People putting Cones outside their house to stop other people parking there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

I do understand completely where people are coming from and we regularly have people park right outside my house too but unfortunately cannot do anything about it.

However, maybe look at it from the other point of view! Sometimes the people might not have another choice!! My parents house does not have a driveway, nor do they gave the space for a driveway so growing up I had no choice but to park on the road (we had three cars in the family). Thankfully where I lived, there was plenty of spaces so I didn't have to park outside someone else's house but if we didn't have that facility, I would have had to park outside someone's house whether I liked it or not.....contrary to what Linka said, why should I have to lug my shopping from down the road just so I don't park outside my neighbours house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Linka

Ashbx wrote: »
    However, maybe look at it from the other point of view! Sometimes the people might not have another choice!! My parents house does not have a driveway, nor do they gave the space for a driveway so growing up I had no choice but to park on the road (we had three cars in the family). Thankfully where I lived, there was plenty of spaces so I didn't have to park outside someone else's house but if we didn't have that facility, I would have had to park outside someone's house whether I liked it or not.....contrary to what Linka said, why should I have to lug my shopping from down the road just so I don't park outside my neighbours house.
    Honestly speaking, I've never been in your scenario, nor has my parents. We've always lived in areas that had the benefit of their own driveway. The cases aren't exactly the same as a result. I can only empathize with the inconvenience it must have caused you.

The neighbours I am referring to have had their driveway widened and could fit at least a second car into the driveway, but they do not. I recall driving behind their daughter one day coming into my parents estate and she bypassed the space outside their home and parked outside my parents house. We've known for a long time that what they are doing is in fact quite deliberate. She knew I was behind her too. Sometimes it goes beyond the dire need for extra parking in the area, it's typical of the juvenile carry on that goes on in estates. Did I park outside their house? No, I'm not juvenile nor a cunt. I put it over by a green area.

Well that's the mature thing to do alright! We live in a very small estate beside the luas so always have people parking outside my house. I work 9-5 also so thankfully it doesn't bother me as the cars have moved by the time I am back from work. But its people like this that make the estates go pay and display which is unfair for the people who live there and now have to pay to park their car outside their own house! I wouldn't be happy at all if someone was to park outside my house 24/7!

I sympathise with you because I can imagine how frustrating it is for you (especially with a poorly mother) to not be able to park outside your parents house....maybe take inspiration from this thread and try putting some cones down! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm moving into a new house on friday and i've 2 spaces allocated to me, as per the contract terms.

Even today there are people parked in them...as we try to lug boxes in to the house. They are directly to the front of the house.

Last saturday i parked behind the 2 cars parked there. 20 mins passed and the bell rings....

"can you move your van, my dad can't get out"

"probably shouldn't have parked in our spaces then"

*narky* "didn't see your name on them"

*lifts contract from hall table*..."it's just there - you see that mark on the drawing beside number 18"

Then to really take the biscuit i look outside the living room window and i see someone trying to force a corsa up the side entry, taking flowers and half the lawn with them!! "Pity you weren't driving a bus - you could have taken all the lawn"...move to fcuk!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

awec wrote: »
    If it's on-street parking then it probably isn't their space at all. Some people have this notion that they are the only ones allowed to park on the road outside their house.
    I remember growing up one kid telling me about how when you buy a house in an estate you own the land the house is on, and half of the road in front of it. Apparently that's what his parents had told him.

I've since heard the same nonsense from a few other sources. So I do think there's a belief in some quarters that you have a sole right to the space in front of your house, including the footpath.

Sticking a cone out is not illegal unless you are disrupting the flow of traffic. Likewise, there is nothing illegal about moving the cone and just parking in the space. People who put the cones out are relying on the fact that most people are just too lazy and/or timid to get out and move the cone before parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Like someone else said, it's Ireland, we do what the fcuk we like :D

But why are you parking in front of someone's house?? This drives me nuts at home, I don't drive so people think it's ok to park right outside my door blocking my nice view to the park :mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

--LOS-- wrote: »
    But why are you parking in front of someone's house??
    Better wifi signal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

seamus wrote: »
    Sticking a cone out is not illegal unless you are disrupting the flow of traffic. Likewise, there is nothing illegal about moving the cone and just parking in the space. People who put the cones out are relying on the fact that most people are just too lazy and/or timid to get out and move the cone before parking.

