Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seagulls nesting and being aggressive in city

• 08-06-2014 1:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭-Vega-

Hey guys,

wondering what my options are here. I live on rooftop apartments in eyre square and seagulls are nesting about our door. They are very aggressive and protective of the area and City Council says its private property so they cant move them. Anyone else have this problem or any advice? Neighbours have 6 year old twins that play outside and the seaguls coming in diving at 60 miles an hour with sharp beaks n talons aggressively is actually more serious that people realise!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

-Vega- wrote: »
    Hey guys,

wondering what my options are here. I live on rooftop apartments in eyre square and seagulls are nesting about our door. They are very aggressive and protective of the area and City Council says its private property so they cant move them. Anyone else have this problem or any advice? Neighbours have 6 year old twins that play outside and the seaguls coming in diving at 60 miles an hour with sharp beaks n talons aggressively is actually more serious that people realise!

Im pretty sure seagulls dont have talons, unless its hawks ye have nesting?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

How do you know they are travelling at 96 kilometres per hour?

We really need to hear the seagull's point of view - maybe you are the bad neighbour?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,198 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Get in touch with your Management Company and make them aware of the issue. If you can get some written letters from your neighbors advising of the potential Health & Safety concerns for children (yada, yada....) they may do something about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 jcro

If they are nesting they are off limits until the chicks fledge.
    Council should know that.!

After they fledge the management company can install bird spikes.

Don't know if they would help but you could call birdwatch Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Probably sick of youngsters trying to kick them after 100 years

• Registered Users Posts: 25,594 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Are you renting or an owner?

If renting, you should be contacting your landlord, who contacts the MC, etc

If you're an owner, contact the MC yourself, maybe after trying the SPCA for advice. I'm not aware of seagulls being a protected species.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Notch000

A good lacing Wd40 will get rid of pidgeons, worth a try for other birds too. Otherwise just break there nests up while there gone & repeat until they get the messaage,

Dan them sea gulls, coming over there, taking our jobs and women. living off handouts, enjoying the summer while were all at work then pissing off for the winter whe nthe going gets tough

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

What do you do with the wd40?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Notch000

spray it at them with a lighter, flame thrower style

ah no just spray it round there area & nests, think the smell & residue drives them away

• Registered Users Posts: 15,795 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Notch000 wrote: »
    spray it at them with a lighter, flame thrower style

ah no just spray it round there area & nests, think the smell & residue drives them away

Even if the species isn't protected cruelty is still illegal. It's defined as causing unnecessary distress or suffering.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

Discodog wrote: »
    Even if the species isn't protected cruelty is still illegal. It's defined as causing unnecessary distress or suffering.

distress they are causing is worse. humans come before feckin birds

swiftman wrote: »

Strange reply with your username :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

While I would normally agree seagulls are big bastards and will probably fly away with one of the children.* I doubt they are too happy to have humans nearby so it is best to get rid of them before they lay eggs.

*Note:May be exaggerating

While I would normally agree seagulls are big bastards and will probably fly away with one of the children.* I doubt they are too happy to have humans nearby so it is best to get rid of them before they lay eggs.

*Note:May be exaggerating

I agree that humanely preventing them from nest building is the best option.

Chemicals like WD40 could cause injury.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The seagulls were there before the city existed, but as always it's the animal who is in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Patrickheg

The seagulls were there before the city existed, but as always it's the animal who is in the wrong.

The seagulls were on the apartment roof before the city existed?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Patrickheg wrote: »
    The seagulls were on the apartment roof before the city existed?

:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,594 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

... seagulls are big bastards and will probably fly away with one of the children.* I doubt they are too happy to have humans nearby so it is best to get rid of them before they lay eggs.

What time of the year do the humans usually lay their eggs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Patrickheg

What time of the year do the humans usually lay their eggs?

Tuesdays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Aerohead

swiftman wrote: »

I think the Seagull might have a different opinion to yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Is the speed limit not 50km/h in the city?
    If these seagulls are doing c100km/h would the speed cops not be able to intervene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭galwayredgirl

snubbleste wrote: »
    How do you know they are travelling at 96 kilometres per hour?

Probably used the birdy equivalent of the Garda hairdryer.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Kill the parents then take the chicks on as your own and train them in schutzhund, they make great guard pets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I agree that humanely preventing them from nest building is the best option.

Chemicals like WD40 could cause injury.

Take a big shìte beside the nest...that should do the trick

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Get a cat

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Doom wrote: »

Arra now...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Doom wrote: »

Is there nothing that a big sh1te can't solve?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Is there nothing that a big sh1te can't solve?

A blast of piss??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

We need to confront this menace now before it's too late.
    “First it’s our burgers, next it will be our jobs and then our wives."