Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

Oh and if I was one of the residents that owned a car, I would be parking else where when the few concerts that got the go ahead are taking place, as wing mirrors are fecking expensive these days.

Posted something similiar in another thread, I can well see it happening :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

nm wrote: »
    Residents must be awful saps, seriously.

Don't like Garth Brooks at all but that's ridiculous, you live beside a stadium.

Hope someone takes a ****e on every driveway in the area now.

Your comment is the reason why I'm delighted that gigs were cancelled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Oh and if I was one of the residents that owned a car, I would be parking else where when the few concerts that got the go ahead are taking place, as wing mirrors are fecking expensive these days.

What a nice person you seem to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

There are plenty of cities and counties around the country who would fancy hosting some of these gigs. It's short notice, but expect some last minute offers....however unrealistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

The only good thing Dublin has is the airport.
    Jaysus ye're forgettin' about Coppers and Quinns there Steamie Óg. Mighty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Actually you will find that around the world agreements are in place with any residential areas and more to the point, most big stadium are on the outskirts of the cities with decent/top transport!! Hence they could hold many concerts per year but you will notice any old school stadiums in residential areas hold very few concerts!

And sure nobody wanted the Bertie Bowl :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Such a great venue and it cant used to its full potential.

They dont want anyone in their little town.

The new Chernobyl.

Ah would ya ever feck off lads.

you complain when big shots go around in their flashy cars etc. Not listening to the normal working people

The one time they do listen to the people and try and understand , they come out and make a great decision and they get slaughtered for it and the residents getting shoit for it.

load of crap. Im happy with the decision made so far and think its great that they thought of the residents in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Penn wrote: »
    it's twice as many concerts as allowed in their agreement.

no, 3 and then apply for an events licence, if it was 3 gigs and thats it, these 3 gigs wouldn't have been given the go ahead.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭ooter

What I don't understand is, how come any of the GB concerts were granted licences if there was an agreement in place with the residents for only 3 events (one direction) a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

A warning, large fine and compensation for the residents would have sufficed here. We are a country with a large deficit and it's a fcuking joke that we are allowing residents to dictate how many concerts can be played at Croke Park. No promises should ever have been made to them to begin with, ever. Other that is, than one regarding the regard for their health and safety whenever concerts are taking place.

Many sport stadiums throughout the world host concerts now, it's just the way it is. Would say the large majority of the people complaining here are just busy bodies with naff all else to do with their time. I hope the decision is appealed and won. Wouldn't please Dublin City Council by applying to play the two nights in the Phoenix Park now either. Malahide Castle / Marley Park are only around 33,000 and so Punchestown would be the only viable solution.

You sound like just the kind of punter the local residents were hoping would come along

Ah we both know the residents won .

no, they failed to get all concerts stopped.
    You claimed for months all 5 gigs would go ahead . Only 3 are happening .

i said i'd be surprised if they didn't go ahead, rather different.
    That's a victory for the residents

its not, they wanted to stop the lot and couldn't, croke park will still be able to use their business and the country will benefit but not as much.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭secman

And the injunction application hasn't happened yet............................... likely no concerts at all, Aiken and GAA shot themselves in the foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

they didn't

they weren't, they have cost the country money all because they didn't get cash in hand

They agreed to put on a certain amount of gigs per year. They tried to put on more than that and they got caught out.

Not sure how the residents are at fault here for trying to keep up an agreement that was made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Steam Roller

no, 3 and then apply for an events licence, if it was 3 gigs and thats it, these 3 gigs wouldn't have been given the go ahead.

They dont understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Everyone should turn up anyway on the night they were due to attend and cause f*king havoc in the area!!! Make the residents regret every word they uttered against the concerts.

Comments like this is the reason why the residents are getting so much support on this thread. Power to the people! Great news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Aislinn.B wrote: »
    Fap??

Interesting first post but yeah, I've already ejaculated three times from pure schadenfreude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Such a great venue and it cant used to its full potential.

They dont want anyone in their little town.

The new Chernobyl.

How is it a great venue? **** transport links and **** sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

They applied, and failed, so why do you keep going on about it?

Valetta wrote: »
    Wrong.

no, i'm right

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Does anyone know how long we'll have to wait for Ticketmaster to refund our credit cards if we paid that way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭secman

pc7 wrote: »
    Does anyone know how long we'll have to wait for Ticketmaster to refund our credit cards if we paid that way?

They are waiting for an official instruction from promoter Aiken

ooter wrote: »
    What I don't understand is, how come any of the GB concerts were granted licences if there was an agreement in place with the residents for only 3 events (one direction) a year?