I'd say if you did though, you be risking having the side of your car keyed or the air let out of your tyres. That's what would put me off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Read title as Clones.
    Thread dissapoints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I live in private apartments, I have a space it has my apartment number on it. I pay a fee to the management company this includes a fee for my parking space, bins etc.. There is a public parking area for visitors assigned not to far away. I have no car yet people still insist in parking in my space. I pay for it they should go park in the visitors space. I should technically call the clamping lads from the management company every time some random parks in my space but I'm not that kind of person. Funny thing is the people round here if i was doing this to them there would be f*oking war. It’s just like some random person sticking things in your bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I know a guy who got so pi55ed off at people parking in front of his house leaving him with having to park his van a few streets away that he would pick up some dog crap with a stick and smear it under the car door handle.

The "offender" gets back to their car,reaches for the handle and gets poo in their hand.

It is a scummy thing to do but if it happens all the time I can see why you would lose the plot

Not sure if they have a residents permit system now but in the past so many people abused that street to go to the shops or cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Put the cone on your head and pretend you're a bull and ram into their front door. Again and again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

I know a guy who got so pi55ed off at people parking in front of his house leaving him with having to park his van a few streets away that he would pick up some dog crap with a stick and smear it under the car door handle.

The "offender" gets back to their car,reaches for the handle and gets poo in their hand.

It is a scummy thing to do but if it happens all the time I can see why you would lose the plot

Not sure if they have a residents permit system now but in the past so many people abused that street to go to the shops or cinema.

Smart move.

Its not like they know where you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭simplybam

Linka wrote: »
    I'm glad this discussion came up. Firstly, I agree with Madam. With no thanks to neighbours on one side of my parents I have to park down the road in order to visit (my Father keeps his car in their drive way). My parents are getting on a bit in age, with my Mother frequently visiting hospital at the moment. I also take her to do her shopping and any other errands that need doing. The people next door have FOUR cars. They take up the space in their drive and the other three are parked outside the very nearest houses including outside my parents. They aren't really the kind of reasonable people that you could have a chat with about the matter either.

Parking outside your neighbours home mightn't be illegal, but I think it is inconsiderate. Having to take your parents shopping out of the car from down the road up to the house is a pain in the hole.

You're not that weirdo guy living across the road from me, are ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

There is a woman on my road does not even have a car and the cones are out, I think everyone is jumping on the bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

What do you mean "everyone"?

I live in a development of houses and apartments. I try to park as close to my place as I can, but if there aren't any spaces left, I'm not doing anything wrong by parking outside someone's house. Nobody has ownership over the parking spaces - they just have to be a resident of the complex.

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

conorhal wrote: »
    It's not those people that are annoying to me so much as the ones that seem to think they're entitled to park outside their own house, park their missus car outside their neighbours house and their teenage brats junker outside the neighbouors three doors down. Typically it's these kind of people that generate such traffic cone territorial pissing.

They are entitled to do all those things if it's on-street parking.

It's on-street parking on a public road - it belongs to everyone. That there are houses on the road is coincidental - so long as nobody is blocking any entrances or the road itself then that is as considerate as people need to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

We do it outside my Nanny's most Sundays and some Saturdays. She lives near Croke Park and if it wasn't done, she wouldn't have a space to get back to in the estate. She'll leave the garda no parking cones outside her house when she leaves, and bring them in when she's back. Parking in her estate on match days is at a premium, after her heart attack she made an application and the guards gave her two cones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    We do it outside my Nanny's most Sundays and some Saturdays. She lives near Croke Park and if it wasn't done, she wouldn't have a space to get back to in the estate. She'll leave the garda no parking cones outside her house when she leaves, and bring them in when she's back. Parking in her estate on match days is at a premium, after her heart attack she made an application and the guards gave her two cones.

The Guards give out those cones? I thought they were all nicked!

I know someone who painted a box junction in the turning space beside his house and was told to remove it or be brought to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

The Guards give out those cones? I thought they were all nicked!

I know someone who painted a box junction in the turning space beside his house and was told to remove it or be brought to court.

Depends on the area. They'll give it out if it's elderly residents or residents who have mobility difficulties in an area that it happens often in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

I have spaces for two cars outside my house.
    So I'm going to get a "Pay and Display" sign
    plus cones and a plank and I'll paint 2 yellow
    lines on the road and a wheelchair sign.
    So when I park there myself I'm sure to
    get a ticket.
    Everybody happy now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

awec wrote: »
    They are entitled to do all those things if it's on-street parking.

