Wii U Console Premium @ 239.99

• 05-06-2014 04:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads, I am thinking of picking up a Wii U this weekend as Mario Kart is out :) Offer is in Smyths..

I was thinking of buying the above pack, trade in the Lego game and put it towards the Mario Kart game.

What ye reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭djsim101

Actually just checked the stock, and seems to be sold out. Darn it. There goes that idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Euro or Sterling? Where from?
    Toys R Us have the Mariokart bundle for £219.99 (which is what, €260?) if you apply a code, deliver to Parcel Motel (haven't checked that's viable) and you get a 2nd game via the eShop.
    http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/wii-u-mario-kart-8-premium-pack-1-free-game-from-nintendo-toys-r-1922703

Thanks Banjo, sorry that info would have been handy. Offer was in Smyths..

djsim101 wrote: »
    Thanks Banjo, sorry that info would have been handy. Offer was in Smyths..

That only ever showed up as in stock for Sligo. Sligo seems to be a hub for Smyth's WiiU deals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Get on the phone to a few of the stores to see if they have it as the website can be out of whack with store stock levels sometimes. Jervis Street definitely don't have it as I was looking myself recently.

I rang around my local stores alright, no joy.. No surprise really giving the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Damn missed the Limerick part, HMV/Xtravision are still charging a huge €350+, think it might even be near €380 for the Nintendo Land bundle, also Argos might still have some in stock, both places will be starting their summer sale by the end of the month so if you can wait a few more weeks keep an eye on both, same with Gamestop starting their summer sale by the end of the month but probably wont be much deals there as they already have bundle offers which are very high, good luck getting one though just play the waiting game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭jontr

cheapest way to get Wii U with Mario Kart is to get a bundle from Argos I think - they're selling it for 312 and there's quite good stock around. but still 62 EUR too expensive :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭abbir

jontr wrote: »
    cheapest way to get Wii U with Mario Kart is to get a bundle from Argos I think - they're selling it for 312 and there's quite good stock around. but still 62 EUR too expensive :|

A Wii U with Mario Kart is €299.99 from Smyths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,076 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

I won't pay more than €250 to be honest

same here
    abbir wrote: »
    A Wii U with Mario Kart is €299.99 from Smyths.

I was in Smyths today and saw only bundles with Mario Kart for 324.99 for a console + additional game. but now I see on the website 299.99 price tag. although Argos offers 3 games (Wii, but including Zelda) with the Mario Kart bundle so I'd say is't still better offer.

still 62 EUR too expensive ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Really want a WiiU after E3, what's the best (cheapest) place to get one?

GameStop will have a promotion today for WiiU bundles - buy a bundle and get a selected game free - cost 289.99 EUR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,029 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

GameStop will have a promotion today for WiiU bundles - buy a bundle and get a selected game free - cost 289.99 EUR.

Gamestop are a bunch of rip-off merchants. Even at that it's still not a good deal. Stay away people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

sligeach wrote: »
    Gamestop are a bunch of rip-off merchants. Even at that it's still not a good deal. Stay away people.

Really depends on what the games on offer are. If the offer has a decent game or two listed, then this could be a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭murphyebass

There really are some incredibly stupid statements about price going on here.

Let me be clear here €300 for a Wii U is great price. Thats what it is in Smyths.

You get new super mario bros and a Luigi game as well. Both excellent titles.

Spend another 55quid there and you'll get Mario Kart which also comes with a free game, Zelda or Pikmin for example. Again all excellent titles.

So for €355 you get a console and 4 games. Go online and you'll get Zombi U for a tenner and probably another 2 or three games, In comparison the PS4 is currently €400 in smyths with no games.

It depends what you're into but €300 for a wii u is by no means expensive. I'm sooooo sick of people thinking Nintendo should be giving these machines away. If it gets any cheaper it'll be in handheld territory for cryin out loud which makes no sense.

Imo its by far and away the best current gen console. PS4 and XboxOne will come good but if you're going to give out about value for money it should be those two coming under fire with a normal barren launch line up unless you want a slightly better looking FPS or football game.

