Shocking video of guards in Dublin today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

muddypaws wrote: »
    Should they have put something under his head? Honest question, I thought you were meant to, but another poster said no.

I think recovery position on his/her side and space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

I hate the pigs as much as the next person,

Yeah, because the majority of law abiding people of the country hate the police force just as much as yourself. Brilliant.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Wonder how they get on in tallaght Wednesday with 2000 of these lads in tallaght

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfZKhvmlTKE

Holy jaysis, watched another video of it. Would love to have these Polski's come over and give the guards a taste of their own medicine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78qO9T6E0is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

bluefinger wrote: »
    some of you posting the cynical crap above should be ashamed of yourselves. to watch a person being treated like that and immediately jump to the defence of the aggressors is twisted.

Well, RTE set the tone. They call protesters "idiots" and the country follows.

They proposed a huge dump down here, some local people protested and were derided as being "dopey tools". Now everyone moans about the smell of the dump and how it ever got the go ahead. Go figure..

Protesters in this country I find embarrassing, usually it's a straggly few with a leader shouting at the front "What do we want", sweet baby Jesus I cringe every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

tommy2bad wrote: »
    Crock of sh1t!
    If as it seems he was having a seizure then the guards were well out of order.
    BTW you do know when a seizure is imminent, unfortunately by then the victim is immobile and can't move from where they are. Someone having a seizure should not be moved unless they are in immediate danger, the guards should have cleared room and let the seizure pass, while waiting for an ambulance. If he needed to be moved a stretcher should have been used. I hope the guy is alright because if not he will have a case against the guards for not following the correct procedure.
    And before ye jump in I do know what I'm talking about. I deal with epileptic seizures regularly.

We are not talking about seizures, we are talking about public disorder, the person was asked to move, he resisted, he was dealt with, then.... he had a seizure. He put his own life at risk acting the maggot.
    These people are looking for a reaction from the garda so as they can film it and put it up on you tube, truth is if they had not resisted, not one of us reading these forums would have had a clue that there had been a protest in Dublin today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

Holy jaysis, watched another video of it. Would love to have these Polski's come over and give the guards a taste of their own medicine.

I don't think the football hooligans are much better at crowd control to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Well, RTE set the tone. They call protesters "idiots" and the country follows.

Bullshít. Idiots acting like idiots were getting called idiots long before RTE said anything about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

We are not talking about seizures, we are talking about public disorder, the person was asked to move, he resisted, he was dealt with, then.... he had a seizure. He put his own life at risk acting the maggot.
    These people are looking for a reaction from the garda so as they can film it and put it up on you tube, truth is if they had not resisted, not one of us reading these forums would have had a clue that there had been a protest in Dublin today.

Which is a ringing endorsement of the priorities of the Irish Media so. Toe the line good children, keep your heads down. Or else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

So if someone doesn't move when asked they can be expected to be dragged along by the feet with their head in full contact with the ground....
    I honestly think there is something seriously wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

This "outrage" thread is more shocking than that video.
    Actually, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

dharma200 wrote: »
    listen lads, whatever about the Dublin says no campaign and freemen and all that... This is shocking treatment of a human being by guards... Do they not be trained in handling people? Watch the guys head on the ground... Wtf

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nQwpP8gwiz4&feature=youtube_gdata_player
    The guy was obviously not co-operating, I don't see anything wrong here I think the guards were very restrained.
    So if someone doesn't move when asked they can be expected to be dragged along by the feet with their head in full contact with the ground....
    When a guard tells you to move you move, no ifs or buts or maybes.

Ah here now I feel like ****e for starting the thread. I'm not easily outraged like, and now realise this type of thing is more common than I had anticipated, none of ye are outraged, I am outraged at how none of ye are outraged. Of ta bed I think....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

tommy2bad wrote: »
    Crock of sh1t!
    If as it seems he was having a seizure then the guards were well out of order.
    BTW you do know when a seizure is imminent, unfortunately by then the victim is immobile and can't move from where they are. Someone having a seizure should not be moved unless they are in immediate danger, the guards should have cleared room and let the seizure pass, while waiting for an ambulance. If he needed to be moved a stretcher should have been used. I hope the guy is alright because if not he will have a case against the guards for not following the correct procedure.
    And before ye jump in I do know what I'm talking about. I deal with epileptic seizures regularly.

Most seizures happen suddenly without warning, last a short time (a few seconds or minutes) and stop by themselves.

