Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scars

• 21-06-2014 8:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Or marks of good stories as I like to call 'em. Mostly 'cause I have quite a few so I don't have any other choice!! :D

I have one on my stomach from a tattoo (bad idea) removal (worse idea) that went badly wrong. I have another on my leg from an operation after a fridge freezer fell on me. One on my knee after I skateboarded into and under a truck (this was only last year - I had never skateboarded before and ended up on a hill towards a busy intersection - like a fking genius). And now I seem to be cultivating one on the inside of my wrist after a particularly intimate encounter with some barbed wire during an obstacle course last weekend.

Have a few other smaller once that have faded over time like when I fell off a tree onto another, pointier tree, or when I found my dad's razor as a toddler and decided to give myself a shave.

Anybody else a total disaster like me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I have a scar on the back of my right leg from a severe bout of cellulitis last October, Its not a good story though, cellulitis is pure evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I've a scar the length of my chest after having heart surgery as an infant.

Great talking point for the ladies though whenever I find myself shirtless in their company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Scar on my back from where I fell in barbed wire (on my birthday!).

Scar on my finger from when I dropped a heavy stone on it at the beach.

Scar on my thumb from when I cut it with a knife when slicing an apple.

Best story though, is the scar on the back of my head from when six-year-old-me fell off my brother's shoulders and landed on an upturned plug. Had to go to hospital to have it removed and stitched. The doctor was Indian/Pakistani (I suppose) and I screamed at my mother not to let the brown man touch me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Do mental scars count? I've a fair few of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I'm covered in the bloody things. Causes ranging from barbed wire and knives, broken glass, to turtle bites (Yep...). I always like to see and wonder about people's scars myself, but I have enough of them, so I guess it comes from that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I have a scar on my scrotum. I was born with 4 large testicles, so they operated and removed 2 of them. The removed ones were donated to 2 people who only had a single testicle each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Fairly significant burns from an incident with a hot drink as a baby. I don't even notice them any more but I think they're pretty awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭magicmonkeys

I've a couple of small ones, but three large surgical scars from when I broke my femur playing rugby a couple of months ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Ruptured appendix that was left untreated for a dew days left me with 15 stitches beside my navel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

I have a scar on the back of my right leg from a severe bout of cellulitis last October, Its not a good story though, cellulitis is pure evil

Jaysus - just Googled Cellulitis. Nasty! Would have thought it was just a skin complaint or something!
    osarusan wrote: »
    Best story though, is the scar on the back of my head from when six-year-old-me fell off my brother's shoulders and landed on an upturned plug. Had to go to hospital to have it removed and stitched. The doctor was Indian/Pakistani (I suppose) and I screamed at my mother not to let the brown man touch me.

Upturned plugs are the devil's work!
    Do mental scars count? I've a fair few of them.

No - just physical. :pac:
    I'm covered in the bloody things. Causes ranging from barbed wire and knives, broken glass, to turtle bites (Yep...). I always like to see and wonder about people's scars myself, but I have enough of them, so I guess it comes from that.

I'm the same. Always wonder about people's scars. But I don't meet that many people with them. Just me!
    Fairly significant burns from an incident with a hot drink as a baby. I don't even notice them any more but I think they're pretty awesome.

Yeah - I hated one of my scars for ages (during the teenage angst years), but now I wear it with pride.

Metal plate in arm, scar as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I have a lightning bolt (aka Harry potter) scar at the tip of my nose. It's very faint though. Got it when I cycled into a pot hole when I was younger and flew off the bike.

Have two on my fingers from messing around with melting stuff in the fire, used to be a bit of a pyromaniac.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I have .....

a tiny scar above my left eye from a dog bite when I was 8.

a 2 inch scar on the right side of my head near my temple from same dog bite.

an appendectomy scar 4 inches long

a 1 inch gallbladder surgery scar

a small 2 inch scar on my stomach when I burnt myself reaching into a high cupboard as I was cooking on the stove.

and a c-section scar (from 2 different c-sections 5 years apart) ...10 inches long

I also have a 2 inch long scar on the end of my thumb from when I was trying to cut open a golf ball. (don't ask)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

Where do I start...

head
    right/left eyebrows
    right collar bone (plate/pins)
    right wrist (pins)
    right knee (replacement)
    right ankle (pins)
    lower left abdomen (stabbed)
    left knee
    arse (road rash)

Motorcycles are fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have quite a few, but thankfully most of them have got smaller over the years,the most visible one was on the side of my cheek, but it's more or less shrunk now or me face just expanded :-)

Jaysus - you're all a bunch of unfortunate feckers! :D I forgot another one of mine, also on my knee, after I fell into (and got trapped in) a fountain in Thailand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

I've a scar on the sole of my foot which looks like a freckle. Stood on a weever fish in Spanish Point years ago.

