Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wii U Console Premium @ 239.99

• 05-06-2014 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

Hi Lads, I am thinking of picking up a Wii U this weekend as Mario Kart is out :) Offer is in Smyths..

I was thinking of buying the above pack, trade in the Lego game and put it towards the Mario Kart game.

What ye reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭djsim101

Actually just checked the stock, and seems to be sold out. Darn it. There goes that idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Euro or Sterling? Where from?
    Toys R Us have the Mariokart bundle for £219.99 (which is what, €260?) if you apply a code, deliver to Parcel Motel (haven't checked that's viable) and you get a 2nd game via the eShop.
    http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/wii-u-mario-kart-8-premium-pack-1-free-game-from-nintendo-toys-r-1922703

Thanks Banjo, sorry that info would have been handy. Offer was in Smyths..

djsim101 wrote: »
    Thanks Banjo, sorry that info would have been handy. Offer was in Smyths..

That only ever showed up as in stock for Sligo. Sligo seems to be a hub for Smyth's WiiU deals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Get on the phone to a few of the stores to see if they have it as the website can be out of whack with store stock levels sometimes. Jervis Street definitely don't have it as I was looking myself recently.

I rang around my local stores alright, no joy.. No surprise really giving the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Damn missed the Limerick part, HMV/Xtravision are still charging a huge €350+, think it might even be near €380 for the Nintendo Land bundle, also Argos might still have some in stock, both places will be starting their summer sale by the end of the month so if you can wait a few more weeks keep an eye on both, same with Gamestop starting their summer sale by the end of the month but probably wont be much deals there as they already have bundle offers which are very high, good luck getting one though just play the waiting game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jontr

cheapest way to get Wii U with Mario Kart is to get a bundle from Argos I think - they're selling it for 312 and there's quite good stock around. but still 62 EUR too expensive :|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭abbir

jontr wrote: »
    cheapest way to get Wii U with Mario Kart is to get a bundle from Argos I think - they're selling it for 312 and there's quite good stock around. but still 62 EUR too expensive :|

A Wii U with Mario Kart is €299.99 from Smyths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

I won't pay more than €250 to be honest

same here
    abbir wrote: »
    A Wii U with Mario Kart is €299.99 from Smyths.

I was in Smyths today and saw only bundles with Mario Kart for 324.99 for a console + additional game. but now I see on the website 299.99 price tag. although Argos offers 3 games (Wii, but including Zelda) with the Mario Kart bundle so I'd say is't still better offer.

still 62 EUR too expensive ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Really want a WiiU after E3, what's the best (cheapest) place to get one?

GameStop will have a promotion today for WiiU bundles - buy a bundle and get a selected game free - cost 289.99 EUR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,141 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

GameStop will have a promotion today for WiiU bundles - buy a bundle and get a selected game free - cost 289.99 EUR.

Gamestop are a bunch of rip-off merchants. Even at that it's still not a good deal. Stay away people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

sligeach wrote: »
    Gamestop are a bunch of rip-off merchants. Even at that it's still not a good deal. Stay away people.

Really depends on what the games on offer are. If the offer has a decent game or two listed, then this could be a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

There really are some incredibly stupid statements about price going on here.

Let me be clear here €300 for a Wii U is great price. Thats what it is in Smyths.

You get new super mario bros and a Luigi game as well. Both excellent titles.

Spend another 55quid there and you'll get Mario Kart which also comes with a free game, Zelda or Pikmin for example. Again all excellent titles.

So for €355 you get a console and 4 games. Go online and you'll get Zombi U for a tenner and probably another 2 or three games, In comparison the PS4 is currently €400 in smyths with no games.

It depends what you're into but €300 for a wii u is by no means expensive. I'm sooooo sick of people thinking Nintendo should be giving these machines away. If it gets any cheaper it'll be in handheld territory for cryin out loud which makes no sense.

Imo its by far and away the best current gen console. PS4 and XboxOne will come good but if you're going to give out about value for money it should be those two coming under fire with a normal barren launch line up unless you want a slightly better looking FPS or football game.

/rant

After E3 and MarioKart, I think the days of getting a WiiU Premium + a couple of games + a pro controller for €250 (thanks again, Zavvi and Currys!) could be behind us... at least until Ninty review their strategy later in the year

Gamestop published offer details on their website.

it's any Wii U console + 2 from these games:
    - Nintendo Land
    - Zelda WW HD
    - Fifa 13
    - Sonic Racers

€289.99

Make sure 1 of the games you pick is Zelda - the other 3 are all available for under €15 if you bide your time and/or order online. Even if you don't want it you can probably trade Zelda in for more than that - retail price is holding steady in the €35-60 bracket

Zelda WWHD and whichever of the other games tickles your fancy, and you're on a winner.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

I'm thinking of getting the New Super Mario U + Luigi bundle for €289.99 in store. They then let you buy any one Wii-U game for €40 which seems decent (I'm thinking Mario 3D World). Probably pick up MK8 from Amazon to save a few quid.

/Edit: Referring to Gamestop that is.

