Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those damn cyclists again!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Jawgap wrote: »
    .......in a testicle counting competition :pac:

He counted his in half the time though, is it speed or numbers that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

? Having driven a 8 wheeler rigid body truck, just like my father, this is so wrong its unbelievable. Despite what many Irish drivers believe, a truck should always give way to smaller traffic for safety reasons when needed. The only thing I can think you meant is hook turning at tight junctions, they should always be cautious in these scenarios and complete the maneuver when safe and clear.

Not wrong at all. Try to Navigate a roundabout or town while driving a rigid and you'll have fun if you dont straddle or at least keep your right wheels on the broken line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

CramCycle wrote: »
    He counted his in half the time though, is it speed or numbers that matter.

.....weight (or mass to be more precise!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,501 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I have never seen a garda doing speed checks on the motorway unless tailing and doing averages as they know its a waste of time,

Admittedly I'd imagine I'd do a lot more motorway than most, but it would be a very rare week that I wouldn't see at least one speed trap on a motorway. Generally sitting on the on-ramps at junctions catching cars that speed going past. Most of my motorway driving is M4, M7 or M9.
    wait until a tyre blows out at 140kmph and see how it goes.

If you have a tyre blowout then 140kmph vs 120kmph isn't any different.
    Agree with this, I am in favour of permanent speed cameras the only negative being is that drivers learn tpositions and speed in between them which is the reason the permanent ones are avoided.

Personally, with the exception of at some blackspots, I don't see a whole lot of value in fixed cameras (for the reasons you've mentioned).

Vans (and other moveable cameras - the Dutch and Germans have some good examples) are much more effective.
    Unlikely to be much speeding in these scenarios
    Some places (the quays in Dublin, Leeson St and the South side of Stephen's Green immediately spring to mind) have quite a bit of speeding, yet other along the quays is the only place I've seen any enforcement.

blackwhite wrote: »
    Personally, with the exception of at some blackspots, I don't see a whole lot of value in fixed cameras (for the reasons you've mentioned).
    I'd prefer if they got rid of that only in specific zones BS as well, if its safe enough to place a van in a certain place do it, no warning, no national campaign that you could only meet the vans in certain places. Having muppets slamming on the brakes on certain corners to drop 40 below the limit that they were not breaking anyway. If there is a layby and no safety issues, let them at it. Surprised to hear on the news from the Garda commisioner that we apparently have one of the highest levels of obeying the speed limit in europe 80+%, compared to a european average of 50-55% (can't remember the exact numbers).

I have to say, haven driven in most of the countries in western Europe I'm not surprised at all!
    Outside of urban areas I'm not sure we're a whole lot different, but in a lot of European cities I visited speeding seemed to be the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Jeezuz if someone has trouble passing a cyclist, no matter how far centre lane they are, I dunno how they ever pass cars!

Hmmmmm......a political appointee in a temporary position who will be applying for a job that is wholly within the gift of the government, basically comes out and says (for a second time) - "All grand. Nothing to see here. Government policy in this area is working........look the government's doing a great job and the Guards are doing a great job....."

Of course it's legit ;)

Jawgap wrote: »
    Hmmmmm......a political appointee in a temporary position who will be applying for a job that is wholly within the gift of the government, basically comes out and says (for a second time) - "All grand. Nothing to see here. Government policy in this area is working........look the government's doing a great job and the Guards are doing a great job....."

Of course it's legit ;)

In the context of the report, it was the Seanad giving out that not enough people were speeding (or being caught) to pay for the speed camera initiative and the commissioner saying well, people are following the rules better than predicted, not really much we can do about that.

It was really odd, there was a problem, they brought in a solution to tackle it or at least reduce it, the problem has been reduced, people are annoyed that no one is causing the problem anymore as they can't justify the solution to the problem having been paid for in the first place.

I still say its monkeys getting trained through negative reinforcement, i.e. the speed camera can only be on this space of road, so I will follow the law to the letter here, but once I am out of this zone I won't give a toss. It really needs to be truly random placement or the real issue will never be solved.