/rant

After E3 and MarioKart, I think the days of getting a WiiU Premium + a couple of games + a pro controller for €250 (thanks again, Zavvi and Currys!) could be behind us... at least until Ninty review their strategy later in the year

Gamestop published offer details on their website.

it's any Wii U console + 2 from these games:
    - Nintendo Land
    - Zelda WW HD
    - Fifa 13
    - Sonic Racers

€289.99

Make sure 1 of the games you pick is Zelda - the other 3 are all available for under €15 if you bide your time and/or order online. Even if you don't want it you can probably trade Zelda in for more than that - retail price is holding steady in the €35-60 bracket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Zelda WWHD and whichever of the other games tickles your fancy, and you're on a winner.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

I'm thinking of getting the New Super Mario U + Luigi bundle for €289.99 in store. They then let you buy any one Wii-U game for €40 which seems decent (I'm thinking Mario 3D World). Probably pick up MK8 from Amazon to save a few quid.

/Edit: Referring to Gamestop that is.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Gamestop published offer details on their website.

it's any Wii U console + 2 from these games:
    - Nintendo Land
    - Zelda WW HD
    - Fifa 13
    - Sonic Racers

€289.99

I was able to get the Mario & Luigi bundle and then Zelda & Nintendoland for free. Picked up Mario 3D World for €40 also so the console + 5 games for €330. Excellent value imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,029 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

There really are some incredibly stupid statements about price going on here.

Let me be clear here €300 for a Wii U is great price. Thats what it is in Smyths.

You get new super mario bros and a Luigi game as well. Both excellent titles.

Spend another 55quid there and you'll get Mario Kart which also comes with a free game, Zelda or Pikmin for example. Again all excellent titles.

So for €355 you get a console and 4 games. Go online and you'll get Zombi U for a tenner and probably another 2 or three games, In comparison the PS4 is currently €400 in smyths with no games.

It depends what you're into but €300 for a wii u is by no means expensive. I'm sooooo sick of people thinking Nintendo should be giving these machines away. If it gets any cheaper it'll be in handheld territory for cryin out loud which makes no sense.

Imo its by far and away the best current gen console. PS4 and XboxOne will come good but if you're going to give out about value for money it should be those two coming under fire with a normal barren launch line up unless you want a slightly better looking FPS or football game.

/rant

But you weren't clear beforehand. €300 is not a bargain and the general population doesn't think so either, otherwise they'd be buying it. There is so much wrong with the Wii U and this is coming from an owner of one. It's limited technology for starters. Yes it has the best lineup and I would expect that having had a years head start. Smyths had the Nintendo Land bundle for €225 and the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. Both better than Gamestop and that's them doing a deal. New Luigi U is DLC of NSMBU in my opinion. I don't consider it a separate game. E3's Mario Maker, shows it for what it is.

The Wii U is tanking and is not future proof. There's so much that could be debated but I don't have the time. I'll skip to your last sentence. FPS and football games? Well we on the Wii U are spoilt for choice with both genres aren't we? Where's the 3rd parties? Why?

I'm a huge Nintendo fan but let's be honest here and call a spade a spade. Wii U is in big trouble. I don't own any of the competition, never have, never will, so I'm not trolling on their behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

But you weren't clear beforehand. €300 is not a bargain and the general population doesn't think so either, otherwise they'd be buying it. There is so much wrong with the Wii U and this is coming from an owner of one. It's limited technology for starters. Yes it has the best lineup and I would expect that having had a years head start. Smyths had the Nintendo Land bundle for €225 and the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. Both better than Gamestop and that's them doing a deal. New Luigi U is DLC of NSMBU in my opinion. I don't consider it a separate game. E3's Mario Maker, shows it for what it is.

The Wii U is tanking and is not future proof. There's so much that could be debated but I don't have the time. I'll skip to your last sentence. FPS and football games? Well we on the Wii U are spoilt for choice with both genres aren't we? Where's the 3rd parties? Why?

