Diamonds are ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Aren't diamonds the hardest thing around? Like, even totally harder than Mike Tyson was at 19 years old? That's pretty hard.. Also they can cut glass I'm reliably informed, really sharp apparently, presumably something to do with the hardness probably... I dunno. Also, look how pretty. Look will ye! All rainbow colours and stuff and catching the light and things. They also gave my granny back her purse even though there was about 700 euro in there, didn't take a thing.

Diamonds are awesome. Jealous 'cause you're not as hard and pretty? What's your problem asshole? Stop ragging on diamonds, never hurt nobody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

strobe wrote: »
    Aren't diamonds the hardest thing around? Like, even totally harder than Mike Tyson was at 19 years old? That's pretty hard.. Also they can cut glass I'm reliably informed, really sharp apparently, presumably something to do with the hardness probably... I dunno. Also, look how pretty. Look will ye! All rainbow colours and stuff and catching the light and things. They also gave my granny back her purse even though there was about 700 euro in there, didn't take a thing.

Diamonds are awesome. Jealous 'cause you're not as hard and pretty? What's your problem asshole?

Clear, pink or yellow are where it's at, at the moment. A D flawless is the bouws, apparently. Round is the best cut and pink are the rarest...I asked herself..or a Tiffany yellow -also verr good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

CollegeHumour did a great video on it a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Clear, pink or yellow are where it's at, at the moment. A D flawless is the bouws, apparently. Round is the best cut and pink are the rarest...I asked herself..or a Tiffany yellow -also verr good.

I wouldn't know. They are all beautiful in their own way to me. Don't discriminate man. That's not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

suppliers to the jewelry trade sell 'diamonds' to jewelers across the country for these prices. This is a screen shot of their website (not going to mention the company name)... I would have thought that real diamonds would be worth more than this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Diamonds are awesome. Jealous 'cause you're not as hard and pretty? What's your problem asshole? Stop ragging on diamonds, never hurt nobody.

I don't like diamonds, but this is a sparkly, cut-glass, marry-me post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GY A1

are feckin dear

GY A1 wrote: »
    are feckin dear

So buy one for your dearest..try being me - jewelry is utterly out as a gift as I can't even compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Some Kind of Wizard

thelad95 wrote: »
    The contradictory nature of diamonds value was recognised by Adam Smith in his Paradox of Value:

Who plagiarised John Law in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Who plagiarised John Law in the process.

Hello, John Law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Lot of pricking about went on with gold as well down through history. Oddly it was never much actual use outside of modern-era electronics.

So buy one for your dearest..try being me - jewelry is utterly out as a gift as I can't even compete.

wha

suppliers to the jewelry trade sell 'diamonds' to jewelers across the country for these prices. This is a screen shot of their website (not going to mention the company name)... I would have thought that real diamonds would be worth more than this?

They're shyte, and tiny. It only starts to get interesting at 1.0 ct and D flawless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

jimgoose wrote: »
    Lot of pricking about went on with gold as well down through history. Oddly it was never much actual use outside of modern-era electronics.

Yep. Now man made gold with the same electronic properties as the real stuff would be good.

"Honey, I bought you a lovely ring!.....Oh, you already have lots....ok.." compete with that - I have to..

english pleaso :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Aren't diamonds the hardest thing around?
    there's materials like Boron Nitride that are even harder

In theory a rear form of hexagonal diamond may be harder again , but it's microscopic dust and not of gem quality and weren't as hard because of too many defect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

GY A1 wrote: »
    english pleaso :p

His wife is packing more bling than all of MTV. Apparently.

yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Why do hard rocks and poltergeists get on so well?

Because DEMONS are a GHOULS best friend
    :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Why do hard rocks and poltergeists get on so well?

Because DEMONS are a GHOULS best friend
    :o

Leave now and never darken this site's url again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Yeah we'r a gullible lot, ha if they had their way we'd probably end up paying for water ha ha can you imagine paying for water.... Eh oh wait:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

I still love diamonds and I feel guilty about it. I think fine jewelry are some of the most beautiful things in the world. I'm talking about the stuff by van cleef and arpels, Cartier + tiffany. *sigh* I feel more comfortable buying estate pieces because it's better for the environment and you're not contributing to the blood diamond trade
    If I'm lucky my future fiancé will present me with a nice diamond ring

ardle1 wrote: »
    Yeah we'r a gullible lot, ha if they had their way we'd probably end up paying for water ha ha can you imagine paying for water.... Eh oh wait:confused:

Spring water tastes better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I still love diamonds and I feel guilty about it. I think fine jewelry are some of the most beautiful things in the world. I'm talking about the stuff by van cleef and arpels, Cartier + tiffany. *sigh* I feel more comfortable buying estate pieces because it's better for the environment and you're not contributing to the blood diamond trade
    If I'm lucky my future fiancé will present me with a nice diamond ring

Of course none of the companies you have mentioned have ever handled blood diamonds.

Sarcasm? From what I understand these companies say that they don't buy blood diamonds but it's impossible to really tell a fairly sourced diamond from a blood diamond. That was from a documentary i watched. I don't know that much about the diamond business but it doesn't stop me from drooling

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Pre-90's (as far as I can recall or upto arounf then) the russians had to dye their manufactured diamonds pink, to visibly distinguish been mass produced or slave trade. They didnt give a damn really though and only dyed enough for pretence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

isn't everything worthless at the end of the day? its on us as human who put a price on things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

miece16 wrote: »
    isn't everything worthless at the end of the day? its on us as human who put a price on things

Food, water, light, warmth, shelter - useless hyped-up rubbish. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd rather give my wife a pearl necklace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Just wikied De Beers there.
    Pretty eye-opening stuff.
    I suppose the dopes that pay for it are worse.