Anyone else notice a load of patronising ads on TV/radio recently?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I don't really get the idea behind it. He headbutts her to avoid having to have sex with her?

It's not even that nicely shot though.

I have no idea what it's about but then again you can say the same for many ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

KKkitty wrote: »
    I'm female and find most ads to be condescending and patronising towards men. Any ad to do with babies always has the Mammy character to the fore of the commercial. That Donal ad tried to make men out to be complete idiots at diy. The diet coke ads with topless men is also degrading. If the role was reversed and a woman was shown in that way bleeding heart feminists would be up in arms.

Even the ads with lots of scantily-clad women are often very patronising to men, like "Here's some bewbies, buy this product. Ya numpty"

But - and I mean this in the most polite way possible - shurrup about the Diet Coke ad. :) That was 20 years ago, and it's still harped on about despite there being an absolute avalanche of ads featuring scantily-clad women are being produced every single year. The fact the such an old ad is so frequently referenced shows how relatively few ads there are sexually objectifying men. The role is not only reversed, it's completely uneven. It's not even remotely close. And there aren't bleeding heart feminists up in arms. C'mon, you know this, right?

The main issue facing men in advertising is them being portrayed as complete idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

The government ones about childhood obesity are pretty serious offenders I thought.

"Don't make your child into a fattie."

-Sincerely: The Irish Government

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

"Girls from all over Ireland are waiting to have fun on the phone right now"

...I think not.

The bin your chewing gum, by dancing over to the bin in your own special way ad drives me mad. The most condescending ad ever!

Special mention to p&g too in their ads for everything. Supporting mums...yeah cos there's nowt in it for you?! Oh and what about dads? Do you not support them?

These are two excellent examples right here.

Jeez, my post was faintly patronising like I was patting dottie lottie on the head. :D Maybe I should work in advertising...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

There is an actual background to this, that was discussed at length. I say discussed, a mate of hours works in the upper echelons of marketing executive world, and someone brought the subject up.

While he isn't involved in any of the ads personally, he says there is a thought process that derives around woman now being equal, in some cases, superior, breadwinners for families.

Typically throughout history men have been portrayed in a very sterotypical manly way, the rock of the household, with woman being a glinty eyed damsel in distress, so happy for her man. His indication, from some research and consultancy work, is that because woman are a much more "financial staple" in society now, that there is a shift in terms of spreading the image of who is the superior.

While the ads you mention don't even contain woman, they contain men of questionable intellect and super nievity. The thought process in some cases, is that at a subsconcious level, woman watching will feel they need to be involved, and heavily involved, in matters regarding household expenses as their partner cannot be trusted alone.

I don't know about anyone else, but my girlfriend and myself talk most of that stuff out, and its a joint decision. But like with everyone in this realm, things are stereotyped, a majority assumed, and a majority targetted.

That's one possible reason for it anyway, you'll notice that ALOT of the "household" expenses advertisements, are a male being a bit "clueless" and a female advising of a great deal or new service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

OldNotWIse wrote: »

...I think not.

Did you check?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Tarzana wrote: »
    Even the ads with lots of scantily-clad women are often very patronising to men, like "Here's some bewbies, buy this product. Ya numpty"

But - and I mean this in the most polite way possible - shurrup about the Diet Coke ad. :) That was 20 years ago, and it's still harped on about despite there being an absolute avalanche of ads featuring scantily-clad women are being produced every single year. The fact the such an old ad is so frequently referenced shows how relatively few ads there are sexually objectifying men. The role is not only reversed, it's completely uneven. It's not even remotely close. And there aren't bleeding heart feminists up in arms. C'mon, you know this, right?

The main issue facing men in advertising is them being portrayed as complete idiots.
    Thank you, perfectly put.
    The way the Diet Coke ad (ONE ad) gets wheeled out constantly is turning into a parody at this stage. And it's bizarre the way some people still think it's a great point. It's like the "You need a licence to have a dog but not a child" thing - beyond flogged to death, yet people think it's such a brilliant soundbite. :confused:
    I don't give a hoot about women in bras and knickers being sexually alluring to advertise stuff (I actually think they're dead right to make money from their physical assets) but if someone does express concern about how women are depicted in ads, as you say, something besides the Diet Coke ad from the mid 1990s (ok it was remade recently - over 15 years later; a bit racier but overall the same idea) would make a better case as a counter-argument.
    The "Donal" ad for example. And numerous other ones like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Magaggie wrote: »
    Thank you, perfectly put.
    The way the Diet Coke ad (ONE ad) gets wheeled out constantly is turning into a parody at this stage. And it's bizarre the way some people still think it's a great point. It's like the "You need a licence to have a dog but not a child" thing - beyond flogged to death, yet people think it's such a brilliant soundbite. :confused:
    I don't give a hoot about women in bras and knickers being sexually alluring to advertise stuff (I actually think they're dead right to make money from their physical assets) but if someone does express concern about how women are depicted in ads, as you say, something besides the Diet Coke ad from the mid 1990s (ok it was remade recently - over 15 years later; a bit racier but overall the same idea) would make a better case as a counter-argument.
    The "Donal" ad for example. And numerous other ones like that.

You could chuck in the Calvin Klein ads with yer man in the speedos. Or anything with Beckham. Or the One-Sheet lad in the spandex pants.

