Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People putting Cones outside their house to stop other people parking there

• 24-06-2014 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭

We all know you nicked the cones in the first place.
    Is this legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Its Ireland ,nothings illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

My favourite parking spots. My boot is full of cones, a few planks and the occasional milk crate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Just drive over them. They love that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

You can buy them you know. Besides why would you want to use someone else's parking space - not very neighbourly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Just put ice cream on top of them and some morbidly obese chap will gobble them up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Don't worry. Once it starts raining again all the cones will melt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Steal the cones from outside their houses and put them outside your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sober Too

Hootanany wrote: »
    We all know you nicked the cones in the first place.
    Is this legal.

The neighbours traffic cones I can live with, its the nail tacks that cross the line ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Drive over them, wreck your car, and sue the property owner. Job done.
    Ya may as well trip while you're at it and break an ankle or something. Free parking and 11 grand from the council. Not a bad mornings work :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

'stop other people parking there' ?
    Where do you get that bit ? They are annoying to move, but if the spots free, dont let a few cones stop you. If you are really civic minded and you know who put them there you should probably report them for littering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

People putting them out has almost caused murder on my parent's street. Some people seem to think that if they aren't able to park directly outside their front door the world will end.

And no, it's not legal to put out cones.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Madam wrote: »
    You can buy them you know. Besides why would you want to use someone else's parking space - not very neighbourly imo.

If it's on-street parking then it probably isn't their space at all. Some people have this notion that they are the only ones allowed to park on the road outside their house.

awec wrote: »
    If it's on-street parking then it probably isn't their space at all. Some people have this notion that they are the only ones allowed to park on the road outside their house.

I do know that but it doesn't exactly endear you to your neighbours if you do so. Not that I'm bothered as we have our own drive. My problem would be if someone blocked it or my pet hate those eejits who park on the pavement where folk with pushchairs/wheelchairs can't get passed without going out onto the road!

Blocking entrances is a whole other story. As is parking on the footpath.

Parking in front of someones house is 100% fine, both legally and morally. People who put out cones are chancers and have no right to lay claim to a parking space that belongs to everyone.

It's part and parcel of city living where space is at a premium and people generally don't have huge driveways. You either have to accept that you may not get your car parked anywhere near your house or you are going to have to fork out the money for a house with more land to accommodate a bigger driveway.

Blocking entrances is a whole other story. As is parking on the footpath.

Parking in front of someones house is 100% fine, both legally and morally. People who put out cones are chancers and have no right to lay claim to a parking space that belongs to everyone.

It's part and parcel of city living where space is at a premium and people generally don't have huge driveways. You either have to accept that you may not get your car parked anywhere near your house or you are going to have to fork out the money for a house with more land to accommodate a bigger driveway.

Are we talking here of apartment buildings?

Anything - houses and apartments. If the parking is on a public road anyone can park there whether they are a resident or not.

Though many apartments come with allocated parking that are not public spaces - these people have every right to be aggrieved if someone parks in their spot seeing as they are likely paying for this spot. This typically isn't on-street parking though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Blocking entrances is a whole other story. As is parking on the footpath..

We live in a very narrow road - everyone has to park on the footpath or the road would be blocked. It's a fine line between leaving enough room for pedestrians and losing 2 or 3 wing mirrors a year. Still occasionally get some numpty park fully in the road and wonder why there's chaos on returning to their car. You put out a cone down our way you'd be having it removed -surgically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

In Dublin a common solution in many areas has been to introduce paid parking and provide paid permits to local residents. Commuters who still feel want to park can do so at a reasonable rate. Seems fair, unless perhaps you're entirely reliant on free parking in residential streets, in which case you might want to find an alternative route to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

In some cases though they leave them out because they are expecting a skip for that day. Sometimes there is no other way to get some renovation work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I can understand with the skip or fuel lorry but I see it everywhere and the same Houses as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I smell a cone-spiracy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Past neighbour of mine used t do it even though it's on-street (as in not reserved parking) so I parked my car in the spot and put the cone on the roof of my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Though many apartments come with allocated parking that are not public spaces - these people have every right to be aggrieved if someone parks in their spot seeing as they are likely paying for this spot. This typically isn't on-street parking though.

If you're paying service fees for an apartment with a parking space, parking is allocated or it is not.

If it's allocated, you have a specific space that is yours and if not, you're paying for any space you can find so you do not have the right to decide a particular space is yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

To answer your question, its not illegal but people do not have to abide to it. Much like when people put a "no parking" sign outside their house.....they are allowed do it if they want to but no-one has to abide to it!

Just make sure you don't block someone's driveway because that is illegal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I can understand people getting annoyed. See it all the time where I live - Double parking too by all the tight fists too cheap to pay for city centre parking but...not your road so tough luck. If someone's not blocking your gate then you have little recourse. We park ours in an underground and she only comes out weekends anyway so I'm not bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Linka

Some people have this notion that they are the only ones allowed to park on the road outside their house.

