Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Report Cattle on the loose?

• 13-07-2014 12:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. Although they'll probably find another garden to graze on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

WhatYaSay wrote: »
    I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. They'll probably find another garden to graze on!

Yea, call the local station or any neighbour who has cattle. They're a danger on the roads at night and can cause serious accidents, never mind damaging other gardens.

the neighbour can spread the new around fast to other farmers in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Why did you not resolve the problem yourself, they wont bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. They'll probably find another garden to graze on!

Yes contact Garda immediately - there is a very real risk of RTA. Do you know any local farmers? Contact them if you can as well - they should have a fair ideas whose they are if you can give decent description.

Generally it's best to keep them confined until you can contact someone, putting then out on the road is not a good idea tbh.

Good place to put this is Farming and Forestey Forum. Give approx location (via pm) you might strike it lucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

I'm sure this is in the complete wrong forum, sorry. Just after putting 6/7 cattle out of the garden, wouldn't have a clue who owns them. Should I call the local garda station? I'd just be worried they'd make their way onto a nearby main road. Although they'll probably find another garden to graze on!

Contact this poster- she might be able to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

So you just hunted a few grand worth of prime beef out of your garden?

No recession in your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭WhatYaSay

Was on to the guards there, said they'd go have a look make sure they're not in harms way. Wouldn't have had a clue where to put them meself, got a bit of a surprise when I went out to see what the noises were tbh. Thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Was on to the guards there, said they'd go have a look make sure they're not in harms way. Wouldn't have had a clue where to put them meself, got a bit of a surprise when I went out to see what the noises were tbh. Thanks for the advice.
    Id have them on a bbq tomorrow afternoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Put them in the oven and have yourself a feast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Were any of them good looking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Assuming you're not being literal, you live near Copper Faced Jacks, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

zz3FVLC.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You'd want to be careful with cows.

I got attacked by a cow once and i managed to knock him out with a punch to the head. Next thing the rest of the herd stood up on their hind legs and started shooting milk at me from their tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Super-Rush wrote: »

I got attacked by a cow once and i managed to knock him out with a punch to the head. Next thing the rest of the herd stood up on their hind legs and started shooting milk at me from their tits.

How did that make you feel? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Sure you weren't in a German transvestite fetish house? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Shoot to kill?

=-=

OP: got grills for the front gate to stop them coming in in future.

Mickey H wrote: »
    How did that make you feel? :D

Don't mind him, he's just milking for sympathy.

*Rim tap, jazz hands*

the_syco wrote: »
    Shoot to kill?

Put them back into the field or yard, not much point in starting a thread of what to do when a real presence of a traffic collision with stray cows on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

As far as stupid animals go, cows are definitely up there. Graze eating shower of ****es

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

OP Fat Chicks need lovin too, just they gotta pay, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

You did the right thing OP. If a cow ever got the chance he'd eat you and everyone you care about.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Invizible Dogboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

What good are the Gardai if they're just going to come have a look? Ask a neighbour if they know any local farmers. They'll all know each other and someone will come get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

bnagrrl wrote: »
    You did the right thing OP. If a cow ever got the chance he'd eat you and everyone you care about.
    Them cows are bad boys alright :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

If you're on Twitter just tweet @GardaTraffic they're extremely active.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 rocketholden

Truly hate the trolls... Your going to keep cows on your property that you don't own? Hmm farmer who owns them shows up and says you stole them the proof is on your garden don't be so stupid.. Ring the guard or tell the local farmers they will know who owns cows in the local area they don't go far due to looking for fresh grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,067 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Truly hate the trolls... Your going to keep cows on your property that you don't own? Hmm farmer who owns them shows up and says you stole them the proof is on your garden don't be so stupid.. Ring the guard or tell the local farmers they will know who owns cows in the local area they don't go far due to looking for fresh grass
    The cows were just resting in the garden, Dougal.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 rocketholden

Where did you find cows that milk themselves? Haha plus cows don't exactly attack its the bulls that do it or when its breeding season they get frisky and when i walk in the fields cows always come up to me there curious animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Jeefff

Where did you find cows that milk themselves? Haha plus cows don't exactly attack its the bulls that do it or when its breeding season they get frisky and when i walk in the fields cows always come up to me there curious animals

Cows do attack, as much as bulls..
    Especially when they've calves, they'd kill their farmer if given the chance to save the calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

bnagrrl wrote: »

Cows are the ones with the tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

If the cattle are still nearby, go out and read some of the ear tags - that will help track down the owner.

