Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Only because there's nothing to protest about, the decision has been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Thanks for the lame translation of what actually happened. More hatred towards Garth, but I guess that's all some of you have to keep yourselves happy.
    At the very fundamental level of this debate is about a venue attempting to exceed it's remit in relation to the local residents and the residents taking the only path available to them of protesting through the planning process.
    It could have been Madonna. It could have been Kate Bush. It could have been the surviving members of Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin playing a mixed set. It could have been Frank Sinatra and Frank Zappa performing duets while Elvis tapdances. It makes no difference.
    The fundamentals are that the venue and the promoter tried to host gigs but the council refused permission based on the observations placed.
    I agree that there has been a lot of anti Garth statements in this thread but don't believe for a second that anti-Garth sentiment is the reason for the gigs being cancelled.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,383 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

have tickets for the friday night but cant see any of the shows going ahead.

Garth will cancel them all himself and then make a statement saying he is sorry for the cancellation and that ireland will always have his heart bull**** and all his fans will forgive him and love him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Quote where I said "only his fans" would anything..

Don't bother trying, as I never said it. Maybe learn to read

My ability to read is fine thanks very much. You might disagree with my interpretation of what you said and that's fine. While you didn't literally say that only his fans know what makes him tick, you did imply it by stating that people against him don't.

Anyway, no need to get your knickers in a twist, all said in jest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

Hi, I am a Drumcondra resident, Thankfully I wont be affected too much since I'm on the main Drumcondra road, but it can be heard, very clearly, when traffic dies down after 7pm.
    The problem I have is that there is families living on Clonliffe road, Fitzroy Ave and the rest, and they have babies and kids to put to sleep, and they had to get up early in the morning. The noise didn't end when the concert is over, they all go into the pubs in the area, and crawl out at 2am and start shouting and singing. Bad enough when the normal crowds come out of Quinns at the weekends.

Plus, because of "security" residents in the surrounding houses can't leave or come back to their own house in their car because the roads are closed off... pointlessly.

Plus, Croke park is a sporting ground. The 02 is a concert venue.

And before ANYBODY decides to say "you should have known before you moved there"... well, like most of the people who rent, and don't have money to buy a property.... you can't exactly pick and choose where you live. I don't have €800 to rent a decent apartment in Dublin. So show a little respect when you don't have to put up with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Red Nissan wrote: »
    A fair interpretation.

It depends on who you believe, whether they [either or both] Aiken & Brooks KNEW there could sell 5 concerts or their story that they thought they'd sell two and possibly three but five was awesome.

Selling concerts is not a refined science, we hear all the time of additional dates added, I'm pretty sure a promoter would be kicking himself if he announced three concerts and only sold one. Many a time we are told they could have filled the stadium many times over, the demand was so great, and we are talking about Garth Brooks, I for one was surprised he sold out one gig, TBH about it. But there ya go like.
    I don't believe Aiken knew he's sell out 5 nights. I believe him when he said 2, maybe 3. But dollar signs popped up and he kept adding more nights with out consideration for anyone, including the law. He should have been in contact with DCC throughout this, they should have told him he's taking the píss with 5 nights, he should have known he's taking the píss with 5 nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,113 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i've heard the garth brooks supply ship has not yet left the US....and it is waiting on final word TODAY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Gert Breks terk er jerbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

i've heard the garth brooks supply ship has not yet left the US....and it is waiting on final word TODAY.

From who?

Your post is like something off Sky Sports News :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Its not picking one child over the other anyway, 2 of the kids have been taken off him. He should be happy with 3 and love them.

Then again Id fight for my 2 kids if the government took them off me....

What was the question again?

