Statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary on bonfire in Orange Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Absolutely reprehensible. The fact that they allow that is pathetic. The usual Catholic bashers will say it's not that bad but something like that cannot be justified or lessened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

major bill wrote: »
    if only they put their talents into better use Northern Ireland may actually join the 21st century in the near future

Most of the north is in the 21st Century in fairness. There are some still living in the 1690's, 1920's and 1970/80's but they're an ever decreasing bunch of droolers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Maphisto wrote: »
    Quite depressing.

Everytime anyone starts talking about a united Ireland, I think "FFS - not in my lifetime."

What's a UI got to do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

uch wrote: »
    What Harm is that ?
    fedor.2. wrote: »
    No it isn't, won't bother many people I'd say

Lads, do ye actually have any idea of the existence of Northern Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I was reading about the Orange Order on an English based forum today and they are seen as a joke by them as well. If they want to run around making a show of themselves leave them at it. It's not like they're going to grow their organisation by behaving like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

Did the North not sort itself out yet? Have they still not sorted it?

**** sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    What's a UI got to do with it?

I am quite happy without them and their flegs, marches, bonfires, and any other $hoite they want to get up to - up there away from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

the_monkey wrote: »
    Going off topic here, some of these bonfires are ridiculously tall .. how the hell do they build them without a few fatalities from falls?

All thanks to the Protestant work ethic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

bunch of nordie rednecks, they're the type of people who listen to Garth Brooks music all the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

c_man wrote: »
    Imagine it didn't burn and was totally unscathed by the flames :eek:

mother of dragons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

kowloon wrote: »
    Mother of dragons! :eek:

fuu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It was on BBC news NI about a Catholic church that was broken into in Belfast, the church suffered a lot of damage with statues smashed and the stations of the cross taken off the walls and smashed up.
    Also it looked like one of the stain glassed windows was damaged, the priest had his car attacked as well.

People can make light of it, but it is supporting wrong doing and does nothing to bring people together.
    Just as putting a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary on top of a bonfire does nothing for harmony between people of different faiths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

their issue is with the immaculate conception.. but you'd be lucky to get it spelled correctly from those that put the statue on the bonfire.

'Its the way things were always done around here, just don't ask us what its about..'

I thought all Christians were supposed to believe in the immaculate conception no?

But it's not about religion is it, it's about provoking them-uns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carpejugulum

HurtLocker wrote: »
    I'm an atheist but the comments on this thread are ridiculous. You're an atheist, don't believe in Catholicism big bloody whoop. The statue of Mary represents the culture of my ancestors and my close family. Stealing and burning it is disgraceful and incites hatred between communities.

But hey let the totally original Catholic bashing continue on this site.
    define bashing

It's obviously religion inciting hatred between communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Not religious myself, but desecrating religious iconography in any situation seems pointless to me. It's just gonna cause further division.

And as for this particular case, there's more to it than it just being a religious statue - it's an attack on the nationalist community, part of whose identity is being catholic. No doubt lots of them aren't religious, but it's still part of their identity - in the same way as presbyterianism or methodism are affiliated with the unionist/loyalist communities.

In short, c*ntty thing to do, but to be expected.

define bashing

It's obviously religion inciting hatred between communities.

No, it is people doing it. Just like people do on forums when one side tries to rile up a person with a different opinion, religion may be the tool that is used, but it is people using that tool, sometimes it is people of no belief using their non belief as a tool to have a go at those who do and vise versa...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Elegant Elliot Offen

I want to topple that bonfire.

Not kill any of them.

Just spoil their fun.

I will drive there now and attach a tow rope.

I want to topple that bonfire.

Not kill any of them.

Just spoil their fun.

I will drive there now and attach a tow rope.

A drone would be safer, controlled from your sofa.
    The Ballybough residents could ask Obama when they contact him about the concerts for help in this area too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

For a community that whinges so much about not having their culture respected they sure love provoking and disrespecting other cultures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

How do people upset by these anti-Pope/Virgin Mary bonfires feel about Guy Fawkes night bonfires in England? The original sentiments behind them i.e. anti-Catholicism must have been broadly the same. Will we see the 12th bonfires evolve into something similar, an anachronistic but largely harmless spectacle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Can't decide who the bigger wasters are, the crowd who bothered to rob the statue and put it there or the crowd south of the border, either armchair republicans or this new brand of ultra tolerant anti atheists stewing in faux outrage over the burning of an icon.

How do you get anything done when you're outraged by every little thing, AH going the way of tumblr in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Custardpi wrote: »
    How do people upset by these anti-Pope/Virgin Mary bonfires feel about Guy Fawkes night bonfires in England? The original sentiments behind them i.e. anti-Catholicism must have been broadly the same. Will we see the 12th bonfires evolve into something similar, an anachronistic but largely harmless spectacle?

5th November hasn't been anti Catholic for over a hundred years and dates back to a time when religion was causing trouble all over Europe, now it is just a tradition for the fun of it and no one remembers anything other than some bloke trying to blow up the houses of parliament.

These bonfires are still deliberate incitement for a lot of people and are an excuse for blatent sectarianism.

urabell wrote: »
    Can't decide who the bigger wasters are, the crowd who bothered to rob the statue and put it there or the crowd south of the border, either armchair republicans or this new brand of ultra tolerant anti atheists stewing in faux outrage over the burning of an icon.

How do you get anything done when you're outraged by every little thing, AH going the way of tumblr in this thread.

I wouldn't call it faux outrage.

Most normal people wouldn't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

5th November hasn't been anti Catholic for over a hundred years and dates back to a time when religion was causing trouble all over Europe, now it is just a tradition for the fun of it and no one remembers anything other than some bloke trying to blow up the houses of parliament.

These bonfires are still deliberate incitement for a lot of people and are an excuse for blatent sectarianism.

So you accept that 5th November parties have evolved? Won't Orange bonfires eventually do the same? Perhaps they've already done so to a certain extent anyway. I'd like to think (perfectly willing to be proved wrong) that there's a fair amount of attendees at these bonfires that are just there for the craic, because it's something that they've always done & that they're not necessarily all budding Shankill Butchers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

These 'enthusiasts' only do such things for a reaction. Ignore them and they lose their shock value.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I thought all Christians were supposed to believe in the immaculate conception no?

I think only the Catholics believe Mary was special enough to be born without original sin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

For a community that whinges so much about not having their culture respected they sure love provoking and disrespecting other cultures.

That is what their culture consists of, in it's entirety.

It's so obvious, I have no time for them whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

If I was Mary I would jump before the flames got near me!! That would teach those Fanta Fookers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭NightOfTheHunt

At least it wasn't a statue of Mohammed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

urabell wrote: »
    This "new term" "faux outrage" is pretty tedious too. "Faux" means "fake", not sure why it's automatically fake.
    Although I agree with you on the anti-atheist bandwagon, but I really can't see how that's relevant here.