Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad music.

• 19-07-2014 7:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭

Surely calling music bad isn't even a case of subjectivity anymore? Some music is just plain shite. For example, my brother is currently listening to a song called "Feeling Myself" by Will.I.Am and the ever-so-classy Miley Cyrus. It is shit.

Evidence:
    'Cause we be in the club
    Bottles on deck
    And God dammit, God dammit
    I'm feeling myself
    'Cause Imma get it all
    And Imma throw it up
    Like God dammit, God dammit
    I'm feeling myself
    God dammit you the sh*t
    You the sh*t, you the sh*t
    God dammit you the sh*t
    You the sh*t, you the sh*t
    She give me IQ, that mean she get a head
    I just give the beats, I don't give a bread

From another song by Little Wayne.
    Real Gs move in silence like lasagne.

Well, AH, I think it's fair to say - You are the shit. :D Got anymore terrible examples? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm probably not the one to comment as for me music ended about 5 years ago

Classic rock, 70s-early-00s chart and some dance stuff from that era is my limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What they want, I don't know
    They're all reved up and ready to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I'm probably not the one to comment as for me music ended about 5 years ago

Classic rock, 70s-early-00s chart and some dance stuff from that era is my limit.

Ah there was shit music back then as well.

:P

*runs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Avicii..That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Surely calling music bad isn't even a case of subjectivity anymore? Some music is just plain shite.
    Fully agreed. And you're only a young lad so people can't leap in to make the "You're just getting old" retort.

At there was shit music back then as well.

:P

*runs*

How..dare..you! :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

From the 60s or 70s. Kim Wildes father. Terrible yet strangely addictive

Bubblegum Pop is the word that was used for these songs. And thats the word that should be used for a load of chart music nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Magaggie wrote: »
    Fully agreed. And you're only a young lad so people can't leap in to make the "You're just getting old" retort.

What age is the young lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Anyway I agree that some music is ****, just like some food we all love is ****.

whirlpool wrote: »
    What age is the young lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I wouldn't say there's any MORE bad music around than there used to be, but yeah some stuff is just shíte. There's cycles of genres too, like a few years ago the bad music was all bad indie-style guitar music, before that all bad pop-punk crap, now someone's told the Americans about mdma and dubstep so we're having this kind of bad music inflicted on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Some awful shoite on the airwaves certainly. I can't figure out why some music is so attractive to people. Theres one out there at the moment... "I know your tired, of loving... With nobody to love"

??? Ha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

"Honey" by Bobby Goldsboro. Spotify that and bask, nay wallow in its awfulness..be warned, you may not thank me for this........................

I wouldn't say there's any MORE bad music around than there used to be, but yeah some stuff is just shíte. There's cycles of genres too, like a few years ago the bad music was all bad indie-style guitar music, before that all bad pop-punk crap, now someone's told the Americans about mdma and dubstep so we're having this kind of bad music inflicted on us.

Most of the previous phases of popular music were actually genuine though. Like the pop-punk/indie phases actually involved people starting up their own bands similar to anyone else would do it anywhere in the world and only started to become disliked when it became popular. It really does seem at this stage that people are only liking what they're told to like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

What I've got you've got to give it to your mamma
    What I've got you've got to give it to your pappa
    What I've got you've got to give it to your daughter
    You do a little dance and then you drink a little water

What I've got you've got to get it put it in you
    Reeling with the feeling don't stop continue

Realize I don't want to be a miser
    Confide w/sly you'll be the wiser
    Young blood is the lovin' upriser
    How come everybody wanna keep it like the kaiser

[Chorus]
    Give it away give it away give it away give it away now
    I can't tell if I'm a kingpin or a pauper

Greedy little people in a sea of distress
    Keep your more to receive your less
    Unimpressed by material excess
    Love is free love me say hell yes

I'm a low brow but I rock a little know how
    No time for the piggies or the hoosegow
    Get smart get down with the pow wow
    Never been a better time than right now

Bob Marley poet and a prophet
    Bob Marley taught me how to off it
    Bob Marley walkin' like he talk it
    Goodness me can't you see I'm gonna cough it

