Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Happyman42 wrote: »
    The eyes of the world are on us too? Has the world nothing better to be at?

The eyes of the world is most certainly not on us! Those people who keep bandying that line need their head examining.
    This is not even causing the faintest of ripples in Tulsa, our heros home town.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    No! I meant just Ireland... If people think the rest of the world is focused on Garth Brooks concerts in Dublin they are deluded!

We had some lad on earlier saying that big blue chips would be discussing cancelling inward investment because of this Garth Brooks saga.
    I think they also mentioned the demise of pfizer and ship building in cork to back up their case ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You would have to wonder what is in the water at city hall.

This is how it must have gone down

Shinners - What's the result?
    Counter guy - Your proposal just got through.
    Shinners - Great. We say all 5 concerts go ahead.
    City Manager - No.
    Shinners - Ahh, ok . AOB ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    This is how it must have gone down

Shinners - What's the result?
    Counter guy - Your proposal just got through.
    Shinners - Great. We say all 5 concerts go ahead.
    City Manager - No.
    Shinners - Ahh, ok . AOB ?

Sure they will be voting to bring back Elvis next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Do they release the voting stance each councilor took on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fred Cohen

Because I posted that in February, and it was meant as sarcasm. I have no idea what the average Irish fan will do if the shows are cancelled.

They're arming themselves as we speak, I tell ya.

Well I only have a ticket for Monday and for Tuesday, because I sat and got online messages until 3 AM when the 1st shows sold out in 1 1/2 hours.

And how do you have any idea what his expenses are. Calling him a massive baby. I'm sure you'll gladly sell me a ticket at face value to either Friday or Sunday if only 3 shows happen. It's the only right thing, feeling as you do. Should I be left out while you see him twice?

Or I guess it's just my tough luck that the rules are the rules, and Garth is being a massive baby. And that I was not in Ireland to queue for several days when the initial dates were announced.

Why would they give you a ticket when you already have one? Accountancy, all about the checks and balances.

Posted in Gigs & Events 03/07/2014 @ 19:00

Wow! I didn't think it would come to this. I may just cancel my trip now. I only have tix for Saturday, Monday & Tuesday, ahnd was planning on getting the other nights over the next couple of weeks. Even if he does go ahead with Fri-Sun, the prices for those dates will surely skyrocket now that over 100K people will be looking for tickets to those shows.Given that, and the cost to Garth to travel with everything, I can see it as quite possible the 3 nights will also get the boot.Interesting position it puts Garth in. If he goes ahead with the 3, he'll piss off everyone who got tix for the last 2 and not the others, plus it will jack up the 3 shows resale prices, which he is vehemently opposed to.I guess I'll wait a couple more days before deciding what to do. I may still use my flight to Europe, but just nix the side trip to Dublin. They have to do what they have to do, but my desire to support Dublin or Ireland has pretty much gone away. This will not only not help the Dublin economy, the bad press from around the world will probably hurt it. The only people happy will be the Croke Park residents, and even they are pissed since even 1 show by Garth exceeds their mandate established with the 1 Direction shows.Looks like there are plenty of others with tickets to some of the shows who would not mind if they are all pulled. Just like me, they feel that Dublin does not deserve the revenue that would be generated from even 1 show, after this fiasco. Let them have a regular Dublin weekend, with no worldwide visitors to help their economy. And their economy is not exactly in good shape to begin with. Too bad. Cancel 'em all Garth, and do some shows here in the U.S. instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

We had some lad on earlier saying that big blue chips would be discussing cancelling inward investment because of this Garth Brooks saga.
    I think they also mentioned the demise of pfizer and ship building in cork to back up their case ....
    and the fact that Intel would be worried about seeking permission to build their new fab which is completed and got permission 18 months ago. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Hope they cancel all, GAA should really have listened to locals instead of fobbing off over the years
    they did listen to the locals, its not their fault that some won't be happy no matter what

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

they did listen to the locals, its not their fault that some won't be happy no matter what

When? When did they listen to them?

Not true

is true, he lives in castleknock

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

is true, he lives in castleknock

But he's not the head of anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Sure did. But pray to the alter of innocence and believe uni-culture bubble, by all means.

