Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭mikeym

Theres a good few TD's going to Garth Brooks so id say they could pull a few strokes.

Imo why dont Garth do the 3 gigs. He can come back next year and have 6 gigs in Punchestown or Slane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

No, they broke the law by selling tickets for concerts for which they had not applied for a licence, the tickets could not be sold subject to licence when no licence had been applied for.
    The licence must be obtained, not merely applied for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

croke park the GAA and the promotor did nothing wrong, this is about money for the few extremely vocal residents who just wanted to cause trouble for the majority including other residents, they were offered money and it wasn't enough

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

10 weeks is enough

Tell that to people who booked flights and hotel and now have to decide whether or not to use them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

I have a feeling all 5 will go ahead. There's too much money involved. The residents and the council are probably after more money, A few brown envelopes will solve everything.

This is pat were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

nothing to do with planning permission as they did what was required, they applied for the events licence

And how did that work out for them?

I'm somewhat surprised DCC refused two of the concerts, but it shows that they are willing to make the difficult decisions for the greater good.

It's funny that their decision is being blamed on the residents who raised an objection. Not on Croke park, the promoters, brooks himself, DCC, the event licensing process...no body else got it wrong...it's all down to the pesky residents...how dare they speak up for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The licence must be obtained, not merely applied for.

Oh god stop will you, COMMON PRACTICE is what the process followed was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭fta93

croke park the GAA and the promotor did nothing wrong, this is about money for the few extremely vocal residents who just wanted to cause trouble for the majority including other residents, they were offered money and it wasn't enough

That's it, keep pedalling your agenda. They don't want money, and never have. Quite clear from Page 10 of the Mulvey report that they don't want money.

".In fairness at no stage was the question regarding any compensation, in any form, raised with me at any meeting with the Residents’ Representatives"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,467 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

nothing to do with planning permission as they did what was required, they applied for the events licence

I've lost count of the times you've said this. They applied for the events licences, and were refused two.

You seem strangely and completely obsessed by money. Blaming the residents of the Croke Park area for (allegedly) looking for it in this thread, yet actively encouraging (nay, positively demanding) that payoffs be given to the illegal turf-cutters in Galway in that thread.

You can't have it every way, you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Overheal wrote: »
    That's part of it certainly.

Even the petition now out from some residents to let the 4th and 5th day go ahead aren't petitioning to do so without conditions:

http://www.thejournal.ie/croke-park-re-instaled-1552911-Jul2014/
    • The full implementation of the Mulvey Report is agreed to and adhered to indefinitely.
    • Croke Park creates a legacy grant from the proceeds of the five concerts that go towards community regeneration and community education bursaries.
    • Croke Park apologises to residents for the lack of respect they have shown us.

What's the Mulvey Report?

they did a little snippet on the telly with the two pro residents

Not the sharpest tools in the woodshed by the sound of it. If one was a cynic, it could be thought that aiken had found themselves a ringer or two.

Bambi wrote: »
    they did a little snippet on the telly with the two pro residents

Not the sharpest tools in the woodshed by the sound of it. If one was a cynic, it could be thought that aiken had found themselves a ringer or two.

Ha ha, ah here..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Three words
    ME HOLE,AGAIN!

nm wrote: »
    Oh god stop will you, COMMON PRACTICE is what the process followed was.

I'm sorry if the truth upsets you but common practice still does not make it legal no matter how much you capitalize it or invoke deities. ;)

I have a feeling all 5 will go ahead. There's too much money involved. The residents and the council are probably after more money, A few brown envelopes will solve everything.

This is pat were talking about.

There is no way they can now go ahead.
    The decision has been made by DCC, who legally cannot revisit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

fta93 wrote: »
    That's it, keep pedalling your agenda. They don't want money, and never have. Quite clear from Page 10 of the Mulvey report that they don't want money.

".In fairness at no stage was the question regarding any compensation, in any form, raised with me at any meeting with the Residents’ Representatives"

He's just judging the residents by his own low standards.

Oh god stop will you, COMMON ILLEGAL PRACTICE is what the process followed was.
    FYP

DeanAustin wrote: »
    He's just judging the residents by his own low standards.

