Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Sorry but why would we be embarrassed???

Apart from trailer trash in the USA and Irish residing in Australia NOBODY else worldwide gives a sh#t

To most civilized countries this cou try music is confederate racist yokel type nonsense .

The only ones that care are the customers of shaws lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

Couldn't be arsed reading 100's of pages of ****e.

Have Ticketmaster said anything about refunds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

Really?
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0704/628423-garth-brooks/
    A solicitor for one of the Croke Park residents' groups has threatened to take High Court action against holding any Garth Brooks concerts at the venue.
    Anthony Fay has said a High Court injunction will be taken on behalf of a local resident against the Croke Park authorities and Aiken Promotions unless they call off the concerts by next Monday

I'd say they aren't all of the same mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

italodisco wrote: »
    ...To most civilized countries this cou try music is confederate racist yokel type nonsense...

I take offence to that. I am a confederate yokel type, and I am not racist. While I'm here, I think the locals up there have a point. Croke Park is in the middle of the city, close enough, and is an unsuitable location for big gigs like this. There was enough hassle over in Blighty with the new owner of Mallory Park racetrack trying to reopen it while getting consensus with the residents of Kirkby Mallory on crowd management, noise levels, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭recyclops

A solicitor for one of the Croke Park residents' groups has threatened to take High Court action against holding any Garth Brooks concerts at the venue.

why is there more than one group? this is a serious question surely have one group with similar interests would make more sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Couldn't be arsed reading 100's of pages of ****e.

Have Ticketmaster said anything about refunds?

Yes you can get a full refund or a bag of turnips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

What's embarrassing is he sold out five nights in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

recyclops wrote: »
    why is there more than one group? this is a serious question surely have one group with similar interests would make more sense

Different neighbourhoods maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭The Ayatolla

I touted mine on eBay. Took advantage of the sheep.

Turnips are all well-and-good if you happen to have the Family Tooth this week, but a lot of folk will want cash. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Yawn yawn yawn , hate us jaks all you want but don't forget, apart from Australia and Canada, DUBLIN is the hand that feeds all ye yokes lol puts up with all yer badly house trained students coming up to train as teachers in pats college etc.....

Gives all of ye yokels the jobs ye don't have in yer small towns ..

Hate us , Gwan ya Madsers , hate Dublin lol

Done forget though, you never were and never will be nothing without us as your masters xxxxx
    well, were entitled to it, so you have to give it to us

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Ah hayor god love dem parsnips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭realweirdo

Yawn yawn yawn , hate us jaks all you want but don't forget, apart from Australia and Canada, DUBLIN is the hand that feeds all ye yokes lol puts up with all yer badly house trained students coming up to train as teachers in pats college etc.....

Gives all of ye yokels the jobs ye don't have in yer small towns ..

Hate us , Gwan ya Madsers , hate Dublin lol

Done forget though, you never were and never will be nothing without us as your masters xxxxx

Ya'sir... *tips cap*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

eviltwin wrote: »
    What's embarrassing is he sold out five nights in the first place

We like to laugh at Germans for making David Hasselhoff a rockstar back in the eighties but isn't Garth our nation's Hasselhoff?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Sorry but why would we be embarrassed???

Apart from trailer trash in the USA and Irish residing in Australia NOBODY else worldwide gives a sh#t

To most civilized countries this cou try music is confederate racist yokel type nonsense .

The only ones that care are the customers of shaws lol

^^^
    A bigot (and actual racist)
    labelling others as racist

Oh Boards.ie, you never fail to deliver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

If you want to associate havoc with wrecking then that's your decision.

As I said in a post above it was making a nuisance with noise, disruptions etc that I had in mind.

But carry on claiming I said things I didn't if you wish like other posters are doing.

I think you need to learn what havoc, dictionary defines it as widespread destruction
    Block up the streets, have a big singsong until late at night, maybe have a sound system and blare out some Garth, some chants running down the residents and maybe a couple of cans for good measure.

Its not like it would ever happen but in an ideal world who knows.

Classy. Break the law because you don't agree with a lawful decision. This is throwing the toys out the pram stuff.
    I never made a violent threat so I don't need to back track.

!

