Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New drivers to display novice ‘N’ plates from next month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

whatever about novice and learner drivers,its drivers across the board who need to wake up,USING INDICATORS AND USING THEM CORRECTLY WOULD BE A START :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Jesus. wrote: »
    No Goose, not second-rate or slapdash. Competent, which despite all the ranting and raving on here, most Irish drivers are. Yes there could be improvements, particularly in the education of people on Motorway lane discipline and things like tailgating. I'm all for that but there's a difference between treating people with respect and educating them, acknowledging that none of us are perfect on the road (including you Dimj believe it or not :p) and denouncing all and sundry, trying to make it extremely difficult for new drivers to get on the road and being constantly annoyed and enraged at every meaningless little tit bit you see on the road. And worse still, the barely concealed glee when someone hears of a fellow Motorist being done for some innocuous little indiscretion. I maintain that the righteous ones are as guilty as anyone in their everyday lives but wouldn't say as much on here.

People have to live in the real World, not by adhering to a black and white little rule book 100% of the time and thankfully the majority of our Police force recognise this and police accordingly without trying to hunt down everyone for Mickey Mouse stuff that has no real relevance.

As someone who lives in the Real World every day, I don't know what planet you're seeing all this vast majority of competent drivers on. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭djimi

No Goose, not second-rate or slapdash. Competent, which despite all the ranting and raving on here, most Irish drivers are. Yes there could be improvements, particularly in the education of people on Motorway lane discipline and things like tailgating. I'm all for that but there's a difference between treating people with respect and educating them, acknowledging that none of us are perfect on the road (including you Dimj believe it or not :p) and denouncing all and sundry, trying to make it extremely difficult for new drivers to get on the road and being constantly annoyed and enraged at every meaningless little tit bit you see on the road. And worse still, the barely concealed glee when someone hears of a fellow Motorist being done for some innocuous little indiscretion. I maintain that the righteous ones are as guilty as anyone in their everyday lives but wouldn't say as much on here.

Im not claiming to be perfect, far from it in fact. But I know how to use a roundabout, and I know which side of the road we drive on. Two things an alarming number of Irish motorists do not. Whatever way you look at it, these people are incompetant drivers, and the system that we currently have does not thing to improve the standard of driving.
    People have to live in the real World, not by adhering to a black and white little rule book 100% of the time and thankfully the majority of our Police force recognise this and police accordingly without trying to hunt down everyone for Mickey Mouse stuff that has no real relevance.

Im all for common sense policing, but there has to be a balance, and right now the balace is tipped too far the other way in that there is virtually zero enforcement of motoring laws bar speeding and drink driving on bank holidays.
    Nope. Some posters have openly admitted to ringing the Police regularly to squeal on their fellow citizens because they thought they might be about to commit a motoring offence. I know if it was me I'd handle such situations differently and to be fair, I know the majority of decent people would likewise.

There is nothing "squealing" about ringing the Gardai on a drunk driver, or a driver who is driving dangerously. Bury your head in the sand if you like, but its you/your family that these people are endangering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

Or you know, just keep learners off the road until they are competent?
    1 learner vs potentially 10's-100's of competent drivers, I wonder who should be inconvenienced!
    Where's this often-mentioned inconvenience? If the learner driver obeys the rules set out for them, they have as much right to be on the road as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

No Pants wrote: »
    Where's this often-mentioned inconvenience? If the learner driver obeys the rules set out for them, they have as much right to be on the road as you.

Not when they can't use a clutch or keep up with traffic they haven't!
    Plus, they do not have as much right to be on the road as me. I have a license permitting me to drive. They have no license, only a permit.

Cop on and come down of your high horse, you werent born with a licence you had to learn at some point.

If they hold a permit, and have a full licence holder with them, they have the exact same right as you to be on the road.

Cop on and come down of your high horse, you werent born with a licence you had to learn at some point.

If they hold a permit, and have a full licence holder with them, they have the exact same right as you to be on the road.

I learned off the busy roads till I was competent. Cop on to yourself.
    And no, no they have not got the same rights to be on the road as I have.
    They haven't passed any test to prove competency and have no license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

djimi wrote: »

Then there are people who are just jerks, and who show no patience and see L plates as a target for abuse. These people exist in all walks of life, and are most likely as bad off the road as they are on it. Such is life unfortuately.

Yes but i bet some of those who show no patience, get frustrated at L drivers, give out so much about L drivers not being legal not being qualified blaa blaa blaa are the same people who come on Boards and whinge so much about them. You'd swear L drivers were committing murder.

