Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Practitioner experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

RoboRat wrote: »

What I do hate is when you go for a repeat prescription and they insist on 'seeing' you every time so they can charge you €60. They also seem to have no interest in actually diagnosing the problem. They will give you the 'cure' but they don't seem to bothered about why its happening, especially if its happening a lot.

My missus has experienced the same and she has had to tell her specialist what she 'should' be trying rather than vice versa. Its just seems like some are only happy to be milking people for money.

Depends on your problem really. My GP asked me to come to see him a lot over the past year but my take on that was it meant he cared. He didn't just hand me a prescription and say there you go.
    Some things there isn't a cure for and it's down to management as in my case. I do have a medical card but that's besides the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

I need to rant a little, right now I hate GPs and this whole ridiculous GP system.

As I come from another european country I was used to visit the GP once a year just for a routine check up and for him to keep track of my health history. He'd occasionally ask for lab tests or would forward me to a specialist if he saw something that worried him.

But then I'd be completely free to go directly to a specialist if so I wished. I'd go once a year to see the gynaecologist since I was 18 (because I'm a girl and we're all advised to go regularly). If I thought I had a skin problem I'd go directly to the dermatologist and he'd check it. And so on... I could pick any doctor I'd like and I just had to make an appointment, simple as that. I always used the private health care services, in the public service you'd have to wait a little longer, ofc.

I am fairly healthy but two years ago I've had a minor problem related to taking antibiotics. At that time, back in the "motherland" I scheduled an appointment with a specialist as fast as I could, went there, got it sorted. I was warned that the problem could reappear and recently it did; I recognized it easily because the symptoms are the same.

So now I have to solve it here in Ireland and instead of going directly to the person who could help me better, the specialist, I have to go to the GP. Sigh.

Maybe I was just unlucky, but I've been to a GP three weeks ago, expecting it to be a once off or at least to be directed quickly to a specialist.
    He was very dismissive of what I was telling him, almost as if I insulted him when I told him, look I've had this before, I think it's the same time thing, these are the symptoms I'm having and I fear it's getting worse. He then proceeded to tell me that two of the symptoms I had described weren't compatible to the same problem - after that I rechecked, and yes they are, and they are supposed to be serious warning signs, even the NHS website describes them -, he got some samples to take to the lab and sent me away to do an Ultrasound scan. He also told me that I should go back to be examined later that week.

I thought maybe he was just being thorough and that he'd come back to me quickly, as this was something that shouldn't be left to develop.

So at this point I've had two appointments at €55 each plus and ultrasound scan at €135. At least I have private insurance. A week goes by and I wait for my results to come back. Nobody calls. I eventually call the medical centre and ask about my exams. They tell me my GP will call me back. He calls me the following day, to let me know he couldn't find nothing and he isn't sure what's wrong with me. I tell him that meanwhile my symptoms are getting worse again. He tells me I could go pick up a recommendation letter from him to go see the specialist. Fine

I get to the medical centre the following day and ask about my letter. The receptionist tells me that my file has a note saying I need to be examined again by my GP to get the letter.

At that point I told them to feck off. I think this man has examined me enough already and besides he himself told me on the phone he couldn't do nothing for me and that he was going to give me the recommendation.

Now I've found this Polish clinic with specialists that I'm sure will be able to help me.
    Before this I was considering flying on a weekend to my hometown and get checked there, I wouldn't spend much more money on that than what I'd already spent here.

So now I decided I'm done with the local GPs until someone can recommend me a really good one. I'll go to the doctor every time I'm on vacations because I trusted the system here and it let me down big time. I got worse because I couldn't choose the best medical care possible and I honestly can't understand why do people stand to be milked by these overly-protected greedy bastards.

/rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Some things there isn't a cure for and it's down to management as in my case. I do have a medical card but that's besides the point.