It's on-street parking on a public road - it belongs to everyone. That there are houses on the road is coincidental - so long as nobody is blocking any entrances or the road itself then that is as considerate as people need to be.

God I’ve grown to hate that word, there are so many 'entitled' eejits wandering around these days making life a pain in the ass for everybody else with their inflated sense of entitlement.
    They may be 'entitled' to park there, but it's impolite and inconsiderate to your neighbors. Park outside your own house, if you have a second car, park that somewhere inconvenient to you rather then inconveniencing you neighbor. It’s about basic common (that’s not so common these days) courtesy.
    While it may be technically correct to say that people are entitled to park three or four cars all down the street infront of their neighbours houses, what you are essentially saying to me is 'yes, I'm 'entitled' to be a complete dick'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

2 stories:

1. I went to CIT and as anyone familiar with the campus knows, parking is at a premium past 08:40 in the morning. The estates surrounding the place used to take the overflow of cars. Now this used to drive the residents mental, I remember one lady in particular came storming out of her house one day effin and blinding. I politely told her that I fully agree with her predicament but while it was free to park there and as long as I never block gates, while the campus car park is full I'll continue to park there. I wonder have they had pay and display put up since? It must have been a pain for anyone getting our of their driveways.

2. Where I live in the UK, we have resident parking but it's unassigned, only one person has a favoured spot which is fine as he drives a big van that needs extra space. The rest of the parking is unassigned except for the top floor flats which has 2 spots (with the use of a pole if needed). The ground floor duplex has a garage but most cars wouldnt fit in there. Now, someone just moved in with the New 2014 Kia Picanto I think and they were parking outside their garage with the bumper at the door and 1/4 of the car itself on the road (not a main road but used for rear entry to lifts). I've mentioned it to him as have others to use one of the many free spaces that are, no word of a lie, 7 feet away. He refused. Someone was cleaning their balcony last week on the 2nd floor and a potted plant fell off, catching the bonnet and windscreen. Karma was seen leaving the scene quickly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭youtheman

On the subject of cones, I heard this story (might be an 'urban legend' though). Guy who owned a commercial property used to put a lines of cones outside his business during a busy festival. But the local bikers used to come by and just 'stick their feet out' and blow them away like a bunch of skittles. So he said "fu*k that" and filled one in the middle with concrete. Didn't end well (for the biker anyway). Might have even broke a leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Don't notice this happening anywhere other than small-town Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭SuperS54

Having lived in various parts of China and Taiwan I can tell you that it's definitely not only confined to small town Ireland. In cramped Taipei if you park in a spot someone considers to be theirs for whatever reason you can definitely expect dog **** under the handles/being keyed/flat tires etc. depending on who's spot it is! Scooters/motorcycles are everywhere and there is a thriving local industry in recovering seats after they have been slashed following parking in someone elses spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

razorblunt wrote: »
    2 stories:

2. Where I live in the UK, we have resident parking but it's unassigned, only one person has a favoured spot which is fine as he drives a big van that needs extra space. The rest of the parking is unassigned except for the top floor flats which has 2 spots (with the use of a pole if needed). The ground floor duplex has a garage but most cars wouldnt fit in there. Now, someone just moved in with the New 2014 Kia Picanto I think and they were parking outside their garage with the bumper at the door and 1/4 of the car itself on the road (not a main road but used for rear entry to lifts). I've mentioned it to him as have others to use one of the many free spaces that are, no word of a lie, 7 feet away. He refused. Someone was cleaning their balcony last week on the 2nd floor and a potted plant fell off, catching the bonnet and windscreen. Karma was seen leaving the scene quickly!!

This guy must be related to one of my neighbours,3 parking spaces around the house but still blocks the street up by parking on it.Someday,karma will put a stop to it.

Can you put cones outside somebody else's house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

CTYIgirl wrote: »

Those cones have no legal status, as it's not Garda business or a Garda operation going on. Any person could remove the cones and park there quite legitimately, so long as he or she have road tax.

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Those cones have no legal status, as it's not Garda business or a Garda operation going on. Any person could remove the cones and park there quite legitimately, so long as he or she have road tax.

Technically yes, but who knows whether its a Garda operation or an elderly woman who got permission from the guards....I wouldn't be willing to risk moving Garda cones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

These cones are such a nightmare.... I'm moving abroad in a few weeks so moving some stuff into the girlfriends house so have to rent a van.... Will be very tempted to "clean my local area" of all of them

Might even try sell them back to the owners......