Bad music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

There is no such thing as bad music, just individual choice. Don't be a snob, OP. If you want to listen to Damien Rice, go ahead, just don't announce your love of his voice to the world.

Unless you're prepared for a good kicking, that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Ah sure it's hard to beat the 80's music

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

There is no such thing as bad music, just individual choice. Don't be a snob, OP. If you want to listen to Damien Rice, go ahead, just don't announce your love of his voice to the world.

Unless you're prepared for a good kicking, that is.

There is such.a thing ad bad music. Subjectivity is another thing entirely. As for someone being in line for a 'kicking', well I'll give you the benefit of the doubt on that one and assume that you're speaking figuratively.

I don't mind some of the shyte music.

If it makes me wiggle then I'm happy out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I agree that music is shíte these days. OK, there's some good stuff, but it's hard to find. The charts is 100% shíte. Back in the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's there was crap too, but a lot of good stuff got to number 1, or high in the charts. But now it's all shíte.
    Here's the number 1's in UK from 2010-now.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UK_Singles_Chart_number_ones_of_the_2010s
    Exclusively shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

If this chick was my own mother, id cum inside her with no rubber and have a son and a new brother at the same time and say that it aint mine.

Young lad of 12 mad into eminem. Hed never put it on the car when i was driving with him but had a listen to one of the albums. Pure filth! Took the album off him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭murray.eoghan

nothing wrong with a bit of Metallica, acdc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Cienciano wrote: »
    OK, there's some good stuff, but it's hard to find.
    Easier than you think.

To me complaining about chart music is like complaining about people eating McDonalds. It's not there for the connoisseurs and there'll always be a market for it. What I love about music now is the feeling of genuine discovery when you come across a great song that not many know about. If anything the charts becoming less and less of a quality indicator is more a sign of the great stuff you can find elsewhere. So much happening in the world of rock, folk, hip-hop, electronica and experimental that I haven't even began to scratch the surface of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I agree that music is shíte these days. OK, there's some good stuff, but it's hard to find. The charts is 100% shíte. Back in the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's there was crap too, but a lot of good stuff got to number 1, or high in the charts. But now it's all shíte.
    Here's the number 1's in UK from 2010-now.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UK_Singles_Chart_number_ones_of_the_2010s
    Exclusively shíte.

I think all we can really say for sure about that is that people stupid enough to pay for music are stupid enough to have bad taste too :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

This is music ;)

Gotta love Stevie Nicks even at 66:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

The saddest aspect about pop music is having a platinum album certified from RIAA.... I cringe when I see an artist brag that "they went platinum". Most people don't know though that a platinum or gold album is based on units shipped not sold. This means that you or I could record an album consisting of fart sounds over 15 tracks and if you could manage to get over a million units shipped around the world you's go platinum too. It's bollocks. The industry is corrupt. With digital sales growing more popular the whole system is changing but it's still absolute bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

On the positive side though: I love how the general public more or less told Robin Thicke to feck off with his latest album. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

e_e wrote: »
    Easier than you think.

To me complaining about chart music is like complaining about people eating McDonalds. It's not there for the connoisseurs and there'll always be a market for it. What I love about music now is the feeling of genuine discovery when you come across a great song that not many know about. If anything the charts becoming less and less of a quality indicator is more a sign of the great stuff you can find elsewhere. So much happening in the world of rock, folk, hip-hop, electronica and experimental that I haven't even began to scratch the surface of.
    I agree, I love finding stuff I like. All I'm saying is, charts were always had the novelty stuff and one hit wonders, but back in previous decades it also had some good stuff.
    Worst decade I mentioned (imho) was the 80's. But it still had some good songs in the charts:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UK_Singles_Chart_number_ones_of_the_1980s
    First year had Another brick in the Wall, Brass in Pocket, Atomic, Going Underground, Call Me, Ashes to Ashes, Start, Don't Stand So Close to Me, Just Like Starting Over. Even a couple of Abba songs. Few novelty song there alright, but still some good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I agree that music is shíte these days.

Some people thought Beethoven's 9th symphony was shite when it was first performed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't mind some of the shyte music.

If it makes me wiggle then I'm happy out :D

Sorry Whoops, but if there's one thing I hate even more than x-factor/Katy Perry/One Direction type "music", it's THAT phrase!!

"Happy out" - it doesn't even make sense! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Sorry but...

A lot of us know the person in the pub tapping their hand along to the music but getting it completely off.

A lot of people dont have any rhythm. And if you know such people you know that they have no idea that they dont have rhythm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I think the problem may be on your side. You criticise music. And cite words as evidence of bad music. Musical notation and poetry (however bad), are different forms.

I wouldn't agree tbh, they're all part of a song. I can take as much enjoyment out of good lyrics as I can out of good music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Links234 wrote: »

Ewww no. :P

There ya go buddy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

NEIN! :mad: RAMMSTEIN IST BESTE *

I don't even know what I'm saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

There is definately an area of objectivity to music. Even though I'm not a major fan of Tool or Dream Theatre I respect what they're trying to do. Not so for what I hear in nightclubs. The music is horrible, literally 1 or even 0.5 musical ideas in an entire song! Even in the 70s there was more rhythm and groove, example I heard Play That Funky Music, while I wouldn't be into that genre in a big way I like that song and the muscianship is obvious in it. This was followed by what's popular now, I can't even name the songs as I dropped out of following trends years ago but it was garbage. Music has become so corporatised that the art has been trashed out of it, it's the definiton of "product" which is why it sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I respect anyone who writes and plays songs in any genre, songwriting and musicianship are artforms and all these people ply their trade in the music industry. Talented and creative men and women.

The likes of 1D and other boy and girl bands are part of the entertainment industry, a different fish altogether and its not fair to compare the two. The problem is that the Popular music charts got infested with this processed songwriter on staff bullsh1t back in the 90s, blurring the lines, so many teenyboppers today would consider such crap as being music in the pure form because they know no better. The likes of Spin SW tells them it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

The truely underrated artists will never get the recognition they deserve it's a monopoly these days you have the same 10-20 ****e "artists" releasing generic songs the hold these people but because these people have millions of social media followers it's never ending the only difference is you have the occasional one hit wonder.

Look at the early 00s you had some bad artists releasing ****e difference is Social Media didn't exist and most of the them are irrelevant today/nobody knows them.

The things that annoy me is it's harder to find good songs and shops gyms you know public places just always play the worst of the worst songs all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

Anything by Pitbull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

2914_15a0.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Lads remember that Sean Kingston tripe? utter tripe it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I am convinced Noel Gallagher is just seeing how far he can push his fans until they realise he is taking the piss out of them.
    Someday you might find your hero
    Some say you might lose your mind
    I'm keeping my head down now for the summer
    I'm out of my mind but pour me another
    I'm going to take that tiger outside for a ride

What a life
    What a life

Keep on chasing down that rainbow
    You'll never know what you might find
    Over the sunset on the horizon
    It may be a dream but it tastes like poison
    I'm going to take that tiger outside for a ride

What a life
    What a life
    What a life
    What a life

What a life
    What a life
    What a life
    What a life

Someday you might find your hero
    Some say you might lose your mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Real music died years ago. The rot started with Stock Aiken and Waterman, after that it spread like a disease with the advent of Backstreet boys and Boyzone. Now it's at it's worst with idiots like William, yes I said William, that's his name, regardless of the pretentious way he spells it. As for Miley Cyrus, I just feel embarrassed for her.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Almost made it 2 months since the last variant of this thread

People who say music is dead aren't making an effort.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test