I've also got one on my chin from where a home made spear was thrown at me & found it's target
    Plus a 4 inch one on the back of my head from when I fell down the stairs & woke up in hospital 7 hours later :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

One on my knee from falling on a bottle as a kid and one on my side from a fight in my teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hmm, just a selection:

Hands and arms
    -broken glass opened heel of hand
    -knife cut across fingers
    -insect bite scar on back of one hand
    -rashy part from getting it caught in some machinery across the back of that hand
    -bite mark in thumb web
    -unknown small scar on the back of the other hand.
    -rash from falling on broken glass while running on one wrist
    -same wrist also has a mark from getting opened by someone's high heels when I caught them as they jumped down off a wall.
    -Burned lines in the same wrist from taking something out of the oven.
    -Seven inch gash on the upper arm from barbed wire.

I need to be more careful...

I've also got one on my chin from where a home made spear was thrown at me & found it's target.

I like this one in particular! :p

Feel better now - it's not just me!!

The scar-to-be on my wrist still fecking hurts though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Got a few scars. I have 2 on my forehead cos when I was about 5 I tripped over in the garden and split my head open on a rock. A few days later I tripped up in the same place and split the other side open on the SAME rock.

I have another one on my nose where I was out my brains one night and walked or rather fell into a metal piece sticking out the corner of the shed and knocked myself out. Woke up at 7 in the morning panned out in the garden with dried blood all over my face.

Another huge scar on my hand where I slipped on piss in a nightclub toilet and landed on a pint glass. Nearly lost my thumb and a week in hospital wasn't much fun.

Oh and a scar on my leg where my friend stabbed me by accident years ago. Cheers friend:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I've some beauties.

I have an inch-long, thick keloid on the middle my forehead where I was bottled on the St Patrick's Day before last. After having choice words with a Jamaican Yardie in a kebab shop I suggested we go outside to finish our differences. Unfortunately I neglected to notice the bottle of Corona he had in his hand. My old doll at the time was a nurse so I got her to glue it back together when I got home. She didn't do a good job.

When I was 16 I got cracked over the head with a rounders bat type yoke in a dispute with rival youths. Six stitches in the back of my head.

P*ssing about with a Stanley knife when I was around 13 led me to shear the back of my left index open. I never knew how white bone was until you see it. I still can't feel that part of my finger.

My piece de resistance however was when I had surgery on my testicles as a kid and to this day I have a pronounced angry ridge on my ball sack. Always a conversation opener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

One on my back and one on my arm from minor operations (the arm looks like an eye :/ )
    Been pretty lucky scar wise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Ka_yl_ei_gh

I have a scar on my foot because I kicked a knife, got 8 stitches.

How in the name of God does that happen???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Ka_yl_ei_gh

FTA69 wrote: »
    How in the name of God does that happen???

Left on the floor by someone, phone rings. I ran to get the phone and didn't notice the knife, kicked it across the kitchen floor, nearly lost a toe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Tiny one on my lip from a drunken knife fight. Some on my hands from sources unknown. Some on my arm from a skin condition as a child.

Merciful hour, that's a bit of a 'Father Ted brick on the floor' moment isn't? Who leaves a sharp knife on the floor? "I've just finished making this sandwich so I'll pop the auld knife on the floor for safe keeping." Still it can happen I suppose, I thought initially you were having a game of nods and volleys with a carving knife or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Have a deep burn mark at the bottom of my neck from when I was in the army and a casing from a fired round from a machine gun flew out of the gun and went down my collar and stuck to my skin. I screamed so loud they thought I'd been shot.
    Also missing a bit of the top of my thumb after not watch what I was doing when chopping an onion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

One above my eye where I hit myself in the face with a drill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

One on the side of my chest that looks like a bullet wound. It's not, but it still looks cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've a few on my face, one right across the bridge of my nose, that's were I lost an.argument with a barbed wire fence. One on side of my nose, angle grinder to thank for that one.

