Scars

• 21-06-2014 09:28AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Or marks of good stories as I like to call 'em. Mostly 'cause I have quite a few so I don't have any other choice!! :D

I have one on my stomach from a tattoo (bad idea) removal (worse idea) that went badly wrong. I have another on my leg from an operation after a fridge freezer fell on me. One on my knee after I skateboarded into and under a truck (this was only last year - I had never skateboarded before and ended up on a hill towards a busy intersection - like a fking genius). And now I seem to be cultivating one on the inside of my wrist after a particularly intimate encounter with some barbed wire during an obstacle course last weekend.

Have a few other smaller once that have faded over time like when I fell off a tree onto another, pointier tree, or when I found my dad's razor as a toddler and decided to give myself a shave.

Anybody else a total disaster like me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I have a scar on the back of my right leg from a severe bout of cellulitis last October, Its not a good story though, cellulitis is pure evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I've a scar the length of my chest after having heart surgery as an infant.

Great talking point for the ladies though whenever I find myself shirtless in their company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Scar on my back from where I fell in barbed wire (on my birthday!).

Scar on my finger from when I dropped a heavy stone on it at the beach.

Scar on my thumb from when I cut it with a knife when slicing an apple.

Best story though, is the scar on the back of my head from when six-year-old-me fell off my brother's shoulders and landed on an upturned plug. Had to go to hospital to have it removed and stitched. The doctor was Indian/Pakistani (I suppose) and I screamed at my mother not to let the brown man touch me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Do mental scars count? I've a fair few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I'm covered in the bloody things. Causes ranging from barbed wire and knives, broken glass, to turtle bites (Yep...). I always like to see and wonder about people's scars myself, but I have enough of them, so I guess it comes from that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I have a scar on my scrotum. I was born with 4 large testicles, so they operated and removed 2 of them. The removed ones were donated to 2 people who only had a single testicle each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Fairly significant burns from an incident with a hot drink as a baby. I don't even notice them any more but I think they're pretty awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭magicmonkeys

I've a couple of small ones, but three large surgical scars from when I broke my femur playing rugby a couple of months ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Ruptured appendix that was left untreated for a dew days left me with 15 stitches beside my navel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

I have a scar on the back of my right leg from a severe bout of cellulitis last October, Its not a good story though, cellulitis is pure evil

Jaysus - just Googled Cellulitis. Nasty! Would have thought it was just a skin complaint or something!
    osarusan wrote: »
    Best story though, is the scar on the back of my head from when six-year-old-me fell off my brother's shoulders and landed on an upturned plug. Had to go to hospital to have it removed and stitched. The doctor was Indian/Pakistani (I suppose) and I screamed at my mother not to let the brown man touch me.

Upturned plugs are the devil's work!
    Do mental scars count? I've a fair few of them.

No - just physical. :pac:
    I'm covered in the bloody things. Causes ranging from barbed wire and knives, broken glass, to turtle bites (Yep...). I always like to see and wonder about people's scars myself, but I have enough of them, so I guess it comes from that.

I'm the same. Always wonder about people's scars. But I don't meet that many people with them. Just me!
    Fairly significant burns from an incident with a hot drink as a baby. I don't even notice them any more but I think they're pretty awesome.

Yeah - I hated one of my scars for ages (during the teenage angst years), but now I wear it with pride.

Metal plate in arm, scar as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I have a lightning bolt (aka Harry potter) scar at the tip of my nose. It's very faint though. Got it when I cycled into a pot hole when I was younger and flew off the bike.

Have two on my fingers from messing around with melting stuff in the fire, used to be a bit of a pyromaniac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I have .....

a tiny scar above my left eye from a dog bite when I was 8.

a 2 inch scar on the right side of my head near my temple from same dog bite.

an appendectomy scar 4 inches long

a 1 inch gallbladder surgery scar

a small 2 inch scar on my stomach when I burnt myself reaching into a high cupboard as I was cooking on the stove.

and a c-section scar (from 2 different c-sections 5 years apart) ...10 inches long

I also have a 2 inch long scar on the end of my thumb from when I was trying to cut open a golf ball. (don't ask)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Where do I start...

