Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That was a great example - so many nice extras.

What happens now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

GvidoR wrote: »
    I have noticed that Golfs are very very common here, especially MK5s with MK4 being a close second.

Yep there common enough although it was the first time I felt like they were really common. I have to say on a day to day basis I don't really notice them everywhere. I'd see there is nearly as many focus mk2s going around there was so many of them sold here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Yes curse the popularity, driving up the prices :mad:

I remember the day I bought mine it was so much money to pay I remember thinking are they just over rated and how could they be worth so much. What I got for the focus I had to add a few thousand to to get the golf which is a substantial amount. But I can genuinely say I've never looked back and I'd spend it on the car again everytime. Still makes me smile everytime I get in it. You'll never understand why they make so much until you have one. Just get one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Volvo S60's can't make drive through turns :p

i could get through any car park and any drive through in my S80 (which is bigger)

so you must be a terrible driver :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote: »
    I remember the day I bought mine it was so much money to pay I remember thinking are they just over rated and how could they be worth so much. What I got for the focus I had to add a few thousand to to get the golf which is a substantial amount. But I can genuinely say I've never looked back and I'd spend it on the car again everytime. Still makes me smile everytime I get in it. You'll never understand why they make so much until you have one. Just get one :pac:

I'm this close!!

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That was a great example - so many nice extras.

What happens now?

It was an amazing car, to be honest. Kinda felt my heart sink a little when I seen someone else driving it off down the road (silly as that may sound).

Never gave a spot of bother and for a 'Toyota' (a joe soap brand), the interior and comfort were a lot better than a lot of other cars I've been in.

Not sure what's next. Got 3,500 in my pocket, burning a hole of course. Want something different to the Rav. But not sure what.

Peugeot 407 in black is appealing to me. But not sure if they're riddled with problems..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

It was an amazing car, to be honest. Kinda felt my heart sink a little when I seen someone else driving it off down the road (silly as that may sound).

Never gave a spot of bother and for a 'Toyota' (a joe soap brand), the interior and comfort were a lot better than a lot of other cars I've been in.

Not sure what's next. Got 3,500 in my pocket, burning a hole of course. Want something different to the Rav. But not sure what.

Peugeot 407 in black is appealing to me. But not sure if they're riddled with problems..

Get a saab and be done with it :pac:

Just don't join the bm brigade for the love of god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

i could get through any car park and any drive through in my S80 (which is bigger)

so you must be a terrible driver :P

Here shmartarse.

Be useful and advise me on some tyres for the tank and is it 5W-40 oil they 2 litres take ?

Every Volvo forum says different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Buy a barge, something 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Here shmartarse.

Be useful and advise me on some tyres for the tank and is it 5W-40 oil they 2 litres take ?

Rainsport 3's be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

2 litres? That can't be right. My Bora takes 4.5

Anyway just slowly fill it up and and keep checking the dipstick, that's the best way I guess... or just drain all the oil and have a look how much was in it and put the same amount back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Meant to say this before, neighbours recently got a 2003 focus 1.6 ghia spec with.... wait for it..... 21,000 miles!!!

GvidoR wrote: »
    2 litres? That can't be right. My Bora takes 4.5

Anyway just slowly fill it up and and keep checking the dipstick, that's the best way I guess... or just drain all the oil and have a look how much was in it and put the same amount back in.

He means the 2L engines :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Mine can, but you'd need the skills of an artic driver to get around the bend in the one in newbridge

My 320ci fits nicely and so does the V50. Perhaps you're a rubbish driver :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Here shmartarse.

i never had to change the tyres on my volvo , i think they were 215/55/16 on mine but i'd go goodyear/dunlop.

Oil is :

Capacity 5,5 litre

Use: Normal

Intervals:
    Change 30000 km / 12 months

Products: Temperature range °C
    Quartz 9000 Energy 5W - 40

Sobanek wrote: »
    My 320ci fits nicely and so does the V50. Perhaps you're a rubbish driver :D

Pffft if i was a rubbish driver how come the bin men havent come after me yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

He means the 2L engines :p

Oops :pac:

Get a saab and be done with it pacman.gif

Just don't join the bm brigade for the love of god

I only know one person with a BMW that has never had any problems with his car.. and he buys a new one every year.

Any BMW in my price range will be getting held together by will power. Wouldn't touch one unless I was spending about 15-20 thousand. :o
    Kaiser D wrote: »
    Buy a barge, something 3.0

If it's a commercial I will! :P

Couldn't justify the tax, or the lack of appeal it'd have to others when it came to selling it on. Something 'normal' will do me for the moment, I'd say (unless something catches my eye again, like the Rav did, but in the last year of driving it, nothing else has come into view, really).