Laugh at me as you will, laugh hard. Be prepared to cry, for whens you know not why.

Really the solution is for the locals to let this go ahead just one last time but only after GAA sign a legal binding agreement for x amounts of events per year, and if broken high financial donations (1,000,000 per event) are made to local community.
    no, GAA should not have to donate anything to the local community, unless they wish to themselves, no agreement should be signed with residents as it will constrict croke park irelands national stadium from conducting business and keep it operating in the dark ages. should what you suggest happens then any donation should go to the state and not the residents

Phoebas wrote: »
    The solution is to have 3 gigs and cancel or reschedule the other 2. There is already an agreement for 3 gigs and that should stand.
    Why should we have laws that can be broken at will by people who can afford to simply pay their way around them?
    because croke park is unable to conduct its business in a modern world, and is still operating on planning agreements from a different age, time moves on and things change, the GAA and croke park must be allowed to move forward instead of being held back by a few

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    Sinn Fein get control of DCC and what is the first thing they do?
    Look to overturn a planning decision.

I live nowhere near Croke Park and I do not have a ticket. I feel for those who really want to see him but I had hoped we had left this nonsense behind us. Totally undermining DCC.

I hope they all get cancelled now, purely for the actions of the councillors.
    it was a democratic vote by councillors, fair play to SF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,265 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

hynesie08 wrote: »
    But he's not the head of anything.

That's disingenuous to say the least. He's the one spearheading the PR campaign against the decision being overturned, and before the decision was made he was the one coming out on behalf of residents and voicing their opposition to the added dates.

no, GAA should not have to donate anything to the local community, unless they wish to themselves, no agreement should be signed with residents as it will constrict croke park irelands national stadium from conducting business and keep it operating in the dark ages. should what you suggest happens then any donation should go to the state and not the residents
    Surely "Ireland's national stadium" is the one where the national teams play their games?

its a way of showing their dissatisfaction with the city manager though

it was a democratic vote by councillors, fair play to SF

It was a PR stunt as they knew, or should have known, nothing could have been done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Most locals have no problem with the proposed concerts going ahead.

How do you know this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

DCC dispute that. They claim he was told on numerous occasions that they has a problem with there being 5 gigs planned. However they can't officially do anything until the formal application is lodged.

BS. They can make a statement any time they like. Quite easy for them to announce that they wouldn't be allowing any more concerts in Croker after allowing 3 1D gigs. The initial application was lodged in April in any case and they could have blown it out then (and should have if they were intent on sticking to their own 'guidelines').
    Cienciano wrote: »
    I don't believe Aiken knew he's sell out 5 nights. I believe him when he said 2, maybe 3. But dollar signs popped up and he kept adding more nights with out consideration for anyone, including the law. He should have been in contact with DCC throughout this, they should have told him he's taking the píss with 5 nights, he should have known he's taking the píss with 5 nights.

I have no doubt that he did know that he was definitely stretching it. However I believe that he had no reason to think that there would be any major problems i.e. GAA or DCC didn't flag it strongly enough either.
    beakerjoe wrote: »
    What could they do to stop them?

(Re Putting the Tickets on sale in advance and DCC) They could have made an announcement that these concerts were not sanctioned and were in breach of agreements with residents. i.e. Put up a big red flag for all the public to heed.
    Phoebas wrote: »
    The solution is to have 3 gigs and cancel or reschedule the other 2. There is already an agreement for 3 gigs and that should stand.
    Why should we have laws that can be broken at will by people who can afford to simply pay their way around them?

The 3 gigs as the stand are already in breach of the agreement/guidelines that the GAA and DCC have with the residents. As I said earlier DCC seem happy to break their own rules 'just a little bit'. If they had any cajones they would have stopped the whole lot before it ever got off the ground.

That's disingenuous to say the least. He's the one spearheading the PR campaign against the decision being overturned, and before the decision was made he was the one coming out on behalf of residents and voicing their opposition to the added dates.

