Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,074 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Matt Cooper pronouncing "with" as "witch".

... "here's xxx witch your news"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 AliBaba2010

When my mam say's I-talian instead of Italian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

NIMAN wrote: »

And he says 'nooooze' for news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

a-loom-in-um

That's grand though sometimes ? Americans spell it " aluminum "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

Portagill instead of Portugal and twomond park instead of Thomand park . Mainly in the Limerick area for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Hostipal

or anything in that fake D4 accent such as Roish (right) , basically what is written by Ross Carroll O'Kelly.

I would go as far to say I could never date someone with that accent, it annoys me that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Safety.. Safe tee. Simple enough. Not safe e tee. Where's the bloody extra e coming from...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

RTE presenters (Anne Doyle the main culprit) pronouncing pretty much all vowels as "a"

The badget instead of budget etc

Anne Doyle used to also call Bertie Ahern "Baatty Ahawn"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Day Boo... George Hamilton during the World Cup, butchering debut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I've never listened to Matt Cooper but I could guess that he'd only pronounce is because of the following word. If it were "Here come xxx with my dinner", he probably wouldn't pronounce 'with' as 'witch'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Ah here, Matt needs a thread to himself.

"The match is on Saherrrday"

And as for Ian Guider on Newstalk breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

emeldc wrote: »
    Jeez, the brother's going to fierce upset when I tell him his name is really Tomas, he's 52 like!

Can't stop laughing at this. Tomas sounds wrong to me, every time I hear the Brown Thomas ad, I think that should be Thomas, not Tomas :o...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

gerrybbadd wrote: »

That's an American pronounciation.

Trebor176 wrote: »
    FebUary. It's, of course, February.

Not everything on English is pronounced as spelt. Without the middle r is ok. So is with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

*BRIGHT FLASHING LIGHT* SARCASM WARNING *BRIGHT FLASHING LIGHT*

I hate the way Irish people mispronounce "car," "bar," "star" etc. by using the short vowel sound and pronouncing the "r."

How are these supposed to be different?
    How would you pronounce them? "caw" "baw" "staw"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

Is debut not a French word so day boo would technically be correct. Similar to subleem for sublime. There are lots of "English" words derived from french. Milluns (Millions) of them.

Dracula! wrote: »
    Is debut not a French word so day boo would technically be correct. Similar to subleem for sublime. There are lots of "English" words derived from french. Milluns (Millions) of them.

French is Dey -bu

French isn't English. I don't really know what that poster was expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Mick55

Don't know if it has been posted before but: Liberry instead of Library!

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Can't stop laughing at this. Tomas sounds wrong to me, every time I hear the Brown Thomas ad, I think that should be Thomas, not Tomas :o...
    Lynn I don't know whether you are a man or woman young or old. Let me explain Tomas, many years ago people in Ireland spoke Irish .Thomas is Tomás in Irish ;) When we were forced to use English we didn't use th's.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

gerrybbadd wrote: »

How are you supposed to prounouce that word in English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

Definitely being pronounced
    defin-eye-tly

Certificate being pronounced certa-fickate

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

deise08 wrote: »
    Definitely being pronounced
    defin-eye-tly

At a guess, this came about as a huge proportion of people misspell it as 'definately' or, perplexingly, 'defiantly' and those correcting them stressed the I sound to indicate the correct spelling. It must have warped into an unfunny joke at some stage.

Cork, Coirk
    Work, Werk
    Butter, Budder
    Welcome, Walcome as used by a souped up granny on RTE :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

One that amuses me is the Irish attempts to pronounce the Turkish town of Kuşadası. It is Kuh SHAD a su. Not the woeful KOO sad A see you hear. You would have thought that having visited the place some would cop on but maybe the Turks who live and work there have given up and now just roll their eyes and put up with it - while taking in the money.

First Up wrote: »
    but maybe the Turks who live and work there have given up and now just roll their eyes and put up with it - while taking in the money.

That's nobody's business but the Turks!

First Up wrote: »
    One that amuses me is the Irish attempts to pronounce the Turkish town of Kuşadası. It is Kuh SHAD a su. Not the woeful KOO sad A see you hear. You would have thought that having visited the place some would cop on but maybe the Turks who live and work there have given up and now just roll their eyes and put up with it - while taking in the money.
    In fairness not many people would even know that place never mind know how to pronounce it.

Mick55 wrote: »
    That's nobody's business but the Turks!

Hard to blame them I suppose. Not their job to educate the great unwashed. Its just annoying when RTE mispronounces it too.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    In fairness not many people would even know that place never mind know how to pronounce it.

Hugely popular resort with a certain category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

Probably should be in the joke section but I thought it might fit in here quite well........

By the time you read through this YOU WILL UNDERSTAND "TENJOOBERRYMUDS"...

The following is a telephone exchange between maybe you as a hotel guest and call room-service somewhere in the good old U S A.

Room Service : "Morrin. Roon sirbees."

Guest : "Sorry, I thought I dialed room-service."

Room Service: " Rye. Roon sirbees...morrin! Joowish to oddor sunteen???"

Guest: "Uh..... Yes, I'd like to order bacon and eggs."

Room Service: "Ow July den?"

Guest: ".....What??"

Room Service: "Ow July den?!?... pryed, boyud, poochd?"

Guest: "Oh, the eggs! How do I like them? Sorry.. scrambled, please."

Room Service: "Ow July dee baykem? Crease?"

Guest: "Crisp will be fine."

Room Service: "Hokay. An Sahn toes?"

Guest: "What?"

Room Service: "An toes. July Sahn toes?"

Guest: "I... don't think so."

RoomService: "No? Judo wan sahn toes???"

Guest: "I feel really bad about this, but I don't know what 'judo wan sahn toes' means."

RoomService: "Toes! Toes!...Why Joo don Juan toes? Ow bow Anglish moppin we bodder?"

Guest: "Oh, English muffin!!! I've got it! You were saying 'toast'... Fine...Yes, an English muffin will be fine."

RoomService: "We bodder?"

Guest: "No, just put the bodder on the side."

RoomService: "Wad?!?"

Guest: "I mean butter... just put the butter on the side."

RoomService: "Copy?"

Guest: "Excuse me?"

RoomService: "Copy...tea..meel?"

Guest: "Yes. Coffee, please... and that's everything."

RoomService: "One Minnie. Scramah egg, crease baykem, Anglish moppin, we bodder on sigh and copy ... rye??"

Guest: "Whatever you say."

RoomService: "Tenjooberrymuds."

Guest: "You're welcome"