Thoie wrote: »
    If the cattle are still nearby, go out and read some of the ear tags - that will help track down the owner.

You can use an iphone scanner app on the tags, tells you the owner, phone number and first of kin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,067 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

OP, did they leave any fresh, steaming manure for the roses?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Jeefff wrote: »
    Cows do attack, as much as bulls..
    Especially when they've calves, they'd kill their farmer if given the chance to save the calf
    Cows can attack when they are after calving to protect their calf, rarely happens though unless you have a dog around the cow will protect her calf from the dog and if you are standing near her you will be attacked before the dog. They wouldn't kill the farmer but they would leave him fairly sore. Bulls will kill when they attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Put them back into the field or yard, not much point in starting a thread of what to do when a real presence of a traffic collision with stray cows on the road.
    Into what field or yard? It's the funking countryside; cows could have walked for a bit looking for grass to eat, so they may not be from the nearest field. Cows being heavy animals can destroy a garden, just by walking around in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

*just sayin*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

They're gazing the long acre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

I come from farming background. I would never give that advice to people who do not know how to handle cattle. Some cattle are wild and might charge or kick, if they feel threaten. I have seen too many people beeping the horns and reving cars at loose cattle which in turn charge them or other vehicles, kick light/ bumpers and or scatter the cattle running down the road towards other road users. It much harder to stop scared cattle and they are a danger to others and can cause damage or injure others when scared.

My Advice is call the guards and contact the nearest farmer if you can.
    Shut off any noisy equipment. Close doors to buildings, and never run, if they enter your property. Never hunt cattle out of the property as they could run out onto oncoming traffic and cause an accident. They could take a life of other road users and leaving you responsible for it.

Farmers do help each other especially when they are away and neighbours help in putting their cattle back in. I have put in many a cattle into fields for neighbours and other areas I encounter loose cattle on the roads. I contact the farmer about the loose cattle. It might not belong to him/her, but they usually know who they belong to. I grew up dealing with cattle I know how to deal with the wild ones.

Some basic rules when dealing with loose or driven cattle on the road.
    Never rev your vehicle or beep your horn.
    Follow the directions of the cattle driver.
    If possible turn off your vehicle (If very noisy) or keep it at low rev and turn down your radio. Keep noise to a minimum.
    Never shout at cattle. Leave that to experience cattle drivers
    Allow the cattle to pass at their own pace.
    Only pass if the cattle driver waves you on and do so at a gentle pace, not like an inconsiderate manic.
    Ring the gardai if you encounter loose cattle.
    Have patience and never ever panic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Relax. They're on their way to Croker for the round up. Yeeee hah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Cows are not likely to attack unless they have reason to, they're herbivores ffs :P

But you live somewhere, presumably rural where there are cows, and you don't know who owns them, what is the world coming to that we don't know our neighbours, sad state of affairs altogether :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

How's he supposed to resolve the problem if he doesn't know where the cows have broken out from,or who owns them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Them cows are bad boys alright :rolleyes:
    Cows are the ones with the tits.

It was a quote from The Simpsons, i.e. a joke :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Jim Rockford

He's not responsible for them, they have no right to be on his property damaging it, nor has he any idea where they came from or what field, he's contacted the Gardai. If there was an accident or damage to another property while he was herding them around the locality in the dark he'd be the first to be blamed and sued.

So calling the guards or writing a thread is the best solution to cattle loose on the road.

While advising him, with no experience what so ever of cattle, to herd them up and down the public road, to God knows where, on his own, at night, is ? lol Great armchair advice all right.

While advising him, with no experience what so ever of cattle to herd them up and down the public road on his own at night is ? lol

Who gave advise of herding them up and down a public road?

Where is he going to herd them to then ? You didn't bother.

Where is he going to herd them to then ?

I dont know where the op lives, there is always a solution to be got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

This thread used to be fun :p

To be fair to the OP, he may have no experience of cattle and while some people may be used of herding around half tonne beasts, I don't believe that the OP had plans of becoming an impromptu cow-whisperer at 1.23am.

Gardaí would be able to block them off or let them into a yard or field so they were off the road.

I dont know where the op lives, there is always a solution to be got.

Yet you still advised him from your armchair to herd them, where to exactly ?