head
    right/left eyebrows
    right collar bone (plate/pins)
    right wrist (pins)
    right knee (replacement)
    right ankle (pins)
    lower left abdomen (stabbed)
    left knee
    arse (road rash)

Motorcycles are fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have quite a few, but thankfully most of them have got smaller over the years,the most visible one was on the side of my cheek, but it's more or less shrunk now or me face just expanded :-)

Jaysus - you're all a bunch of unfortunate feckers! :D I forgot another one of mine, also on my knee, after I fell into (and got trapped in) a fountain in Thailand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

I've a scar on the sole of my foot which looks like a freckle. Stood on a weever fish in Spanish Point years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

I've also got one on my chin from where a home made spear was thrown at me & found it's target
    Plus a 4 inch one on the back of my head from when I fell down the stairs & woke up in hospital 7 hours later :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

One on my knee from falling on a bottle as a kid and one on my side from a fight in my teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hmm, just a selection:

Hands and arms
    -broken glass opened heel of hand
    -knife cut across fingers
    -insect bite scar on back of one hand
    -rashy part from getting it caught in some machinery across the back of that hand
    -bite mark in thumb web
    -unknown small scar on the back of the other hand.
    -rash from falling on broken glass while running on one wrist
    -same wrist also has a mark from getting opened by someone's high heels when I caught them as they jumped down off a wall.
    -Burned lines in the same wrist from taking something out of the oven.
    -Seven inch gash on the upper arm from barbed wire.

I need to be more careful...

I've also got one on my chin from where a home made spear was thrown at me & found it's target.

I like this one in particular! :p

Feel better now - it's not just me!!

The scar-to-be on my wrist still fecking hurts though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Got a few scars. I have 2 on my forehead cos when I was about 5 I tripped over in the garden and split my head open on a rock. A few days later I tripped up in the same place and split the other side open on the SAME rock.

I have another one on my nose where I was out my brains one night and walked or rather fell into a metal piece sticking out the corner of the shed and knocked myself out. Woke up at 7 in the morning panned out in the garden with dried blood all over my face.

Another huge scar on my hand where I slipped on piss in a nightclub toilet and landed on a pint glass. Nearly lost my thumb and a week in hospital wasn't much fun.

Oh and a scar on my leg where my friend stabbed me by accident years ago. Cheers friend:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I've some beauties.

I have an inch-long, thick keloid on the middle my forehead where I was bottled on the St Patrick's Day before last. After having choice words with a Jamaican Yardie in a kebab shop I suggested we go outside to finish our differences. Unfortunately I neglected to notice the bottle of Corona he had in his hand. My old doll at the time was a nurse so I got her to glue it back together when I got home. She didn't do a good job.

When I was 16 I got cracked over the head with a rounders bat type yoke in a dispute with rival youths. Six stitches in the back of my head.

P*ssing about with a Stanley knife when I was around 13 led me to shear the back of my left index open. I never knew how white bone was until you see it. I still can't feel that part of my finger.

My piece de resistance however was when I had surgery on my testicles as a kid and to this day I have a pronounced angry ridge on my ball sack. Always a conversation opener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

One on my back and one on my arm from minor operations (the arm looks like an eye :/ )
    Been pretty lucky scar wise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Ka_yl_ei_gh

I have a scar on my foot because I kicked a knife, got 8 stitches.

How in the name of God does that happen???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Ka_yl_ei_gh

FTA69 wrote: »
    How in the name of God does that happen???

Left on the floor by someone, phone rings. I ran to get the phone and didn't notice the knife, kicked it across the kitchen floor, nearly lost a toe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Tiny one on my lip from a drunken knife fight. Some on my hands from sources unknown. Some on my arm from a skin condition as a child.

Merciful hour, that's a bit of a 'Father Ted brick on the floor' moment isn't? Who leaves a sharp knife on the floor? "I've just finished making this sandwich so I'll pop the auld knife on the floor for safe keeping." Still it can happen I suppose, I thought initially you were having a game of nods and volleys with a carving knife or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Have a deep burn mark at the bottom of my neck from when I was in the army and a casing from a fired round from a machine gun flew out of the gun and went down my collar and stuck to my skin. I screamed so loud they thought I'd been shot.
    Also missing a bit of the top of my thumb after not watch what I was doing when chopping an onion.