[Chorus]

Lucky me swimmin' in my ability
    Dancin' down on life with agility
    Come and drink it up from my fertility
    Blessed with a bucket of lucky mobility

My mom I love her 'cause she love me
    Long gone are the times when she scrub me
    Feelin' good my brother gonna hug me
    Drink my juice young love chug-a-lug me

There's a river born to be a giver
    Keep you warm won't let you shiver
    His heart is never gonna wither
    Come on everybody time to deliver

guitarzero wrote: »
    What I've got you've got to give it to your mamma
    What I've got you've got to give it to your pappa
    What I've got you've got to give it to your daughter
    You do a little dance and then you drink a little water

Reeling with the feeling don't stop continue

Realize I don't want to be a miser
    Confide w/sly you'll be the wiser
    Young blood is the lovin' upriser
    How come everybody wanna keep it like the kaiser

[Chorus]
    I can't tell if I'm a kingpin or a pauper

Greedy little people in a sea of distress
    Keep your more to receive your less
    Unimpressed by material excess
    Love is free love me say hell yes

I'm a low brow but I rock a little know how
    No time for the piggies or the hoosegow
    Get smart get down with the pow wow
    Never been a better time than right now

Bob Marley poet and a prophet
    Bob Marley taught me how to off it
    Bob Marley walkin' like he talk it
    Goodness me can't you see I'm gonna cough it

[Chorus]

Lucky me swimmin' in my ability
    Dancin' down on life with agility
    Come and drink it up from my fertility
    Blessed with a bucket of lucky mobility

My mom I love her 'cause she love me
    Long gone are the times when she scrub me
    Feelin' good my brother gonna hug me
    Drink my juice young love chug-a-lug me

There's a river born to be a giver
    Keep you warm won't let you shiver
    His heart is never gonna wither
    Come on everybody time to deliver

You keep them out of this!

:P :D

In fairness it is a shít song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

There will always be the fluffy throw away "pop" music, that follows a well worn formula. It comes and it goes.

Most of the previous phases of popular music were actually genuine though. Like the pop-punk/indie phases actually involved people starting up their own bands similar to anyone else would do it anywhere in the world and only started to become disliked when it became popular. It really does seem at this stage that people are only liking what they're told to like...

Ah yeah, but when it did get popular you got really, really terrible cash in jobs like these:

I'm going to have to stop doing that because I'm annoying myself :D

There's genuinely good dubstep/EDM/whatever music too, but the same thing happens, you get manufactured, corporate bullshít cashing in on it's popularity and idiots lapping it up.

Ah yeah, but when it did get popular you got really, really terrible cash in jobs like these:

I'm going to have to stop doing that because I'm annoying myself :D

There's genuinely good dubstep/EDM/whatever music too, but the same thing happens, you get manufactured, corporate bullshít cashing in on it's popularity and idiots lapping it up.

Good bloody Charlotte! :mad: :D Excuse me, I need a cry! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Real music died years ago. These days, it's not so much about music quality as it is about creating an idol of pop fodder. Said talentless idol will make an awful lot of cash and then they'll have the next round of pop fodder waiting in the pipeline to delude another generation of petulant girls. Rinse and repeat ad nauseum. Fame and cash have taken precedence over the quality of the music, lyrics and voice. Furthermore, anyone who throws up the subjectivity crap when you highlight a genuine piece of sh1t music doesn't understand what the word 'music' actually means. This is probably due to being brought up with the aforementioned talentless pop fodder and assuming that that's what constitutes real music. Anyone over the age of 24 will have some idea of what real music is and they'll agree it suffered a prolonged cancerous death at the hands of reality TV (where TV in this instance stands for Talentless Visuals) and the Cowellite ilk.

I presume your not talking about all music and only the commercial side of things? There are still some great musicians out there, just that they're not as popular as they (arguably) should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I presume your not talking about all music and only the commercial side of things? There are still some great musicians out there, just that they're not as popular as they (arguably) should be.

