Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest regrets in life?

• 10-07-2014 2:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

I was a fairly decent rugby player back in my school days but put it on hold during 6th year for the studies. Unlikely I would have ever made a career out of it but really wish I started playing again in college if only for the social aspect.

I'm sure this is quite a minor regret to have in the grand scheme of things but I do think back about the waste of talent.

Anyway enough about me, what are your biggest regrets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Not sticking with college.

I had a good chance of taking a leap frog into another course if i did 2 years in a PLC. But i got pneumonia from a sh1tty dorm i was staying in and never went back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

I regret not trying a bit harder to keep the love of my life....... 15 years have passed and I still think about her everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

Dropping out of college.
    Working crap jobs since then.
    Will go back as soon finances permit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Non, je ne regrette rien

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien

No, nothing of nothing
    No! I don't feel sorry about anything
    Not the good things people have done to me
    Not the bad things, it's all the same to me.

No, nothing of nothing
    No! I don't feel sorry about anything
    It's paid for, removed, forgotten,
    I'm happy of the past

With my memories
    I lit up the fire
    My troubles, my pleasures
    I don't need them anymore

Broomed away my love stories
    And all their tremble
    Broomed away for always
    I start again from zero

Non ! Je ne regrette rien
    Ni le mal, tout ça m'est bien égal !

Non ! Je ne regrette rien
    Because my life, my joys
    Today, they begin with you

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    Ni le bien qu'on m'a fait
    Ni le mal; tout ça m'est bien égal !

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    C'est payé, balayé, oublié
    Je me fous du passé !

Avec mes souvenirs
    J'ai allumé le feu
    Mes chagrins, mes plaisirs
    Je n'ai plus besoin d'eux !

Balayées les amours
    Et tous leurs trémolos
    Balayés pour toujours
    Je repars à zéro

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    Ni le bien qu'on m'a fait
    Ni le mal; tout ça m'est bien égal !

Non, rien de rien
    Non, je ne regrette rien
    Car ma vie, car mes joies
    Aujourd'hui, ça commence avec toi
    Try to align
    English
    Je Ne Regrette Rien

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Garret brooks not coming to Ireland

Lol lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Not one bit of regret….

Too few to mention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Montroseee wrote: »
    I was a fairly decent rugby player back in my school days but put it on hold during 6th year for the studies. Unlikely I would have ever made a career out of it but really wish I started playing again in college if only for the social aspect.

I'm sure this is quite a minor regret to have in the grand scheme of things but I do think back about the waste of talent.

Anyway enough about me, what are your biggest regrets?

Be careful, you don't want to end up like that knob Ross from the Oirish Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Picking my profession... oh if I could go back in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Not giving more time and attention to what I wanted to do. But I'm working on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Getting phone numbers from females on a night out and then not ringing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

It goes back to my school daz, a shy lovesic boy on a bus and suddenly the girl I longed for was seated beside me.

We got along grand like, she told me her name and asked me to call over.

To this day I can't remember her name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Putting €500 on Brazil at 2/1 to recoup some of my Garth ticket losses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

Never doing the whole going away to Australia for a year thing when I was in my early 20's. Someday!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

Giving up sport in secondary school. The longer you leave it, the harder it is to get fit again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

ShiftStorm wrote: »
    Giving up sport in secondary school. The longer you leave it, the harder it is to get fit again.

You can get fit in no time, its never to late to start training again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Not keeping up with playing for my local GAA club - stopped when I was about 15\16 and only going back now (33 years old) - feel like I missed out a lot socially now

I know that I'll regret not spending enough time with my kids after they have grown up - even though I am very aware to spend time with them....I foresee me still thinking I didn't spend enough in years to come

Not having more fun in college, even though at the time I enjoyed it - but I could've done so much more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I regret very little. I've done lots of stupid sh1t in my life, but put it down to a learning experience. The times I have repeated the stupid sh1t is what I regret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Getting deported from Israel for 'political activism' :rolleyes:

I punched out an IDF member for being a fúcking Zionist bigot & spent 6 weeks in a prison hospital for the kicking his mates gave me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 PS4FORLOSERS

A woman who was interested in me a few years ago but i didnt make much of an effort as she wore horrible glasses and had braces. She is currently a model working in London. Absolutely stunning, personality is the key lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Not keeping better contact with old friends. I've lost touch with a lot of people I really liked just because of laziness. A while back I ran into a guy who I was best friends with in school but hadn't talked to in years, we had just drifted apart. We got back in touch after that and started hanging out again. A few months later he was diagnosed with cancer and a year later he died. He was only mid 20's. You always think you have loads of time for that type of thing, but you can never know how long you really have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 52 ✭✭samantha fortune

leaving college to work in a club in ibiza.
    Back in college now tho but wasted 2 years on partying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I punched out an IDF member for being a fúcking Zionist bigot & spent 6 weeks in a prison hospital for the kicking his mates gave me :pac:

Karma. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

A woman who was interested in me a few years ago but i didnt make much of an effort as she wore horrible glasses and had braces. She is currently a model working in London. Absolutely stunning, personality is the key lads.

There was this girl in secondary school and I was really decently sound to her (no I wasn't interested either), when the lot of the boys were dismissive of her. Glasses, braces, hair tied back, plain.