Because that's what he's there for.

jaysus, submitting this thread would probably end in the case being thrown out

I personally saw a few different people do tv/radio interviews. Not saying he didn't do a few but I personally never saw him as the "face" of this campaign.

its a way of showing their dissatisfaction with the city manager though

And the potential removal of unelected officials too. We supposedly elect a City Council only they are driven roughshod by an unelected person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭LordNorbury

Mr.S wrote: »
    I think the RA's handled this poorly, instead of having an an all out war with the GAA / Croke Park / DCC / Aiken they could have come to a proper agreement re concerts in the future at Croke Park, a strict limit that can't be broken, and let all / some of the Garth concerts happen, to secure a proper agreement.

Sure we're just going to have this mess again in the next few years.

Sure there was an agreement and the agreement was not respected, I think this is the point the residents Association are trying to make and the council have backed them up fully.

I saw footage the other day of a lockdown type situation around Croke Park before the One Direction concert, where residents had a situation whereby private security people, not even Gardai, were enforcing security controls on streets around Croke Park. I'm sure this is normal enough protocol for large scale events like this, but have any of us ever wondered what it would be like to be living with Gaza strip like security controls operating around us? You'd put up with it on some level, but at what point does it start to feel like you are continually under some sort of a siege in your own house?!?

It seems to me that an agreement was reached and then an agreement was disregarded and the same thing that has caused the ruination of this country and in particular our economy in recent years, namely greed, greed and more fúcking greed, has now been the cause of this debacle, where one organisation appeared to think that it was so well in with the local authority, that the licensing of the event was a mere formality that was as good as in the bag, that the auld nudge and the wink would take care of everything at the end of the day. This is the very same kind of blatant disregard for the planning process in this country, that had shíthole shoebox sized apartments made of glorified cardboard, being thrown up all over the place, some of which have to now be pulled down because they can't even meet the most basic of fire safety regulations.

We can't have it every which way, we can't criticise public authorities when they are asleep at the wheel and then as we have seen with the banks, all sorts of recklessness ends up going on under their noses because they have failed to enforce the law, but yet then when a local authority tries to impose the law and hold people to it, we decide to have a national shít hemorrhage about it because we stupidly think that our still bamboozled domestic economy in Dublin, needs the money more than the whole country needs to have a regime where the laws of the land actually mean something.

We can't have it both ways I think.

The Irish domestic economy has been in a complete heap for the last 6 years, it was destroyed before there was any mention of Garth Brooks coming here, and is still being wrecked through continuing austerity, we have tolerated tens of billions of Euro being taken out of our own pockets by our own government, to pay for failed zombie banks, yet we have a collective nervous breakdown when a local authority tries to fairly apply the law in the face of big business interests in the capital, such as the GAA and the Dublin Chamber of Commerce, when the outcome of that decision is that a concert worth around 50 million Euro to the Dublin economy, (50 million that practically none of us will realistically share in unless we happen to own a hotel or a pub in Dublin), is possibly cancelled or curtailed.

Also, the emotional blackmail coming from business lobby groups, the "oh look, the world is watching us now, careful there Ted, we don't want to upset the markets or those bondholders again", that are trying to push back a lawful decision that has been made by the proper authorities, I find to be personally sickening. We are not eejits, we have laws and please God if we have learnt anything in the last 10 years, it is that light touch regulation or no regulation at all, has certainly not done us much service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I personally saw a few different people do tv/radio interviews. Not saying he didn't do a few but I personally never saw him as the "face" of this campaign.

Is he the fella on about the handball alley with the tash? He's the only face I would recognise as being part of the residents group to be honest. He seems to be on everything to do with the opposing of the concerts.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    No! I meant just Ireland... If people think the rest of the world is focused on Garth Brooks concerts in Dublin they are deluded!

Focused is too strong a word, a raised eyebrow and a glance in our direction, and Miss Moneypenny, please take a note of what's going on and submit it for our consideration for inclusion at the the next quarterly meeting please.

Rasheed wrote: »
    Is he the fella on about the handball alley with the tash? He's the only face I would recognise as being part of the residents group to be honest. He seems to be on everything to do with the opposing of the concerts.
    http://www.thestar.ie/star/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Picture-381.png

He's one of these lads I assume? The one with the grey beard is the chap I'd associate with it, fairly sure he was on tv3 and rte.