I do think any L driver that just doesnt bother getting a Licence doesnt deserve the right to drive if they even bothered to put it in the effort to get fully licensed. If some one is just starting out they should have every chance to learn how to drive without people slating them at every opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭h.bolla

Probably a silly question... but for commercial vehicles will they need to stick up N plates if say one of the employees is a novice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

lol.

Do you not realize people have to be at work at that hour? If she wants to practice she has all hours of the day that aren't between 8 and 9. I certainly wouldn't be happy pottering along at 70km/h at 20 to 9 and I can see why others aren't as well. If anything, I think people in this country are very conservative and generous to L plate drivers. We're dickheads to each other alright but always give L plates a safe enough distance.

She is quite good and drives near enough the speed limit. Her car is nct'd, taxed and insured and she is accompanied by a highly experienced driver and has as much right to be on the road as anybody else. I did also state that the limit on the way is 80kmh, it's a narrow country road so her speed is very appropriate.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but if she meets the conditions set out by the permit (accompanying driver with a full licence for more than two years) and other conditions related to the car (taxed, insured, NCT if needed), she has just as much right to be on the road as you do.

The arrogance. :rolleyes:

Banjoxed wrote: »
    Ever been stuck behind a speed restricted R plate driver on the impossible to overtake on A5 in the North?
    I've been stuck behind many people on many different roads in the north. But the A5? Was on that on the 22nd/24th of June. Overtook loads, in both directions. Got caught behind a cycling event just outside of Sion Mills. Lots of overtaking dickery was performed, but not by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I might aswell get in on this.

id like to see retesting of fully licenced drivers.... but without having to pay :pac:

L or N drivers I think is fair to an extent... I got my driving licence 5 years ago... for the first year I didnt actually drive at all and the middle of the second year I started and quickly saw a lot of problems. Like trying to stick religiously to a 50kmh speed limit and getting overtaken by everything :/

but even at things that were my fault. I had an accident which was my fault because it was a brow of a hill/bridge ! And something else caught my attention (womans arse) and when I looked back there was a car right in front of me ! So no enough time to react and not paying attention so id call it being inexperienced.

Just like when you start a new job you get labelled a newbie because there are already people there who are experienced !

So I think the system of an N plate is.alright but could be better. I.e. actual driving restrictions on the drivers not just penalty points.

But I do agree with what someone said there earlier...... feck religion out of school and definitly some kind of drivers ed !

I remember in primary school we got to go to garda traffic school in clontarf ! Real gardai there explaining rules etc.
    I must've being the youngest person in ireland that knew what a yield sign was or how to use it correctly ! Aswell as many other rules and signs !

so worth more investing I think !

but without having to pay :pac:
    Unfortunately that doesn't exist. Someone, somewhere is always paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

It's a good move I think , I'd like to see something on engine sieze put in place though. It shouldn't be down to how much you can afford to drive when your a learner you should be restricted like it is on the motorbikes.

Driving back from Galway yesturday and saw a lad driving like a twat with L plates up in a Mazda RX-8 , no way he is experienced enough for that car accident waiting to happen. Restrict it by power-weight or engine size up to 1.3 litre for L plates , 1.6 for R plates and then on you go to whatever you want.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    It's a good move I think , I'd like to see something on engine sieze put in place though. It shouldn't be down to how much you can afford to drive when your a learner you should be restricted like it is on the motorbikes.

Driving back from Galway yesturday and saw a lad driving like a twat with L plates up in a Mazda RX-8 , no way he is experienced enough for that car accident waiting to happen. Restrict it by power-weight or engine size up to 1.3 litre for L plates , 1.6 for R plates and then on you go to whatever you want.

A lot of RX-8's are 1.3 litres on the logbook.

Irishcrx wrote: »

I totally agree with a restriction on the car that leaners/N drivers can drive, but it would make more sense to go by insurance grades rather than engine size. The Toyota Glanza for example is a 1.3.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,968 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Insurance groups aren't universal though - they vary insurer to insurer. Power to weight ratio is probably a better idea, but your targets in this will have access to remapping etc. and tend to economical with the truth at times, so it's a tough area to even try to police.

Really? I thought in the UK at least they were universal across the board? I know we dont use a group system as such over here, but it cant be that hard a thing to implement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭visual

Really? I thought in the UK at least they were universal across the board? I know we dont use a group system as such over here, but it cant be that hard a thing to implement.

Insurance companies wouldn't want that implemented here. How else can they chance their arms when your insurance renewal is due

visual wrote: »
    Insurance companies wouldn't want that implemented here. How else can they chance their arms when your insurance renewal is due

We dont have to implement it for insurance; it was just a system that I felt would work well for limiting the cars that L/N drivers are allowed to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭visual

Im not convinced that little sub 1 litre cars are the most suitable for learning and driving in. They most certainly arent safer dispite being cheaper to insure.

