Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else notice a load of patronising ads on TV/radio recently?

• 19-06-2014 5:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭

See that TV license one where all the lads are watching rugby on RTÉ and say how "it's really been improving over the past few years" and how they "love watching the punditry" and then they're all laughing and someone says some nonsense about the TV licence making the "great TV possible"? It was on about five minutes ago on RTÉ Two during half-time. Did this annoy anyone else? I actually felt like I was bring treated like an idiot, are the government actually under the impression that this condescending shíte that treats us like imbeciles is somehow meant to make us think the TV license's actual purpose is to improve the quality of our television?

There's a very similar one on radio about Irish Water and how they're "safeguarding our future", which is nonsense.

It is genuinely infuriating to be spoken to as if you're an easily-brainwashed idiot. Do they really think that we can't see that all they want is money?

What's worse is that it was taxpayer's money that paid for this insulting shíte.

Rant over, sorry people. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Damn straight OP!

Panty liners don't make me feel fresh at all. Smug bastards with their happy heads on rollerblades!

It's all lies.....fcuking lies I tells ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Not patronising but I cannot stand that ****ing Mc Donalds ad that's been on a lot lately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I love the precocious kids telling adults what to do or the insurance add were your man uses the ladder from the house to break in, They would never pay out on that.

Edit

And them bloody digestive adds associating fun hugs little puppies and all with their product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

MacBizzle wrote: »
    See that TV license one where all the lads are watching rugby on RTÉ and say how "it's really been improving over the past few years" and how they "love watching the punditry" and then they're all laughing and someone says some nonsense about the TV licence making the "great TV possible"? It was on about five minutes ago on RTÉ Two during half-time. Did this annoy anyone else? I actually felt like I was bring treated like an idiot, are the government actually under the impression that this condescending shíte that treats us like imbeciles is somehow meant to make us think the TV license's actual purpose is to improve the quality of our television?

There's a very similar one on radio about Irish Water and how they're "safeguarding our future", which is nonsense.

It is genuinely infuriating to be spoken to as if you're an easily-brainwashed idiot. Do they really think that we can't see that all they want is money?

What's worse is that it was taxpayer's money that paid for this insulting shíte.

Rant over, sorry people. :cool:
    Not just the ads....the entire Irish broadcasting system is inbred and patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Damn straight OP!

Panty liners don't make me feel fresh at all. Smug bastards with their happy heads on rollerblades!

But... you're a senor?

Ooooh right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

DrumSteve wrote: »
    But... you're a senor?

Ooooh right.

Señor / señorita / potato / tomato :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not patronising but I cannot stand that ****ing Mc Donalds ad that's been on a lot lately

So healthy you can even feed it to your unborn baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Ads have got a bit strange in the last few years.

It's almost as if Advertisers are afraid to show men as intelligent people and not complete morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I do find myself on occasion wishing that yer man from the Liberty insurance ad would meet a violent end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

This... Wtf... http://huff.to/1e8q2W8

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

But... you're a senor?

Ooooh right.

Is it wrong for a man to stay fresh and dry in this weather.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

But... you're a senor?

Ooooh right.

Is it wrong for a man to stay fresh and dry in this weather.

Ads have got a bit strange in the last few years.

It's almost as if Advertisers are afraid to show men as intelligent people and not complete morons.

Poor Donal. My favourite ones involve the girlfriend who is amazed her cretinous partner has managed to prepare a meal without burning down the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ads have always been patronising.

In retail the catchphrase is "the customer is always right."

In advertising it seems to be "the customer is always a moron."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Ads have always been patronising.

In retail the catchphrase is "the customer is always right."

In advertising it seems to be "the customer is always a moron."

No no clearly cleaning products are some kind of sorcery to us men just like cooking, Cold salads burst into flames.

I do the cooking the wife cant even boil water....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Damn straight OP!

Wiping my hole with cute puppies is all well and good but they're next to impossible to flush down the toilet afterwards.

• Site Banned Posts: 10 Sellecks_Tache

"Cancel the gym membership girls !!"

That Low-low butter ad really pulls the tassles on me tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

What are these ads of which you speak OP?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

'Spot me Bren!' makes me laugh every time I see it, sorry.
    No idea what the ad is for though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭PinkFly

That littlewoods advert for the school reunion does my head in with Caroline what's her face, argh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Not so much patronising I don't think, but I just seen an ad about drink driving where some school kids are on a school trip in the park or wherever and a driver loses control and smashes into the bunch of children and rolls over them. It gets the point across in it's own eerie way. Drinking and driving = bad.

Although, the end of the ad is an empty classroom with the words "Shame on you" on the screen as Sweet Child Of Mine" playing. They may as well have said "THIS IS YOUR FAULT!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

In Ad World, all men are either gibbering idiots or Utter studs in low cut Breitlings, and all women are freshness obsessed super-organisers, or half naked Goddesses preening their finery. Never in my life have I met an Ad World child though - "Oh my, what a super time we are having Daddy!". It's almost like they are trying to sell us some sort of altered reality, one that revolves around a wonderful product that strips the diamonds off a car with nice fragrance, high speed broadband, saves us time and that is cheaper, better and shinier than the one your smug neighbour owns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I feel bad for the students. They're always depicted as a load of dozey, bearded fools whose lives will change because the mobile phone company has offered them a €2 discount on hipsterpalooza festival tickets when they top up their phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Few slaps needed for the following ads:

"we call it the P&G effect". You can take it from us Irish moms, your doing great.....

