Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Steam Roller

Ranchu wrote: »
    The residents have an entitlement. They live there.
    Live in croke park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

As the residents/DCC are getting heaps of abuse for cancelling two shows, will GB get the same for cancelling the other 3?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Live in croke park?

That's obviously what I meant because I am mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

None of that dates had a licence at the time they were put on sale.

Is it possible to get a licence before selling tickets or is it something that has to be done within a period or weeks or months of the event? I have been looking up news articles but can't see this, I'm curious because organising any massive event when you don't know if you could get a licence must be a massive risk, I would have thought the first thing they would want to know is are they allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

enricoh wrote: »
    what time do the concerts finish - 10.30? big deal.
    every hotel booked out, hape of tourists in ,every taxi n pub hopping and a fortune spent in town.
    pull the plug garth n stick them on in the uk. less begrudgers n nimbys n their economy needs it more!
    a few of irelands 400k on the scratcher could even get a weeks work over there out of it!

He wouldn't sell anywhere near the same amount of tickets in the UK
    Just Ireland and the hillbilly states in the US

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Live in croke park?
    Yes, yes they live in Croke Park. Did you not know this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Don't be daft. It's a private facility.
    redeveloped using public money

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

Don't be daft. It's a private facility.

Did €91 million towards its redevelopment come from public funds or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

People seem to be forgetting the biggest victims here. What are Shane Filan and Nathan Carter going to do with themselves on those nights now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

As the residents/DCC are getting heaps of abuse for cancelling two shows, will GB get the same for cancelling the other 3?

Of course not,its those lousy Dubs ruining the good country folks fun by having the temerity to stand up for their homes and communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Heads should roll over this.
    Both in DCC and Aiken Promotions

no they didn't, the promotors got away with it, they have a precedent of 7 concerts in one year now

They will still have to pay Garth Brooks for 2 non-existent gigs.

Why would he , sure the event was replanned and recosted based on 5 shows. Besides which its a situation of the residents doing not GB

Also, it's notable that a certain Minister for Tourism has not interjected here at some level given the further damage the cancellation of all 5 gigs will do to Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Why should DCC be blamed for Aiken's **** up?

miju wrote: »
    Did €91 million towards its redevelopment come from public funds or not?

It's neither here nor there where the money came from. It has absolutely nothing to do with this.

WellThen? wrote: »
    There are no "brain surgeons" living or complaining there I assure you. Just a load of twats doing it for a payout.

They're not looking for a payout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Of course not,its those lousy Dubs ruining the good country folks fun by having the temerity to stand up for their homes and communities.

I can only imagine in the centre of a capital city Most people accept the fact that in a capital city there is noise concerts trains cars and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

People seem to be forgetting the biggest victims here. What are Shane Filan and Nathan Carter going to do with themselves on those nights now?
    get a few extra hours from supermacs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

ryanf1 wrote: »
    Heads should roll over this.
    Both in DCC and Aiken Promotions

why DCC?

Aiken were the ones who left it to the last minute to apply for the licence.

Why didn't they apply for it the day after the 5th gig selling out, allowing the DCC to make a decision, and then for fans to make alternative arrangements, or for Residents to take legal action as they said they would.

Answer - they assumed leaving it to the last minute that the DCC could not possible decline the licence and that Judge would not stop it due to the timing of it.

Aiken are totally at fault here imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Alkien and GAA going ahead and selling tickets to a concert they hadn't a licence for...

..and people are blaming the residents..?

Also the latest stunt of "Poor Gareth can't decide which concert to play so be all or none" - again, blame Alkien and GAA for this scenario..

Have to say I'm bemused by the whole the thing, but I do have sympathy for people who queued for tickets. They would have assumed that the tickets they were buying were for a licenced event

It's neither here nor there where the money came from. It has absolutely nothing to do with this.

You said residents have a right. I said 400,000 people have a bigger right to use a building that cost the taxpayer €91 million.

Point stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,983 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Statement in from Brooks

For us, it is five shows or none at all. To choose which shows to do and which shows not to do, would be like asking to choose one child over another".

Is this practice not done the world over. Subject to licence and all that.

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

scudzilla wrote: »
    Statement in from Brooks

For us, it is five shows or none at all. To choose which shows to do and which shows not to do, would be like asking to choose one child over another".

Except he doesn't have to choose :) chancer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭fta93

Seaneh wrote: »
    Why should DCC be blamed for Aiken's **** up?

I think some are blaming it for making the decision so late.. BUT they only had to make it so late because Aiken submitted so late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Statement in from Brooks

So it's a big No then..LegoLand would do a better job at organizing stuff than this kip :mad:

miju wrote: »
    You said residents have a right. I said 400,000 people have a bigger right to use a building that cost the taxpayer €91 million.

Point stands

People have the right to enjoy the stadium any time there is a licenced event taking place. I'm not allowed walk my dog there or have a picnic because it is private property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Statement in from Brooks

This smacks of trying to add pressure, and nothing else.
    It's like Aiken waiting until the last minute to apply for the licence, when they knew that they would be objections to the 5 nights.
    Just hoping that the sellouts would pressure the DCC into siding with them.

If GB doesn't play the three nights, he is the one who anger should be directed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,538 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I have sat opposite Owen Keegan in a business meeting, I can tell you that putting a gun to his head is the utterly wrong approach as he would off his mother to spite his granny.

Thats all 5 shows goosed folks, dust off those CDs and wear 'em out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

jesus, the culchie fury is something else. This must be like their woodstock or something

dont worry lads, the fat man in the cowboy hat now knows that there is a cash cow waiting on this island, he'll find another opportunity to milk it for five consecutive nights