Your correct any decent human would fight over their two kids!
    also the millions spent on organising, planning, merchandising etc etc.... Not to mention the 70,000 or so fans left in Limbo by DCC who watched and let the sale off tickets go ahead and did NOTHING to stop it.... Yeah they can say we told Aiken this and that but basically did NOTHING to stop the ticket sales, BLESS THEM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

ardle1 wrote: »
    also the millions spent on organising, planning, merchandising etc etc.... Not to mention the 70,000 or so fans left in Limbo by DCC who watched and let the sale off tickets go ahead and did NOTHING to stop it.... Yeah they can say we told Aiken this and that but basically did NOTHING to stop the ticket sales, BLESS THEM!

What could they do to stop them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

SMJSF wrote: »
    Hi, I am a Drumcondra resident, Thankfully I wont be affected too much since I'm on the main Drumcondra road, but it can be heard, very clearly, when traffic dies down after 7pm.
    The problem I have is that there is families living on Clonliffe road, Fitzroy Ave and the rest, and they have babies and kids to put to sleep, and they had to get up early in the morning. The noise doesn't end when the concert is over, they all go into the pubs in the area, and crawl out at 2am and start shouting and singing. Bad enough when the normal crowds come out of Quinns at the weekends.

Plus, because of "security" residents in the surrounding houses can't leave or come back to their own house in their car because the roads are closed off... pointlessly.

Plus, Croke park is a sporting ground. The 02 is a concert venue.

And before ANYBODY decides to say "you should have known before you moved there"... well, like most of the people who rent, and don't have money to buy a property.... you can't exactly pick and choose where you live. I don't have €800 to rent a decent apartment in Dublin. So show a little respect when you don't have to put up with it!

I'm just like yourself, same location as in lwr Drumcondra near the epicenter.

Totally agree with you , unfortunately the ignorant type won't. Ah sure we better shut up and move to suit them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Gergiev

This makes no sense on so many levels. First of all the money Garth is taking out of the country is through ticket sales. Which without him would not exist. And I assure you that he is not taking the full ticket face value, his share is certainly substantial, but nowhere near 100% of the 70 Euros people paid for a ticket, multiplied by 400,000.

Whatever, I'm wasting my time talking to you about this anyways. Just wanted to point out how wrong it was in terms of economics, but we can all see how you feel about Garth Brooks, and that is really why you're here I guess.

There is no suggestion he is taking 100% of the full ticket price, where did you get that from?

400,000 by E70 per ticket equals 28 million euro.

For a concert of this magnitude, the costs normally equate to 50/60% of the gross.

The concert promoter is almost certainly working for 10% of the nett.

Which still leaves Brooks with the 10 million figure I mentioned.

So that's how right it is 'in terms of economics'. :)

By the way, I have no opinion of Garth Brooks; good, bad or indifferent.

My view on this would be the same if it was the Rolling Stones, U2, Van Morrison, Beyonce, or anyone else one cares to mention, cancelling 3 shows because another 2 were declined...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Gert brewks don't luv yee nah mar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

My ability to read is fine thanks very much. You might disagree with my interpretation of what you said and that's fine. While you didn't literally say that only his fans know what makes him tick, you did imply it by stating that people against him don't.
    Saying that people are wrong to have a certain opinion about a person, is a far cry from implying "only their fans" understand them.
    Anyway, no need to get your knickers in a twist, all said in jest.
    Yeah, that's it, deflect away from what you said and make my reply the issue.

We'll just gloss over your mass suicide remark, what with it just being made in jest and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,113 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

beakerjoe wrote: »
    From who?

Your post is like something off Sky Sports News :pac:
    croker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭deandean

Ah here we go, 'GB' has a new song out.

It's great Country & Western stuff: broken promises, worry, money problems et al :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

We'll just gloss over your mass suicide remark, what with it just being made in jest and all.

I thought it was quite good to be honest. Right up there with the standards of After Hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

ardle1 wrote: »

Yeah! Or threaten to kill their remaining 3 kids if they don't get the first 2 back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Umaro wrote: »
    Yeah! Or threaten to kill their remaining 3 kids if they don't get the first 2 back!

I predict a film adaptation, to be called "Taiken".