I'm glad this discussion came up. Firstly, I agree with Madam. With no thanks to neighbours on one side of my parents I have to park down the road in order to visit (my Father keeps his car in their drive way). My parents are getting on a bit in age, with my Mother frequently visiting hospital at the moment. I also take her to do her shopping and any other errands that need doing. The people next door have FOUR cars. They take up the space in their drive and the other three are parked outside the very nearest houses including outside my parents. They aren't really the kind of reasonable people that you could have a chat with about the matter either.

Parking outside your neighbours home mightn't be illegal, but I think it is inconsiderate. Having to take your parents shopping out of the car from down the road up to the house is a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I got 99 problems ... I don't have a 99 cone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

neighbours got a house guest parking outside our house - half on the grass, half on the road. Dont care bout the space, but killing my grass :/ space outside theirs is free and all.. some people are just dicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

It's not those people that are annoying to me so much as the ones that seem to think they're entitled to park outside their own house, park their missus car outside their neighbours house and their teenage brats junker outside the neighbouors three doors down. Typically it's these kind of people that generate such traffic cone territorial pissing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Public road.

I do understand completely where people are coming from and we regularly have people park right outside my house too but unfortunately cannot do anything about it.

However, maybe look at it from the other point of view! Sometimes the people might not have another choice!! My parents house does not have a driveway, nor do they gave the space for a driveway so growing up I had no choice but to park on the road (we had three cars in the family). Thankfully where I lived, there was plenty of spaces so I didn't have to park outside someone else's house but if we didn't have that facility, I would have had to park outside someone's house whether I liked it or not.....contrary to what Linka said, why should I have to lug my shopping from down the road just so I don't park outside my neighbours house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Linka

Ashbx wrote: »
    However, maybe look at it from the other point of view! Sometimes the people might not have another choice!! My parents house does not have a driveway, nor do they gave the space for a driveway so growing up I had no choice but to park on the road (we had three cars in the family). Thankfully where I lived, there was plenty of spaces so I didn't have to park outside someone else's house but if we didn't have that facility, I would have had to park outside someone's house whether I liked it or not.....contrary to what Linka said, why should I have to lug my shopping from down the road just so I don't park outside my neighbours house.
    Honestly speaking, I've never been in your scenario, nor has my parents. We've always lived in areas that had the benefit of their own driveway. The cases aren't exactly the same as a result. I can only empathize with the inconvenience it must have caused you.

The neighbours I am referring to have had their driveway widened and could fit at least a second car into the driveway, but they do not. I recall driving behind their daughter one day coming into my parents estate and she bypassed the space outside their home and parked outside my parents house. We've known for a long time that what they are doing is in fact quite deliberate. She knew I was behind her too. Sometimes it goes beyond the dire need for extra parking in the area, it's typical of the juvenile carry on that goes on in estates. Did I park outside their house? No, I'm not juvenile nor a cunt. I put it over by a green area.

Well that's the mature thing to do alright! We live in a very small estate beside the luas so always have people parking outside my house. I work 9-5 also so thankfully it doesn't bother me as the cars have moved by the time I am back from work. But its people like this that make the estates go pay and display which is unfair for the people who live there and now have to pay to park their car outside their own house! I wouldn't be happy at all if someone was to park outside my house 24/7!

I sympathise with you because I can imagine how frustrating it is for you (especially with a poorly mother) to not be able to park outside your parents house....maybe take inspiration from this thread and try putting some cones down! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm moving into a new house on friday and i've 2 spaces allocated to me, as per the contract terms.

Even today there are people parked in them...as we try to lug boxes in to the house. They are directly to the front of the house.

Last saturday i parked behind the 2 cars parked there. 20 mins passed and the bell rings....

"can you move your van, my dad can't get out"

"probably shouldn't have parked in our spaces then"

*narky* "didn't see your name on them"

*lifts contract from hall table*..."it's just there - you see that mark on the drawing beside number 18"

Then to really take the biscuit i look outside the living room window and i see someone trying to force a corsa up the side entry, taking flowers and half the lawn with them!! "Pity you weren't driving a bus - you could have taken all the lawn"...move to fcuk!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I remember growing up one kid telling me about how when you buy a house in an estate you own the land the house is on, and half of the road in front of it. Apparently that's what his parents had told him.

I've since heard the same nonsense from a few other sources. So I do think there's a belief in some quarters that you have a sole right to the space in front of your house, including the footpath.

