Do you have a sneaky hope that the Orange Order will riot at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

mfceiling wrote: »
    The 2 brothers live about 400 yards from my father.

I know my cousin's husband fairly well - gave him a hand put down foundations for a garage about a month ago.

The last farmer i know very well, as i spent most of my days as a young fellow working on his farm with his 2 sons.

Is that ok for you?

They sound like great lads apart from the being members of a sectarian organisation thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

The 2 brothers live about 400 yards from my father.

I know my cousin's husband fairly well - gave him a hand put down foundations for a garage about a month ago.

The last farmer i know very well, as i spent most of my days as a young fellow working on his farm with his 2 sons.

Is that ok for you?

This guy I know, donated three of his hearts to dieing children, he said you're completely and utterly full of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Is this a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Do you know many orangemen? I do...i lived in the north for 24 years and lived in a mixed area in the country.

The 2 elderly brothers who are orangemen but drink in a mainly catholic pub every saturday night for as long as i can remember - they're scumbags?

My cousin is married to an man who is in the orange order - a quiet man who has raised tens of thousands for autism and who is in a business partnership with a catholic - scumbag?

The farmer who is in the orange order, but will be found every year helping his catholic farming neighbour's cut their silage - scumbag?

Yes there will be scumbags in the orange order who will delight in the riots in july. However, 95% will march on the 12th, then either go on holidays or go to back to work and normality next monday.
    95% seems a bit too optimistic, but it's good to learn about decent sorts in the Orange Order. All we ever hear about are the bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Couldn't care what they do but I presume their actions will make me grateful for being south of the border, and their insanity allows us to see how much better our society is here.

Yeah but then you turn on Joe and it's Garth Brooks and the Five in a row.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Do you know many orangemen? I do...i lived in the north for 24 years and lived in a mixed area in the country.

The 2 elderly brothers who are orangemen but drink in a mainly catholic pub every saturday night for as long as i can remember - they're scumbags?

My cousin is married to an man who is in the orange order - a quiet man who has raised tens of thousands for autism and who is in a business partnership with a catholic - scumbag?

The farmer who is in the orange order, but will be found every year helping his catholic farming neighbour's cut their silage - scumbag?

Yes there will be scumbags in the orange order who will delight in the riots in july. However, 95% will march on the 12th, then either go on holidays or go to back to work and normality next monday.

Just be careful the truth doesn't hit you on the way home there...:rolleyes:

I have relatives married in the north and there differences between there experiences with the OO couldn't be more extreme

burning there car for having GAA flags on it
    leaving grenades in the goalposts of GAA pitches on the day of an U16 club match final
    stopping them bringing in hay because they want to walk about....as they said alone some are grand....when they get together to march about...there real coulers show!!!

as for that rioting in Belfast....its a mess they made...going around murdering innocents in a bookies and returning a year later to taunt the locals....they wonder then why they're not wanted.....would you want them passing your house/area shouting abuse...what example is that to set for your kids that it is acceptable to let them walk over you...when they have no respect/even possibly hate you???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Fuhrer wrote: »
    This guy I know, donated three of his hearts to dieing children, he said you're completely and utterly full of ****.

Apt username...the children he donated the hearts to are probably still ok if they were "dieing".

Again, you probably have never set foot in the north, never met anyone in the orange order or have any experience of cross community groups, but sure don't let that get that in the way of the crap you're happy to spout...

I have relatives married in the north and there differences between there experiences with the OO couldn't be more extreme

burning there car for having GAA flags on it
    leaving grenades in the goalposts of GAA pitches on the day of an U16 club match final
    stopping them bringing in hay because they want to walk about....as they said alone some are grand....when they get together to march about...there real coulers show!!!

as for that rioting in Belfast....its a mess they made...going around murdering innocents in a bookies and returning a year later to taunt the locals....they wonder then why they're not wanted.....would you want them passing your house/area shouting abuse...what example is that to set for your kids that it is acceptable to let them walk over you...when they have no respect/even possibly hate you???

I have no doubt in my mind that there are secterian scumbags within the orange order...no doubt. However it's unfair to target EVERY single member with the same brush. As i've stated a huge amount of them will have nothing to do with any violence and will be disgusted to see it take place.

Believe me, i lived in the north in the height of the troubles and these scumbags are too brain dead to see that all they are doing is going back to the past.

And i do agree that the Orange Order need to take a good look at themselves and where they parade - the line of "we always parade here" is outdated and they need to realise that a bit of compromise and humility would go a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I have no doubt in my mind that there are secterian scumbags within the orange order...no doubt. However it's unfair to target EVERY single member with the same brush. As i've stated a huge amount of them will have nothing to do with any violence and will be disgusted to see it take place.

Believe me, i lived in the north in the height of the troubles and these scumbags are too brain dead to see that all they are doing is going back to the past.