Seen her college 1st year and it was identical that Anne Hataway transformation in the Princess Diaries, it was so jarring, I wasn't even sure it was her after she said hello. Everybody I know was like "did you see her, yeah I know incredible change, she looks damn near exotic"

Then she gets into a long term relationship with one of the GAA lads back home who were dismissive of her. And no they weren't "gaming" her, before this transformation either. Facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

jellyboy wrote: »
    Not one bit of regret….
    Anyone that says that is lying to themselves. You can get over thing quickly, but I don't believe anyone can say they have absolutly no regrets. You wouldn't change anything you've ever done?

Karma. ;)
    Karma's a bitch :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭irishjig69b

eezipc wrote: »
    I regret not trying a bit harder to keep the love of my life....... 15 years have passed and I still think about her everyday.

What's stopping I going to get her??? Never have regrets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I have an image of you in my head, it ain't pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

What's stopping I going to get her??? Never have regrets

Yeah, just go to where she lives and grab her, what's the worst that can happen. It's only been 15 years like.

fedor.2. wrote: »
    I have an image of you in my head, it ain't pretty.
    Neither was my face after my 'makeover' :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Not clever to punch a man with an assault rifle. I got detained at Kalandia checkpoint outside Jerusalem for five hours in the heat for telling one to "f*ck off". I wouldn't like to imagine what would happen if I hit one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Taking up Gambling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Got propositioned by an ugly bespectacled plain girl in college, she took off her glasses and turned out to be beautiful Israeli model and Mossad agent, so i punched her and she hospitalised me by using Krav Maga, have regretted it ever since.

( Not necessarily true)

FTA69 wrote: »
    Not clever to punch a man with an assault rifle. I got detained at Kalandia checkpoint outside Jerusalem for five hours in the heat for telling one to "f*ck off". I wouldn't like to imagine what would happen if I hit one.
    Broken nose, fractured eye socket/cheekbone, lost 3 teeth, 4 busted ribs & a punctured lung (not that I was any poster boy before hand :D)

The repercussions of taking a moral stand :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Joe prim wrote: »
    Got propositioned by an ugly bespectacled plain girl in college, she took off her glasses and turned out to be beautiful Israeli model and Mossad agent, so i punched her and she hospitalised me by using Krav Maga, have regretted it ever since.

( Not necessarily true)

Love it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

You can get fit in no time, its never to late to start training again.

The difference is that now it's about being healthy, getting fit, losing weight...it's much more enjoyable and less of an uphill climb when your motivation is purely for fun, competition and socialising like when you're a fit teenager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

This addresses this thread. Stick with it until you get past the arty stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Broken nose, fractured eye socket/cheekbone, lost 3 teeth, 4 busted ribs & a punctured lung (not that I was any poster boy before hand :D)

The repercussions of taking a moral stand :pac::pac::pac:

Admit it, you don't regret it at all. You're actually quite proud of it?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭thelungs

Not having lived in New York for at least a year in my 20's.
    Still live in hope to.

Admit it, you don't regret it at all. You're actually quite proud of it?:rolleyes:
    You know what, you're right?!

Some tooled up, power mad, teenage asshole harrassing/intimidating a bunch of Arab kids for doing nothing more than playing football in the street, in their own neighbourhood, gets a slap off a thick Paddy when he turned his aggression on me for simply asking him what he thought he was achieving by his actions

You be the judge...oh wait, you already have judged me, back at you :rolleyes: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Some tooled up, power mad, teenage asshole harrassing/intimidating a bunch of Arab kids for doing nothing more than playing football in the street, in their own neighbourhood, gets a slap off a thick Paddy when he turned his aggression on me for simply asking him what he thought he was achieving by his actions

You be the judge...oh wait, you already have judged me, back at you :rolleyes: ;)

Oorrr... Some terrified kid sent to war doing exactly what he's been ordered to do by one of the strictest army's in the world and getting hassle off some self righteous hipster paddy while he's trying to keep himself alive so he can finish out his conscription and go back to normal life? Tis all about perspective...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Dropping out of animation college. Sure, the place was a ****hole and the people in it were a veritable who's-who of scumbags but if I had stuck to it, I would've had a Bachelor's Degree in Animation and possible be living in England at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

I regret starting to smoke weed. This led to a whole series of regretful events.

Gave it up 3 years ago though!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

I dont have 1 big regret, but a few smaller ones

getting a trade instead of a degree

not staying in OZ

thinking i was huge back when i really wasnt and comfort eating because of it

my current job

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Luke92 wrote: »
    I regret starting to smoke weed. This led to a whole series of regretful events.

Gave it up 3 years ago though!

Ming???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

nc19 wrote: »
    Ming???

No I really gave it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

I used to regret a lot of stuff. Now when I am older I think I did what I did, rather be sorry for what I did rather than what I didn't do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I'm not saying a word about whether what you did was good/bad or indifferent. It's just this thread is about regrets. And you seem not to regret doing what you did at all. You seem proud of it - which you're perfectly entitled to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

I have regrets, mainly around girls I didn't go out with/sleep with when I had opportunity.

All pretty meaningless, I take responsibility for everything Ive ever done, its what made me the a$$hole I am now, and I love me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Jesus !

Was he lending money in the temple or something ?