Pffft if i was a rubbish driver how come the bin men havent come after me yet?

They figured you'd be doing your rounds in the green Saab dumptruck :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Honestly, half the BMW's on here would have cost less than what you have to spend.
    You could get a great one for that price.

What are your needs for the new car?
    Space, seats, roof?
    Some of you will know what I'm getting at. :pac:

SG, you're obviously not shifting the weight of the car to the front tyres if you can't get around the bend.
    Bad driving technique.

They figured you'd be doing your rounds in the green Saab dumptruck :pac:

Oh noes, if oxigen or greenstar find me out I'm done for lads :P

Anyone know of a quick way to get 30k? I want an E92 M3 by February :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »
    Honestly, half the BMW's on here would have cost less than what you have to spend.
    You could get a great one for that price.

What are your needs for the new car?
    Space, seats, roof?
    Some of you will know what I'm getting at. :pac:

SG, you're obviously not shifting the weight of the car to the front tyres if you can't get around the bend.
    Bad driving technique.

I dunno. I hear lots of complaints off people who've had BMWs and they're always off people who bought BMWs for little money. There are some BMWs that I like, to be honest, but a lot of them are fairly 'meh', too. The nice ones look like they cost an arm and a leg, though (maybe they don't!?).

But there's a challenge for you, so - If you can find a decent looking BMW, that looks like it's been well kept, I'll strongly consider it (unless it's a petrol gulping, tax-smashing machine - I don't care that much about brand to pay over the odds for it).

Aside from the DL plate, I like the look of this (it's 25k though).

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-bmw-520-d-se/6926496?sv=1

Audi A4, once it's not been overly tampered with, is a nice car, and seems to fetch feck all money. VW Passat is nice, too. There's a gorgeous Passat Estate I see around the place every now and again. Think it's brand new, though (13 or 14?) but it's really, really nice looking.

Not sure why, though, but the Peugeot 407 just seems to have caught my eye (in black.. it's not so special in other colours). A little spoiler on the boot, and tinted windows, and it'd look really good in my opinion (plus a 1.6 diesel engine would be fairly economical, I'd imagine, and tax on a 1.6 is decent).

For example, this looks nice, seems fairly cheap (too cheap!?), is up in the years from the Rav (not that i'd be that bothered about year, so long as it's been taken care of), but for some reason, although I really want to ring him up and take it off him, I have an underlying feeling that a 407 is a problem car (has anyone any experience?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If you spend 25k on a 1.6 diesel 407 we will need an intervention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

The 1.6 407s are cheap for a reason though.

If you spend 25k on a 1.6 diesel 407 we will need an intervention

If I had 25k to spend, I'd be spending 4-5k on a car and having a whale of a time with the rest of it.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    The 1.6 407s are cheap for a reason though.

What is the reason, though, is what has me thinking. :confused:

I know someone who had one and the heating going was the biggest issue (apparently a flap somewhere breaks and it gets stuck, so it's always blowing either hot or cold air. Can cost 600-700 to fix).

But thats all im really hearing. Otherwise seems grand? (hers was a 1.8 petrol though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The 1.6 HDi 407 my dad had as a company car was both reliable and comfortable but I don't think the interior is as nice as other cars of the time.

407??? I think you're talking about the 508...

For example, this looks nice, seems fairly cheap (too cheap!?)

Forgot to put the link in :o

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/cheap-peugeot-407-1-6hdi/7121794?sv=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Ain't been on here much lately, do a bit of lurking, but not much posting, hope everyone's still happy & healthy!

Have decided to sell up my Pajero here in Oz, have fallen in love with this brilliant wagon so as a little tribute for it I'll pop up a few pics of it.

Bought this back in October, its a 2nd gen NJ Pajero GLS, with a lovely sounding & running 12v 3.0 v6 (think it forces out about 150-160bhp)

Have done well over 20,000 trouble free km's in this beast and its only let me down once when the fuel pump gave out, not bad for a 20 year old truck with 360,000kms on the clock!

It's taken me from Sydney to Cairns and far out into west Queensland, and again from Cairns to Sydney. It's done countless days of sand driving, off roading, playing in mud holes and 4 days on Fraser island where it performed flawlessly. (super select 4wd is a brilliant system)

Anyway, here;s a small few pics that I have handy of it. Some day ill dig out better ones from the archives :pac:

null_zps66a10464.jpg

IMG_4938.jpg

IMG_4961.jpg

IMG_5018.jpg

IMG_5031.jpg

IMG_5177.jpg

IMG_5196.jpg

IMG_5350.jpg

IMG_5358.jpg