How strict are Dublin's pubs/clubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Chances of getting into any decent pub/club are pretty much zero if you have no ID. If you look even similar to a mate in your group than two of yous go in first together then your mate back-out with the ID for the other lad.

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

A group of young lads who are most likely going to be hammered after the first pub.

Hard to see how you're going to avoid being asked for ID :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭EireGreg

just bring your own passport at the door they will most likely just scan at the year and say go ahead without even seeing its eight days short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I remember when I was 17, would of been 18 at 12:00 o clock that night. Bouncers made me wait and I showed up at Half 11!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭JDOC1996

Yeah just gonna chance it.
    Is there anywhere that's not 21s? Where would most people my age go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭mylefttesticle

Not strict enough considering the tools that drink in them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Oo-err, what sort of clubs are you referring to OP ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

JDOC1996 wrote: »
    Yeah but we're a bunch of munster lads looking for a rave in the big smoke :D We want to check out a few nightclubs too :cool:

Simply put, you won't get in anywhere. Especially if you look young. Fcuked as it may be, a girl might get past the glance, but a guy, never.

Don't worry though, chances are your mates won't get in either. Most places in Dublin would be 21's I think.

Simply put, you won't get in anywhere. Especially if you look young. Fcuked as it may be, a girl might get past the glance, but a guy, never.

Don't worry though, chances are your mates won't get in either. Most places in Dublin would be 21's I think.

Where are people getting this most places are 21? They're usually not, only on certain nights. Places you won't get into: Fitzsimons,Coppers,D2,Dandelion. Places you might: The Village,Palace. And I'm fresh out of places to remember :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Places you might: The Village,Palace.

The Village is over 19s or 20s on a Saturday iirc and the Palace over 21s. I'd imagine with thousands of people deceasing into town after Arctic Monkeys on Saturday most places will be strict enough.

Aw crap, so is there anywhere that's 18s? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

The Village no longer exists - a new place Opium opened there a few months back.

Unless the lads are after Thai food and cocktails I wouldn't be sending them there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

No ID, no entry in 99% of clubs, pubs you may get away with it but unlikely IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Say that you need to get into hand out your leaflets and medicines aka Dallas Buyer's Club, and give them a cheeky wink and a smack on the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Paint your face. Whatever band is playing just paint their name on your face or forehead. It will take away from the youthful look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 andy1981

As a previous poster said, walk up to the door with your ID in your hand.. The bouncer will look at the pic to make sure it is you. More than likely he wont work out your age from your D.O.B

I fortunately do not have this problem as I am the worong side of 30 :(

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I remember when I was 17, would of been 18 at 12:00 o clock that night. Bouncers made me wait and I showed up at Half 11!
    Wait a minute, what time were you born at? Surely they shouldn't have let you in until you were properly 18. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Just hope that the bouncers are a bit dopey and can't do maths very well and don't notice that it's 8 more days until you're 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

I'll PM ye with the door I'm working on Saturday night OP, €10 a head in, cheap at the price ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

€10 for head, cheap at the price ;)

Have fun, OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 leesherwin

the pubs/late bars are much better than clubs

I'll PM ye with the door I'm working on Saturday night OP, €10 a head in, cheap at the price ;)

I hope you're serious mate :L

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I'm 17 but I'll be 8 days off 18 when I'm up there. Do you recon I'd be let off seeing as I'm so close to being 18 or am I screwed?
    The Justice Act, 1984 Section 12 Subsection (a) Paragraph (iv) clearly states
    that "not less than 18 years of age" means "yeah but it's OK if it's his birthday next week"

The Justice Act, 1984 Section 12 Subsection (a) Paragraph (iv) clearly states
    that "not less than 18 years of age" means "yeah but it's OK if it's his birthday next week"

You're right, in those 8 days he's gonna be a lot of mature!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Usually I wouldn't need an ID where I'm from as I look quite old and am tall.

Something I realised when I entered my thirties, us older people can actually spot straight away somebody trying to look older. I always get a good laugh seeing these young kids walking up to bouncers trying to act nonchalant and hoping to get in, the bouncers can spot them a mile off, the only question is whether they care or not.

OP, you might think you look quite old and tall, but the differences between an 18 and a 22 year old are far more than just height or breadth, you ain't fooling anybody I am afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

blackwhite wrote: »
    The Village no longer exists - a new place Opium opened there a few months back.

Unless the lads are after Thai food and cocktails I wouldn't be sending them there

Go round the back. Village is still there.

Op try play on D'olier street. Friday night has good dance music. Saturday rnb. Young crowd too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

My first foray to the pub was with my fathers driving licence.
    He was 47, I was 15.
    They looked at the pic of this bearded giant, looked at me. Shrugged and poured me a pint.

The pint was minging, but I forced the fecking thing down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Alright OP, few general tips on getting into places for you here. They're not hard and fast rules, just very general tips to slightly improve your chances from someone who worked in the industry:

1) This is the biggest. If you want to get in somewhere, don't walk up to the door hammered or with much drink on you. Bouncers generally turn away people mostly for having too much alcohol. The more sober you are, the better your chances. That means if you don't 'pre-drink', you'll get in more places.

2) When going to the door, if you're sober, walk confidently and with hands outside your pockets. Being polite and courteous will further enhance your chances. This isn't ass-kissing, this is making a case for yourself to get in somewhere where ultimately the doormen are responsible for your behaviour.

3) Doormen can be a great source of information, so if you don't get in, ask them where you could go being the age you are. Also ask if it's quiet later if you could get in. They may let you in later if it's quiet etc.

In my experience, the bouncers I've worked with are sound and contrary to the stereotype are just looking for easy money for quiet nights. They take an awful lot of flak on most nights and it can be a rough job at times for not great conditions. You can usually spot the muppets a mile away. Tight fitting 'Tapout' tshirts with roided up arms and shoulders, pacing like tigers with a scowl on their face looking like they came back from Afghanistan or something.

You'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

6'4"?
    I didn't realise they stacked sh*t that high.