Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Bye Urban. images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSlMyKtLiqQuX-F1lRlHy2Ae-xF7XKa86x02RUAt1r9SeLOZFEuid70P6g

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Convert, could you please clarify for everyone exactly what is and what isn't allowed in this Off-Topic forum?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I made it absolutely clear last night in connection with World Cup talk
    Beasty wrote: »
    In the meantime I have not (yet at least) said that World Cup talk is banned completely in this thread - however if you really want to discuss football then we have a forum for that, and if you wish to discuss football betting we also have a forum for that. If the World Cup becomes the dominant topic in an "off-topic" thread it's not much different from the one I closed (for very good reasons that were explained in that thread) yesterday

Now if anyone cares to read the site FAQs, the very first one states
    Post in a forum where the subject is relevant.

You should put posts where they belong. A library where people put books in any section they want will soon become unusable. Resist the temptation to say "I'm not going to post in the right forum because more people read THIS forum;” all that will happen is that your topic will immediately go off topic, you will be slated and the moderator will move the post to the right place and probably infract you. You may get fewer responses on the correct forum, but they will be far higher "worth". You want Quality, not quantity.
    So extensive discussion of the World Cup or indeed any sport other than Horse Racing is not permitted. If you want to comment on David Beckam's latest hairdo that's fine. If you want to discuss the merits or otherwise of Cristiano Ronaldo's free-kick technique go to the Soccer forum. If you want to discuss the odds of Brazil winning the World Cup head off to Football betting.

Now just to make this point one more time. To date only one poster has PM'd me to discuss anything that has happened in this thread over the past 24 hours. This is not a Feedback thread, and further discussion of what is and what is not permitted should be taken to PM. No more warnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

So whats the story with Sepp Blatter these days?
    Seems to be doing everything to suit himself and using silly excuses to blame everyone else!!!!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Got some nice ante post bets on for Cheltenham and various other sports today:

Meeting to go ahead doubled with Uruguay to win the world cup
    Meeting to go ahead doubled with Lukaku top PL scorer at the WC
    Meeting to go ahead doubled with Mexico to qualify for their group

Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

only1stevo wrote: »

Opinions?

Doubled meeting to go ahead with spain to win. I really think cheltenham will go ahead next year and spains squad is still unreal even with xavi on the down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

only1stevo wrote: »

Opinions?
    Gregk961 wrote: »
    Doubled meeting to go ahead with spain to win. I really think cheltenham will go ahead next year and spains squad is still unreal even with xavi on the down.

I would certainly expect the meeting to go ahead next year but what price are you getting?? Will the price be substantially shorter by December?Assuming the price is very short, I would not want to be waiting until next March to collect on winning WC bets - you'll be tying up a rake of cash that could be handy between now and then!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Beer- check
    nibbles- check
    Bets done-check
    spirits-check
    Tv on full blast-check

Lets get this world cup started baby:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Beer- check
    nibbles- check
    Bets done-check
    spirits-check
    Tv on full blast-check

Lets get this world cup started baby:D

Who you gone with? I've gone for Spain with a couple of Costa & Messi winner/top scorer bets. Viva Espana! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

FABREGAS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭kksaints

Gone for Italy to get to the final.

Johner wrote: »
    FABREGAS

Absolutely no value for 27m...just the perfect PL midfielder in terms of passing and end product, style and substance. :rolleyes: Thank fuck United didn't sign him, wouldn't want him getting in Fellani's way.. :(

Lol at Arsenal turning him down too :pac:

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Who you gone with? I've gone for Spain with a couple of Costa & Messi winner/top scorer bets. Viva Espana! :D

Gone with no one alright, just doing match to match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Just witnessed about 15 little scumbags on the red luas line whip a pair of ray bans of some harmless guys head..
    Your left with a choice to bite your lip or get involved and find yourself in a scenario where it's only going to end up one way..I swear to god if they were my glasses I would have died today..I wouldn't have stopped swinging until they popped out of no where...
    Little knackers like that should be exterminated

opening cermony just about to start..................

went for under 11 corners, only once in brazilz last 10 matches has it gone over 11 plus crroatia will be defensive.

the riots and protects are working otherwise we would not be talking about it on t,v, fair play to the protestors.

ste2010 wrote: »
    Just witnessed about 15 little scumbags on the red luas line whip a pair of ray bans of some harmless guys head..
    Your left with a choice to bite your lip or get involved and find yourself in a scenario where it's only going to end up one way..I swear to god if they were my glasses I would have died today..I wouldn't have stopped swinging until they popped out of no where...
    Little knackers like that should be exterminated

I use public transport Probably on a daily basis and that's undoubtedly the worst thing about it. Plenty of little pricks out there looking for fights. Never worth giving them what they want though.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Last warning - if this thread becomes a running commentary of the World Cup I will ban all further discussion of it and instruct anyone who wants to discuss it to head over to the Soccer Forum or perhaps the AH thread

Why would it come from private interests when they know that the goverment will back it up in the end.

went for under 11 corners, only once in brazilz last 10 matches has it gone over 11 plus crroatia will be defensive.

Not a bad shout, Croatia play a compact style with little width too.

Yeah think its a cracking bet, it was my max 5 pt bet after lots of study, gotta love eamon as he said there the cost of the football used in the match equals the weekly wage for the working class in brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

I use public transport Probably on a daily basis and that's undoubtedly the worst thing about it. Plenty of little pricks out there looking for fights. Never worth giving them what they want though.

I swear some days I actually hope they try something on me..michael Douglas falling down..I'd end up in prison after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Did you see that horse earlier? He ran very fast!

Shaking with excitement, its a great first game think crotia will put up a good fight

what no uckazela this time:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

what no uckazela this time:eek:
    no thank fuck

ft9 wrote: »
    What are these bets about Cheltenham going ahead next year? Why wouldn't it go ahead?

have u ever heard of foot and mouth or foot in mouth;)

Jaysus half the staduim is empthy. very lackluster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

this is sh1te

Wheres francis brennan or franc for that matter you need them.