Funnily enough I have found the cure for it by trying various natural and alternative remedies and diet changes, all of which were found via the internet. He was happy to keep having me coming back and putting me on a course of antibiotics. He never done any investigation nor tests and just took €60 to write me a script. Last year I spent €2500 on the doctor and prescriptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

RoboRat wrote: »
    Funnily enough I have found the cure for it by trying various natural and alternative remedies and diet changes, all of which were found via the internet. He was happy to keep having me coming back and putting me on a course of antibiotics. He never done any investigation nor tests and just took €60 to write me a script. Last year I spent €2500 on the doctor and prescriptions.

there's no such thing as a repeat prescription for antibiotics maybe you're confused? There are a multitude of good reasons why you need to see a GP before some medications are renewed. Also when given the choice of going to see a GP or looking for random advice online I know what I prefer........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

I work in a college and one student was suffering anxiety attacks and asked me if I would accompany her to the GP down the street from the college. While in the surgery, the student explained how she was feeling to the GP who responded "Why? Did something happen in your childhood? Did you get raped? Did you see one of your parents commit suicide? Were you ever assaulted?" and continue on with a list of horrific traumatic things that could have caused her depression and anxiety. She was dying for some gory details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Not to be dismissive of people's concerns, but if your GP is woeful, why not switch GPs?

Or actually address the problems you're having with them like you would with any other service you pay for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭ShiftStorm

Not to be dismissive of people's concerns, but if your GP is woeful, why not switch GPs?

Or actually address the problems you're having with them like you would with any other service you pay for

Easier said than done. The only GP in my local area that I have heard good things about can't take on anymore patients because of the high demand.

She charges €40
    She's kind and caring and never dismissive, she listens and doesn't rush
    She knows her stuff and always wants to get to the bottom of the problem
    When she can't help you, she'll put you in touch with someone who can.

You feel like you get what you paid for.

I didn't get in on time and have to make do with the other sh1t GP's in the area. You hand over lots of money for a crap, dismissive service. When you complain, you're told 'lump it or leave' and there is no genuine effort to improve because they know you don't have much of a choice but to go to their sh1tty clinic to get your prescription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I went to one in DCC once. It was fairly obvious what was wrong, even the doctor agreed. But it's not that easy(or cheap), i had to go back 2 more times for a series of tests which double confirmed this before i could get anti biotics.
    I know they need to be sure, but it is something that could have been done in 1 appointment and from going to another doctor, she didn't even need some of the tests.
    So i had to have 3 appointments(the first one being 5 mins of her deciding to run tests) at 60 euro each. She also asked me to come in for the results which would have cost another 60. I rang her instead which was free

Another time in Galway I needed a blood test. They rang me a week later asking me to come for another as they messed up the test. They still charged me! even after protesting. By the time they retook the test i had pretty much healed so it was pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

ss88 wrote: »
    Hello,
    I know this discussion is a bit out of date, but never hurts to ask .
    I've been looking at a way to find a good GP. Can't seem to find a page "like rate my GP".
    I was wondering if anybody knows any good GPs in Dublin 6/8 , around Harold's cross/ Rathmines.
    What I mean by good is: having some experience and preferably not very judgmental.

thanks a bunch !

Leonard's corner. Dr Michael Burnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

byrned17 wrote: »
    I work in a college and one student was suffering anxiety attacks and asked me if I would accompany her to the GP down the street from the college. While in the surgery, the student explained how she was feeling to the GP who responded "Why? Did something happen in your childhood? Did you get raped? Did you see one of your parents commit suicide? Were you ever assaulted?" and continue on with a list of horrific traumatic things that could have caused her depression and anxiety. She was dying for some gory details.

That's awful.

I have had a GP ask me "if anything traumatic ever happened?" but that was it, and I think it was so he could advise of counselling services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭medicine12345

byrned17 wrote: »

In fairness what did you expect the GP to do? Sounds like she was trying to get to the bottom of what was causing the panic attacks, hows she supposed to know that nothing like that had happened? Better than just dishing out some benzos and brushing the patient off without trying to find out what was wrong ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

That's awful.

I have had a GP ask me "if anything traumatic ever happened?" but that was it, and I think it was so he could advise of counselling services.

Im almost sure that was the reason, if he didn't know what the problem was he couldn't help. I suppose thats the purpose of doctor-patient confidentiality so that you can feel comfortable to discuss such personal and sensitive things in confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Sykk wrote: »
    I told her than I had gotten this done before, and that I think it would be best if she done it again. She insisted against it :mad:

I had this done once years ago but I know doctors dont want to do it too often for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

EyeSight wrote: »
    I went to one in DCC once. It was fairly obvious what was wrong, even the doctor agreed. But it's not that easy(or cheap), i had to go back 2 more times for a series of tests which double confirmed this before i could get anti biotics........

That bit was good though ( bit too good ? ) - handing out antibiotics for the craic is bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

In fairness what did you expect the GP to do? Sounds like she was trying to get to the bottom of what was causing the panic attacks, hows she supposed to know that nothing like that had happened? Better than just dishing out some benzos and brushing the patient off without trying to find out what was wrong ..

You can ask the question while being more tactful, as I showed in my post. Don't list out every possibility. =.='
    And tbh, alot of people develop anxiety due to stress and not actually anything too traumatic.

And any good doctor will avoid benzos for anxiety and use anti-depressants that also work on anxiety, as these arent addictive.

You can ask the question while being more tactful, as I showed in my post. Don't list out every possibility. =.='
    And tbh, alot of people develop anxiety due to stress and not actually anything too traumatic.

And any good doctor will avoid benzos for anxiety and use anti-depressants that also work on anxiety, as these arent addictive.

she should have been tactful when she was asking the questions but sometimes patients appreciate being asked those sort of questions outright as its easier to say yes or no. It can take several weeks for antidepressants to take effect so they wouldn't be very useful in an acute anxiety state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

Never a bad experience but was called a cheeky monkey when collecting the map before. .. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

gctest50 wrote: »
    That bit was good though ( bit too good ? ) - handing out antibiotics for the craic is bad

hardly for the craic. I get that they needed to run tests, but spreading basic tests out over a few appointments when it could have all been done in 1 just seemed like a way to get me to pay for multiple appointments.

e.g. The first visit was 60 euro and all she did was book a blood test in the same office for the next week(for another 60). Why couldn't she have just taken my blood there and then? Is it beneath a doctor to take blood now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,800 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Never a bad experience but was called a cheeky monkey when collecting the map before. .. :o

the fcuk are you on about???.....

I think they're a scurge. Megabuck salaries for diagnosing sniffles and coughs at 60 euro a pop. I try to keep my vists to these glorified perscritpionists to a minimum. GP's become GP's because its a cushy well paid job.

Real doctors are the guys in A&E dealing with the masses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

:pac: The A & E lottery ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

the fcuk are you on about???.....

morning after pill

Jesus. .. aggressive. ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

EyeSight wrote: »
    hardly for the craic. I get that they needed to run tests, but spreading basic tests out over a few appointments when it could have all been done in 1 just seemed like a way to get me to pay for multiple appointments.

e.g. The first visit was 60 euro and all she did was book a blood test in the same office for the next week(for another 60). Why couldn't she have just taken my blood there and then? Is it beneath a doctor to take blood now?

Don't know that I've ever had blood taken by a doctor, it's always a nurse.

My own doctor is ridiculous for this though, apparently they can't afford a nurse anymore so send you to make an appointment at the hospital for it. I made an appointment last time, when I got there they were doing a first come first served basis. Rage does not describe it. Even though I got my 'appointment' for 8.55, I was more than an hour late for work because of their stupid system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

My experiences with doctors in Dublin have been ridiculously bad. I wouldn't mind incompetence/apathy or whatever else causes them to be so bad, if it were cheap. But it's not!

I have private insurance (VHI) but it doesn't seem to cover any of my expenses. I go to the doctor with a problem, pay 60 euro and go home with advice such as 'drink water'. I actually paid 60 euro, waited 30 minutes after my scheduled appointment, for a doctor to suggest that I drink more water. Then he sent me home.

Was I thirsty? No
    Was I dehydrated? No

I went back after drinking water didn't help at all. Then he told me I had a deviated septum. I asked him why he didn't see it before and he said, 'It can happen at anytime'. He couldn't have cared less. And I'm the sucker who paid him 120 euro.

I went to another doctor who absolutely assured me that I
    1.) Had a medical issue
    2.) Drinking water would not have any affect on this
    3.) Did not have a deviated septum.