Seizures can be different for each person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

Well if it was a peaceful protest they would have respected the law and moved off the road they were probably blocking traffic Ive seen many videos of the guards asking them to move and they put up resistance and mouth off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

They didn't plan on dragging him that way. He kicked out whether its due to the fit or not I'm not sure but it caused him to be dragged that way. It's a sad incident it that happened. If he'd moved peacefully he wouldn't have to be dragged in the first place.

Yes, the Guards, Police are not respected like they used to be. They said to do something and most people would have done. Now it's shouting about being harassed etc, and wtf is it with getting cameras out every time it's like you know there is going to be confrontation so just being at the ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You want Polish nationals to travel to Ireland and fight Gardai ? I don't think I'd get away with calling you MUPPET , so I wont call you a MUPPET .

Anyone up for a knick knack on Whoopsies door ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Speak for yourself buddy.

The attitude to protesters in general in this country is really crappy, and this thread is a perfect fcuking example. Getting dragged along by three gards and having your head scraped off the ground is something you "deserve" for not moving quick enough when you're asked?

I also love all the clearly very well informed opinions on protesters and garda's dealing with them by people who have presumably never been at a protest seeing as they think it's exclusively for losers, wasters and idiots.

I never said peaceful, I am saying if your asked to move and you don't, you can be dragged off by the feet with your head in full contact with the ground... Surely this is leaving the guards open to , well, one day killing someone, or severely damaging someone's neck etc...
    It doesn't seem the smartest way to move someone not co operating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

The attitude to protesters in general in this country is really crappy, and this thread is a perfect fcuking example. Getting dragged along by three gards and having your head scraped off the ground is something you "deserve" for not moving quick enough when you're asked?

I also love all the clearly very well informed opinions on protesters and garda's dealing with them by people who have presumably never been at a protest seeing as they think it's exclusively for losers, wasters and idiots.
    When a guard asks you to move you move, immediately.

Must have missed that post where it said the protesters were for losers wasters and idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

The people who appear at every protest actually weaken all protests - very easy to dismiss them as cranks.

Even in this case - they protested outside the Israeli embassy - fine, I can understand that - then they decided to protest the US embassy because.............? it was a nice day and the next bus isn't for another hour?

Sorry for the lad, but don't put yourself in confrontational situations if you're likely to have adverse reactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Getting dragged along by three gards and having your head scraped off the ground is something you "deserve" for not moving quick enough not moving at all when you're asked?

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Think they did the best they could, what else should they habe done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

I never said peaceful, I am saying if your asked to move and you don't, you can be dragged off by the feet with your head in full contact with the ground... Surely this is leaving the guards open to , well, one day killing someone, or severely damaging someone's neck etc...
    It doesn't seem the smartest way to move someone not co operating.

Problem is he refused to move, then resisted when the Gardai tried to move him. He was being carried by two Gardai when his head ended up on the ground as one lost hold of him while he continued to kick and fight. Its a situation he made for himself while his pals stood around shouting and giving the Gardai abuse.

To claim that its one step away from the Gardai killing someone is just complete and utter horseshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Pro-tip: don't lie down in the middle of the road when the police tell you to move away. Also, if you're an epileptic who is prone to having fits you shouldn't be putting yourself at risk like that.

I also love that the video opens with a title describing it as "brutality". I can make my own mind up, thanks. Love the protesters shouting and roaring at the gardai trying to do their jobs as well.

Rent a crowd knobends.

Unbelievable that this post got so many thanks.
    I've watched so many videos about so called "police brutality" in ireland and never saw the gardai do anything wrong and I've defended them in plenty of threads.
    But even if this guy didn't have a fit, the way the gardai carried him was a disgrace. Unless he threw a punch off camera, he didn't deserve to be treated like this.
    I don't like crusties as much as the next man, but they have a right to protest, and when you see people supporting police behaviour like that because they're "rent a crowd", it's a sad state. As long as the protesting is peaceful, there's no problem with it.

Odelay wrote: »
    Think they did the best they could, what else should they habe done?

Asked him to move, please, then if he didn't maybe say pretty please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

Do they not be trained in handling people?

Did you ever be schooled in English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

bluefinger wrote: »
    some of you posting the cynical crap above should be ashamed of yourselves. to watch a person being treated like that and immediately jump to the defence of the aggressors is twisted.

It's a pretty Irish reaction.. deference to authority.