Disturbing things you did as a child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Anybody else used to set small, tiny, fires?

Popcorn packets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Anybody else used to set small, tiny, fires?

Popcorn packets.

Damn, forgot about that. Started out setting small tiny fires. Favourite was spelling my name in lighter fluid and then lighting it.
    Stopped playing with fire ;) when I managed to burn down 4 trees that were in a corner of the garden. :o

Honestly, it makes me very, very doubtful about those serial killer signs you always hear about.

Lighting a fire :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Damn, forgot about that. Started out setting small tiny fires. Favourite was spelling my name in lighter fluid and then lighting it.
    Stopped playing with fire ;) when I managed to burn down 4 trees that were in a corner of the garden. :o

I once set fire to the garage......because I was making a siege weapon and firing cigars soaked in white spirits.

Bloody miracle I lived this long :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Myself, my brother and a few of the neighbour kids shovelled all the dirt from the brain gutter outside our house and completely repainted the front of the neighbours house! She was an old bat back then!! We also made crossbows and put needles on the end and shot birds of the wires around our street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Yogosan

I once put bread in a mouse trapped and crows would fly down to get it. I don't think I need to explain the rest.

Found a dead rabbit once and decided to pluck out its eye with a kitchen knife, then took it apart to see what it was made of.

I used to fit in an old suitcase when I was very young, so one day my brother and I thought it would be fun to throw me down the stairs inside it. It was very fun.

Me and my friends used lollipop sticks to hide doggy-doo under car door handles at the bingo hall. Would wait in the trees till bingo was over for the fun to begin.

That's all I can remember, there was definitely alot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Our "finest" moment was burning a well known south Dublin wateringhole to the ground because one of us wanted to see if crisp packets could burn..the top of a pile of compacted waste-paper probably wasn't the sharpest place to choose for the experiment(statute of limitations has feckin got to have run out on that one..hopefully). I was more of an observer in this fine scientific experiment.

Throwing a straightened coat-hanger with a hook bent into the end up and onto the power lines used to produce a beautiful shower of sparks and turn off the leccy for an entire street, oh how they loved us...

Or, thinking it hilarious to kick the chair out from under the birthday boy as he proudly stood up there listening to everyone sing "Happy Birthday". The broken arm he got took the shine off it..so did his Ma's wrath..

Apart from that, I do believe there was no more prolific shoplifting crew ever to grace these shores..the lads in "Heat" had nothing on us as 9 year olds...

Eh, not so sure it's wise to post felonies online.

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Eh, not so sure it's wise to post felonies online.

It's ok if your mate Paul was the one with the matches..and he was 12..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I used to chase my little sister around the house with a hot poker from the fire. I also used to rip all her posters off her wall on a regular basis for no reason. I was also meant to wait for her after school and walk home together but I used to always leave her behind on purpose and run home, she'd come in the door balling crying about half an hour later. We are the best of friends now though! :)
    I also used to love eating bisto cubes, sure we were pure deprived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

My mother kept her red Barbie convertible since she was a child, see here.

Big ass yoke, about a foot and a half long. I thought it would be great to build a paper folding roof for it. And set it on fire.

Que my mother walking into the room as she watches her car rolling across the floor in flames. Her face was a picture, sheer horror. She started screaming and houling, i'll never forget it. We used to get the odd slap and wooden spoon from her the odd time, but by jesus she kicked my arse down the hallway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I used to scrape ice from the sides of the freezer and eat it. I also used to suck the water from damp face cloths......

I did the above on a regular basis as a kid...thankfully I grew out of doing both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I used to scrape ice from the sides of the freezer and eat it. I also used to suck the water from damp face cloths......

I did the above on a regular basis as a kid...thankfully I grew out of doing both.

Are you sure, judging from the username...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Oohhhh wretched! Strike number 2, bring my username into it again and I'll no option but to resort to fisty cuffs! :mad: :pac:

There's no fisting allowed in AH. Just saying like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Dropped my pet hamster from the top bunk.

Ate sausages raw. They were lovely. Never got sick.

Ate the meat from cat food tins once or twice.

Coloured my willy with a marker and I was told it would fall off. The horror.