We approached the local Guards about getting some speed enforcement carried out near the national school and in fairness to the Sergeant he arranged for someone from Traffic to come along and speak at the Parents' Council - the gist of his presentation was that there wasn't enough speeding going on to make it worth their while! Plus there had never been a collision there, or on that stretch of road (thankfully)

So some TY students from the nearby secondary school did a survey and found that nearly 60% of the cars passing the school during the morning and afternoon were speeding.

This data was brought back to the Guards and their response was that it wasn't the proportion of speeding vehicles that made it worth their while - i was the absolute number.........and us in our naivete thinking it was about road safety.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,896 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

how did they do the survey?

In groups of eight. They measured out a stretch of road in front of the school, marked it (start, end and mid-point) - then timed vehicles over the distance - for each nominated vehicle four simultaneous time measurements were made (with the pairs of observers at different points along the stretch) and the average of the raw data was taken and reported on.

They also - iirc - had 'control' drivers known to them go through the stretch.

I can't recall the exact details but there was a 'margin of error' - whereby to be classed as a speeder you had to be 37 km/hr (I think!) or more (the limit outside the school is 30 km/hr)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Is this thread still going? It's getting as bad as a cancelled has-been country singers concert thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,453 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Is this thread still going? It's getting as bad as a cancelled has-been country singers concert thread.

In lieu of paying *ahem* road tax we're obliged to take these threads to at least 600 posts once a month.

Unfortunately, we're not allowed to just link to all the other threads where we have to explain the same stuff over and over again...

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

on what basis do you think cyclists should pay 'road tax' so? emissions? vehicle weight? road wear?

How about the flat rate applied to pedestrian controlled machines :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭papu

Spook_ie wrote: »

And what about wheelchairs and buggies?...

Shoe tax?!? Wouldn't that be VAT?

Oh.....'flat rate'!!!!

I thought you said 'fat rate' - in which case I'd have been fooked!

Bit late to this disco @Spook.ie - most of your greatest hits have already been played :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

papu wrote: »
    And what about wheelchairs and buggies?...
    endacl wrote: »
    Shoe tax?!? Wouldn't that be VAT?

What about them, the discussion is about "Those damn cyclists again!" or are you asking if the cyclist is towing a wheelchair or buggy? or pushing his bicycle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭papu

What about them, the discussion is about "Those damn cyclists again!" or are you asking if the cyclist is towing a wheelchair or buggy? or pushing his bicycle?

Are they not pedestrian controlled machines? as would be skateboards , rollerblades , scooters and waveboards...

You're saying we should tax them all.. tax everyone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

Its the douchebags in their plastic ass sports panties that need to get off my roads.

Its not a sports area, why are you practicing sports on the road. In traffic.
    Go away.

You too back road runners .. durr I think Ill run round tiny back roads with blind corners.
    Get off my roads you fruity rubber pants wearing bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I'm with Spooke on this one. So my bike weighs say 9kg, compared to my car which is let's say 1500kg. I pay €200 annum to tax my car based on emissions.

Although my bike or me produces no emissions - I'm sure someone will point out the negligible effect of co2 produced by me huffing and puffing, but let's park that. On the basis of the weight of my bike and the wear and tear it caused by sheer weight alone, I'm willing to tax it proportionally to the weight of my car which works out about €1 annually.

Where do I send my cheque?

.....to get off my roads

Stopped reading after that. Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Stopped reading after that. Next.

I dont care if you live or die.

Riiiiiight ??

Well that escalated quickly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Sorry, had to post it (it's been a while...)

Riiiiiight ??

Welcome to boards. You'll do well.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I'm with Spooke on this one. So my bike weighs say 9kg, compared to my car which is let's say 1500kg. I pay €200 annum to tax my car based on emissions.

Although my bike or me produces no emissions - I'm sure someone will point out the negligible effect of co2 produced by me huffing and puffing, but let's park that. On the basis of the weight of my bike and the wear and tear it caused by sheer weight alone, I'm willing to tax it proportionally to the weight of my car which works out about €1 annually.

Where do I send my cheque?

Ah I'm pretty sure you fart as well though! :pac:

blackwhite wrote: »
    Ah I'm pretty sure you fart as well though! :pac:

Ah jayney they tax methane as well?