Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've been punched in the face, have you?

• 23-07-2014 3:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭

I was walking home last night, walked past three guys, and one of them just punched me in the face as he walked past. didn't rob me, didn't say anything, just punched me in the face.

I think I'll stay inside for a while

Have you ever been punched in the face for no reason? I would probably rate it about 2/10 and wouldn't recommend it to a friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

I've been kicked....by fac.. a guy falling down from being crowdsurfed at a gig once.

3/10. His form, although sloppy, was impressive. Like Jackie Chan when he pretends to be drunk in that movie....what was it called....Police Story....or his other one.....Dragon Wounds...no Exit the Dragon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Don't. Then he wins, when in fact you won by taking the punch and walking on home. You're a hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

try getting a slap of a bottle. its no fun either, happened to me in a nightclub years back - a case of mistaken identity i found out later, the dirty skobe even apologised. It doesnt break to bits like in the movies, and you dont stand up and right the wrong with roundhouse kicks either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

You need to do Krav Maga. You'd be aware of your surroundings and trained to instantly react to someone about to throw a punch at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

My friend was being a dick one night, and later on, one lad who was pissed off with him came up and just leveled me, without me ever seeing or talking to him, just because I was in the pub with my friend.

Cracked me right on the cheek bone, and left me with a black eye and sore face and teeth. My mate didn't get a scratch.

We laugh about it now, but at the time I was furious with him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Quite often. Sometimes even kicks.
    The whole getting more points for kicks and punches to the face makes it quite a nice target.

You need to do Krav Maga. You'd be aware of your surroundings and trained to instantly react to someone about to throw a punch at you.

Eh.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Love these kind of comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Yeah I have been punched in the head and it's no fun at all . It happened while on a night out . I was kissing a woman and we where having a flirt . Her jealous ex punched me to the back of the head . It wasn't one bit fun at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Not just punched, but kicked. Repeatedly. It wasn't fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've never been punched. I find that if you walk really quickly, nobody ever bothers you. Also, I don't drink, and I rarely find myself in the presence of drunk people or the kind of people who like punching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I thought we were supposed to be boycotting Israeli stuff... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

K4t wrote: »
    Don't. Then he wins, when in fact you won by taking the punch and walking on home. You're a hero.

that's awfully kind but really all I did was take a punch to the face, wasn't even a fight or flight kind of thing I just stood back up and started walking again and didn't look back. now I'm sitting here drinking through a straw and I can't remember the 4-5 minutes after it happened. But I was up until 4 spitting blood into the sink :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A buck tried to once.

He broke his hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

I've been kicked....by fac.. a guy falling down from being crowdsurfed at a gig once.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=293557

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

that's awfully kind but really all I did was take a punch to the face, wasn't even a fight or flight kind of thing I just stood back up and started walking again and didn't look back. now I'm sitting here drinking through a straw and I can't remember the 4-5 minutes after it happened. But I was up until 4 spitting blood into the sink :cool:

All jokes aside, don't dwell on it and don't let it affect your confidence, ts easy to overthink these kind of events and get obsessed / depressed by it. there are ar$eholes in all walks of life and you were just unlucky to run into a major one. Chalk it down to experience and move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Did you report it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I've been headbutted. It sucks, I'd much rather a punch.

Did you report it?

Not yet but I will. I don't think there will be any possibility of the person being found but it'll at least have it on file so they know to check up on that area in case these people do it all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Nope, I've never taken or given a proper smack :o

If the time comes for taking or giving punches, I'd like to think I'd be well able to do both, but I suppose you never know 'til you're there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Couple of times & worse :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

https://i.imgflip.com/ajh7o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I was drunk one night and got a punch very unexpectedly for no reason.Burst my nose and lip too , herself was with me , pissed herself laughing .
    It was her fault too , her and her bottle of wine and that stupid fcukin corkscrew from Barcelona.
    She wasn't laughing when she saw the cork had broken and was stuck in the bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Once. By a 10 month old baby :o
    And then he sort of headbutted my nose which was actually sore. He didn't manage to pull my hair though, I was ready for that. The punch was unexpected. And people say they're harmless, the little beasts :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Punched, headbutted, kicked etc. I've returned the favour to those who kindly gave me those, with interest :p

There was this one fella who tried messing with the mrs back in the day, he got floored for doing so... I was quite sauced at the time :o

Although yonks before that this one time I copped off with this fellas sister, I could see his point though, we shook on it afterwards and left it at that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

In this instance this would give you a better chance of having your head kicked in by the other two lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

In this instance this would give you a better chance of having your head kicked in by the other two lads.

Aye. Best thing to be good at in a street fight with scumbags is the 100m sprint.

Not worth getting your head kicked in, or worse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

at a concert i was too close to the mash pit (my mistake) and got decked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Yup, few years ago, walking home on my own at like 3am, and some crazy dude shouting at his OH saw me across the road, walking home, not saying anything, just ran over to me and punched me about 4 times full force in the face for no reason, absolute PR!CK!

Never been hit or even been in a fight, didnt know what to do so ran, and he ran after me! Then he gave up, prob to beat the **** out of his poor girlfriend. Never forget it. Didnt know what to do. Black eyes an all.

I prob should have rung the cops on him for his girlfriend but was in so much shock I just went home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Yup, few years ago, walking home on my own at like 3am, and some crazy dude shouting at his OH saw me across the road, walking home, not saying anything, just ran over to me and punched me about 4 times full force in the face for no reason, absolute PR!CK!