I record most of the programmes I want to watch and zap through the ads, so I can't comment and if I'm watching live TV, I just kill the sound and read something.

PS I have adblock plus running as well, if I want something, I'll look for it- I don't want someone telling me that I "need" stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Most misogynist adverts run in magazines targeted to women, these days, and they tend to be "Upmarket" ones, like Vogue, so on. Some of them are absolutely atrotious. Adverts are predominantly targeted towards women, kind of as a rule. Television shows men as borderline retards or a commodity, print shows women as the object of desire (To a forcible extent which hasn't moved passed the Mad Men era) with men as the power figure. There's a weird disjointed thing going on there that's hard to explain.

Ads targeted towards men are mostly laughable. "Men, come on and clean yourself with the Ninja Star Scrubbing Brush! It's fucking rad'! You can put gel in it so you don't even have to bother remembering to use that shit, then you can watch soccer! Also, here's David Beckham, because we think he's still popular!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Not patronising but I cannot stand that ****ing Mc Donalds ad that's been on a lot lately

i hate the fact mcdonalds have banned e-cigs in their outlets due to "lack of evidence that they're safe" meanwhile everyone is gorging on food unfit for human consumption!!

...I think not.

Yeah, don't they know we hate fun? :pac:

Did you check?

Are you mad? At €2.90 a minute?

I record most of the programmes I want to watch and zap through the ads, so I can't comment and if I'm watching live TV, I just kill the sound and read something.

PS I have adblock plus running as well, if I want something, I'll look for it- I don't want someone telling me that I "need" stuff.

A valiant effort, but you'll still have succumbed to advertising at some stage in your life. Nobody ever thinks they have, but they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Most misogynist adverts run in magazines targeted to women, these days, and they tend to be "Upmarket" ones, like Vogue, so on. Some of them are absolutely atrotious. Adverts are predominantly targeted towards women, kind of as a rule. Television shows men as borderline retards or a commodity, print shows women as the object of desire (To a forcible extent which hasn't moved passed the Mad Men era) with men as the power figure. There's a weird disjointed thing going on there that's hard to explain.

Ads targeted towards men are mostly laughable. "Men, come on and clean yourself with the Ninja Star Scrubbing Brush! It's fucking rad'! You can put gel in it so you don't even have to bother remembering to use that shit, then you can watch soccer! Also, here's David Beckham, because we think he's still popular!"

Yeah, I'd have to agree they do tend to aim men's cosmetics ads incredibly patronisingly. They remind me of ads for He-Man toys from the 1980s.

Meanwhile women's cosmetics ads are just designed to make them feel bad about themselves and full of highly questionable makey up science to make them seem like pharmaceutical products!

They basically come down to: 'Looking like an old bag? Over the hill at 23…? Try new Oxygenic cream from Hideux (pronounced in affected French accent). Its unique Dihydrogen Monoxide (DHMO) complex could avoid the need for cosmetic surgery!

Skin can look up to 90% more radiant*

*made up scale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

If you want patronising then there's nothing that compares to the myraid of betting ads on Sky Sports.

Elite Singles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

They seem to have given up advertising laundry products. They used to be the almost textbook example of how to do patronising adverts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    Not so much patronising I don't think, but I just seen an ad about drink driving where some school kids are on a school trip in the park or wherever and a driver loses control and smashes into the bunch of children and rolls over them. It gets the point across in it's own eerie way. Drinking and driving = bad.

Although, the end of the ad is an empty classroom with the words "Shame on you" on the screen as Sweet Child Of Mine" playing. They may as well have said "THIS IS YOUR FAULT!"

Considering it's an ad about speeding, and not drink driving. I'm not so sure that you did get the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Elite Singles

Oliver has a particularly punchable face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Yeah, I saw the ad the last day. It was pretty bad alright.

Tarzana wrote: »
    A valiant effort, but you'll still have succumbed to advertising at some stage in your life. Nobody ever thinks they have, but they have.
    Of course, but now I have it largely under control, yes it's impossible to avoid them most of the time, but when I can, I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Vag

I can't stand the ad for Meteor with the blonde girl with the bun in her hair and the hipster glasses, rabbiting on about how she sold her game for '17 million' (multiple eyebrow raises).

Having said that it is nowhere near as painful as the West Coast Cooler ad where that girl goes 'We're not in Kansas anymore Todo'. It actually makes me want to tear me own face off. :mad:

Just had to get that off my chest. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I dont watch tv really but the tone of all voice-overs in ads is that of someone speaking to a baby shaking a bright shiny object in front of their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Seen a sanitary towel ad on recently that mimics those nappy ads like "have a sound sleep with no risk of leaks" with baby-ish music playing over the top.
    Dear God, it's bad enough to get periods, but to get such a patronizing advert for women?
    Does my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

gramar wrote: »
    If you want patronising then there's nothing that compares to the myraid of betting ads on Sky Sports.

You're a lad- you're a proper geezer- bet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I think there's a gap in the tv/radio marketing market. Just do an ad that says in normal person reading off a page voice 'here just wanted to make you aware of our product, you know it's part of business so we kind of have to do it. here is a picture of it. it's basically just a hammer as ye can see but it works and is marginally cheaper than some other hammers but probably not enough to drive to a farther away store than the slightly more expensive hammer but if you're in a store and ye see it and need it then grand. if not, grand also. cheers'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

we've been fiber powered have you?