Jawgap wrote: » .......in a testicle counting competition :pac:
? Having driven a 8 wheeler rigid body truck, just like my father, this is so wrong its unbelievable. Despite what many Irish drivers believe, a truck should always give way to smaller traffic for safety reasons when needed. The only thing I can think you meant is hook turning at tight junctions, they should always be cautious in these scenarios and complete the maneuver when safe and clear.
CramCycle wrote: » He counted his in half the time though, is it speed or numbers that matter.
CramCycle wrote: » I have never seen a garda doing speed checks on the motorway unless tailing and doing averages as they know its a waste of time,
CramCycle wrote: » wait until a tyre blows out at 140kmph and see how it goes.
CramCycle wrote: » Agree with this, I am in favour of permanent speed cameras the only negative being is that drivers learn tpositions and speed in between them which is the reason the permanent ones are avoided.
CramCycle wrote: » Unlikely to be much speeding in these scenarios
blackwhite wrote: » Personally, with the exception of at some blackspots, I don't see a whole lot of value in fixed cameras (for the reasons you've mentioned).
CramCycle wrote: » I'd prefer if they got rid of that only in specific zones BS as well, if its safe enough to place a van in a certain place do it, no warning, no national campaign that you could only meet the vans in certain places. Having muppets slamming on the brakes on certain corners to drop 40 below the limit that they were not breaking anyway. If there is a layby and no safety issues, let them at it. Surprised to hear on the news from the Garda commisioner that we apparently have one of the highest levels of obeying the speed limit in europe 80+%, compared to a european average of 50-55% (can't remember the exact numbers).
Jawgap wrote: » Hmmmmm......a political appointee in a temporary position who will be applying for a job that is wholly within the gift of the government, basically comes out and says (for a second time) - "All grand. Nothing to see here. Government policy in this area is working........look the government's doing a great job and the Guards are doing a great job....." Of course it's legit
magicbastarder wrote: » how did they do the survey?
henryporter wrote: » Is this thread still going? It's getting as bad as a cancelled has-been country singers concert thread.
magicbastarder wrote: » on what basis do you think cyclists should pay 'road tax' so? emissions? vehicle weight? road wear?
Spook_ie wrote: » How about the flat rate applied to pedestrian controlled machines
papu wrote: » And what about wheelchairs and buggies?...
endacl wrote: » Shoe tax?!? Wouldn't that be VAT? :pac:
Spook_ie wrote: » What about them, the discussion is about "Those damn cyclists again!" or are you asking if the cyclist is towing a wheelchair or buggy? or pushing his bicycle?
Elegant Elliot Offen wrote: » .....to get off my roads
Pinch Flat wrote: » Stopped reading after that. Next.
Elegant Elliot Offen wrote: » I dont care if you live or die. Riiiiiight ??
Pinch Flat wrote: » I'm with Spooke on this one. So my bike weighs say 9kg, compared to my car which is let's say 1500kg. I pay €200 annum to tax my car based on emissions. Although my bike or me produces no emissions - I'm sure someone will point out the negligible effect of co2 produced by me huffing and puffing, but let's park that. On the basis of the weight of my bike and the wear and tear it caused by sheer weight alone, I'm willing to tax it proportionally to the weight of my car which works out about €1 annually. Where do I send my cheque?
blackwhite wrote: » Ah I'm pretty sure you fart as well though! :pac: