If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I need feminism because...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

In the light of the world cup, this is an interesting article:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/valerie-alexander/lets-stop-neutralizing-men_b_5558581.html

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

There was an article in the Guardian today called 'Tireless campaigning means this is the best era to be female in modern times', which emphasises how much feminism has done for us. For example:
    It's important to remember that my grandmother was born in an era in which the putative feminist debate was whether women should have the vote. My mother was born in an era in which abortion was illegal. I was born in an era in which it was legal for a man to rape his wife. If we keep fighting, imagine the era our daughters will be born into, and their daughters after them.

(It's by a UK-based writer, but apart from the abortion part it is applicable to Irish women too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Morag

Marital rape was not a crime here in Ireland until 1990.
    If you were born before then, then you were born in an ear in which it was legal for a husband to rape his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Because me not wanting to sleep with you doesn't make me a tease!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Reddit, a site that is supposed to be fun and all-inclusive, has a serious thread of anti-woman sh*t running through it (not to mention a lot of weirdness about race). It's incredibly frustrating to read some of the stuff that gets posted on there, and any time a woman tries to make a point about it, she almost always gets shouted down. It has started to seep into Imgur too, an image sharing website that I like to use. Imgur used to be hilarious and lighthearted, just really funny pictures and memes, and it has just increasingly become like a playground for MRA-type attitudes and people trying to make political points that are almost always anti-feminism or criticising women in some capacity. I think it's because the male to female ratios on these sites are probably pretty skewed, so you just have a big circle jerk of guys backing each other up and very few women to counter what they're saying, so they all just start to agree with each other. It has made browsing Imgur a lot less enjoyable for me.
    I'd well believe it. Reddit seems dreadful.

Moderator apathy doesn't help either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Reddit is quite proud of its free speech attitude so a lot of stuff is let go under that belief. And I'm actually fine with that and I like the idea that websites like Reddit employ that attitude since I do think that the internet is one of the very last refuges of true free speech, but it just gets annoying when there are almost no opposing voices there. I guess it's because those sites are mainly populated by young men, so the women just aren't there to actually have their voices heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

So many claps for this article... Also kind of unrelated - but if I see one more diagnosis of mental illness via analysis of tweets, forum posts or the like - I don't know what I'd do, but I hope it would adequately reflect my disgust of people spouting such ableist crap...

" “Crazy” is such a convenient word for men, perpetuating our sense of superiority. Men are logical; women are emotional. Emotion is the antithesis of logic. When women are too emotional, we say they are being irrational. Crazy. Wrong."

http://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2014/07/09/men-really-need-to-stop-calling-women-crazy/

I've been listening with interest to the observations being made about Ireland and our human rights record in the UN. The chairperson of the commission said that rape victims here are treated as no more than "vessels" and that the idea that a woman at risk of suicide should have to justify herself to doctors in order to procure an abortion would possibly fall under "mental torture". Its findings on the practice of symphysiotomy were quite awful too, even suggesting that it possibly constituted "experimentation". Frances Fitzgerald, in all her wisdom, had no suggestions about what could ever possibly be done for women who cannot afford to travel for an abortion (:mad:) and the delegation did a stand-up job in side-stepping most of the questions asked.

Nigel Rodley, the chairperson of the commission, had some pretty strong words about the findings and said there was a problem with state accountability and responsibility in this country.

Stuff like this just reminds me why people are so wrong to suggest that women here are somehow better off or that feminism should only be focusing on women in the Middle East or Africa. Ireland is really being dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century at this point. Too many career politicians in this country who are too afraid to tackle something like reproductive rights head-on for fear of losing their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭YumCha

Everything about this story makes me so sad... am just amazed at her bravery to waive anonymity, but by god she should not have to... Seriously, who in their right mind would publicly taunt a 16yo rape victim? :(

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-life/10968068/Teen-rape-victim-viral-photos-Jadapose-prompts-major-internet-backlash.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

I've been listening with interest to the observations being made about Ireland and our human rights record in the UN. The chairperson of the commission said that rape victims here are treated as no more than "vessels" and that the idea that a woman at risk of suicide should have to justify herself to doctors in order to procure an abortion would possibly fall under "mental torture". Its findings on the practice of symphysiotomy were quite awful too, even suggesting that it possibly constituted "experimentation". Frances Fitzgerald, in all her wisdom, had no suggestions about what could ever possibly be done for women who cannot afford to travel for an abortion (:mad:) and the delegation did a stand-up job in side-stepping most of the questions asked.

Nigel Rodley, the chairperson of the commission, had some pretty strong words about the findings and said there was a problem with state accountability and responsibility in this country.

Stuff like this just reminds me why people are so wrong to suggest that women here are somehow better off or that feminism should only be focusing on women in the Middle East or Africa. Ireland is really being dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century at this point. Too many career politicians in this country who are too afraid to tackle something like reproductive rights head-on for fear of losing their jobs.

It's great to see the government getting grilled over this, however this is not the first time, and I doubt it will be the last. It's so infuriating, really f'ing infuriating that successive govts fail to move on this. Can anyone realistically see a referendum repealing the 8th amendment anytime soon? Very unlikely in this govts lifetime, but even in the next? Who is willing to take this on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

jaja321 wrote: »
    It's great to see the government getting grilled over this, however this is not the first time, and I doubt it will be the last. It's so infuriating, really f'ing infuriating that successive govts fail to move on this. Can anyone realistically see a referendum repealing the 8th amendment anytime soon? Very unlikely in this govts lifetime, but even in the next? Who is willing to take this on?

No not anytime soon. there is not even any move to legalise abortion in the case of TFMR which has a lot of public support let alone on demand. And with the UK so close there is no need to. Then there is the ongoing influence of the church and the over the top belief that parenthood is the ultimate achievement and those ridiculous 'you only regret the children you don't have' comments that still persist.

I think Fine Gael are just desperately trying to hold their government together at this point. I can't see them saying or doing anything that could make them unpopular with certain factions should an early general election come to pass. They're just going to sit right on the fence with most issues from now on, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Morag

jaja321 wrote: »

They won't unless people make it a door step issue for the next general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

What's karl henry. Is that a gym or something, that's what google says

That's kinda weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The guy off Operation Transformation who pretends to be some kind of fitness guru but actually knows feck all.

He's probably a big fan of Silvio Berlusconi, who famously insulted Merkels appearance within earshot of a microphone. What a genius, and what priorities.

I don't know Ivan Yates, but I now know he's a half-wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I love Ivan Yates. He might not be politically correct but at least he is entertaininig and also interesting. Now listening to Ray D'Arcy would make my ears hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Jesus that stuff really annoys me. Hilary Clinton gets the same. I mean whatever you might think of their politics, they're clearly two very intelligent women, in positions of massive responsibility, who've worked hard (possibly harder than male politicians) to get to where they are and have to deal with hugely important, stressful decisions every day. And what do they get 'yeah, but look at the state of her'. Fcuking sums it up, it doesn't matter what job a woman has, there's still a sizeable portion of the population who'll judge and mock us on our appearances.

And sure nothing is really as important as male approval of our appearances anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Women can't win. If we don't look pretty enough we face ridicule and Yates styles humour, if we happen to be attractive we're ridiculed for that. Why is it that a woman's worth continues to be based on how she looks? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

And sure nothing is really as important as male approval of our appearances anyway.

Equally as frustrating when women do it, which is shockingly common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Country where I come from had first female pm in the last government. She was crap and her dress sense for needed to be reined in (you would,t see Angela Merkel in tiger patterned skirt above the knees) but never I saw so many comments about her equally badly dressed male predecessors (wearing Genscher style yellow jumpers are my favorite pet pew). That being said I don't where Yates was going with that comment because I didn't hear it but in fairness there are very few comments made about Angela Merkel's appearance. She actually makes very conscious effort to be dressed into something as close to uniform as she can possibly find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I think in fairness men's looks can be ridiculed too (particularly politicians and journalists, e.g. Brian Cowen, Brendan O'Connor) but good feck, I'd say there isn't a woman who puts herself in the public eye that doesn't get some remark passed about her appearance, whether it's ridiculing or "I'd smash it". Fine if she's a model or whatever job where appearance is important, but a scientist or teacher... she's not on TV to be assessed as to her sexyness or lack thereof.

And as Electro said, it's dismaying how much women themselves can pass remarks on other women's appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

And he calls himself an academic. You'd wonder where such people are being educated and if this is what constitutes a highly educated person in Israel, what the rest of them are learning in school and university. The fcuking arrogance of that country lately is pretty sickening, honestly.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

That is horrific and complete rubbish. He may be somewhat of a expert in understanding Arab culture, but if he thinks that "tactically" raping Arab women is going to create peace in the region, he's an absolute imbecile when it comes to understanding human nature or basic morality (this seems to be all to common in this Gaza escalation).

It might interest him to know that the Serbs "tactically" and systematically raped thousands of Bosniak women during the Bosnian War as a way to destroy morale and bring shame and humiliation on them, and the UN considered that a war crime.

Although, somehow I feel if Israel did the same, they'd still only be "defending themselves".