I've been punched in the face, have you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Yup, few years ago, walking home on my own at like 3am, and some crazy dude shouting at his OH saw me across the road, walking home, not saying anything, just ran over to me and punched me about 4 times full force in the face for no reason, absolute PR!CK!

Never been hit or even been in a fight, didnt know what to do so ran, and he ran after me! Then he gave up, prob to beat the **** out of his poor girlfriend. Never forget it. Didnt know what to do. Black eyes an all.

I prob should have rung the cops on him for his girlfriend but was in so much shock I just went home.

my mate was "escorted" home by three scumbags once. They wanted him to go and give them money or they would beat him up. So he bought them back and his friend (my mate) who was a 6,4 second row rugby player took it from there:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Punched, kicked,bottled, hit with a hammer, my face has had more stitches than a pair of wranglers :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Walking to my car one night and two lads passing by grabbed my cap and punched me across the head. I went to my car and drove half mile up the road past them. Took out hurley, waited, smack each across the kneecap, retrieved cap. No further action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

*whispers* Hail Hy....no, that's the joke! :pac;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭dinorebel

A buck tried to once.

He broke his hand.
    Derek Chisora?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I was walking home last night, walked past three guys, and one of them just punched me in the face as he walked past. didn't rob me, didn't say anything, just punched me in the face.

I think I'll stay inside for a while

Have you ever been punched in the face for no reason? I would probably rate it about 2/10 and wouldn't recommend it to a friend

He was probably high as **** as were the two neanderthal cretins with him. People like these should be sent to a desert island where they can be complete retards with each other and let civilised society alone.

I'm sorry for what happened OP. I've seen things like this happen and was nearly involved in something like this myself one time but thankfully I escaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I got hit in the face once by a golf club (it was an accident though), and it broke one of my front teeth in half. Ended up getting the nerve removed and glued back together. Then a couple of years later some teenagers attacked me and chipped the other front tooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Several times for no reason, several more for a reason..

It's never fun though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I have a face people would love to punch, but it's attached to a body that most just decide to let it go. Having said that, I've had some right good clatters in the puss, a broken nose, etc etc. I have also hit a lot of lads over the years. It usually hurts, both my hand and their head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

^^

Is that how you got your username?

Pint glass in the face which miraculously didn't break.
    I had a circular cut around my left eye and cheek.
    Still have the scar on the cheek.

I was also blind sided and robbed one night, I woke up on the pavement minus a wallet and some cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

You need to do Krav Maga. You'd be aware of your surroundings and trained to instantly react to someone about to throw a punch at you.

That only works in Hollywood. In reality if you're in walking mode and somebody takes a swing at you without any provocation or lead-in you're simply going to get hit. Even if you've trained every day with Mr Miyagi you cannot raise your arms fast enough to block a strike which is only going to take 200ms to hit you. There's an interesting experiment on YouTube (but my account is too new to post a link here) which illustrates this point very well.

If you're very well trained in self-defence, and if you are ALWAYS aware of your circumstances you may have had the foresight to walk at more than arm's length from the outside of the threesome, thereby giving yourself perhaps a 30% - 40% chance of dodging the strike. If you engage at all in any kind of fight with them you're going to have your head stomped by all three guys. There is only one tactic that works in this situation and that's to run. Never mind your Krav Maga, just practise your sprinting and get the hell out of Dodge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 rg370

Used to live in Limerick City right next to Moyross.

Was walking down the street one night going to the shop with a few of the boys and these girls from were walking back towards Moyross and as we walked by decided to punch and kick all of us and throw anything they could find while screaming all sorts of ****.

You're usually a bit suspicious and prepare yourself for something when walking past the scumbags from there but we definitely weren't expecting punches in the face from girls. They might just throw a few little stones sometimes when you've walked past them but not punches and kicks.

They were anywhere from 6 - 13 years old. There was about 10 scumbags(all fellas) right at the entrance to the estate too so we just kept walking fast and didn't say much. It's a lovely place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

Have you ever been punched in the face for no reason?

I have been punched and kicked in the head a few times, but always in controlled training / competition situations. It's unpleasant, to say the least.

But compared to say, giving birth, a punch in the face is not so bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Kick in the nutsack is infiintely worse at the time, although nobody wants to be wandering around with shiner and swollen gub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Just the once and by a woman :|
    She was absolutely sh*t faced, came over to me in the pub and said I was the scumbag that bate her little brother, she then promptly put her drink down and gave me a proper punch that left me with a black eye. I was in absolute shock and both afraid and in awe over her.
    When my friends told her she had the wrong person and she realised it herself she got me a jäger bomb and fecked off- presumably to find the person that bate her brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

SVJKarate wrote: »
    But compared to say, giving birth, a punch in the face is not so bad.

but you get to keep the baby after :( my t shirt was a screen printed one that I really like but the ink will come out when its bleached :( so I don't even get to keep that.. so now I have no baby and no t shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I think the last time was at a festival, and when my ex dropped his fancy phone in the crowd he decided the only solution was to punch me in the face ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

Never been punched in the face. I'd like to think its cuz I look dead hard, but I, eh, doubt it...