Pulled the eyes from snails if I could ever grab them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

You could strike him with a wet face cloth.....ah actually never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭buckwheat

Friend kidnapped the baby Jesus from the school crib and left a ransom note. Threatened to send his fingers one at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

For me, one of them would be when I was about eleven. It was the whole sexual awakening stage of my life. I was very horny and decided to push my penis up against the window of my house. The cold feeling of the window must have given my eleven year old penis a great deal of pleasure. What was I thinking? Hopefully nobody saw.

You've a jump start on me. I was 14 am approached by a bum who asked about the white stuff ~ WHAT ~ pushed him away and got my bus home from school.

However, the seed was planted, I experimented and actually thought I had literally pulled my little man of and he was detached. I lay frozen for ages and the 'white stuff' was seeping into the bed.

Much later that same bum accosted me as I left a bar, I'd have been maybe 19 now, so I recognized him and led him on and gave him a beating, he was never seen around bus stops after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

My mother kept her red Barbie convertible since she was a child, see here.

Big ass yoke, about a foot and a half long. I thought it would be great to build a paper folding roof for it. And set it on fire.

Que my mother walking into the room as she watches her car rolling across the floor in flames. Her face was a picture, sheer horror. She started screaming and houling, i'll never forget it. We used to get the odd slap and wooden spoon from her the odd time, but by jesus she kicked my arse down the hallway.

You just reminded me of another thing - my Mum is a very forthright and unfrightenable person normally, but one thing we did frightened her to fecking bits.

My brother built a sort of scarecrow out of old clothes and put it on a chair in a dark corner of the upper landing - it had a face made out of a sheet of paper with black eyes and a wide, hollow smiling mouth. We called it "Chairy McClary", like the kids character "Hairy McClary". Only it was very nasty and probably murderous.
    Anyway, she was so evil-looking that none of us was brave enough to come out of the bedroom to take her to pieces after she was put in place, so my Mum eventually heard us bellowing in fright and came bombing up the stairs to punish the criminals.

I vividly remember the sound of her thumping up the first flight of stairs threatening all kinds of wooden-spoon-related punishment, and then turning the corner and coming halfway up the second flight, seeing Chairy McClary grinning from her corner and then retreating squeaking hysterically to the bottom of the stairs I think she said "Jesus Christ, What the fúck is that fúcking thing!?" , and this was at a time when using language of any kind in front of the children was something that they just did. not. do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Red Nissan wrote: »
    You've a jump start on me. I was 14 am approached by a bum who asked about the white stuff ~ WHAT ~ pushed him away and got my bus home from school.

However, the seed was planted, I experimented and actually thought I had literally pulled my little man of and he was detached. I lay frozen for ages and the 'white stuff' was seeping into the bed.

Much later that same bum accosted me as I left a bar, I'd have been maybe 19 now, so I recognized him and led him on and gave him a beating, he was never seen around bus stops after that.

Quickly - the speed of escalation.

buckwheat wrote: »
    Friend kidnapped the baby Jesus from the school crib and left a ransom note. Threatened to send his fingers one at a time

I remember that, the bastards just got another one and never paid.

Quickly - the speed of escalation.

It's compressed memory now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Loads of stuff I'm ashamed to remember: smashed windows, shoplifted; got in a stolen car, set a fire in a field that got a bit out of control and other stuff I won't even mention.

Kinda why I have some sympathy for kids that get up to wild stuff as most will turn out OK. In some areas, it's just normal behaviour and you only realize it's wrong when you get older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

when I was 5 or 6 I climbed up the side of my bunkbed and reached over to the top of the wardrobe, it had a section at the top with a seperate door. I got the belt from my dressing gown and made a noose, wanted to see what it was like to hang myself. I was in the room alone and dropped to the floor after maybe 5 seconds as it luckily couldnt hold my weight. dont think I ever told anyone about it, my parents never knew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

anncoates wrote: »
    set a fire in a field that got a bit out of control

Grass is highly flammable for sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Surely if he only ate ice he'd be slim christy :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Grass is highly flammable for sure.

It was a wheat or barley field., or something similar IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Drank shots of vinegar.
    Climbed the counter when I was about 5 to get an extra flinstone vitamin after she had left. Funny when I took vitamins years later she was critical of it.
    Hung plastic bags from the side of the shed and set fire to them to watch the flaming drip with it's distinctive whistle as it cut the air. Many a burn I got on my hands from doing that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Red Nissan wrote: »

Maybe he was just looking for a bag of Coke ?