Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Jaypers I might get you to do some work on my car! That's really good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I've been offered a phase 1 Renault 25 Monaco.

Do I need to think about this?

If you've a nice bank balance then go for it. If your living paycheque to paycheque then nope. The last thing you want is the woman begging you to go somewhere and your answer is I can't I spent it on the cars. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Jaypers I might get you to do some work on my car! That's really good!

Ill go over it with a DA tomorrow and see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Double trouble...
    14615280056_dd7670d673_h.jpg

Can the eagle eyed tell me what size those are and what Alfa they're from....? :P

Rare engines in this country? There are 5 more round here, 2 more on pallets :o

With the spare engines I might make myself Irelands fastest transport box :pac:
    14636130134_089739b317_h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

While on the topic of fillers and painting, after using isopan fillers, should you use a primer?

dgt wrote: »
    Double trouble...

Can the eagle eyed tell me what size those are and what Alfa they're from....? :P

Rare engines in this country? There are 5 more round here, 2 more on pallets :o

With the spare engines I might make myself Irelands fastest transport box :pac:

All i can think now is "in this picture there are 47 alfas, none of them can be seen, in these pictures we hope to show you how not to be seen" :pac:

While on the topic of fillers and painting, after using isopan fillers, should you use a primer?

Aye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,398 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...] its still going to need to be repainted and there was one small dent I could not get out which will need to be filled but its a hell of a lot better than it was. The edges have no paint left on them so there nothing I could do with that.
    [...]
    Well, at least you can paint them using a marker. ;)

Until the time you respray it, won't be seen from a distance. :D

Nice selfie, BTW. :P

314374.jpg

You can paint over it but I have heard people still like to do one or two coats of Primer just to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Brought the Jimny home tonight. They're not as slow as I thought it was. Its pulls well enough through the gears for a jeep. We bit skittish on bouncy back roads at 50+mph but that was to be expected. On the flat it's grand. Wiper/Indicator stalks are arseways, wipers galore going round roundabouts, bit like most older Jap cars.

Took it for a spin round the bog tonight, it weighs about as much as a box of matches so it's good craic off road. Left with a grin on my face.

I'll throw a few pics up tomorrow, the light was gone by the time I got back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Double trouble...

I see three bussos in that first pic :cool:

3.0s from 166s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I see three bussos in that first pic :cool:

4 actually ;)
    Augeo wrote: »
    3.0s from 166s?

Front one is, rear is from a 2.5 156

The 3.0 intake runners are bigger, white injectors instead of yellow, the top steady is in a different position and it has a different bottom engine mount :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Chris that's some great work!! Love seeing a turnaround like that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

If you've a nice bank balance then go for it. If your living paycheque to paycheque then nope. The last thing you want is the woman begging you to go somewhere and your answer is I can't I spent it on the cars. :pac:

I hate you :pac:

Ah g'wan and buy it. YOLO as the young'ins do say! :P

If the price is right obviously :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

The real important question is; has it got leather seats like arm chairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Kaiser D wrote: »
    The real important question is; has it got leather seats like arm chairs?

Its a Monaco, brown leather ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Its a Monaco, brown leather ftw

Jesus Christ buy this thing!!

Anyone with a decent head for basic maths able to help me out here?

Trying to work out a rough MPG..

I filled the car with diesel. Drove a small bit and then took a reading (cos i forgot to do it when actually filling it up :o ). Mileage was 129,630 miles.

My needle now says i have 1/4 of a tank left. According to the internet my car's fuel tank takes 66 litres. So if I've 1/4 tank left, that means I used 49.5 litres of diesel.

My current mileage is 130,018. Meaning I've covered 388miles?

Anyone able to work that out?

... From my own preschool mathematical education, if Johnny travels 388 miles on 49.5 litres of diesel, his MPG is 35.6mpg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

... From my own preschool mathematical education, if Johnny travels 388 miles on 49.5 litres of diesel, his MPG is 35.6mpg?

If Johnny travels 388 miles - aka 624 kms on 49.5 litres of diesel, then his average fuel consumption was 7.93 litres per 100 kms.
    Which in queen's maths is 35.62 miles per gallon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Anyone with a decent head for basic maths able to help me out here?

Trying to work out a rough MPG..

I filled the car with diesel. Drove a small bit and then took a reading (cos i forgot to do it when actually filling it up :o ). Mileage was 129,630 miles.

My needle now says i have 1/4 of a tank left. According to the internet my car's fuel tank takes 66 litres. So if I've 1/4 tank left, that means I used 49.5 litres of diesel.

My current mileage is 130,018. Meaning I've covered 388miles?

Anyone able to work that out?

Brim the tank again, you'll know how many litres you used then. You're only guessing at everything otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yay got my spacers on and she looks much better now, no longer lost in the arches :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Yay got my spacers on and she looks much better now, no longer lost in the arches :)

put up a pic.

Wheel braces and I don't go, another one frigged :mad:

I don't know how, I'm not rough with them. Have 3 wheels done perfect, now I can't do the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Buy a decent one this time :P

Sealey or draper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Buy a decent one this time :P

Sealey or draper

Bahco are decent, sweedish build quality.

Wouldn't touch a lot of Draper stuff, its gone awful crap in the last few years. They're expert range isn't bad, but they aren't what they used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Saw a Vectra OPC Estate and a Bora V6 :cool:. Some sleepers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Bora V6 :cool:

Where?

I saw a Bora with an R32 badge on the back a couple of days ago... not sure if legit :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

GvidoR wrote: »

Where?

I saw a Bora with an R32 badge on the back a couple of days ago... not sure if legit :confused:

Was down in Cork in the garage I work in!