I'm a huge Nintendo fan but let's be honest here and call a spade a spade. Wii U is in big trouble. I don't own any of the competition, never have, never will, so I'm not trolling on their behalf.
    my wii u is gone and i am heartbroken about it...

Would i take it back over my xbox one? Yes i would in a heartbeat

I'm not going to answer your post because its been done to death on another thread over in the games section.

I just want to address the price.
    Whether people but it or not the prices out there right now are a bargain. console plus a few games still coming in under the other two with no games is a bargain end of. The ones that do buy it love the console and its games. The reason people haven't bought it is nothing to do with the price. It's been marketed so poorly people are confused as to what it is never mind anything else. The Wii itself had lesser graphics, less third party support, loads of shovelware yet it's price didn't put people off as it was marketed correctly. They couldn't keep them on the shelves!

Anyway it's become cool to hate on the Wii U be it the tech, it's price, etc and personally I'm just sick of it.

I have quite a lot of hardware at home and will have a ps4 in time but right now the Wii U is taking all of my gaming time which says a lot for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

All my friends are PS4 users whereas I am a Nintendo user. I am hopefully getting a WiiU soon and everything I mention it to them it's met with "Yeah, but it's Nintendo", feckin annoying so it is!

Then we look at PS4 games and their begins to be a common denominator, guns.

Now I'm not a gun loving American (stereotypical I know but look at the news, it's true) so I tend to limit my exposure to gun centric games as much as possible but you basically can't get a PS4 or XB1 game without a gun in it!

Unless of course you're buying RayMan or Little Big Planet which let's be honest, for €400/500 why would?

The WiiU has something for everything IMO and their lineup is great.

Sure their 3rd party support is seriously lacking but I'm sure after the success of E3 that they will begin to see just how much potential the WiiU has.

I'm really looking forward to getting one and playing Mario Kart 8 with you all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Daith

The reason people haven't bought it is nothing to do with the price. It's been marketed so poorly people are confused as to what it is never mind anything else.

That's the reason I haven't bought one. I haven't bought a PS4 or XBox One yet but that's due to a lack of games tbh.

The Wii U should be cheaper than the other two purely because it doesn't cost the same to produce. They're not equivalent consoles.

Perhaps at Xmas time when I can play Smash Bros and Mario Kart but I personally don't think it's worth the price atm.

Daith wrote: »
    That's the reason I haven't bought one. I haven't bought a PS4 or XBox One yet but that's due to a lack of games tbh.

The Wii U should be cheaper than the other two purely because it doesn't cost the same to produce. They're not equivalent consoles.

Perhaps at Xmas time when I can play Smash Bros and Mario Kart but I personally don't think it's worth the price atm.

Are you waiting for Nintendo to knock on your door and hand you one for free?

The price has very little wiggle room. As i already said if it goes down any further it'll go into handheld territory which Nintendo wont want.

There'll be plenty of bundle deals but i cant see any sort of a meaningful price drop that would grab peoples attention.

Even if foe some reason they did drop it by lets say 40quid would you not just rather pay the extra few quid now to play it now as apposed to waiting on a price drop that firstly may not happen and secondly if it does will be so little it wouldn't have been worth your time waiting for it in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Daith

Are you waiting for Nintendo to knock on your door and hand you one for free?

Of course not. That's a big jump from me saying "I think it's expensive".
    Even if foe some reason they did drop it by lets say 40quid would you not just rather pay the extra few quid now to play it now as apposed to waiting on a price drop that firstly may not happen and secondly if it does will be so little it wouldn't have been worth your time waiting for it in the first place.

No because there is no games I want to play at the moment. Mario Kart is the only one atm but it won't justify me paying. As I said when Smash Brothers comes out that might make me pay.

It's about the price and what I view as quality titles.

my wii u is gone and i am heartbroken about it...

Again?????
    Is this one not self inflicted?
    Have you considered stealing one of COYVB's stable? He breeds Wii Us you know.