Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I hope he stands by his little threat and satys 5 gigs or none at all and he subsequently cancels. for him to say that wrapped in the poor attempt at standing by the irish saying "...the irish will always have a special place in his heart" smacks of a supercilious attitude on his behalf.

I dunno whether his promoters told him to use scare tactics by threatening to cancel his gigs or its his attitude but I think its a ploy to get the DCC to allow the other two nights to go ahead. Either way I hope all 5 gigs get cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

gandalf wrote: »
    Complete and utter bollix, I reckon that the five were planned all along. Fecking chancers along with the GAA.
    correct, now theyre saying: "The nature and scale of the shows planned was such that it would take five shows to “get it right” "
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/no-reversal-by-council-despite-garth-brooks-ultimatum-1.1855401

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I think everyone agrees that the GAA and Aiken should be shot with a ball of their own ****e for letting it get to this stage. The agreement with the residents was always for 3 per year (they've had this with 1d).
    There is a lot of going back and forwards in the thread from all sides. Would boardsies consider the following 'fair' or is everyone on the Yes all 5 or None at all.
    * Let the 5 go ahead on this 1 occasion if the 3 will be cancelled if they can't do 5
    * No concerts in 2015 or 2016
    * 2 million goes into the local economy by way of fine/donation from GAA but to be managed properly for local improvements/projects etc.
    * Extra security/guards or whatever to be employed to ensure the least disruption possible to the local community
    * Start and finish the concerts an hour earlier than planned again to minimise disruption
    * Put strict setting up/dismantling timings on the stage etc to again minimise disruption
    * Forever going forward 3 is the absolute maximum allowed EVER
    * In future no tickets for events should be sold subject to license

Would that be fair? I think that's a win/win for all.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Backtracking from violent threats to this?

I never made a violent threat so I don't need to back track.

Regardless of what happens with the concerts I'll be enjoying a great week at the Galway races where the entire city centre is shut down for a week every year so the streets can be taken over and thousands and thousands line the streets until The early hours every night, traffic is chronic all week also. Yet people get on with it and don't go crying to the council looking for it to be stopped it's a great event, and bring millions imo the city.

The Croke park residents could learn a think or two from the west!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Is this Ireland's 9/11?

I was just thinking, definitely on par with the 9/11 thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

knird evol wrote: »
    That's nice. You'd be safe in a big crowd nox.

Why don't you go down to Clonliffe Road now. By yourself. Find some bloke that lives there and push him around. Break his car mirrors. You can film your little revenge mission and post a link up.

Because he'd get his bollocks knocked in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

stinkle wrote: »
    correct, now theyre saying: "The nature and scale of the shows planned was such that it would take five shows to “get it right” "
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/no-reversal-by-council-despite-garth-brooks-ultimatum-1.1855401
    Bit of a kick in the nuts to anyone who had tickets to the first four practice gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Regardless of what happens with the concerts I'll be enjoying a great week at the Galway races where the entire city centre is shut down for a week every year so the streets can be taken over and thousands and thousands line the streets until The early hours every night, traffic is chronic all week also. Yet people get on with it and don't go crying to the council looking for it to be stopped it's a great event, and bring millions imo the city.

Extend the races by another week without consulting anyone and there'd be uproar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

Let Galway have a second 7 day festival a few weeks later and see what they think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

gandalf wrote: »
    Complete and utter bollix, I reckon that the five were planned all along. Fecking chancers along with the GAA.

Oh I know they are a bunch of chancers . They only cared about milking this for all it was worth and sod anyone who it effected or any agreement that was in place .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

pc7 wrote: »
    I think everyone agrees that the GAA and Aiken should be shot with a ball of their own ****e for letting it get to this stage. The agreement with the residents was always for 3 per year (they've had this with 1d).
    There is a lot of going back and forwards in the thread from all sides. Would boardsies consider the following 'fair' or is everyone on the Yes all 5 or None at all.
    * Let the 5 go ahead on this 1 occasion if the 3 will be cancelled if they can't do 5
    * No concerts in 2015 or 2016
    * 2 million goes into the local economy by way of fine/donation from GAA but to be managed properly for local improvements/projects etc.
    * Extra security/guards or whatever to be employed to ensure the least disruption possible to the local community
    * Start and finish the concerts an hour earlier than planned again to minimise disruption
    * Put strict setting up/dismantling timings on the stage etc to again minimise disruption
    * Forever going forward 3 is the absolute maximum allowed EVER
    * In future no tickets for events should be sold subject to license

Would that be fair? I think that's a win/win for all.