A few years back I was working in the US. Everyone talks about how bad health care is there - but I'd pay 12 EUR for an office visit instead of 60, the doctor would show up on time, the office would be an order of magnitude nicer, and the odds of the doctor having a remote idea of what to do was much higher. In the US - I had three visits - no complaints. Between my wife and I, we've had 7 or 8 doctor's visits in Dublin and I'd say all but one was subpar AND I'm paying five times more (and wasting a lot more time - never had a doctor in Dublin show up on time. Worst time was 4.5 hours late).

I had a surgery performed in the US. I went in on a Tuesday, doc said I needed surgery. Time wasn't a factor here, it wasn't going to get worse, it just wouldn't ever get better until I had surgery. I had surgery on Friday. That same week.

In Dublin, my wife went to a doctor and the doctor said she needed a biopsy. This was time critical. It could be cancer and the longer you wait to treat it, the more likely it is to grow and spread. Delaying treatment is literally risking your life. Three months of waiting. And then, on the day, after waiting three months, we sit in the waiting room for 4.5 hours.

Oddly enough, the insurance in the US didn't cost any more than the VHI crap I pay for here. It's funny because when I went to the US, I expected their system to be a nightmare. oh well.

I think they're a scurge. Megabuck salaries for diagnosing sniffles and coughs at 60 euro a pop. I try to keep my vists to these glorified perscritpionists to a minimum. GP's become GP's because its a cushy well paid job.

There actually isnt much of sniffles and coughs in general practice, that might be what you go for, which is a bit silly seeing as there isn't much the GP can do for you.

Also annoys me when people say things like 'real doctors are the guys in the hospitals'
    How do you think the GP becomes a GP? many of them spend years working in the hospitals,. At the very very minimum they do 2 years in rotations including A&E, paeds, obs&gyn etc. So you are contradicting yourself there. The doctor treating you in A&E today might be a GP next year....

UCDVet wrote: »
    My experiences with doctors in Dublin have been ridiculously bad. I wouldn't mind incompetence/apathy or whatever else causes them to be so bad, if it were cheap. But it's not!

I have private insurance (VHI) but it doesn't seem to cover any of my expenses. I go to the doctor with a problem, pay 60 euro and go home with advice such as 'drink water'. I actually paid 60 euro, waited 30 minutes after my scheduled appointment, for a doctor to suggest that I drink more water. Then he sent me home.

Oddly enough, the insurance in the US didn't cost any more than the VHI crap I pay for here. It's funny because when I went to the US, I expected their system to be a nightmare. oh well.

Theres no excuse for medical incompetence there if thats what the first GP was. There are some bad GPs but there are also alot of very good ones so be sure and find a good one.

As for the costs for GP appointments, the system in ireland means that the private patients are subsidising the medical card ones. And with more people becoming unemployed and more cuts being made to what the government pays the GPs per patient, this may get worse in the future, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

My former GP was (and from what I hear still is) an arrogant pig, a complete know all. I never went to the GP that much but a few years ago I got very ill, and he just couldn't be bothered to take me seriously, despite my having to go back to him 3 times in a month at €50 a pop. Anyway, long story short, I ended up in hospital very ill. If I'd been diagnosed properly by him at the start, I wouldn't have been half as sick.

I have to say my current GP is great. I never feel rushed or under pressure when I'm there. He really takes the time to listen. He's a gentleman. I've only ever heard people have good things to say about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,800 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

There actually isnt much of sniffles and coughs in general practice, that might be what you go for, which is a bit silly seeing as there isn't much the GP can do for you.

Really? sigh.... :rolleyes:

Like I said, luckily I very rarely go to the GP's & when I do its essentially getting a perscription. Not a consultation at all really. The GP is the 60 euro middleman(or woman) who greets you before you get to the perscription.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I've found college GPs very good in general. Less inclined to be dismissive. Probably because they don't get extra money if they can get you in and out in double quick time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭therealme

My g.p. is great. He knows I only go when genuinely sick & is always ready to refer or help, always asks about my work and industry I'm in and asks me "how I am" as well as asking what he can do for me. He always says to ring for a prescription to be faxed - no need to call in and pay for it! I have never felt like I am just a number at the practice.
    I feel like unlike any other g.p. I have attended, he is genuine and cares for his patients.
    I never begrudge him the €60 and hope he is my g.p. for many years.