Biggest regrets in life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Doing the last year of college. Optional year at that. It'll be grand.

What a waste of time, money and my life. A hateful retched year that was piss poorly planned.

I also regret not moving out sooner and getting a proper job

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

InReality wrote: »
    I think a lot of people regret getting a degree and not a trade !

Depends on the trade

depends on the degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭TheJackAttack

Smoking crack .. smoking more crack...prostituting myself for crack .. giving my last cheeseburgers away for crack...sucking dick for crack.

Clean now though, thank crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Lou.m wrote: »
    Non, je ne regrette rien

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien

No, nothing of nothing
    No! I don't feel sorry about anything
    Not the good things people have done to me
    Not the bad things, it's all the same to me.

No, nothing of nothing
    No! I don't feel sorry about anything
    It's paid for, removed, forgotten,
    I'm happy of the past

With my memories
    I lit up the fire
    My troubles, my pleasures
    I don't need them anymore

Broomed away my love stories
    And all their tremble
    Broomed away for always
    I start again from zero

Non ! Je ne regrette rien
    Ni le mal, tout ça m'est bien égal !

Non ! Je ne regrette rien
    Because my life, my joys
    Today, they begin with you

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    Ni le bien qu'on m'a fait
    Ni le mal; tout ça m'est bien égal !

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    C'est payé, balayé, oublié
    Je me fous du passé !

Avec mes souvenirs
    J'ai allumé le feu
    Mes chagrins, mes plaisirs
    Je n'ai plus besoin d'eux !

Balayées les amours
    Et tous leurs trémolos
    Balayés pour toujours
    Je repars à zéro

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    Ni le bien qu'on m'a fait
    Ni le mal; tout ça m'est bien égal !

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    Car ma vie, car mes joies
    Aujourd'hui, ça commence avec toi
    Try to align
    English
    Je Ne Regrette Rien

Not sticking with French. Thanks Lou.m. Way to kick a guy in the nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

Every time I try to grow an epic bear and shave it because it's just too dam itchy and then I have to start all over again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Sprog 4 wrote: »
    Every time I try to grow an epic bear and shave it because it's just too dam itchy and then I have to start all over again :(

I'd love to see someone shave an epic bear. I'd say it would be epic! :pac:

As to my biggest regret? Not killing Hitler when I had the chance :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I crossed the street to avoid having a really awkward conversation with a very close friend. A few days later that friend died suddenly and I never got to apologise. It was many years ago but I'll always regret the hurt that I must have caused by avoiding them:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

Getting deported from Israel for 'political activism' :rolleyes:

I punched out an IDF member for being a fúcking Zionist bigot & spent 6 weeks in a prison hospital for the kicking his mates gave me :pac:

Jeez but aren't you the hard maneen, tackling an armed soldier in a foreign country where you were a guest!
    That action could have got you shot! Legally.

By the way, did you really wake up in an Israeli hospital, or, did you just wake up? :D

A good tale, and well told, but by the way I don't believe a ****ing word of it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Not being able to convince my little brother to stop using drugs which led to his tragic and untimely demise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

I crossed the street to avoid having a really awkward conversation with a very close friend. A few days later that friend died suddenly and I never got to apologise. It was many years ago but I'll always regret the hurt that I must have caused by avoiding them:(

This is a really big regret. Understand it because I have been there. Sad. Hugs to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

lukesmom wrote: »
    Not being able to convince my little brother to stop using drugs which led to his tragic and untimely demise.

Words fail me. Sorry for your loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Not studying harder for my Leaving Cert back in the day, which would have meant getting better results and leading my life down a completely different (and hopefully better?) path....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

I regret taking a friendship for granted and not treating my friend properly which has led to us not being friends anymore.

I really miss her and can't believe how badly I acted towards her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

It's funny, I don't believe in regrets and, yet, I have a few! Weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Regrets are part of life - it's how you deal with them. That's easy for me to say when I don't have any massive regrets, but I do still have regrets. I've no doubt everyone does.
    What's stopping I going to get her??
    15 years I guess.
    JC01 wrote: »
    Oorrr... Some terrified kid sent to war doing exactly what he's been ordered to do by one of the strictest army's in the world and getting hassle off some self righteous hipster paddy while he's trying to keep himself alive so he can finish out his conscription and go back to normal life? Tis all about perspective...
    Well yeh... but... the harassment of the kids would be unnecessary either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Mississauga

Getting deported from Israel for 'political activism' :rolleyes:

I punched out an IDF member for being a fúcking Zionist bigot & spent 6 weeks in a prison hospital for the kicking his mates gave me :pac:

This didn't happen.
    Feel free to prove me wrong with photographic evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 GERALD GIRAFFE

I nudged my keeper very hard when he didn't give me shrubs. He fell over and hurt his leg. There was actually no shrubs left and he was only coming to tell me this. I felt bad for a couple of hours about that one. I still feel kind of bad about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

Regret lots of bad stuff I did, messing around certain women.
    But generally speaking I'm an opportunist and always took my chances when presented. I'd rather regret doing something than not doing it.