That's the rule at the moment.

knird evol wrote: »
    That's nice. You'd be safe in a big crowd nox.

Why don't you go down to Clonliffe Road now. By yourself. Find some bloke that lives there and push him around. Break his car mirrors. You can film your little revenge mission and post a link up.

Why would I carry out any of your suggestions? I certainly never mentioned any property damage or violence or condoned anyone else doing it. The imagination of some people on this thread is getting out of hand.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Grayson wrote: »
    That's the rule at the moment.

I know but by allowing the 3 they are already making an exception, so just to note it should never ever have an exception made again.

lambayire wrote: »
    Let Galway have a second 7 day festival a few weeks later and see what they think.

They did it and did it twice actually with the Volvo Ocean race visiting twice in three years and it was a two week festival not another 7 day one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How about we don't be dictated to by an entertainer that at the end of the day is being paid to come and perform.

If he doesn't want our money for three nights then let him go jump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

nm wrote: »
    No hatred of the right wing media, nor the figure at the amount of total national debt is going to take away from the fact that losing these gigs will mean losing 50mil to the economy.

If we get 50mil in from toothpicks then we shouldn't be turning those away to appease 350 people either.

You know what I do with €50 million? I wipe my ass with €50 million. /Fr Buzz Cagney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

nm wrote: »
    Absolutely ridiculous standpoint, several millions cannot be disregarded because it doesn't clear the national debt. It's still millions of euros that the country needs and could use.

Where are you getting several million from?

There is a rather simple term in economics called opportunity cost which you should acquaint yourself with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I know but by allowing the 3 they are already making an exception, so just to note it should never ever have an exception made again.

"Well we will let you away with it this time, but you must swear not to do it again, pinky swear like".

The most effective way to ensure they don't pull this shite again is to stop them doing it right now.

How about we don't be dictated to by an entertainer that at the end of the day is being paid to come and perform.

If he doesn't want our money for three nights then let him go jump.

I've already mentioned it but I can understand why they want to keep going with the 5 due to logistics etc. and he doesn't need the money.
    Someone will now reply to you saying 'How about we don't be dictated to by residents'
    But anyhow I think I'll step out of the thread my head is spinning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Oh I know they are a bunch of chancers . They only cared about milking this for all it was worth and sod anyone who it effected or any agreement that was in place .

Well they are hardly putting on the gigs for the good of the people...It's Show Business Baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Does anyone out there who works in event management actually believe the "we scaled this for five nights" bollocks?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

Apparently its now an "All or Nothing" thing. If Brooks can't do 5, He won't do any.
    His way of putting pressure on Dublin I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

It's a bluff.

He'd be stupid not to do anyway and could be held accountable by the promoter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭uch

Apparently its now an "All or Nothing" thing. If Brooks can't do 5, He won't do any.

Fuk him so, let him Rot

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Well then he can find somewhere else to have his 5 gigs . A decision was made and I would imagine it's fairly hard to break the decision .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

The country singer said: “I have faith that Dublin City Council will make the best decision for the people of Ireland."

Please let the Messiah come......... :rolleyes: - The people of Ireland? Best decision? - Ego or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The country singer said: “I have faith that Dublin City Council will make the best decision for the people of Ireland."

Please let the Messiah come......... :rolleyes: - The people of Ireland? Best decision? - Ego or what?

He sounds like he's the bloody pope or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

uch wrote: »
    Fuk him so, let him Rot

Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out Garth, you greedy little bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Could someone please consider the kids?
    Especially young Cameron in this video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

So cancel all 5 so?