Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How strict are Dublin's pubs/clubs?

• 08-07-2014 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭

Hey guys.
    Basically, I'm going up to Dublin for a concert on Saturday and me and my mates are planning on heading out while we're up there. Usually I wouldn't need an ID where I'm from as I look quite old and am tall.
    All of my mates are 18 and I'm 17 but I'll be 8 days off 18 when I'm up there. Do you recon I'd be let off seeing as I'm so close to being 18 or am I screwed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Grow a beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Dublin Forum -->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Hold one of the older lads hands when going in, less likely to ask a couple for ID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭JDOC1996

Grow a beard.

Quite a task for 4 days :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Stick to the pubs and ye should be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

What pub is it? Some pubs are stricter than others, but a group of youngish looking lads will all get asked for ID, unless it's a student pub...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

JDOC1996 wrote: »
    Quite a task for 4 days :pac:

Believe in yourself. Try a couple of different places.

major bill wrote: »
    Stick to the pubs and ye should be grand

Yeah but we're a bunch of munster lads looking for a rave in the big smoke :D We want to check out a few nightclubs too :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭userod

Don't bother going the concerts are cancelled

userod wrote: »
    Don't bother going the concerts are cancelled
    Not the good ones :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

I'm 22 and still getting asked for ID. Group of young lads will definitely get asked for ID. No exceptions will be made just because you are nearly 18. You could try, but more than likely you will fail.

Luke92 wrote: »
    I'm 22 and still getting asked for ID. Group of young lads will definitely get asked for ID. No exceptions will be made just because you are nearly 18. You could try, but more than likely you will fail.

What if I go by myself? Everyone says I look about 20 and I'm 6'4''.
    Friends of mine have been let in close to 18 in the places down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

They arent that strict on checking the ID's like if its fake itll almost defnitely pass. But if you dont have any ID to show youre 18 you wont get in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

When we are talking about Dublin city centre pubs and clubs.... yes most, if not all, will ask you for ID when you are in the 18 to 23 region. Last thing they want is for some 16 year old to get in. Have to much to drink and something happens. You know yourself.

You may get in knowing your are 8 days off. But that really comes down to the bouncer in question. But judging from my experience. Don't hold your breath. Expect a few scarcastic "come back in 8 days then" type of comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Everyone says I look about 20 and I'm 6'4''.

Everyone look at me I look old because im 6'4''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Yeah but we're a bunch of munster lads looking for a rave in the big smoke :D We want to check out a few nightclubs too :cool:

If you have a fake ID then you should be ok, Bouncers don't care too much if it looks nothing like you, but you will be ****ed without ID.

Best bet is to go into a place early before bouncers start and slip into the nightclub after.

As a previous poster said going in with a girl could work much better. But I am young looking and if your tall and look older you could get away with it!

Have you an older brother or know anyone that looks like you? That works a lot of the time. If they have an old passport where they are young it works even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

The difference between looking 18 and looking 20 is what, a few less pimples and a bit more fluff? I doubt that would sway any bouncer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Get an older sister to do your make up and dress you in hot pants and a little top. At 6 foot 4 , you couldn't possibly be refused and should be guaranteed attention all night long.

As a previous poster said going in with a girl could work much better. But I am young looking and if your tall and look older you could get away with it!

Have you an older brother or know anyone that looks like you? That works a lot of the time. If they have an old passport where they are young it works even better.

Yeah but nobody will give me their ID's for fear of losing them :L

Get an older sister to do your make up and dress you in hot pants and a little top. At 6 foot 4 , you couldn't possibly be refused and should be guaranteed attention all night long.

Depending on the club you want to go to this could be bad advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

What we used to do was pretend to be on a stag do, sometimes worked in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Depending on the club you want to go to this could be bad advice!

Go on , lets hear it , what happened to you ?

Yeah but nobody will give me their ID's for fear of losing them :L

You can't blame them :P
    Sure I stopped bringing my ID when I was 23 for the same reason. Still got stopped tho from time to time. It's madness to bring out something such as your passport when you are getting hammered. Let alone giving it to someone else lol.

But how many will be in your group?
    You have a better chance of getting in with a fair few people. As most people will leave a place if one person within the group can't get in. Bouncers know this too ;)

Go on , lets hear it , what happened to you ?

I don't like to talk about it :(

But op you could try bribing a bouncer. Never done it myself but hey it could work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Dublin is over 21.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Dublin is over 21.

Yeah this person has a point too! Some bouncers when see a group of young guys will say 21s. Probably be better if you ring a club and get an area reserved? If there are a good few of you that should be no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

Depends how old yous look really. Hard to say.

Dublin is over 21.

Doesn't mean a thing :p
    Know many people who were 18-20 who got into places like Barcode and Club M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

Dublin is over 21.

Dublin, like everywhere is simply at the bouncer' discretion when he takes a look at you. They'll only say 21 to young lads If they fancy being arse holes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Chances of getting into any decent pub/club are pretty much zero if you have no ID. If you look even similar to a mate in your group than two of yous go in first together then your mate back-out with the ID for the other lad.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

A group of young lads who are most likely going to be hammered after the first pub.

Hard to see how you're going to avoid being asked for ID :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭EireGreg

just bring your own passport at the door they will most likely just scan at the year and say go ahead without even seeing its eight days short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I remember when I was 17, would of been 18 at 12:00 o clock that night. Bouncers made me wait and I showed up at Half 11!

Yeah just gonna chance it.
    Is there anywhere that's not 21s? Where would most people my age go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭mylefttesticle

Not strict enough considering the tools that drink in them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Oo-err, what sort of clubs are you referring to OP ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Simply put, you won't get in anywhere. Especially if you look young. Fcuked as it may be, a girl might get past the glance, but a guy, never.

Don't worry though, chances are your mates won't get in either. Most places in Dublin would be 21's I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Simply put, you won't get in anywhere. Especially if you look young. Fcuked as it may be, a girl might get past the glance, but a guy, never.

Don't worry though, chances are your mates won't get in either. Most places in Dublin would be 21's I think.

Where are people getting this most places are 21? They're usually not, only on certain nights. Places you won't get into: Fitzsimons,Coppers,D2,Dandelion. Places you might: The Village,Palace. And I'm fresh out of places to remember :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Places you might: The Village,Palace.

The Village is over 19s or 20s on a Saturday iirc and the Palace over 21s. I'd imagine with thousands of people deceasing into town after Arctic Monkeys on Saturday most places will be strict enough.

Aw crap, so is there anywhere that's 18s? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

The Village no longer exists - a new place Opium opened there a few months back.

Unless the lads are after Thai food and cocktails I wouldn't be sending them there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

No ID, no entry in 99% of clubs, pubs you may get away with it but unlikely IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Say that you need to get into hand out your leaflets and medicines aka Dallas Buyer's Club, and give them a cheeky wink and a smack on the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Paint your face. Whatever band is playing just paint their name on your face or forehead. It will take away from the youthful look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 andy1981

As a previous poster said, walk up to the door with your ID in your hand.. The bouncer will look at the pic to make sure it is you. More than likely he wont work out your age from your D.O.B

I fortunately do not have this problem as I am the worong side of 30 :(

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I remember when I was 17, would of been 18 at 12:00 o clock that night. Bouncers made me wait and I showed up at Half 11!
    Wait a minute, what time were you born at? Surely they shouldn't have let you in until you were properly 18. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Just hope that the bouncers are a bit dopey and can't do maths very well and don't notice that it's 8 more days until you're 18.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

I'll PM ye with the door I'm working on Saturday night OP, €10 a head in, cheap at the price ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

€10 for head, cheap at the price ;)

Have fun, OP.