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Not yet but I will. I don't think there will be any possibility of the person being found but it'll at least have it on file so they know to check up on that area in case these people do it all the time

Where did it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,773 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I was randomly punched in the face twice, once by a guy who thought his girlfriend was cheating on him with me and my friend.. punched us both to the ground and dragged her off screaming.. knew her to see, but didnt know her, found out a few days later that that's what it was over. Had a lovely shiner for ages after that and it actually got me noticed by another girl so he did me a favour.. the prick.

The second time was even more obscure, queuing up to use a phonebox (yep that long ago) and was randomly punched by the guy leaving it, broke one of my front teeth perfectly in half - i've got a crown there now :D

Bizarre hearing of it happening these days though i may just be getting old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Yes. When I was 17 I was walking along the road one evening to the train station when I passed a gang of ruffians sitting on the pavement. As I passed them they asked me if I'd like to buy some acid. I made the stupid mistake of answering them and said no thanks. A girl in the gang got annoyed by this and started following me, yelling abuse at me. She followed me for a quite a long way and became so threatening (I was a girl too and the same size as her) that I nipped into a phone box and called the police. While I was on the phone to them she opened the phone box door and punched me in the face. A 30-ish couple in the next phone box saw this and came to my rescue. When the police arrived I pointed the girl and the gang out to them but they denied it and the police just drove me to the train station.

Another time I was walking down a road in broad daylight and had to pass a gang of about 10 teenage boys. They yelled some abuse about the fact that I was wearing a heavy metal T shirt and then one of them hit me round the head full force with a lead pipe. When I got home my head was bleeding and bruised. I called the police and they found the boys no problem but they denied it so the police didn't do anything.

The police are great, aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You need to do Krav Maga. You'd be aware of your surroundings and trained to instantly react to someone about to throw a punch at you.

Self defence only works when you are expecting an attack or aware of someone posing a threat to you.. If someone punches you as you walk past there's very little you can do then as the damage has been done.
    Whether you then beat him up after he assaults you is irrelevant as the damage to you has already been done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My sister got me once because I dared to wake her up, she's an absolute bitch when she's half asleep and the thing is when she's like that the lights are on but there's nobody home so you can't even hold her responsible. Now of course she was half asleep so it wasn't like a precisely aimed full force punch, still though. It hurt.

Aside from that I don't think I've been hit in the face or hit anyone since I was a little kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I'm kinda grateful that I'm not a guy so I at least avoid getting punched by strangers, I have that going for me....which is nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Walking through dublin city a couple of weeks back some fella ran past me and punched me in the back of the head, just a random punch for no reason. I could hear him and his mates laughing as they ran past. I'm just glad I wasn't in heels that night as I would have gone flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Self defence only works when you are expecting an attack or aware of someone posing a threat to you.. If someone punches you as you walk past there's very little you can do then as the damage has been done.
    Whether you then beat him up after he assaults you is irrelevant as the damage to you has already been done.

It's not something you have it's something you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've never been punched, but I was on the receiving end of a headbutt which broke my nose, don't even know what the guy looked like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Walking to my car one night and two lads passing by grabbed my cap and punched me across the head. I went to my car and drove half mile up the road past them. Took out hurley, waited, smack each across the kneecap, retrieved cap. No further action
    I'd say two of those sentences are true. The first and the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Egginacup wrote: »
    Where did it happen?

By st mary's in Limerick on athlunkard street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

Never thrown or received a punch. Have disarmed both a gun wielding and a knife wielding thug trying to rob our business though.

Random punches like those described here don't surprise me though. I am well aware of the type of people out there capable of it but equally I am well aware of the vast majority of people who seem to be in their own little worlds who seem incapable of picking up on the tiniest of cues that it might be coming or at least a possiblity. Am I just a terrible cynic or profiler of people or something. Drunk or loud lads coming towards me of any social strata? I give them a widish berth. Drunk Loud skangers? Other side of road. Time of day? On guard more at night than day. etc etc

Its not like I am some paranoid person suspecting everyone afraid of my own shadow etc But jaysus, Pay a little bit of attention to your surroundings and subtle cues and profiles people!

When people say someone just lashed out and punched them in the head out of the blue, I can guarantee you it wasn't two guys in suits on their way home from work quietly discussing the latest stock market values and then WHACK!!! as you walked past.

It might be a few lads in their glad rags on the way to or from the pub/party but I guarantee you heard them coming. It might have been some trackie wearing types chatting loudly amongst themselves who went suspiciously quiet as they approached you (SsshSssshh, watch this lads hehe!)

Theres always subtle cues that should alert you to the possibility that you might want to give them a wider berth.