Also cracker scar on my.small finger, left hand. (Band saw) I'm a hard working, but.clumsy bastard.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

One on my forehead from my sister dropping me on my face on a road when I was a baby, it's how I ended up this way:p
    harry potter scar from a headbutt in a fight about somebody I care a lot for.
    One on wrist from punching through one of those thick windows with a wire grid inside them
    Back riddled from acne but has improved greatly

Looks like some of us will be winning a Darwin award soon!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Lots of scars on both knees from multiple surgeries, with one of them looking like a map of a traffic intersection. Only others are a small one on my forehead from when I fell when I was 4 and a faded one on the inside of my wrist where I knocked the head off a chicken pock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Anytime I look at my scars I remember all the hi-jinks I got up to as a wee chap :D

- scars under chin from doing an endo going downhill on a mountain bike and sliding along for a while.
    -scars across the knuckles on my right hand from falling off a bike
    -long scar under back of wrist from piece of metal catching on pillar drill and whipping around.
    -few scars on back of neck/hairline from branches hitting me while on a horse.
    -scar on knee/leg/left arm from getting thrown from a horse
    -scars across toes from hitting a reef

I'm still damn pretty though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I've one on the back if my calf/ankle where I had an operation to have a ruptured achilles tendon stitched back together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

I have a scar from the bottom of my chest all the way down to my penis, caused by bowel surgery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

No scar master race, feel free to ask me anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

Or marks of good stories as I like to call 'em. Mostly 'cause I have quite a few so I don't have any other choice!! :D

I have one on my stomach from a tattoo (bad idea) removal (worse idea) that went badly wrong. I have another on my leg from an operation after a fridge freezer fell on me. One on my knee after I skateboarded into and under a truck (this was only last year - I had never skateboarded before and ended up on a hill towards a busy intersection - like a fking genius). And now I seem to be cultivating one on the inside of my wrist after a particularly intimate encounter with some barbed wire during an obstacle course last weekend.

Have a few other smaller once that have faded over time like when I fell off a tree onto another, pointier tree, or when I found my dad's razor as a toddler and decided to give myself a shave.

Anybody else a total disaster like me??

Bet you're nickname's Lucky? :D
    Right?

Bet you're nickname's Lucky? :D
    Right?

Actually it's Bambi. Feel free to guess why! :pac: :pac:

Snap!

Wandered into the kitchen when I was 3 and pulled a cup of tea down on myself. I was quite badly damaged from it. I think because I've always had it it's not such a big deal but I would still be cautious of someone seeing it intimately for the first time but only in case they were someone uncomfortable with it. It's hard to explain.

I have a scar on my knee from where I was pushed over at a wedding by a drunk aunt and onto glass, when it healed I realised that there was glass still inside and I was hoping it'd work itself out, it didn't need to. I fell a couple of months later straight onto my knee, cracking my knee cap in the process and busting it open - releasing the trapped glass!

I have a scar on my eyebrow from when I fell out of the top bunk as a kid and one on my shin from a water park in de canaries.

I fall over a lot and always manage to do a fair amount of damage in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

I have one on my knee from falling repeatedly as a child. It's a patch of a scar, should probably have got stitches. I also have one on my finger, sliced it opened with the top of a dog food thin. My granaunt stitched it up. It's my favourite scar, as it reminds me of her. <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Scar running across my left cheek below my eye from a tumour I got removed when I was 13. Cos nothing could have improved being a young teenage girl like the addition of a purple lump covering half my face :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Scar through my eyebrow which makes me look im TRYING to be, not even actually the guy from Boyzone who turns his car with only one palm on the steering wheel coz he is cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I've got a scar on my finger from a teenager pushing me under a seesaw on my bike when I was 5, the seesaw came down and split my finger open.

There's a huge scar on my bikini line from ovarian cyst surgery.

My left arm looks like a shark took a bite out of me, most of the armpit is gone after all the glands in it where removed and the area was skin grafted. It's actually a really cool looking scar but it's a nuisance having one upper arm that's much smaller than the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I also have a scar on my left baby finger from a glass disintegrating in my hand. The shard went in just below the nail and came out at the knuckle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Jesus some people in here have been through the mill. Iv nothing major just small stuff thank ****.

Small scar under my right eye. I was about 7 and two dogs were riding but I thought I was breaking up a fight. Boy dog wasn't happy I was cock blocking him.

Semi circle scar under my left eye. I was on a pair or roller skates as a kid, both legs rolled backwards and I landed eyeball first on a scooter handle. The rubber grip had worn off so I landed on the end of the metal handlebar tube. TCP and a tissue fixed that.

Shredded the skin and some bone from the knuckles in my left hand. Kneeling on a skateboard with my hands gripped around it. Flew straight into a kerb and stopped about 5ft later. Skin was just hanging off. That was a sore one.

Fell and landed on my left hand, the palm kind of burst, theres a scar there.

Two scars either side of my kneecap from when a freshly sharpened garden shears sliced into it. TCP and a sponge fixed that.

Scar on my upper arm from barbwire

A few others on my hands from knives and stuff.

Never actually went to the hospital for any of them or anything else really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Why is this thread so interesting? I'm fascinated by other people's injuries.
    urabell wrote: »
    No scar master race, feel free to ask me anything

It puts the lotion on its skin... :pac: