Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Ah.. car viewing tonight hopefully.
    Bangernomics special to buy and sell on after the insurance pays up from the accident.
    Nothing special, but then again for 450 odd quid with tax and test it's not going to be pretty!
    So, this didn't work out.
    Car was pretty rusted in a lot of places - only one serious spot on the fuel tank and the brackets (dunno what they are actually called) holding it in place. But the main reason I walked away was the lack of clutch and fecked 'box.
    I know it was for only 500 quid but I need it to drive for more than 100 miles total :P

Heres the car anyway
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1996-golf-1-4-petrol-5-speed/7343209

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,307 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

"no need to spend any more money". Spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I love also how he has "first come first take" but , well, I didnt!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

So, this didn't work out.
    Car was pretty rusted in a lot of places - only one serious spot on the fuel tank and the brackets (dunno what they are actually called) holding it in place. But the main reason I walked away was the lack of clutch and fecked 'box.
    I know it was for only 500 quid but I need it to drive for more than 100 miles total :P

Heres the car anyway
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1996-golf-1-4-petrol-5-speed/7343209

".no need to spend any more money.Ready to drive."

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Right, so this is something that's been niggling away at me.. I'm not sure if my mentality is that of a greedy little prick who wants to blame everyone else, or if I'm rightfully annoyed in feeling a bit screwed over...

(This is a bit long-winded...)

Air-con on my car (which I bought about 3 or so weeks ago) hasn't worked since getting it. Seen as I bought it used, I've no real knowledge of the history. As far as I am aware, air-con needs gassing every now and again. Especially if it hasn't been used for a long time.

Halfords are installing a bluetooth kit in my car, so I ask the chap can he do the air-con for me, too. They charge €40 - a reasonable price for cold air in this weather. Chap says he'll take a look but won't charge me til he actually does it, as they have to test it first, see if it's leaking or such.

I return to car several hours later and the chap that was supposed to fit the bluetooth kit and gas the air con is gone home for the day. Fellow Halfords colleague says the Bluetooth kit is installed, but that they didnt do the air con. He reckons there was an issue with it, but he's not exactly sure what the issue may be as, he himself, wasnt the one working on the car (fair enough).

So, everything being a bit vague, I decide to give FirstStop/FastFit (whatever you prefer to call them) a quick ring. Lad on the phone says that they do A/C regassing, but they have to test first for leaks. I say that's grand and bring the car over to them. I leave the keys and go for a walk.

I get a phone call an hour later saying the car is gassed and the air is ice cold. An hour later and I get back to FirstStop to collect the car. Chap demonstrates the A/C is working, cabin is cold, air is freezing, and i pay the €40 they wanted. Everyone's a happy camper and I drive home thrilled with my newly cooled cabin.

By the time this morning (Tuesday) rolls around; the air con no longer works! It's blowing 'normal' air again (air con was done on saturday).

I make a sweaty trek over to FirstStop to ask about it and I'm informed that their system is only capable of detecting 'some leaks' and smaller leaks will go unnoticed. So I'm fobbed off, and not being in the humor of an argument, I head to a local business called Rap Rad, who do A/C for all vehicles, buildings etc.

They wire the car up to a machine, and within 5 minutes tell me the condenser is leaking. The 407 grill is awkward so they couldn't get to it, but said it's an obvious leak and if my mechanic can get it out, they can see if it's repairable or if it needs replacing with a new unit.

Would I be right in feeling like FirstStop should owe me a refund on the €40 I paid them!? Surely they should have copped a leak that was 'obvious' to another business, who found the source of the problem inside of 5 minutes?

Or is it my own fault cos I was taking a gamble on whether or not the Air-Con would work as it could potentially have been a bigger issue than re-gassing (me not knowing the history of the car's A/C, and all)?

I don't know if I feel robbed or if I'm just annoyed at myself cos my 'let's hope it works' shortcut didn't work for me?

