Which one is Sunni and Which one is Shia?

• 18-06-2014 11:27PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

Divergences please, I want to appear more knowlegable

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I couldn't give a shi'ite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

The Shia guy is the one shooting at the Sunni guy....

The Sunni guy is the one shooting back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

urabell wrote: »

Shia are catholic muslims, Sunni are protestant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Are we talking about kebabs ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/11/02/article-0-0BE1A26F000005DC-230_468x584.jpg

The one on the left is sunni and the one on the right is shia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Shia believe after Muhammed died he passed his teachings/reign to the ayatollahs. Like the Pope in some ways. Another leader to follow. Sunni practice more from the direct teachings of Muhammed himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

This article explains it.

It's an ecumenical matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Which came first the sunni or shia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

It was very sunni today for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Appreciate the genuine answers, I'll give the article a read. Never found puns funny but appreciate the attempts to appease me.

sunni are the more aggressive and extremist of the two.

most islamis terrorist groups are sunni, funded by the Saudis.

shia are found in Iraq/iran, Syria, Lebanon (Hezbollah)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

It's currently Sunny for the Sunnis and a bit shiate for the Shias. Basically. ISIS is Sunni. Also, where did they get the last I from?? Levant =/= I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

sunni are the more aggressive and extremist of the two.

most islamis terrorist groups are sunni, funded by the Saudis.

shia are found in Iraq/iran, Syria, Lebanon (Hezbollah)

Sunnis that follow an extreme version of the teachings of the Wa'habi sect, just to complicate matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Best. Post. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭The Dagda

They're all a great bunch of lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Are there not Numerous Muslim sects Almost as numerous as Christian ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

WellThen? wrote: »
    Shia believe after Muhammed died he passed his teachings/reign to the ayatollahs. Like the Pope in some ways. Another leader to follow. Sunni practice more from the direct teachings of Muhammed himself.

Imagine if tens and tens of thousands of people died over this difference. Wouldn't th... Oh wait...

realies wrote: »

There's a rake of them allright. Don't know if there's as many as Christian sects or not.

I think the big question to ask is - "will this spread?". If they get as far as Lucan, I'm growing a beard, just saying like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Shia is the woman. She's had a great career as a solo artist beyond the partnership. Sunni died from hitting a tree while skiing.

Thanks for chering that.

I think the big question to ask is - "will this spread?". If they get as far as Lucan, I'm growing a beard, just saying like.

As long as they don't try to ban yer bacon or pour out yer stout, worry not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

RayM wrote: »
    This article explains it.

It's an ecumenical matter.

From the article: However another smaller group, which also included some of the senior Companions, believed that the Prophet's son-in-law and cousin, Ali, should be Caliph.

So aul Mo allowed his cousin marry his daughter?

Nodin wrote: »
    As long as they don't try to ban yer bacon or pour out yer stout, worry not.

We were slagging one of the girls at work that if they get this far, she'd be in a burka and her merc would be a no-no. She got quite huffy..

Yeah, when you point the advantages to it...like us never havin to get the tay, for instance - they get all angry. "Freed from the burden of choice" is how I put it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Is there a clear good guy/ bad guy dichotomy? I like to take a side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

realies wrote: »

I like the whirling dervish one.

Nodin wrote: »
    Yeah, when you point the advantages to it...like us never havin to get the tay, for instance - they get all angry. "Freed from the burden of choice" is how I put it.

One of the lads reckoned he was going to clean up selling stones...but then he's from Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭degsie

Anyway, more importantly.... Spain are out of the World Cup!

Is there a clear good guy/ bad guy dichotomy? I like to take a side

Both have extremists. Both are mostly composed ordinary feckers getting on with their existence. So no, not really, though the Sunni extremists are the Bin Laden/'shopping centre near you' type.