Lol, you're all about creating destruction in the Croke Park area. You are exactly the type of anti social character that the Croke Park residents don't want in their area. And if you're bashing your keyboard here about how you want to create havoc then I wonder what you might be getting up to after a feed of beer from 2pm til 11pm.
    Why would I carry out any of your suggestions? I certainly never mentioned any property damage or violence or condoned anyone else doing it. The imagination of some people on this thread is getting out of hand.

Fantasy is all yours, we know what you wrote and it reveals a lot about how you think. You got caught with your pants down denying you ever said you wanted harm in the Croke Park community yet were called out on it.
    You know a jackeen is getting annoyed when the culchie statements start to be thrown around :D

Wow, now you're descending to reinforcing stereotypes, way to go.

Was I mistaken or were you not the one shouting up telling us all you have a Phd, tryiing to show that you're smarter than the rest of us or something. I find that really difficult to believe that the taxpayer likely subsidised your PhD education to the tune of a good €50k and at the end of it all your previous statements above are the best standard of debate that you can manage and when planning law makes a find you don't agree with going then you only want to throw your toys out of the pram and wreck the Croke Park area.

Having heard your opinions on the matter it's pretty clear what your fantasy for the Croke Park area is. You want thee people to suffer, you've said as much online here. I find it amazing that you probably go around telling people you have a PhD and put Dr. in front of your name and then you spend your spare time posting what you did online here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

recyclops wrote: »
    i'm afraid with people not even living in the area being on or leading a residents association, and a residents association that doesn't even represent any but a few vocal objectors, your never going to get a single group together.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

well, were entitled to it, so you have to give it to us

Us jackeens have no grip with Cultchies.

Our gripe is with croker and our council .

Sure the slaggin and wind ups between both sides is all part of the all Ireland games, I'd hate Garth Brooks to make us bitter enemies ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭realweirdo

The culchies deserve some release in between sheep shearing and cotton picking. I hope they have their crops saved before the concerts though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

I touted mine on eBay. Took advantage of the sheep.
    Whatever about Garth brooks or the concerts. I absolutely despise ticket touts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

ardle1 wrote: »
    Eh I don't have to follow a Thread on boards to know what's going on...... The whole fcukin World is watching this embarrassing monumental fcuk-up unfold on Media outlets EVERYWHERE...... Those two licences should not have been denied 'PERIOD'

Outside of Ireland and rural USA very few would know who this guy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

realweirdo wrote: »
    The culchies deserve some release in between sheep shearing and cotton picking. I hope they have their crops saved before the concerts though.

Cotton picking?????????????????? Bwaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahahaha

Folks the residents were right to fight back.

It's nothing bloody personal .

I can't believe none of ye never thought well it might be a risk buying a ticket for something with no planning permission lol

Sure ye may aswell throw up a few extensions onto your homes and take the risk lol

They should have put this gig on for 3 nights to begin, or even over two weekends .....

Folk down the country moan about priso ns getting built near them , about council work keeping them awake early morn etc.

Don't expect Folk in Dublin to do everything to suit yis .

Cop on , Brooks is a selfish greedy pig and just proved that . Greed .

realweirdo wrote: »

Many of us while away the long Summer "At De Silage, Biy!" fourteen hours a day, with only a scant few hours free for Wife-Carrying, Wellington-Firing, Mugging Pints a' Stout and doing the Culchie Dance, which is much like the Biker's Dance popularised by Status Quo back in the day only instead of a leather waistcoat one wears a GAA jersey. People in Dublin mightn't necessarily appreciate the magnitude of this, the Holy Grail of Line-Dancing Himself, being made flesh and walking among us! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Flem31

Be thankful for one small mercy.......this cancellation happened re GB and not for the 1D concerts. If even one 1D concert had even been threatened the moral outrage would be too much......would have to move planet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Trust me, despite what "da dubs" think the vast majority of people from the country (and other cities around the country) hate Dublin and are damn glad not to be living there.

What a load of crap. And I say this as someone who grew up in the west of Ireland. What is it with you speaking for everyone? Have you got no self-awareness? You've totally embarrassed yourself in this thread.

Next you'll be cooking up some Creole for them lol