And i do agree that the Orange Order need to take a good look at themselves and where they parade - the line of "we always parade here" is outdated and they need to realise that a bit of compromise and humility would go a long way.

they are just a festering sore in north....espially marching where they are not wanted
    they are essentially an anti-Catholic organisation....set up with an excuse to parade....if they called off there ardonye and garvachy road parades at the same time...there would be little to no trouble (these two cause 80%+ violence I read before somewhere)

the way they carried on murdering people to get down the garvahy road in the 90s...and the way the RUC helped them and forced them through because they were afraid to stand up them....will take along long time to be forgotton...never mind forgiven

those that desise republicans and the PIRA (a valid view in a lot of cases)..can brush over these events...they can remember the disapperared but forget the children burnt to death/taxi drivers murdered so Orangemen can walk down a road

and marching in arddonye to taunt locals about innocents being murdered....it is little wonder they wont be wanted around there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do the Orange Order ever clash with the AOH in Belfast?

Are AOH still visible in Catholic communities there?

they are just a festering sore in north....espially marching where they are not wanted
    they are essentially an anti-Catholic organisation....set up with an excuse to parade....if they called off there ardonye and garvachy road parades at the same time...there would be little to no trouble (these two cause 80%+ violence I read before somewhere)

Agree 100%

the way they carried on murdering people to get down the garvahy road in the 90s...and the way the RUC helped them and forced them through because they were afraid to stand up them....will take along long time to be forgotton...never mind forgiven

those that desise republicans and the PIRA (a valid view in a lot of cases)..can brush over these events...they can remember the disapperared but forget the children burnt to death/taxi drivers murdered so Orangemen can walk down a road

and marching in arddonye to taunt locals about innocents being murdered....it is little wonder they wont be wanted around there

Agree 100%
    Do the Orange Order ever clash with the AOH in Belfast?

Are AOH still visible in Catholic communities there?

Was actually talking about this with a guy from crossmaglen yesterday. He was saying that he hasn't seen an AOH parade in years...i remember them from years back...maybe they aren't as popular anymore?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 354 ✭✭pO1Neil

Yeah. Was well chuffed when Nigel Dodds got a brick in the back of the head last year from his own mob of loons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 354 ✭✭pO1Neil

Agree 100%

Was actually talking about this with a guy from crossmaglen yesterday. He was saying that he hasn't seen an AOH parade in years...i remember them from years back...maybe they aren't as popular anymore?

AOH are a very conservative group. The nationalist community have become much more progressive & liberal in recent decades.

pO1Neil wrote: »
    AOH are a very conservative group. The nationalist community have become much more progressive & liberal in recent decades.

Yep...true that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Like the Orangeman in the front with the shillelagh, wtf is he doing with an Irish weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

So no riots, like FFS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Ok point made...however it will still be about a 95% ratio of scumbag to orange order member who will riot this weekend.

You seem to think that the Orange Order is a scumbag free organisation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Magaggie wrote: »

What a complete and utter clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

6541 wrote: »
    So no riots, like FFS.

Blame the footy on TV ....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

6541 wrote: »
    So no riots, like FFS.

Delighted. Best news all weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

Okay Close thread, always next year !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Yes, next year you can always hope for mayhem, destruction, injury or maybe even loss of life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Like the Orangeman in the front with the shillelagh, wtf is he doing with an Irish weapon.

That's not a shillelagh ffs .......... it's a Norn Ireland vuvuzela with the horn hidden in what looks like a cancerous growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    That's not a shillelagh ffs .......... it's a Norn Ireland vuvuzela with the horn hidden in what looks like a cancerous growth.

ah yes, the norn iron vuvuzela, a unique relic steeped in prodestant "culture"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ya and nationalists never riot do they :rolleyes:

(jaysus reading these SF propaganda threads you'd swear the violence only comes from one side)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

fryup wrote: »
    these SF propaganda threads

Conspiracy theory forum thataway >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    you'd swear the violence only comes from one side

Thankfully the 12th of July 2014 passed of peacefully. There was no rioting/counter-rioting.

You understand that report is from Wednesday 13 July 2011 do you? What year are you living in?

So much fail in one post and perhaps the finest example of after-the-fact whataboutery I've ever read on boards.ie and that's saying something.

Dear me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Karl Stein wrote: »
    You understand that report is from Wednesday 13 July 2011 do you? What year are you living in?

doesn't matter what year it happened, just proving that there's scumbags on both sides
    So much fail in one post and perhaps the finest example of after-the-fact whataboutery I've ever read on boards.ie and that's saying something.

Dear me.

its got nothing to do with whataboutery i'm making a valid point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

fryup wrote: »
    doesn't matter what year it happened, just proving that there's scumbags on both sides

Already covered below:
    I'm sick of reading these failed attempts at moral equivocation.

Only one 'side' celebrates and perpetuates their hatred.
    its got nothing to do with whataboutery i'm making a valid point

It has everything to do with whataboutery. Your post amounts to 'what about them'uns'.

Dear dear deary me please stop now before you, like the loyalouts you're trying to divert attention from, embarrass yourself any further.

darkdubh wrote: »
    You seem to think that the Orange Order is a scumbag free organisation.

You seem to lack the ability to read...