Sticking a cone out is not illegal unless you are disrupting the flow of traffic. Likewise, there is nothing illegal about moving the cone and just parking in the space. People who put the cones out are relying on the fact that most people are just too lazy and/or timid to get out and move the cone before parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Like someone else said, it's Ireland, we do what the fcuk we like :D

But why are you parking in front of someone's house?? This drives me nuts at home, I don't drive so people think it's ok to park right outside my door blocking my nice view to the park :mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

--LOS-- wrote: »
    But why are you parking in front of someone's house??
    Better wifi signal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

seamus wrote: »
    Sticking a cone out is not illegal unless you are disrupting the flow of traffic. Likewise, there is nothing illegal about moving the cone and just parking in the space. People who put the cones out are relying on the fact that most people are just too lazy and/or timid to get out and move the cone before parking.

I'd say if you did though, you be risking having the side of your car keyed or the air let out of your tyres. That's what would put me off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Read title as Clones.
    Thread dissapoints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I live in private apartments, I have a space it has my apartment number on it. I pay a fee to the management company this includes a fee for my parking space, bins etc.. There is a public parking area for visitors assigned not to far away. I have no car yet people still insist in parking in my space. I pay for it they should go park in the visitors space. I should technically call the clamping lads from the management company every time some random parks in my space but I'm not that kind of person. Funny thing is the people round here if i was doing this to them there would be f*oking war. It’s just like some random person sticking things in your bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I know a guy who got so pi55ed off at people parking in front of his house leaving him with having to park his van a few streets away that he would pick up some dog crap with a stick and smear it under the car door handle.

The "offender" gets back to their car,reaches for the handle and gets poo in their hand.

It is a scummy thing to do but if it happens all the time I can see why you would lose the plot

Not sure if they have a residents permit system now but in the past so many people abused that street to go to the shops or cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Put the cone on your head and pretend you're a bull and ram into their front door. Again and again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

I know a guy who got so pi55ed off at people parking in front of his house leaving him with having to park his van a few streets away that he would pick up some dog crap with a stick and smear it under the car door handle.

The "offender" gets back to their car,reaches for the handle and gets poo in their hand.

It is a scummy thing to do but if it happens all the time I can see why you would lose the plot

Not sure if they have a residents permit system now but in the past so many people abused that street to go to the shops or cinema.

Smart move.

Its not like they know where you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭simplybam

Linka wrote: »
    I'm glad this discussion came up. Firstly, I agree with Madam. With no thanks to neighbours on one side of my parents I have to park down the road in order to visit (my Father keeps his car in their drive way). My parents are getting on a bit in age, with my Mother frequently visiting hospital at the moment. I also take her to do her shopping and any other errands that need doing. The people next door have FOUR cars. They take up the space in their drive and the other three are parked outside the very nearest houses including outside my parents. They aren't really the kind of reasonable people that you could have a chat with about the matter either.

Parking outside your neighbours home mightn't be illegal, but I think it is inconsiderate. Having to take your parents shopping out of the car from down the road up to the house is a pain in the hole.

You're not that weirdo guy living across the road from me, are ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

There is a woman on my road does not even have a car and the cones are out, I think everyone is jumping on the bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

What do you mean "everyone"?

I live in a development of houses and apartments. I try to park as close to my place as I can, but if there aren't any spaces left, I'm not doing anything wrong by parking outside someone's house. Nobody has ownership over the parking spaces - they just have to be a resident of the complex.

conorhal wrote: »
    It's not those people that are annoying to me so much as the ones that seem to think they're entitled to park outside their own house, park their missus car outside their neighbours house and their teenage brats junker outside the neighbouors three doors down. Typically it's these kind of people that generate such traffic cone territorial pissing.

They are entitled to do all those things if it's on-street parking.

It's on-street parking on a public road - it belongs to everyone. That there are houses on the road is coincidental - so long as nobody is blocking any entrances or the road itself then that is as considerate as people need to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

We do it outside my Nanny's most Sundays and some Saturdays. She lives near Croke Park and if it wasn't done, she wouldn't have a space to get back to in the estate. She'll leave the garda no parking cones outside her house when she leaves, and bring them in when she's back. Parking in her estate on match days is at a premium, after her heart attack she made an application and the guards gave her two cones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    We do it outside my Nanny's most Sundays and some Saturdays. She lives near Croke Park and if it wasn't done, she wouldn't have a space to get back to in the estate. She'll leave the garda no parking cones outside her house when she leaves, and bring them in when she's back. Parking in her estate on match days is at a premium, after her heart attack she made an application and the guards gave her two cones.

The Guards give out those cones? I thought they were all nicked!

I know someone who painted a box junction in the turning space beside his house and was told to remove it or be brought to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

The Guards give out those cones? I thought they were all nicked!

I know someone who painted a box junction in the turning space beside his house and was told to remove it or be brought to court.

Depends on the area. They'll give it out if it's elderly residents or residents who have mobility difficulties in an area that it happens often in.