Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diamonds are ...

• 03-07-2014 6:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

intrinsically worth pretty much nothing.

yes a girls best friend too ... but seriously, you've probably got old scratched records that are worth more than the 10 carat rock worn by the local talent-less celebrity.

How mad is that ted ?

Theres enough of them out there for everyone to have a cup full of them.

DeBeers however, in a move of epic crafty bastardry and Mr Burns-iness own and/or simply buy up the supply. So turning something with the actual value of a potato into something that some people will spend a months wages on.

I only found out about this the other day, did any of yis previously know about this folly. And can we do the same with turf. Are there any other similar shenanigans like this going on that the world should really know about.

Or while we're at it, what other large scale, entire-world screwing scams do you know of.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rohin-dhar/diamonds-are-bull****_b_3708562.html

(use arrows to scan down page - page dodgey)

Americans exchange diamond rings as part of the engagement process, because in 1938 De Beers decided that they would like us to. Prior to a stunningly successful marketing campaign 1938, Americans occasionally exchanged engagement rings, but wasn't a pervasive occurrence. Not only is the demand for diamonds a marketing invention, but diamonds aren't actually that rare. Only by carefully restricting the supply has De Beers kept the price of a diamond high.

You see, diamonds aren't really even that rare.

Before 1870, diamonds were very rare. They typically ended up in a Maharaja's crown or a royal necklace. In 1870, enormous deposits of diamonds were discovered in Kimberley, South Africa. As diamonds flooded the market, the financiers of the mines realized they were making their own investments worthless. As they mined more and more diamonds, they became less scarce and their price dropped.

The diamond market may have bottomed out were it not for an enterprising individual by the name of Cecil Rhodes. He began buying up mines in order to control the output and keep the price of diamonds high. By 1888, Rhodes controlled the entire South African diamond supply, and in turn, essentially the entire world supply. One of the companies he acquired was eponymously named after its founders, the De Beers brothers.

Only found out about de beers eh?
    It's mindblowing when you do all right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Ah stop it, they're not worthless no matter how you look at it. They're one of the toughest substances known to man so they'll always have that value even if the market was flooded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Well they might be a girl's best friend, but they are way down the list of things I might wish to own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

bluewolf wrote: »
    Only found out about de beers eh?
    It's mindblowing when you do all right

Speaking of de beers, it's about time we had another one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Neil De Grasse Tyson was on the the Joe Rogan show last year and he said he was at some manufacturing facility in Russia that had learned how to make artificial diamonds purer than the purest natural ones in earth. He was blindfolded before heading there and his phone taken off him to keep it secret, they don't want the world at large know with the existence of these if they decide to flood the market with them before they patent the machines for them.

He said women probably wouldn't buy them anyway if you told them it was artificial, because society has been sold "this romantic notion of a diamond forged in the deep firey bowels of the earth for billions of years, like a romance that could last forever, that's a real diamond"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Ah stop it, they're not worthless no matter how you look at it. They're one of the toughest substances known to man so they'll always have that value even if the market was flooded.

Yup, lots of technologies need them.

As for jewellery and magpie things - I prefer less sparkly stones and pearls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

People did not know about a mining company making Diamonds a valued item for weddings rings and such. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Adamantium wrote: »
    Neil De Grasse Tyson was on the the Joe Rogan show last year and he said he was at some manufacturing facility in Russia that had learned how to make artificial diamonds purer than the purest natural ones in earth. He was blindfolded before heading there and his phone taken off him to keep it secret, they don't want the world at large know with the existence of these if they decide to flood the market with them before they patent the machines for them.

He said women probably wouldn't buy them anyway if you told them it was artificial, because society has been sold "this romantic notion of a diamond forged in the deep firey bowels of the earth for billions of years, like a romance that could last forever, that's a real diamond"

Then let women have the comparatively less useful rocks. Save more of the better ones for good uses. Like consaw blades!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Jeefff

Everything bar oxygen, water and food is worthless until you want it.. Or are told you need it (marketing)
    If I were given a huge diamond I wouldn't thank you for it, were you to give me four new tyres for my van though, I'd hug you..
    Value is a personal opinion, in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Bloody expensive

Jeefff wrote: »
    Everything bar oxygen, water and food is worthless until you want it.. Or are told you need it (marketing)
    If I were given a huge diamond I wouldn't thank you for it, were you to give me four new tyres for my van though, I'd hug you..

How about 4 new Wanlis?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Lots of communists in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Jeefff wrote: »

Diamond encrusted tires you say?

The council will never be done with the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

They are extremely valuable with all their uses, but they really are worthless in monetary terms.

You can grow perfect diamonds artificially in labs. It's the jewellery industry that's trying to block commercialisation of "synthetic" diamonds and to watermark them in order to make lab diamonds worthless compared to "natural" diamonds, even though they're the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I don't understand how people find this and the creation of money thing mind-blowing. Both are covered in the admittedly archaic Leaving Cert Economics syllabus.

The price of diamonds has little to do with either the supply or the demand for them. They are a giffen good which means as the price rises, people demand more but as the price falls, their perceived value falls meaning people will buy less as they are seen as less of a status symbol.

The contradictory nature of diamonds value was recognised by Adam Smith in his Paradox of Value: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paradox_of_value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I thought Diamonds are forever?

Nemeses wrote: »

For ever ever?

Til the end of time forever.

Deep right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

No no no ... thats castration, or our national debt.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

They are just inanimate carbon rods and like other forms of carbon can burn.

They aren't that rare, massive price support mechanisms like De Beers buying the entire Russian output for years.

They can be made easily enough too.

Also
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/3492919.stm
    The cosmic diamond is a chunk of crystallised carbon, 4,000 km across, some 50 light-years from the Earth in the constellation Centaurus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

I don't buy diamonds or gold. I like silver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Feck off with ye OP, I likes my blingy, flashy, sparkly diamonds:D

Diamonds are surrounded by exploitation and corruption - even the so-called conflict-free ones. Don't really want that on my finger, I'll settle for a man made diamond. Cheaper, just as sparkly and a lot more likely to be ethical.

If diamonds are a girls best friend then a man-made one is at the very least damn good company.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

They are just inanimate carbon rods

You're an inanimate fvcking carbon rod

No YOURE an inanimate carbon rod.

Are we not carbon based anyway?

Therefore EVERYONE is an inanimate carbon rod...

We are stardust. We're all diamonds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Shine bright like a diamond...except diamonds don't shine - try turning off the lights..

Candie wrote: »
    We are stardust. We're all diamonds.

My God! We're full of stars!

And we're golden. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Aren't diamonds the hardest thing around? Like, even totally harder than Mike Tyson was at 19 years old? That's pretty hard.. Also they can cut glass I'm reliably informed, really sharp apparently, presumably something to do with the hardness probably... I dunno. Also, look how pretty. Look will ye! All rainbow colours and stuff and catching the light and things. They also gave my granny back her purse even though there was about 700 euro in there, didn't take a thing.

Diamonds are awesome. Jealous 'cause you're not as hard and pretty? What's your problem asshole? Stop ragging on diamonds, never hurt nobody.

strobe wrote: »
    Aren't diamonds the hardest thing around? Like, even totally harder than Mike Tyson was at 19 years old? That's pretty hard.. Also they can cut glass I'm reliably informed, really sharp apparently, presumably something to do with the hardness probably... I dunno. Also, look how pretty. Look will ye! All rainbow colours and stuff and catching the light and things. They also gave my granny back her purse even though there was about 700 euro in there, didn't take a thing.

Diamonds are awesome. Jealous 'cause you're not as hard and pretty? What's your problem asshole?

Clear, pink or yellow are where it's at, at the moment. A D flawless is the bouws, apparently. Round is the best cut and pink are the rarest...I asked herself..or a Tiffany yellow -also verr good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

CollegeHumour did a great video on it a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Clear, pink or yellow are where it's at, at the moment. A D flawless is the bouws, apparently. Round is the best cut and pink are the rarest...I asked herself..or a Tiffany yellow -also verr good.

I wouldn't know. They are all beautiful in their own way to me. Don't discriminate man. That's not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

suppliers to the jewelry trade sell 'diamonds' to jewelers across the country for these prices. This is a screen shot of their website (not going to mention the company name)... I would have thought that real diamonds would be worth more than this?

Diamonds are awesome. Jealous 'cause you're not as hard and pretty? What's your problem asshole? Stop ragging on diamonds, never hurt nobody.

I don't like diamonds, but this is a sparkly, cut-glass, marry-me post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

are feckin dear

GY A1 wrote: »
    are feckin dear

So buy one for your dearest..try being me - jewelry is utterly out as a gift as I can't even compete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Some Kind of Wizard

thelad95 wrote: »
    The contradictory nature of diamonds value was recognised by Adam Smith in his Paradox of Value:

Who plagiarised John Law in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Who plagiarised John Law in the process.

Hello, John Law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Lot of pricking about went on with gold as well down through history. Oddly it was never much actual use outside of modern-era electronics.

So buy one for your dearest..try being me - jewelry is utterly out as a gift as I can't even compete.

wha

suppliers to the jewelry trade sell 'diamonds' to jewelers across the country for these prices. This is a screen shot of their website (not going to mention the company name)... I would have thought that real diamonds would be worth more than this?

They're shyte, and tiny. It only starts to get interesting at 1.0 ct and D flawless.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Lot of pricking about went on with gold as well down through history. Oddly it was never much actual use outside of modern-era electronics.

Yep. Now man made gold with the same electronic properties as the real stuff would be good.

"Honey, I bought you a lovely ring!.....Oh, you already have lots....ok.." compete with that - I have to..

english pleaso :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Aren't diamonds the hardest thing around?
    there's materials like Boron Nitride that are even harder

In theory a rear form of hexagonal diamond may be harder again , but it's microscopic dust and not of gem quality and weren't as hard because of too many defect.

GY A1 wrote: »
    english pleaso :p

His wife is packing more bling than all of MTV. Apparently.

yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Why do hard rocks and poltergeists get on so well?

Because DEMONS are a GHOULS best friend
    :o

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Why do hard rocks and poltergeists get on so well?

Because DEMONS are a GHOULS best friend
    :o

Leave now and never darken this site's url again.