Of course, I can't label everyone but "commercial" is a good summary word. There are a small handful of genuine musicians but these are being overshadowed by the likes of Katy Perry and Justin Timberlake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I am in bad music heaven here at the moment.
    Some dance band playing at longitude is audible at the front of the house....and out the back of the house you can hear a trad irish sing song that one of the neighbours is having.
    Time to close the wjndows and dig out the ipod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Real music died years ago.

really?

http://www.irishshowbands.net/lyrics_housewithwhitewashed.htm

http://mysongbook.de/msb/songs/d/doyouwan.html

There was shoite around then too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I think Kevin Bridges pretty much sums up modern music here

But on the other hand, there's just as much good music around as there ever was, and it's easier than it ever was to access. I'd rather have the option of turning the shíte on the radio off and taking to the internet to access a huge variety of great contemporary and older music for free than be stuck to listening what's on the radio and not have any real easy, affordable way to explore other stuff, even it was Led Zeppelin or whatever on the radio.

I'm 25 and I don't agree at all that real music is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Is there anything that another bit of Joe Dolan won't cure ?

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

That Will.I.Am song is tripe from a lyrical standpoint but when you're off yer head on yokes in the club it's lethal...

And I'm the biggest criticiser of Lil Wayne going (I'm a Hip Hop nerd and proud) but "Real Gs move in silence like lasagne" is a very clever line....like he's a trash rapper but that line is actually pretty damn clever....my personal "favourite" from him is:
    "Young Money baby, big sh*t like a horse ass"
    ^^^that right there is the perfect example of what is wrong with modern day music and Hip Hop in particular.

But pop music isn't supposed to be good for it's lyrical prowess or powerful meaning...catchiness and appeal to a certain target audience (teenagers mostly) is it's aim and that's why "real music" is slowly becoming more obscure with time.

It's been the case with Hip Hop with a long ass time... Commercial Hip Hop (yes that includes Eminem, Jay-Z and Kanye West) is absolute bollocks and has been for a while. Things went down hill after the boom of 50 Cent those years ago. Many people claim Hip Hop is dead...it's not, it's alive and well it's just you have to dig for it in the Underground... I presume that's the case with other genres too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Surely calling music bad isn't even a case of subjectivity anymore? Some music is just plain shite. For example, my brother is currently listening to a song called "Feeling Myself" by Will.I.Am and the ever-so-classy Miley Cyrus. It is shit.

Evidence:

From another song by Little Wayne.

Well, AH, I think it's fair to say - You are the shit. :D Got anymore terrible examples? :)

I think the problem may be on your side. You criticise music. And cite words as evidence of bad music. Musical notation and poetry (however bad), are different forms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

I must have **** taste in music, there's been at least 3 songs mentioned that I love. Nothing I like better than getting in the car of a morning and blasting a beat out or if I'm out for a bit of a jiggle with the girls. It must be a bpm or wavelength thing. I don't agree that real music is in decline - it's everywhere if you're prepared to look for it. I'm generally of the opinion that if you enjoy a certain type of music, then to you it's good - even if it's bad. Everyone has a different ear. Jimi Hendrix music is supposed to be amazing, yet all I can hear is noise. Although my husband says I have really crap music taste too so it must be me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

There is no such thing as bad music, just individual choice. Don't be a snob, OP. If you want to listen to Damien Rice, go ahead, just don't announce your love of his voice to the world.

Unless you're prepared for a good kicking, that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Ah sure it's hard to beat the 80's music

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

There is no such thing as bad music, just individual choice. Don't be a snob, OP. If you want to listen to Damien Rice, go ahead, just don't announce your love of his voice to the world.

Unless you're prepared for a good kicking, that is.

There is such.a thing ad bad music. Subjectivity is another thing entirely. As for someone being in line for a 'kicking', well I'll give you the benefit of the doubt on that one and assume that you're speaking figuratively.

Glazers Out!

I don't mind some of the shyte music.