Fast fit aren't worth a w***. I'd be going down there and telling them either give me back my money and if not hang around the entrance and tell everyone of your complaints.
    Feckin chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,149 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just sorted out my insurance. I'm with Axa at the moment, and have basic cover, TPFT, 5000km mileage, not much in the way of extras. Got a renewal letter through the post there yesterday for 797 euro :eek:! This was up over 100 quid on last year. I rang them and they brought that down 20 quid, giving me the same old ****e of "That's a very big engine in that car...". Not one for being loyal to insurance companies I started the tedious task of calling around yesterday, but didn't have much success to be honest. The best quote was around 700, and the worst was 2500! For a 26 year old with 5 years NCB!

Last night I decided to see what the new customer price online would be for Axa, so I put my details through, put in my existing policy number for an additional discount and the price came to 635. Called them this morning and they've agreed to that price. Part of me doesn't want to give them my business, but then I don't really care so long as the price is cheap!

Put the parents as named drivers on the policy. Mine dropped by 200 quid, though mind you I've only 3 years ncb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,149 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Put the parents as named drivers on the policy. Mine dropped by 200 quid, though mind you I've only 3 years ncb

I used to do this, but found that last year it made no difference. But no harm in trying again! My mother can't get my car into reverse, so it's not like I have to worry about her driving the yoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Would I be right in feeling like FirstStop should owe me a refund on the €40 I paid them!? Surely they should have copped a leak that was 'obvious' to another business, who found the source of the problem inside of 5 minutes?

Or is it my own fault cos I was taking a gamble on whether or not the Air-Con would work as it could potentially have been a bigger issue than re-gassing (me not knowing the history of the car's A/C, and all)?

I don't know if I feel robbed or if I'm just annoyed at myself cos my 'let's hope it works' shortcut didn't work for me?

Being very blunt - it's your own fault, but more-so because you're using shíte services like halfords fitting and FastFit, rather than going to someone who can do the job right the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Finally got my log book for the 900 :D
    Went in to explain the situation about it all today and got tol oh you'l have to tax it for 3 months plus arrears.....

So who wants to "buy" a 900?? :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

... I don't know if I feel robbed or if I'm just annoyed at myself cos my 'let's hope it works' shortcut didn't work for me?
    Personally I would just take it on the chin dude and move on especially since you only have a condenser issue and not the dreaded remove-the-whole-fecking-dash-to-replace-the-flaps issue which could have cost you €600+ ;)

Went in to explain the situation about it all today and got tol oh you'l have to tax it for 3 months plus arrears.....

It'll cost ya :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Mycroft H wrote: »
    It'll cost ya :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Ah gway :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

i heard your brother is looking for one but he may immediately regret it and wish to sell it back :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    i heard your brother is looking for one but he may immediately regret it and wish to sell it back :)

I heard this too, but seeing as he's done nothing with my old astra :pac:

i know a guy looking for an engine :)

Funny you should say that I know a guy with a knackered astra :pac:

ha ha ha :) anyone have an astra engine lying about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I do... but it's still in the car.

GvidoR wrote: »

We can take care of that :cool:

Fair swap, bulbs for engine :) what is it man? 1.4? You know the code?

What kind of magic bulbs are they? :pac:

Yeah, it's 1.4 16 valve. It has about 170k miles on it, ran perfectly until the ECU was taken off. Don't know the engine code though.

should be on it man :) how much would you want for it?

It'd be on the logbook or somewhere on the car....probably the engine

on my saab its in the window

I'd be happy to get 300 for the whole car.

I can check the engine code when I get home.

I'd be happy to get 300 for the whole car.

I can check the engine code when I get home.

right ok, let me think about it :) long way to tow something :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Why do you want to tax a car that is off the road? :pac:

Wait with the sale until you get it back on the road :)

right ok, let me think about it :) long way to tow something :)

Does the coil pack work in the knackered one? the one on our astra is fecked

yep doesn't miss a beat until warm, so coil is perfect. If you want it and i go through with it you can get it off me man :)

much obliged! I'll give you something for it like