Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Engine bay cleaned !

Didnt know I had to submit a second medical report for my licence :( just did one just over a month ago.

Trying to figure out where the coolant leak in my car is.... body repair people said top rad hose but ford never sold any :/ so want to find out which hose it is that's leaking but I think I need a coolant bottle compression pump thing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

dgt wrote: »
    Keep the cars safe people

Shower of useless f*cks, why can't they leave peoples cars alone :mad:

Did you notice all the stolen cars mentioned in that article seem to follow a certain profile, I wounder if a new market for small RHD cars has opened up somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'm off on one. And the apes who like to bring a frigging sand pit with them into the car, and while in the car move their feet every 2 seconds, spreading said sand and muck all over the mats, carpet etc.

And those that slam the doors as hard as they can, eh it's not going to fall off... and then proceed to slam the roof of the car with their hand as a "gesture" :confused:

Worse again - People shutting coupé doors by the glass :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Certain people are mad driven for closing threads around here.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Certain people are mad driven for closing threads around here.......

Huh?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Huh?

I dunno maybe it's just me, but there's at least one thread closed per day by the same person, usually needlessly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Worse again - People shutting coupé doors by the glass :mad:

giphy.gif

And to add to this, people reaching back for the seatbelt and hitting the belt handover arm even though you have told them THOUSANDS of times to just wait for the belt!!! Fvcking :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Turns out the dump valve which I thought was a cheap thing is a full Forge recirc unit with a spacer. How do i tell if a recirc valve is fecked?

Edit:
    Ok i now dont think it is the recirc valve, think there is a leak somewhere as every time I put the boot down I can hear the turbo sucking in air mad but the revs arent going up/no power increase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭stuba

Was just driving my Passat and was moving from 2nd to 3rd when I got a sudden loss of power and the EPC light came on with warning signs on the screen. Car has lost most power and struggling to get to 2000 rpm. I have it less than a month and is still under warranty. Can anyone enlighten me to what may have gone wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

stuba wrote: »
    Was just driving my Passat and was moving from 2nd to 3rd when I got a sudden loss of power and the EPC light came on with warning signs on the screen. Car has lost most power and struggling to get to 2000 rpm. I have it less than a month and is still under warranty. Can anyone enlighten me to what may have gone wrong?

From a quick search, and i mean quick, it sounds like your maf is buggered, if you get it hooked up to a diagnostics kit it'l be able to point to the code being thrown up, it does sound like a maf issue though from what i can remember on here

Cheers just after starting up the car again there and have noticed the EPC light has gone off and now the fault in the exhaust light has come on. A disaster of a time to happen (not saying it's ever a great time) with every place being closed till monday morning now, literally just happened in the last 30 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

A new qashqai just passed me there is bad spec then there is this yoke. Wheel covers and no fog lights hardly high end features to expect. What wrecks my head the most is at least with a golf or astra or whatever if it doesn't have fogs a different grill plastic parts are used so at least it's not completly obvious it doesn't have them. But Nissan have the plastic moulded to take fog lights which makes it look really stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Turns out the dump valve which I thought was a cheap thing is a full Forge recirc unit with a spacer. How do i tell if a recirc valve is fecked?

Edit:
    Ok i now dont think it is the recirc valve, think there is a leak somewhere as every time I put the boot down I can hear the turbo sucking in air mad but the revs arent going up/no power increase

Check all boost pipes and make sure they're all secure. Also check them for splits.

Cheers just after starting up the car again there and have noticed the EPC light has gone off and now the fault in the exhaust light has come on. A disaster of a time to happen (not saying it's ever a great time) with every place being closed till monday morning now, literally just happened in the last 30 mins.

Nothing worse that it happening on a weekend, try get home and wait till monday is the only thing to do!

Bpmull wrote: »
    A new qashqai just passed me there is bad spec then there is this yoke. Wheel covers and no fog lights hardly high end features to expect. What wrecks my head the most is at least with a golf or astra or whatever if it doesn't have fogs a different grill plastic parts are used so at least it's not completly obvious it doesn't have them. But Nissan have the plastic moulded to take fog lights which makes it look really stupid.

Never seen one of them yokes with wheel trims, thought they had alloys as standard.

Yeah I'm just home now didnt happen too far from home thank god. A question, bought the car in Cork and living in Kerry, so do ye reckon if I got it looked down here in a main Vag dealer I'd be covered under the warranty? Bought it from a main dealer up there too and only have it less than a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Check all boost pipes and make sure they're all secure. Also check them for splits.

How many should there be? Was trying to check them all but its tight in the engine bay

Yeah I'm just home now didnt happen too far from home thank god. A question, bought the car in Cork and living in Kerry, so do ye reckon if I got it looked down here in a main Vag dealer I'd be covered under the warranty? Bought it from a main dealer up there too and only have it less than a month

I don't see why not! A guy on here got a gearbox done up north while he's from dublin or some place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I'd be ringing the dealer you bought t from but I doubt it.

Thats good to hear anyway. I'll be ringing the place I bought it from first thing monday morning to try sort something out. Cheers for your help man

I don't see why not! A guy on here got a gearbox done up north while he's from dublin or some place

Yeah but it was a Uk import so the warranty was with vw uk

Ah, well no harm trying like

When's top gear back?

I'd be ringing the dealer you bought t from but I doubt it.

Really? Balls.

Well I know of a bmw that need warranty work. Owner was in sligo, dealer was in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Depends - if it's a dealer supplied warranty they might give the permission for work to be done down there. But otherwise they'd do it themselves.

If it's a manufacturer backed scheme then it should usually cover in any dealership for that make like Toyotas does.

Cheers lads. Just took it out for a quick spin around the block there and everything has reverted back to normal. All the warning lights/signals gone off and power is back in the car. I'm going to ring them regardless Monday morning to see the story. It's only my first car so I'm nothing but a novice at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Cheers lads. Just took it out for a quick spin around the block there and everything has reverted back to normal. All the warning lights/signals gone off and power is back in the car. I'm going to ring them regardless Monday morning to see the story. It's only my first car so I'm nothing but a novice at the moment.

Sounds like limp mode, probable maf sensor, will come back given time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Today was a fine morning. Empty as usual so was going a bit above the speed limit.

Suddenly a guy in his late 40s in a CL65 AMG starts teasing me :D I guess his message was "Sonny, you don't stand a chance" :D

Awesome exhaust note from that Biturbo V12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Anybody know if there are any plans for another All The Way Round in the future? Failing that I think it'd be ace to do the Wild Atlantic Way.