Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

French is Dey -bu

French isn't English. I don't really know what that poster was expecting.

French is Dey - bew as the ut termination in French is pronounced more like ew. It's ew pronounced with an o shaped mouth.

Ps I said it was a French word being used in English not that French is English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

Work with a culchie guy who can't pronounces 'Specific' as PACIFIC - annoys the fook out of me :)

What's with culchies pronouncing Saturday as Sa-hurr-day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Lynn I don't know whether you are a man or woman young or old. Let me explain Tomas, many years ago people in Ireland spoke Irish .Thomas is Tomás in Irish ;) When we were forced to use English we didn't use th's.

Shouldn't we retake it so, show our oppressors what's what ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Shouldn't we retake it so, show our oppressors what's what ;)

No we shouldn't :)

livEwirE wrote: »
    Work with a culchie guy who can't pronounces 'Specific' as PACIFIC - annoys the fook out of me :)

He can't pronounces specific as pacific, maybe you should have another go at writing that sentence ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Spotted in a pub window in Westport last week

F9BB8192-351F-48EF-A4C3-6D6D7E653D5D_zpsrxqaove3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...What's with culchies pronouncing Saturday as Sa-hurr-day?

That's a Mullingar accent, popular with Caravan-Utilising Nomadic Types. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

No we shouldn't :)

Just kidding, :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    That's a Mullingar accent, popular with Caravan-Utilising Nomadic Types. :D

Don't true Dubs drop their t's "wha it's bleedin sauurday already" must be more of a dub thing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

How would you pronounce them? "caw" "baw" "staw"

No, I pronounce them the same way most Irish people do.
    I'm just pointing out the absurdity of some people complaining about "correct" pronunciation, when their concept of correct pronunciation is one that's very culturally influenced, and not universal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

I completely agree with BigCheese, Ian Guider on Newstalk.

Treeatee instead of treaty
    Safeatee instead of safety

No, I pronounce them the same way most Irish people do.
    I'm just pointing out the absurdity of some people complaining about "correct" pronunciation, when their concept of correct pronunciation is one that's very culturally influenced, and not universal.
    Exactly even English people have trouble speaking their own language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,235 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Don't true Dubs drop their t's "wha it's bleedin sauurday already" must be more of a dub thing :)

I wouldn't know. I only heard about it e'er yursturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

I think we should make a distinction between illiteracy, accents and mis-pronunciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭electric applause

What annoys me the most though, although it's more grammar than pronounciation, is this.

"I was stood there..." No, you were standing there. Feck off.

I know it's an English thing to not be able to speak their own language correctly but lately irish people have adapted that way of speaking too and it's WRECKING MY HEAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭smilerf

I hate when aul ones call wedges "wedgies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

What annoys me the most though, although it's more grammar than pronounciation, is this.

"I was stood there..." No, you were standing there. Feck off.

I know it's an English thing to not be able to speak their own language correctly but lately irish people have adapted that way of speaking too and it's WRECKING MY HEAD

Is that even grammatically incorrect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭scheister

one thing i cant stay is working in a bookies and hearing the english mispronunciation of Irish racecourses. once or twice is ok some have been doing it and been corrected for years.

Naas= Na-ass
    Dundalk =Dun-dalk
    drogheda= dro-heed-a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Frigating

I will 'bait' anyone who mispronounces the word beat.

Also, my sister knows someone who, during a game of scrabble, insisted 'bading' is what you do in the bath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

The irony of mispronouncing imbecile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭huey1975

scheister wrote: »
    one thing i cant stay is working in a bookies and hearing the english mispronunciation of Irish racecourses. once or twice is ok some have been doing it and been corrected for years.

Naas= Na-ass
    Dundalk =Dun-dalk
    drogheda= dro-heed-a

There is no racecourse in Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭scheister

scheister wrote: »

Naas= Na-ass
    Dundalk =Dun-dalk
    drogheda= dro-heed-a
    huey1975 wrote: »
    There is no racecourse in Drogheda.

Sorry meant to separate that one that from the football not the racing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Some folk in my college, whilst discussing the recent debacle regarding Garth Brooks, would refer to him as "Gareth Brooks".
    Considering how they will simply NOT SHUT UP, I'm slowly developing a slight twitch of rage in my left eye...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭shalalala

"Amn't" Such a fcuking annoying word! But mispronunciation would be "yoooooogurt" Instead of "Yogurt"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Prostate instead of prostrate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

shalalala wrote: »
    "Amn't" Such a fcuking annoying word!

Infinitely better than "ain't"

garancafan wrote: »
    Infinitely better than "ain't"
    That ain't so :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

shalalala wrote: »
    "Amn't" Such a fcuking annoying word! But mispronunciation would be "yoooooogurt" Instead of "Yogurt"

When people say yog-urt it hurts my brain. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

When people say yog-urt it hurts my brain. :P

Yog urt is correct. Yo gurt is also correct. There are thousands of words with two or sometimes more than two standard pronunciations. I accept this as a fact and it saves me from going into paroxysms of rage or having a hurting brain whenever someone uses the form which I don't use.

http://www.howjsay.com/index.php?word=yogurt&submit=Submit

I asked the maid in dulcet tone
    To order me a buttered scone;
    The silly girl has been and gone
    And ordered me a buttered scone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

In golf I hate when people say 'stapleford' when it's meant to be stableford.