Obviously he has friends in low places, bit like GB and the GAA's best ever friend Bertie!

slimjimmc wrote: »
    I'm sorry if the truth upsets you but common practice still does not make it legal no matter how much you capitalize it or invoke deities. ;)

Yes and it's completely incomprehensible that the promoter would follow common practice, it's outrageous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

If I hear the 'impacts on peoples lives' whinge one more time I'll scream.

It's a concert, it's cancellation will impact on those lives involved about as much as Brooks wallpaper music impacts.
    Plus, it will only impact them for one night...for the residents it is potentially 8 nights this year and more if they where stupid enough to give in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

There is no way they can now go ahead.
    The decision has been made by DCC, who legally cannot revisit it.

That's what you thought with the Lisbon referendum.
    Oh look they're giving us free Garth Brooks umbrellas. That changes everything.
    Don't you know how this country works?
    And if you wonder why Sin Fein suddenly comes out in favour of a once off 5 night concert check where some of their funds comes from

Yes and it's completely incomprehensible that the promoter would follow common practice, it's outrageous.

Yet you seem to find it completely incomprehensible that the promoter would suffer the consequences of following that illegal common practice. :confused: Outrageous indeed Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I doubt the residents care that much about the five gigs, but more about the fact that it breaks an existing agreement and would then set a precedent that would be tough to break. They had to put their (collective) foot down now, or else next year, it would be 8 concerts, plus a couple more because, sure, it's only 12 nights out of 365 and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Happyman42 wrote: »

It's a concert, it's cancellation will impact on those lives involved about as much as Brooks wallpaper music impacts.
    Plus, it will only impact them for one night...for the residents it is potentially 8 nights this year and more if they where stupid enough to give in.

This again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

s, but it shows that they are willing to make the difficult decisions for the greater good.

That quote is usually the greater good of the greater number. How is the decision in favour of the greater good of the greater number? Imo a couple of whack jobs with a serious superiority complex are and have been acting the maggot about this and every other high profile event staged in Croke park.

Croke park in its current manifestation is 30 years in the making. Anyone who moved into the area in the intervening period knew full well what sort of facility was in the area and that disruption was part of living there.

I don't know the details but access for residents seems to be a bugbear constantly. Surely at this stage the gaa, the promoters, dcc and the gardai should have a coherent and workable access plan for the area for periods like this. On this the residents have a point.

And how did that work out for them?

I'm somewhat surprised DCC refused two of the concerts, but it shows that they are willing to make the difficult decisions for the greater good.

It's funny that their decision is being blamed on the residents who raised an objection. Not on Croke park, the promoters, brooks himself, DCC, the event licensing process...no body else got it wrong...it's all down to the pesky residents...how dare they speak up for themselves.
    it was only a few residents

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,467 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

With opinions that were given plenty of weight, given that their objections led to the non-granting of licences for two concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

That quote is usually the greater good of the greater number. How is the decision in favour of the greater good of the greater number? Imo a couple of whack jobs with a serious superiority complex are and have been acting the maggot about this and every other high profile event staged in Croke park.

Croke park in its current manifestation is 30 years in the making. Anyone who moved into the area in the intervening period knew full well what sort of facility was in the area and that disruption was part of living there.

I don't know the details but access for residents seems to be a bugbear constantly. Surely at this stage the gaa, the promoters, dcc and the gardai should have a coherent and workable access plan for the area for periods like this. On this the residents have a point.

You've kinda answered your own question. Until such time as the process is fixed, then this sort of ****e will happen again. If the DCC were to allow all five go ahead, it would a precedent, so IMO this decision is more about the bigger picture...that's what I meant.

Don't agree that it was a couple of whack jobs etc

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    That's what you thought with the Lisbon referendum.
    Oh look they're giving us free Garth Brooks umbrellas. That changes everything.
    Don't you know how this country works?
    And if you wonder why Sin Fein suddenly comes out in favour of a once off 5 night concert check where some of their funds comes from

Sinn Fein has always equalled me fein, no surprise they are backing a millionaire against the common people.
    As for the rest , well if you think the courts will side with Aiken then I suspect you are sadly mistaken.
    If Aiken thought he had even a 1% chance he would have been in the High Court this morning.

Four words:
    once again, Me Hole!

Happyman42 wrote: »

its only 8 nights, doesn't matter whether the residents give in or not now croke park can apply for as many events licences as they want