Never been hit or even been in a fight, didnt know what to do so ran, and he ran after me! Then he gave up, prob to beat the **** out of his poor girlfriend. Never forget it. Didnt know what to do. Black eyes an all.

I prob should have rung the cops on him for his girlfriend but was in so much shock I just went home.

my mate was "escorted" home by three scumbags once. They wanted him to go and give them money or they would beat him up. So he bought them back and his friend (my mate) who was a 6,4 second row rugby player took it from there:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Punched, kicked,bottled, hit with a hammer, my face has had more stitches than a pair of wranglers :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Walking to my car one night and two lads passing by grabbed my cap and punched me across the head. I went to my car and drove half mile up the road past them. Took out hurley, waited, smack each across the kneecap, retrieved cap. No further action

*whispers* Hail Hy....no, that's the joke! :pac;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭dinorebel

A buck tried to once.

He broke his hand.
    Derek Chisora?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I was walking home last night, walked past three guys, and one of them just punched me in the face as he walked past. didn't rob me, didn't say anything, just punched me in the face.

Have you ever been punched in the face for no reason? I would probably rate it about 2/10 and wouldn't recommend it to a friend

He was probably high as **** as were the two neanderthal cretins with him. People like these should be sent to a desert island where they can be complete retards with each other and let civilised society alone.

I'm sorry for what happened OP. I've seen things like this happen and was nearly involved in something like this myself one time but thankfully I escaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I got hit in the face once by a golf club (it was an accident though), and it broke one of my front teeth in half. Ended up getting the nerve removed and glued back together. Then a couple of years later some teenagers attacked me and chipped the other front tooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Several times for no reason, several more for a reason..

It's never fun though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I have a face people would love to punch, but it's attached to a body that most just decide to let it go. Having said that, I've had some right good clatters in the puss, a broken nose, etc etc. I have also hit a lot of lads over the years. It usually hurts, both my hand and their head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

^^

Is that how you got your username?

Pint glass in the face which miraculously didn't break.
    I had a circular cut around my left eye and cheek.
    Still have the scar on the cheek.

I was also blind sided and robbed one night, I woke up on the pavement minus a wallet and some cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

That only works in Hollywood. In reality if you're in walking mode and somebody takes a swing at you without any provocation or lead-in you're simply going to get hit. Even if you've trained every day with Mr Miyagi you cannot raise your arms fast enough to block a strike which is only going to take 200ms to hit you. There's an interesting experiment on YouTube (but my account is too new to post a link here) which illustrates this point very well.

If you're very well trained in self-defence, and if you are ALWAYS aware of your circumstances you may have had the foresight to walk at more than arm's length from the outside of the threesome, thereby giving yourself perhaps a 30% - 40% chance of dodging the strike. If you engage at all in any kind of fight with them you're going to have your head stomped by all three guys. There is only one tactic that works in this situation and that's to run. Never mind your Krav Maga, just practise your sprinting and get the hell out of Dodge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 rg370

Used to live in Limerick City right next to Moyross.

Was walking down the street one night going to the shop with a few of the boys and these girls from were walking back towards Moyross and as we walked by decided to punch and kick all of us and throw anything they could find while screaming all sorts of ****.

You're usually a bit suspicious and prepare yourself for something when walking past the scumbags from there but we definitely weren't expecting punches in the face from girls. They might just throw a few little stones sometimes when you've walked past them but not punches and kicks.

They were anywhere from 6 - 13 years old. There was about 10 scumbags(all fellas) right at the entrance to the estate too so we just kept walking fast and didn't say much. It's a lovely place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

Have you ever been punched in the face for no reason?

I have been punched and kicked in the head a few times, but always in controlled training / competition situations. It's unpleasant, to say the least.

But compared to say, giving birth, a punch in the face is not so bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Kick in the nutsack is infiintely worse at the time, although nobody wants to be wandering around with shiner and swollen gub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

Just the once and by a woman :|
    She was absolutely sh*t faced, came over to me in the pub and said I was the scumbag that bate her little brother, she then promptly put her drink down and gave me a proper punch that left me with a black eye. I was in absolute shock and both afraid and in awe over her.
    When my friends told her she had the wrong person and she realised it herself she got me a jäger bomb and fecked off- presumably to find the person that bate her brother.

SVJKarate wrote: »
    But compared to say, giving birth, a punch in the face is not so bad.

but you get to keep the baby after :( my t shirt was a screen printed one that I really like but the ink will come out when its bleached :( so I don't even get to keep that.. so now I have no baby and no t shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I think the last time was at a festival, and when my ex dropped his fancy phone in the crowd he decided the only solution was to punch me in the face ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭fearrua

Never been punched in the face. I'd like to think its cuz I look dead hard, but I, eh, doubt it...

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Not yet but I will. I don't think there will be any possibility of the person being found but it'll at least have it on file so they know to check up on that area in case these people do it all the time

Where did it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,761 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

I was randomly punched in the face twice, once by a guy who thought his girlfriend was cheating on him with me and my friend.. punched us both to the ground and dragged her off screaming.. knew her to see, but didnt know her, found out a few days later that that's what it was over. Had a lovely shiner for ages after that and it actually got me noticed by another girl so he did me a favour.. the prick.

The second time was even more obscure, queuing up to use a phonebox (yep that long ago) and was randomly punched by the guy leaving it, broke one of my front teeth perfectly in half - i've got a crown there now :D

Bizarre hearing of it happening these days though i may just be getting old