Report Cattle on the loose?

• 13-07-2014 01:23AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. Although they'll probably find another garden to graze on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

WhatYaSay wrote: »
    I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. They'll probably find another garden to graze on!

Yea, call the local station or any neighbour who has cattle. They're a danger on the roads at night and can cause serious accidents, never mind damaging other gardens.

the neighbour can spread the new around fast to other farmers in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Why did you not resolve the problem yourself, they wont bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. They'll probably find another garden to graze on!

Yes contact Garda immediately - there is a very real risk of RTA. Do you know any local farmers? Contact them if you can as well - they should have a fair ideas whose they are if you can give decent description.

Generally it's best to keep them confined until you can contact someone, putting then out on the road is not a good idea tbh.

Good place to put this is Farming and Forestey Forum. Give approx location (via pm) you might strike it lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. Although they'll probably find another garden to graze on!

Contact this poster- she might be able to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

So you just hunted a few grand worth of prime beef out of your garden?

No recession in your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭WhatYaSay

Was on to the guards there, said they'd go have a look make sure they're not in harms way. Wouldn't have had a clue where to put them meself, got a bit of a surprise when I went out to see what the noises were tbh. Thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Was on to the guards there, said they'd go have a look make sure they're not in harms way. Wouldn't have had a clue where to put them meself, got a bit of a surprise when I went out to see what the noises were tbh. Thanks for the advice.
    Id have them on a bbq tomorrow afternoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Put them in the oven and have yourself a feast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Were any of them good looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Assuming you're not being literal, you live near Copper Faced Jacks, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

zz3FVLC.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You'd want to be careful with cows.

I got attacked by a cow once and i managed to knock him out with a punch to the head. Next thing the rest of the herd stood up on their hind legs and started shooting milk at me from their tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Super-Rush wrote: »

I got attacked by a cow once and i managed to knock him out with a punch to the head. Next thing the rest of the herd stood up on their hind legs and started shooting milk at me from their tits.

How did that make you feel? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Sure you weren't in a German transvestite fetish house? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Why did you not resolve the problem yourself, they wont bite.
    Shoot to kill?

=-=

OP: got grills for the front gate to stop them coming in in future.

Mickey H wrote: »
    How did that make you feel? :D

Don't mind him, he's just milking for sympathy.

*Rim tap, jazz hands*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

the_syco wrote: »
    Shoot to kill?

Put them back into the field or yard, not much point in starting a thread of what to do when a real presence of a traffic collision with stray cows on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

As far as stupid animals go, cows are definitely up there. Graze eating shower of ****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

OP Fat Chicks need lovin too, just they gotta pay, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

You did the right thing OP. If a cow ever got the chance he'd eat you and everyone you care about.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Invizible Dogboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

What good are the Gardai if they're just going to come have a look? Ask a neighbour if they know any local farmers. They'll all know each other and someone will come get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

bnagrrl wrote: »
    You did the right thing OP. If a cow ever got the chance he'd eat you and everyone you care about.
    Them cows are bad boys alright :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

If you're on Twitter just tweet @GardaTraffic they're extremely active.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 rocketholden

Truly hate the trolls... Your going to keep cows on your property that you don't own? Hmm farmer who owns them shows up and says you stole them the proof is on your garden don't be so stupid.. Ring the guard or tell the local farmers they will know who owns cows in the local area they don't go far due to looking for fresh grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,759 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Truly hate the trolls... Your going to keep cows on your property that you don't own? Hmm farmer who owns them shows up and says you stole them the proof is on your garden don't be so stupid.. Ring the guard or tell the local farmers they will know who owns cows in the local area they don't go far due to looking for fresh grass
    The cows were just resting in the garden, Dougal.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 rocketholden

Where did you find cows that milk themselves? Haha plus cows don't exactly attack its the bulls that do it or when its breeding season they get frisky and when i walk in the fields cows always come up to me there curious animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Jeefff

Where did you find cows that milk themselves? Haha plus cows don't exactly attack its the bulls that do it or when its breeding season they get frisky and when i walk in the fields cows always come up to me there curious animals

Cows do attack, as much as bulls..
    Especially when they've calves, they'd kill their farmer if given the chance to save the calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

bnagrrl wrote: »

Cows are the ones with the tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

If the cattle are still nearby, go out and read some of the ear tags - that will help track down the owner.