That annoying mace ad, "cos we're pleased ta see ya".. (that same guy who was in the referendum voting ad last year with the weird 'glowing eyes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

The baby food ads are very patronising to fathers, its all mums mums mums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I'm female and find most ads to be condescending and patronising towards men. Any ad to do with babies always has the Mammy character to the fore of the commercial. That Donal ad tried to make men out to be complete idiots at diy. The diet coke ads with topless men is also degrading. If the role was reversed and a woman was shown in that way bleeding heart feminists would be up in arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

KKkitty wrote: »
    I'm female and find most ads to be condescending and patronising towards men. Any ad to do with babies always has the Mammy character to the fore of the commercial. That Donal ad tried to make men out to be complete idiots at diy.
    I agree.
    The diet coke ads with topless men is also degrading. If the role was reversed and a woman was shown in that way bleeding heart feminists would be up in arms.
    Are you actually saying no such ads exist? (Btw, I wouldn't have a problem with them - the women choose to appear in the ads; the Diet Coke ad - does nothing for me, it's a mistake for people to think all women love that kind of stuff).

I'm female and find most ads to be condescending and patronising towards men. Any ad to do with babies always has the Mammy character to the fore of the commercial. That Donal ad tried to make men out to be complete idiots at diy. The diet coke ads with topless men is also degrading. If the role was reversed and a woman was shown in that way bleeding heart feminists would be up in arms.
    couldnt agree more

the maltesers ad from a couple of years back is the same. its the one where the two fellas fall asleep on the sofa and the women put them as if they are about to kiss. Imagine if that was fellas doing it to women, the feminazis would have instant erections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

The bin your chewing gum, by dancing over to the bin in your own special way ad drives me mad. The most condescending ad ever!

Special mention to p&g too in their ads for everything. Supporting mums...yeah cos there's nowt in it for you?! Oh and what about dads? Do you not support them?

Magaggie wrote: »
    I agree.

Are you actually saying no such ads exist? (Btw, I wouldn't have a problem with them - the women choose to appear in the ads; the Diet Coke ad - does nothing for me, it's a mistake for people to think all women love that kind of stuff).

It's the gangs of women ogling the men in those ads that annoys me. If say an ad was made that showed a group of men purposely getting a woman's top wet and she stripped to her bra and said men were basically salivating over her there'd be uproar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Women can't defecate without yogurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

It's the gangs of women ogling the men in those ads that annoys me. If say an ad was made that showed a group of men purposely getting a woman's top wet and she stripped to her bra and said men were basically salivating over her there'd be uproar.

It portrays women as mindless, vapid droolies. It's insulting too women if anything.

I'm not saying its right but for every diet coke ad there's a lynx or hunkey dorys ad, for some reason advertisers seem to think the only way to advertise to women is either to objectify men or make them clowns, and the only way to advertise to men is with sexy women.

It should be seen as a failure on the part of advertisers that they have to resort to worn out tropes to push product.

I'm not saying its right but for every diet coke ad there's a lynx or hunkey dorys ad, for some reason advertisers seem to think the only way to advertise to women is either to objectify men or make them clowns, and the only way to advertise to men is with sexy women.

It should be seen as a failure on the part of advertisers that they have to resort to worn out tropes to push product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

I don't like how every supermarket food ad seems to be pulling at the heart strings of parents, telling them that buying these sausages will create great memories for the kids etc. I find that patronizing in a way.

The adage "sex sells" is becoming archaic I think. Nicole bloody Scherzinger can't seem to wash her hair or eat a flipping yoghurt without having an orgasm over it. Maybe that's why Lewis and her keep breaking up. Poor Lewis can't tell if she's faking it or not.

maybe he was upset at her winning the eurovision this year

She was looking the Wurst for wear at the Eurovision :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I dont watch ads anymore on tv, why would you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Them ads where you see the whole family eating dinner ,passing the fish fingers or beans etc and there all talking over one another, does my head in.

The one where the dentists are recommending one brand of toothpaste, in the ever so serious way.

:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Bring back Craig Doyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Not sure if I should post here since this ad is on the side of a Dublin Bus.
    The ad reads:

'SONY XPERIA Z2, The connoisseur's choice'

So I can call myself a connoisseur if I buy this thing? What does this connoisseur status afford me? I suppose it does'nt matter what provider I use as a connoisseur, Vodaphone, Tesco Mobile.
    The Commodore 64 was also sold as a 'Connoisseur pack' back in the day.
    whatever. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Women can't defecate without yogurt.

And women who are constipated actually store their sh1t in their handbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Poor Donal. My favourite ones involve the girlfriend who is amazed her cretinous partner has managed to prepare a meal without burning down the house.

Weird as well since i've never met a woman who can cook very well in my life.

And yes that includes my mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I do find myself on occasion wishing that yer man from the Liberty insurance ad would meet a violent end.

The man likes to walk and talk. Walking and talking like a mentaller.

I can't decide if he looks like Bruce Springsteen or Dean Saunders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    Not so much patronising I don't think, but I just seen an ad about drink driving where some school kids are on a school trip in the park or wherever and a driver loses control and smashes into the bunch of children and rolls over them. It gets the point across in it's own eerie way. Drinking and driving = bad.

Although, the end of the ad is an empty classroom with the words "Shame on you" on the screen as Sweet Child Of Mine" playing. They may as well have said "THIS IS YOUR FAULT!"

Here's the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,807 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hate ads that try to be funny and fail miserably, esp those with Irish comedians who hit a dry spell....you know who you are.

I've always liked this ad though most find it deeply offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The one where the person eating honey makes a face like they've just be stabbed in the crotch? Drives me mad.