Because despite what people here will claim, their is an agreement but Owen Keegans solicitor said he didn't have to take it into account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

As someone who is a cluchie and before he lived in the area used to go to Croke Park fairly often for matches and still does, I can see the decision from both sides. The people who've bought tickets to both cancelled nights will be disappointed and rightly so. They bought tickets in good faith.

However the residents were only doing what anyone would do if they lived besides a venue where they would be locked in or locked out for 5 days in a row (try getting a car in or out round here 1 hour before a match and you'll see what I mean), especially when there is an agreement for 3 concerts a year and to consult with the residents on any other events.

The notion that loads of money will be lost to Dublin is a bit OTT. The same with the tourist figures thrown around. Yes hotels and pubs etc will be affected but they went from charging €99 to €199+ for a room so its hard to feel sorry for them. The biggest business to be affected was Croker as the majority of drink and food would be sold at the venue. Alot of businesses around the venue would have to close for the duration (I think any business on the roads around the venue have to close at 1pm if there's a match/concert on a weekday) by order of the Garda.

Croke Park/GAA didn't consult when they announced 2 gigs with anyone. Aiken doesn't have the agreement with the residents so I doubt you can blame them. They sold out the 2 gigs and then a third on a Thursday (?) and within 5 days, they announced a fourth and when that sold out, a fifth. At no point did they speak to the residents until after all the tickets were sold*. Also, when they were shown the agreement at the first meeting, they denied it existed so further entrenched the residents to kick up a fuss.

The GAA knew they messed up when they came out last week and said 8 concerts a year was asking too much but the damage was done. It smacked of damage limitation. The knock on effect will be that venues will have to cop themselves on for future licenses for concerts and put some proper planning in place. I said it before but I bet that Aiken and MCD are highly miffed with the GAA over this.

As for the people who have rang radio shows and posted on Twitter, Facebook and here that they are planning to kick out car mirrors and crap all over Dublin 3 amongst other such fine acts, that just backs up the residents agreement all along regarding public order.

* Also we were told by everyone that 1D was a full sell out. If that was the case, why were they handing out free tickets at 8pm on the Sunday night? Brooks isn't a sell out, they'll release more tickets in the next few days as Ticketmaster always does to trump the touts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

A warning, large fine and compensation for the residents would have sufficed here. We are a country with a large deficit and it's a fcuking joke that we are allowing residents to dictate how many concerts can be played at Croke Park. No promises should ever have been made to them to begin with, ever. Other that is, than one regarding the regard for their health and safety whenever concerts are taking place.

Many sport stadiums throughout the world host concerts now, it's just the way it is. Would say the large majority of the people complaining here are just busy bodies with naff all else to do with their time. I hope the decision is appealed and won. Wouldn't please Dublin City Council by applying to play the two nights in the Phoenix Park now either. Malahide Castle / Marley Park are only around 33,000 and so Punchestown would be the only viable solution.

Oh I don't know, maybe something different from the other residents, like get a job, pay taxes, not marry my cousin?

Y'all stay classy now, ya hear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Oh no..I'm shaking with fear :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Like you or any of the keyboard cowboys would actually go and do anything.

Valetta wrote: »
    So you agree that no concerts were cancelled.

Just that people were stupid enough to buy tickets for a yet to be confirmed event.

Bit like backing a horse and then complaining when he doesn't win.
    wrong, they were canceled, different to backing horses

They dont understand.

Well we didn't all fail law twice like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

It's a ****ing joke that the bogball association and Aiken had the sheer arrogance to promote/sell tickets to these concerts without a license and pretty much ignore local residents concerns whilst doing so right up until a few weeks before the concerts were due to commence when they realized they were in legal trouble ,and its a ****ing joke that people like you blame the local residents for standing up for themselves,their homes and families instead of the greedy,incompetent twats in GAA and Aiken HQ.

And it's great to see people like yourself advocating vandalism to local residents property,as it vindicates the one of the reasons the residents didn't want 600,000+ mucksavages in the vicinity of their homes for 5 nights straight in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

No, you always have to apply for an events licence regardless. The agreement was that no more than 3 concerts would be held per year. But that agreement was between the GAA and the residents.

These 3 were given the go-ahead because DCC gave it permission to go ahead despite being outside of the agreement between the residents and the GAA. It's just that allowing 5 concerts was a step too far.

wrong, they were canceled, different to backing horses

They weren't cancelled, because they didn't exist.