Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭amacca

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I was talking about the people in the thread who want to tie up and assault kids.

Where did any poster say they wanted to tie them up????

I will say that I personally think a clip round the ear would do some brats no harm at all however tying them up is a bit weird

tying them up and then assaulting them…..hmmm are you sure you're not over sensationalising what some posters have said or even inventing things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

amacca wrote: »

I will say that I personally think a clip round the ear would do some brats no harm at all however tying them up is a bit weird

tying them up and then assaulting them…..hmmm are you sure you're not over sensationalising what some posters have said or even inventing things?
    I suggested pepperspraying them and shooting them with rubber bullets, but even I didn't suggest tying them up. That's just weird. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Funny how the kids who made the video were screaming for him to keep recording so there was transparency but the video was edited to remove the part where the 2nd kid punched the cop car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

deandean wrote: »
    I think those Gardaí were spot-on in how they handled that and I am very glad of the police force we have in Ireland.

How would a U.S. cop deal with it? Well, there are countless examples, here is one of the more notorious:

I would have paid good money to see him get smacked by one of the skateboards. What a cûnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

amacca wrote: »

Yep one poster suggested tying them to a lamppost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Shady Tady wrote: »
    Ah! But there is a diffirence, the thugs in the video actually do this stuff day in day out and impact ordinary peoples lives and society in a negitive way the angry poster won't. These thugs offer little to society and suck it dry of welfare paid by hardworking people who are often their victims. They are offered a route out and many in their communities take it sucessfully. Spare me the hardship story and don't insult decent families all around the country living in rough areas with little who raise fine families who don't act like these thugs and contribute greatly to society! Call a spade a spade and a petal a petal!
    your post applies to the angry posters also, they contribute nothing

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

anto9 wrote: »
    AM JUST MORE CONVINCED THAT THE GARDA SHOULD BE ARMED even if only with thasers and mace . .The young thugs there showed no fear or any respect of authority.
    and giving the guards any kind of weapon won't change that

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Hootanany wrote: »
    Now I commend this type of action should be more of it well done to the Guards that thought of this they should be promoted.
    would be a waste of time and cost to much though, will only work for a while before a way will be found around it, the only way to get rid of dealers is through legalization of drugs, as thats not going to happen, then business as usual will continue

conorhal wrote: »
    I agree(naturally) but it also needs to happen in conjunction with a major overhaul of the courts system. What does it say about our legal system that having your phone taken off you is a bigger inconvenience then ending up in front of a judge? The same goes for those smart arse kids, they behave they way they do because they're perfectly aware that there is no sanction for doing so. Look at the London riots, it wasn't just criminal gangs that were doing the looting, it was also students and average citizens. Why? Sadly it's because whenever people have the sense that there are zero consequences for their actions and that they're unlikely to be caught particularly if the illegal act can be cloaked crowd/herd behaviour (no better descrtiption of teen gangs), many have a depressing tendency to behave like animals.

For this reason I nearly vommed in my mouth listing to that absolute berk (former Mountjoy governer) John Lonergan on the radio this afternoon commending a change in the law ,that that was taken on the basis of equality legislation, which ensures that those serving less then 30 days in jail should also be entitled to 25% automatic remission. The legal system in this country is utterly bonkers and needs a giant kick up the hole.
    but remember after the london riots the government/courts fast tracked these cases over murders and rape cases and then political sentencing was implamented so a failed government could be seen to be doing something and "taking back control" the police handled it the right way though, only getting involved where people were being attacked/asalted but leaving the rest to be dealt with later, people of course whining about how the police should have gone and started moing the lot down in a hail of bullets but thankfully nobody takes them seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

desultory wrote: »
    I would have paid good money to see him get smacked by one of the skateboards. What a cûnt.
    Good news, he was later sacked :D
    http://weblogs.baltimoresun.com/news/crime/blog/2010/08/baltimore_cop_who_berated_skat.html

That's the other end of it, give the police too much power and they abuse it like this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

Anyone have a link to the original video, not the 98fm one?

Hard to see everything properly in the one posted here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

Cienciano wrote: »
    http://weblogs.baltimoresun.com/news/crime/blog/2010/08/baltimore_cop_who_berated_skat.html

That's the other end of it, give the police too much power and they abuse it like this guy.

Brilliant, still you just know by him he'd only ever act like that with young lads. Considering it's Baltimore I'd say he shys away from any of the tougher characters fairly lively.
    Hope he got himself a good kicking off one of the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Originally Posted by anto9 View Post
    AM JUST MORE CONVINCED THAT THE GARDA SHOULD BE ARMED even if only with thasers and mace . .The young thugs there showed no fear or any respect of authority.
    and giving the guards any kind of weapon won't change that

Ehhhhhhhh! off course it would.doh:confused:

Cienciano wrote: »

Yeah, he wasn't actually sacked for the 'abuse' off the gasún, he was sacked for! basically acting as if the incident never happened, not reporting it to his superiors and what not!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

What is needed is good old fashioned boot camps for those degenerate little bollixes who think it is OK to treat the Guards and other people in authority with anything other than the highest of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

but remember after the london riots the government/courts fast tracked these cases over murders and rape cases and then political sentencing was implamented so a failed government could be seen to be doing something and "taking back control" the police handled it the right way though, only getting involved where people were being attacked/asalted but leaving the rest to be dealt with later, people of course whining about how the police should have gone and started moing the lot down in a hail of bullets but thankfully nobody takes them seriously

The police ceded control of the streets to the mob, that's not much of a positive especially if you’re watching you small business go up in smoke live on TV, however the mob forgot that London is perhaps the surveillance camera capital of the world and that resulted in a mass of subsequent prosecutions and stiff sentences that sent a strong message, the mob may rule for a day, but they’ll pay for it with months or years in prison.