Buying a house when I was 20, nah that would just have tied me down, nearly 40 now still no house, should I be worried?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 themerovingian

Regreats. NO, I dont regreat not doing them.
    Wonder what would of happen if I had done them YES.
    BUT
    wouldnt change anything. I have choosen the path I'm on and I'll life with it!

Yoda? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't think I have regrets. A lot of stuff that I wish happened differently but that I don't blame myself for, so couldn't really be considered regrets right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭FURET

It's a great question because I'm very happy with where I am in life now at 31: I have a wonderful wife, I'm thriving in a job I love, I have an excellent income, and I live in an interesting place, so I wouldn't change anything now because I am exactly where I want to be.

But I do feel I only got my act together around 3 years ago, and when I look at what I've achieved in the space of the past 3 years, I wonder what I could have done if I'd been more disciplined, focused and strategic from an earlier age.

Some regrets come to mind:
    • Lack of financial acumen during my 20s.
    • Choosing to do a PhD in history simply because I got very good BA results. I just wandered into it because I didn't have any professional goals and looking back on it, it was a lost year-and-a-half before I finally made the wise decision to quit.
    • Losing my dignity a bit many moons ago in a futile attempt to get back a girl who had just dumped me!
    • Not having gotten into my current line of work a few years earlier instead of wasting time on the PhD and arsing around
    • Letting myself get a bit plump in my 20s - no need for it
    • And here's a weird one - not growing a Riker beard around 6 years sooner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

I've made lots of mistakes in my life but I only have one regret

I had a friend when I was like 11. I had been bullied for years, parents divorced, stepdad was a c*nt. Was thinking about ending it. Then I made my first friend when we moved to a new house. She was the next door neighbour. We moved 3 years later and she had changed me. I had regretted not telling her I liked her and when we got back in contact years later I did. She had boyfriends who didn't like me and I didn't like them. Long story short I fcuked up and we aren't friends anymore. That's my only regret. She basically defined and changed my life for the better and is such a huge part of my life and she's not talking to me anymore. It's like missing a little part of myself in some ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    I've made lots of mistakes in my life but I only have one regret

I had a friend when I was like 11. I had been bullied for years, parents divorced, stepdad was a c*nt. Was thinking about ending it. Then I made my first friend when we moved to a new house. She was the next door neighbour. We moved 3 years later and she had changed me. I had regretted not telling her I liked her and when we got back in contact years later I did. She had boyfriends who didn't like me and I didn't like them. Long story short I fcuked up and we aren't friends anymore. That's my only regret. She basically defined and changed my life for the better and is such a huge part of my life and she's not talking to me anymore. It's like missing a little part of myself in some ways.

This one is a puzzle for me. You regret not telling someone you liked them when you were 11/12/13? You were a kid, you can't put too much weight on feelings you had then. And years later sounds like she didn't like you back in the same way and was with other people, not something you can regret either. And if you like someone and its not reciprocated, best off that you are not friends now. You had a lot of stuff happen to you that you didn't deserve, in the midst of that you made your first friend, maybe you are giving the girl too much credit though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I guess I regret not being better able to deal with having bad acne in secondary school. It fcuked me up for a long time, and had a knock-on effect on my college years, which weren't as good as they could have been due to the residual confidence problems and shyness. I'm sure it's still lingering in my head today, though I've managed to have a pretty good life since then; maybe it's something I'll explore with a therapist some day!

On the other hand, if it weren't for those experiences, I'd probably be a different person today. Not sure if that'd be better or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭desbrook

I regret getting married to the person I did marry. Should have listened to my inner voice and said no. Separated now and blissfully happy.

Can't believe I'm the first one to mention marriage on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

--LOS-- wrote: »
    This one is a puzzle for me. You regret not telling someone you liked them when you were 11/12/13? You were a kid, you can't put too much weight on feelings you had then. And years later sounds like she didn't like you back in the same way and was with other people, not something you can regret either. And if you like someone and its not reciprocated, best off that you are not friends now. You had a lot of stuff happen to you that you didn't deserve, in the midst of that you made your first friend, maybe you are giving the girl too much credit though.
    I was actually 14. It was about 2 months before I left. And it wasn't like I loved her or anything, I just liked her. It may sound trivial and stupid but it did eat me up a lot inside. And she did like me back, that was the fecking problem. I dunno, I probably am giving her too much credit. It's really hard to describe how one feels sometimes and I gave it a bit of a bash.

Again, it's one regret. I'm pretty proud of the fact I only have one regret. I've made lots of mistakes but you learn from them and move on. Regrets are a different story altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Doing media instead of Vet nursing in college. Having said that I recently landed a good job with the highest pay I've gotten so far and I like it so far. So it's not too bad a regret. Other than that I can't think of anything else, I've had a pretty great life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Fell in love with the wrong man. Wasted years on him. Years when he never had any intention of properly commiting to me but I still hung on like a feckin eejit. I seriously regret those years.

I regret reading this thread. I'm sad now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

I regret falling for the wrong woman.
    I regret loads of things..