I borrowed a 1 litre yaris for two weeks I have to say it tested my driving ability much more than driving 2 or 3 litre saloon.

I went to cork in that little yaris it done it ok on motorway but on N roads it didn't feel as capable or stable although it was easily able exceeding the speed limit. Don't know the top speed of a yaris is but it must be up around the 180 -190kph more than fast enough to get yourself into bother.

A learner or novice in micro type sports car with 800cc engine is more likely to be in bother than one driving a 2 litre diesel family car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Im not convinced that little sub 1 litre cars are the most suitable for learning and driving in. They most certainly arent safer dispite being cheaper to insure.

I borrowed a 1 litre yaris for two weeks I have to say it tested my driving ability much more than driving 2 or 3 litre saloon.

I went to cork in that little yaris it done it ok on motorway but on N roads it didn't feel as capable or stable although it was easily able exceeding the speed limit. Don't know the top speed of a yaris is but it must be up around the 180 -190kph more than fast enough to get yourself into bother.

A learner or novice in micro type sports car with 800cc engine is more likely to be in bother than one driving a 2 litre diesel family car.

Maybe with a rocket strapped on top :)

Max speed declared for the 1.0 litres Yaris is 155 Km/h...and that's probably on a chilly day, with a bit of tailwind and a 7 stone woman at the wheel - provided she had a light breakfast :D:)

I wont' even comment on the rest as it's kind of off topic and has been discussed to the death here.

You dont have to limit learner/novice drivers to sub 1L cars, but likewise its utter nonsense that a 17 year old learner can drive a Type R or the likes because they have found some loophole that allows them to insure it without requiring a mortgage.

By UK standards, my car is a group 35. Now maybe its just me, but I do not think that a novice driver should have access to something like that until they have proven that they are able to handle such a car. Right now the only restriction that applies over here is whether or not you can afford the insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 murphdd

Learner drivers are getting a lot of bashing in this thread. I keep an eye on the motor and decided to join boards today.

A learner driver that has been driving for 3 months could be a much better and saver driver than someone with a full license who has been driving for 20 years.

Learner driver cars should definitely not be restricted. Why should they?
    Its idiots speeding in these fast cars and it does not matter if they have a full license or not!
    They are the threat on the roads!

People are bashing learner drivers for driving in cities as well? Of course they learned outside the city when they first start off on a hard shoulder or something along those lines. That's the easy part of driving. Learner drivers do get nervous driving around cities for the first week or so and are fully entitled to do so. Where do you get off? It involves been more aware and you have to start and stop the car a lot more and take sharp corners. Also there is more pedestrians so they are nervous they are going to hit someone. All these can make them nervous and cause them to stall. Are you one of these people that drive up learners arses and beeps at them or looks to undercut them. I've seen it happen every day in my car. And yes I am a driving instructor!

I don't agree with them driving on their own for their first six months. They should be allowed to drive on their own after they have the full license booked, six months proof of insurance and have minimum 10-15 lessons to build confidence on their own.

Most people I have thought are fine to drive after 10 lessons and most pass their test. Their usually driving on the parents car for months before the lessons which makes it easier for me! The youth today pick up driving very easily, just like they do with technology!

People are making out lot they have no clue at all and are the cause of all accidents on the road when it is a tiny tiny percentage!

I totally agree with a restriction on the car that leaners/N drivers can drive, but it would make more sense to go by insurance grades rather than engine size. The Toyota Glanza for example is a 1.3.

All cars are able to go 140 KM/H. What would be pint of restricting them to a small car. If God For bid they had an accident they would be safer in a bigger car! That is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

There is a very similar system in the country I came from. We have a "70" sticker on cars, If driver has less then 2 years experience. The law is that you can't go faster then 70 if you don't have 2 years experience and you are not allowed on motorways. t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

There is a very similar system in the country I came from. We have a "70" sticker on cars, If driver has less then 2 years experience. The law is that you can't go faster then 70 if you don't have 2 years experience and you are not allowed on motorways. t
    mph or kmh OP???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Jokes on them. I probably wont bother driving for a long time once I get my licence. Drive once in the previous 2 years? Im not longer a novice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 murphdd

Jokes on them. I probably wont bother driving for a long time once I get my licence. Drive once in the previous 2 years? Im not longer a novice!

Excellent point - Someone can do 10 lessons, get the full test and not drive for 5 years! Does that make them a good driver?

Realistically youre talking about such a small proportion of drivers who will pass the test and not drive for a significant period of time that its basically insignificant.