Here there the streets haven bee ceded and the courts facilitate that as an ongoing affair. So we get the worst of both worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭podge3

What language are the young lads speaking?

I can pick out the odd word of English but the rest is some kind of foreign dialect:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

I honestly can't say what is worse the fools in the video or members here displaying almost sociopathic tendencies.

Interest is what will ultimately stop them,Not bloody boot camps which will highly exacerbate the issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

get them while their young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

get them while their young

Jesus Christ.

That sort of mentality certainly will not forward and improve the issues with the youth.

ardle1 wrote: »
    Ehhhhhhhh! off course it would.doh
    no it won't, if you don't respect someone you won't suddenly start because they have a weapon

The police ceded control of the streets to the mob, that's not much of a positive especially if you’re watching you small business go up in smoke live on TV

no but it was the best way, had they gone in heavy handed it could have possibly ended up in a large blood bath, that wouldn't be good either.
    however the mob forgot that London is perhaps the surveillance camera capital of the world

oh they didn't forget, many of them didn't care, tensions were high i suspect for a while and mark duggans shooting was a triger (a trigger doesn't mean reason)
    that resulted in a mass of subsequent prosecutions and stiff sentences that sent a strong message, the mob may rule for a day, but they’ll pay for it with months or years in prison.

i'm sure they knew they could be caught but the political sentences sent no other message apart from the government failed, i doubt anyone who was sentenced to years for taking a bottle of water will actually serve the lot though, i suspect many were out in a few months once it all calmed down and the media stopped caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

why cant we stick these prick in the army

Because I believe crying like a baby when in combat is frowned upon in the armed forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

podge3 wrote: »
    What language are the young lads speaking?

I can pick out the odd word of English but the rest is some kind of foreign dialect:confused:

And duh furriners dey come ower heyore and dey don't be spickin propuh Inglish an' all.

no it won't, if you don't respect someone you won't suddenly start because they have a weapon

I see what your saying, but it still doesn't mean you respect someone if you keep your mouth shut and turn on your heels and walk away! I don't think it's full respect the Gardaí are lookin for, just a bit of manners and a bit off fear towards them.

ardle1 wrote: »
    I see what your saying, but it still doesn't mean you respect someone if you keep your mouth shut and turn on your heels and walk away! I don't think it's full respect the Gardaí are lookin for, just a bit of manners and a bit off fear towards them.
    the guardai don't care whether you respect them or fear them or not, just as long as you know if you come upon their radar for breaking the law they will catch you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Lets look to the Gospel for the solution

Deuteronomy 21:18-21

Amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭daheff

One of the biggest problems we have in Dublin (and probably most other Irish cities) is little scumbags like these learning they can get away with breaking the law and thus growing up to be big scumbags. The only way to solve this cycle is to nip it in the bud, while they're still young. The parents clearly can't or won't control them, so unfortunately it's up to the police.

Now all we need is a judicial system that will actually do something once gurriers are arrested, rather than just sending them right back out on the street. When that happens, they learn that not only can they break the law with impunity, they can even be arrested with no real consequence.

well said. The problem with this incident is that the 2 lads who got arrested will be let go without any repercussions for their behaviour and will think coz they got away with it once they'll get away with it again. So will their friends. Next time they'll be more aggressive and cause more trouble. So while I think the Gardai were right to take the first lad into the car to make sure he was alright (albeit he was swung & dragged across the road into the car in a manner that wouldnt look to me that the gardai was exercising his duty of care towards the young lad), unless the gardai get more backup to deal with the other two lads they arrested properly, they are just wasting their time (and possibly making it worse in the future).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Godeatsboogers

Would you say the same if those kids in 5 years time kicked your head in because you didnt have a smoke to give them just because they were under pressure to adhere to peer pressure??

Youre speculating ,you have no idea how those kids are gonna turn out, sure there is greater chance they will turn out to be someone who would kick your head in for not having a smoke, regardless, until that time lets not tar someone for life just because theyve been fooled into acting how they feel people will think theyre cool and hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

daheff wrote: »
    So while I think the Gardai were right to take the first lad into the car to make sure he was alright (albeit he was swung & dragged across the road into the car in a manner that wouldnt look to me that the gardai was exercising his duty of care towards the young lad), unless the gardai get more backup to deal with the other two lads they arrested properly, they are just wasting their time (and possibly making it worse in the future).

How would you have dealt with the same boy who is wriggling and trying to walk away from you and ignoring everything you say? give him a treat? pick him up and carry him? use a reasonable amount of control to make sure he does not get away from you?