I want to repaint my engine bay

Ah that's like something my mechanic mentioned, the OH had some wanker of a cyclist key him by the look of it, and apparently there is something similar available for touch ups.

Twas a different name.

Why paint the engine bay?

Ah that's like something my mechanic mentioned, the OH had some wanker of a cyclist key him by the look of it, and apparently there is something similar available for touch ups.

Twas a different name.

Why paint the engine bay?

Ah feck that :( also the reason is this

10mn6du.jpg

Rust spots all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Is the rust treated, or is it going to be a cover up job :pac: You gonna do it yourself?

Rust is being treated ;) and I'm gona do it....somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Vinny Byrne's do all types of paint. http://www.vinnybyrne.com/location It will take them a while to mix up 5 litres :eek:. Ask them about rust proofing they will be able to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

2K paint is highly toxic, if you buy it in spray cans dont even think of using it without a proper ventilator mask. The finish is better but you are just using it for the engine bay so I would not worry too much about the finish.

So I've been told, I need a mask, but they are pricy, and for one use i don't see the benefit of buying one, so would you know anyone i could borrow one from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Just dont use 2 pack paint, as I said the engine bay does not have to have a mirror finish, normal paint is fine.

Grand so, I'll look into getting a few cans made up, don't have the equipment so I'm being cheap :P

Hals?

Hals?

Probably, if i can get the gear i'll do it that way, but probably cans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Keep the cars safe people

While I was away today, seems some enchanting fellow pulled up at the house and was knocking on the door, then began snooping. He had a transit, with A frame.... Just as well the father was at home and made that chap feel very small before running him out of the place, well at least one of us was there to intimidate these wasters.

I like parking my car under the tree at the front of the house, keeps it cool, but I'll have to do keep it in the yard. Ideally park where the E34 is but these blasted alfas take so much room I can't even relocate my own car because of someone elses car. Marvelous :rolleyes:

I have it in the yard now, facing out, for tonight before I decide what to do tomorrow

Shower of useless f*cks, why can't they leave peoples cars alone :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

my plan was to wake up early tomorrow and go to an NDLS shop to apply for my licence with added category.

just took a gamble and went online and got a booking for in the morning in the closest center to me.

sweeeeet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

dgt wrote: »
    Keep the cars safe people

While I was away today, seems some enchanting fellow pulled up at the house and was knocking on the door, then began snooping. He had a transit, with A frame.... Just as well the father was at home and made that chap feel very small before running him out of the place, well at least one of us was there to intimidate these wasters.

I like parking my car under the tree at the front of the house, keeps it cool, but I'll have to do keep it in the yard. Ideally park where the E34 is but these blasted alfas take so much room I can't even relocate my own car because of someone elses car. Marvelous :rolleyes:

I have it in the yard now, facing out, for tonight before I decide what to do tomorrow

Shower of useless f*cks, why can't they leave peoples cars alone :mad:

Do you get many people in to see if stuff is for sale?

I got that a lot with my old lock up, was awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

I really, really hate people who borrow my car without permission.

And don't bother to fill it up with fuel again.

And the worst part. They're family. You just have to put up with it.

Me too, and when the mother puts make up all over everything, or when the father, when coming to a stop, doesn't drop down through the gears at all, 5th gear until the last moment and the car starts shuddering.

Being a passenger in your own car, when it's being driven badly by someone else is something that wrecks my nerves. Just want to kick them out.

Thankfully I've never been a passenger in my own car, because no one in my family drives except me :D

God I hope you never are, it's quite the unpleasant experience!!

Oh or when you get thick apes getting in and out of the car, who can't seem to grasp the concept of lifting the foot, instead dragging their feet off the weather strip, making it loose, ohh I could go on :mad:

God I hope you never are, it's quite the unpleasant experience!!

Oh or when you get thick apes getting in and out of the car, who can't seem to grasp the concept of lifting the foot, instead dragging their feet off the weather strip, making it loose, ohh I could go on :mad:

My family, extended family, cannot understand the ignition on my car, it scares them :pac: Nobody driving my car anytime soon!

I'm off on one. And the apes who like to bring a frigging sand pit with them into the car, and while in the car move their feet every 2 seconds, spreading said sand and muck all over the mats, carpet etc.

And those that slam the doors as hard as they can, eh it's not going to fall off... and then proceed to slam the roof of the car with their hand as a "gesture" :confused:

I'm off on one. And the apes who like to bring a frigging sand pit with them into the car, and while in the car move their feet every 2 seconds, spreading said sand and muck all over the mats, carpet etc.

And those that slam the doors as hard as they can, eh it's not going to fall off... and then proceed to slam the roof of the car with their hand as a "gesture" :confused:

:pac::pac::pac:

my brother is terrible for hopping doors, a taxi driver ate him once for it haha

Why are we up at this hour? My sleeping pattern is gone out the window...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's the heat.

Fortunately, the mammy won't touch the car anymore. Not after it 'tried to kill her'. She also hates the fact that it has to do more than 2000rpm to go anywhere.... it makes her uneasy in the passenger seat because she thinks I'm going 90, when I'm actually in second gear at 50kph....

It's one particular person who takes it. At least he can drive it properly - he owns a Kawasaki too, so he's not afraid to spin the nuts off it. That might even explain why it keeps going away....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Regardless of what car I own. I would not let anybody touch it. Even if it's just to move it for 2 seconds.

I'm the guy that always have my keys in my pocket and nobody can get near them.

Regardless of car id flip if ssomeone took it