Edit: Ah hell, have a terrible poster mock-up for the blockbuster of the millennium!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

As a resident, I'd say there is at least 15. The one meeting I attended back in February, quite alot of the resident committee spokepersons were there.

SMJSF wrote: »
    The problem I have is that there is families living on Clonliffe road, Fitzroy Ave and the rest, and they have babies and kids to put to sleep, and they had to get up early in the morning. The noise doesn't end when the concert is over, they all go into the pubs in the area, and crawl out at 2am and start shouting and singing. Bad enough when the normal crowds come out of Quinns at the weekends.

I live on Clonliffe rd with two kids under 5 and to be fair, you can hear it, but at the back of the house, its not that bad. I was putting the kids to sleep for one direction in may, at about 8.30 waiting but it was grand. If I am downstairs in my front room (facing clonliffe), I can hear it, but if I put the telly on, I cant hear it.

The loudest noise is definitely the dubs scoring a last minute winner in the all ireland final. you hear that every time.

But my thoughts on all this is still very straight forward, the GAA/Aiken got it wrong and tried railroading the residents. And they lost. I'm amazed that DCC didnt allow all five, but I see their rationale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

croker

They were saying on Newstalk this morning that the containers, 32 of them, had arrived in Antwerp.

Mind you they also said that Antwerp was in Germany, so who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭SoCal MusicLover

hynesie08 wrote: »
    A bit of miscommunication between me and a mate when booking tickets, decided to make the most of it.

I do have a sunday ticket, I still feel like garths being a massive baby.

Well I only have a ticket for Monday and for Tuesday, because I sat and got online messages until 3 AM when the 1st shows sold out in 1 1/2 hours.

And how do you have any idea what his expenses are. Calling him a massive baby. I'm sure you'll gladly sell me a ticket at face value to either Friday or Sunday if only 3 shows happen. It's the only right thing, feeling as you do. Should I be left out while you see him twice?

Or I guess it's just my tough luck that the rules are the rules, and Garth is being a massive baby. And that I was not in Ireland to queue for several days when the initial dates were announced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

http://www.irishtimes.com/culture/music/court-bid-lodged-to-stop-all-five-garth-brooks-concerts-1.1858325

Injunction proceedings were formally lodged at the High Court this afternoon aimed at preventing any of the Garth Brooks shows which had been scheduled for Croke Park later this month from going ahead.
    The proceedings are brought in the name of Brian Duff, whose solicitor is named asAnthony Fay, the solicitor acting for some residents of Croke Park.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

they also said that Antwerp was in Germany, so who knows.

Are the Germans at it again?
    They always like to sweep across the low countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

http://www.irishtimes.com/culture/music/court-bid-lodged-to-stop-all-five-garth-brooks-concerts-1.1858325

Injunction proceedings were formally lodged at the High Court this afternoon aimed at preventing any of the Garth Brooks shows which had been scheduled for Croke Park later this month from going ahead.
    The proceedings are brought in the name of Brian Duff, whose solicitor is named asAnthony Fay, the solicitor acting for some residents of Croke Park.

That is big news....wonder how long that legal game of tennis will take to play out.

Lunatic residents! I believe this must have been in motion even before the DCC decision last week. #shakeshead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

Well I only have a ticket for Monday and for Tuesday, because I sat and got online messages until 3 AM when the 1st shows sold out in 1 1/2 hours.

And how do you have any idea what his expenses are. Calling him a massive baby. I'm sure you'll gladly sell me a ticket at face value to either Friday or Sunday if only 3 shows happen. It's the only right thing, feeling as you do. Should I be left out while you see him twice?

Or I guess it's just my tough luck that the rules are the rules, and Garth is being a massive baby. And that I was not in Ireland to queue for several days when the initial dates were announced.
    Are you still expecting there to be riots near Croke Park if Monday and Tuesday are cancelled?

Oh - you can still buy a ticket for Sunday at face value on ticketmaster