If it makes me wiggle then I'm happy out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I agree that music is shíte these days. OK, there's some good stuff, but it's hard to find. The charts is 100% shíte. Back in the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's there was crap too, but a lot of good stuff got to number 1, or high in the charts. But now it's all shíte.
    Here's the number 1's in UK from 2010-now.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UK_Singles_Chart_number_ones_of_the_2010s
    Exclusively shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Dowl88

If this chick was my own mother, id cum inside her with no rubber and have a son and a new brother at the same time and say that it aint mine.

Young lad of 12 mad into eminem. Hed never put it on the car when i was driving with him but had a listen to one of the albums. Pure filth! Took the album off him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭murray.eoghan

nothing wrong with a bit of Metallica, acdc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Cienciano wrote: »
    OK, there's some good stuff, but it's hard to find.
    Easier than you think.

To me complaining about chart music is like complaining about people eating McDonalds. It's not there for the connoisseurs and there'll always be a market for it. What I love about music now is the feeling of genuine discovery when you come across a great song that not many know about. If anything the charts becoming less and less of a quality indicator is more a sign of the great stuff you can find elsewhere. So much happening in the world of rock, folk, hip-hop, electronica and experimental that I haven't even began to scratch the surface of.

I agree that music is shíte these days. OK, there's some good stuff, but it's hard to find. The charts is 100% shíte. Back in the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's there was crap too, but a lot of good stuff got to number 1, or high in the charts. But now it's all shíte.
    Here's the number 1's in UK from 2010-now.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UK_Singles_Chart_number_ones_of_the_2010s
    Exclusively shíte.

I think all we can really say for sure about that is that people stupid enough to pay for music are stupid enough to have bad taste too :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

This is music ;)

Gotta love Stevie Nicks even at 66:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

The saddest aspect about pop music is having a platinum album certified from RIAA.... I cringe when I see an artist brag that "they went platinum". Most people don't know though that a platinum or gold album is based on units shipped not sold. This means that you or I could record an album consisting of fart sounds over 15 tracks and if you could manage to get over a million units shipped around the world you's go platinum too. It's bollocks. The industry is corrupt. With digital sales growing more popular the whole system is changing but it's still absolute bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

On the positive side though: I love how the general public more or less told Robin Thicke to feck off with his latest album. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

e_e wrote: »
    Easier than you think.

To me complaining about chart music is like complaining about people eating McDonalds. It's not there for the connoisseurs and there'll always be a market for it. What I love about music now is the feeling of genuine discovery when you come across a great song that not many know about. If anything the charts becoming less and less of a quality indicator is more a sign of the great stuff you can find elsewhere. So much happening in the world of rock, folk, hip-hop, electronica and experimental that I haven't even began to scratch the surface of.
    I agree, I love finding stuff I like. All I'm saying is, charts were always had the novelty stuff and one hit wonders, but back in previous decades it also had some good stuff.
    Worst decade I mentioned (imho) was the 80's. But it still had some good songs in the charts:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_UK_Singles_Chart_number_ones_of_the_1980s
    First year had Another brick in the Wall, Brass in Pocket, Atomic, Going Underground, Call Me, Ashes to Ashes, Start, Don't Stand So Close to Me, Just Like Starting Over. Even a couple of Abba songs. Few novelty song there alright, but still some good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I agree that music is shíte these days.

Some people thought Beethoven's 9th symphony was shite when it was first performed.

I don't mind some of the shyte music.

If it makes me wiggle then I'm happy out :D

Sorry Whoops, but if there's one thing I hate even more than x-factor/Katy Perry/One Direction type "music", it's THAT phrase!!

"Happy out" - it doesn't even make sense! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Sorry but...

A lot of us know the person in the pub tapping their hand along to the music but getting it completely off.

A lot of people dont have any rhythm. And if you know such people you know that they have no idea that they dont have rhythm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I think the problem may be on your side. You criticise music. And cite words as evidence of bad music. Musical notation and poetry (however bad), are different forms.

I wouldn't agree tbh, they're all part of a song. I can take as much enjoyment out of good lyrics as I can out of good music.

Links234 wrote: »

Ewww no. :P

There ya go buddy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

NEIN! :mad: RAMMSTEIN IST BESTE *

I don't even know what I'm saying