Gamestop published offer details on their website.

it's any Wii U console + 2 from these games:
    - Nintendo Land
    - Zelda WW HD
    - Fifa 13
    - Sonic Racers

€289.99

I was able to get the Mario & Luigi bundle and then Zelda & Nintendoland for free. Picked up Mario 3D World for €40 also so the console + 5 games for €330. Excellent value imo.

There really are some incredibly stupid statements about price going on here.

Let me be clear here €300 for a Wii U is great price. Thats what it is in Smyths.

You get new super mario bros and a Luigi game as well. Both excellent titles.

Spend another 55quid there and you'll get Mario Kart which also comes with a free game, Zelda or Pikmin for example. Again all excellent titles.

So for €355 you get a console and 4 games. Go online and you'll get Zombi U for a tenner and probably another 2 or three games, In comparison the PS4 is currently €400 in smyths with no games.

It depends what you're into but €300 for a wii u is by no means expensive. I'm sooooo sick of people thinking Nintendo should be giving these machines away. If it gets any cheaper it'll be in handheld territory for cryin out loud which makes no sense.

Imo its by far and away the best current gen console. PS4 and XboxOne will come good but if you're going to give out about value for money it should be those two coming under fire with a normal barren launch line up unless you want a slightly better looking FPS or football game.

/rant

But you weren't clear beforehand. €300 is not a bargain and the general population doesn't think so either, otherwise they'd be buying it. There is so much wrong with the Wii U and this is coming from an owner of one. It's limited technology for starters. Yes it has the best lineup and I would expect that having had a years head start. Smyths had the Nintendo Land bundle for €225 and the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. Both better than Gamestop and that's them doing a deal. New Luigi U is DLC of NSMBU in my opinion. I don't consider it a separate game. E3's Mario Maker, shows it for what it is.

The Wii U is tanking and is not future proof. There's so much that could be debated but I don't have the time. I'll skip to your last sentence. FPS and football games? Well we on the Wii U are spoilt for choice with both genres aren't we? Where's the 3rd parties? Why?

I'm a huge Nintendo fan but let's be honest here and call a spade a spade. Wii U is in big trouble. I don't own any of the competition, never have, never will, so I'm not trolling on their behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

But you weren't clear beforehand. €300 is not a bargain and the general population doesn't think so either, otherwise they'd be buying it. There is so much wrong with the Wii U and this is coming from an owner of one. It's limited technology for starters. Yes it has the best lineup and I would expect that having had a years head start. Smyths had the Nintendo Land bundle for €225 and the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. Both better than Gamestop and that's them doing a deal. New Luigi U is DLC of NSMBU in my opinion. I don't consider it a separate game. E3's Mario Maker, shows it for what it is.

The Wii U is tanking and is not future proof. There's so much that could be debated but I don't have the time. I'll skip to your last sentence. FPS and football games? Well we on the Wii U are spoilt for choice with both genres aren't we? Where's the 3rd parties? Why?

I'm a huge Nintendo fan but let's be honest here and call a spade a spade. Wii U is in big trouble. I don't own any of the competition, never have, never will, so I'm not trolling on their behalf.
    my wii u is gone and i am heartbroken about it...

Would i take it back over my xbox one? Yes i would in a heartbeat

I'm not going to answer your post because its been done to death on another thread over in the games section.

I just want to address the price.
    Whether people but it or not the prices out there right now are a bargain. console plus a few games still coming in under the other two with no games is a bargain end of. The ones that do buy it love the console and its games. The reason people haven't bought it is nothing to do with the price. It's been marketed so poorly people are confused as to what it is never mind anything else. The Wii itself had lesser graphics, less third party support, loads of shovelware yet it's price didn't put people off as it was marketed correctly. They couldn't keep them on the shelves!

Anyway it's become cool to hate on the Wii U be it the tech, it's price, etc and personally I'm just sick of it.

I have quite a lot of hardware at home and will have a ps4 in time but right now the Wii U is taking all of my gaming time which says a lot for it.

All my friends are PS4 users whereas I am a Nintendo user. I am hopefully getting a WiiU soon and everything I mention it to them it's met with "Yeah, but it's Nintendo", feckin annoying so it is!

Then we look at PS4 games and their begins to be a common denominator, guns.

Now I'm not a gun loving American (stereotypical I know but look at the news, it's true) so I tend to limit my exposure to gun centric games as much as possible but you basically can't get a PS4 or XB1 game without a gun in it!

Unless of course you're buying RayMan or Little Big Planet which let's be honest, for €400/500 why would?

The WiiU has something for everything IMO and their lineup is great.

Sure their 3rd party support is seriously lacking but I'm sure after the success of E3 that they will begin to see just how much potential the WiiU has.

I'm really looking forward to getting one and playing Mario Kart 8 with you all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

The reason people haven't bought it is nothing to do with the price. It's been marketed so poorly people are confused as to what it is never mind anything else.

That's the reason I haven't bought one. I haven't bought a PS4 or XBox One yet but that's due to a lack of games tbh.

The Wii U should be cheaper than the other two purely because it doesn't cost the same to produce. They're not equivalent consoles.

Perhaps at Xmas time when I can play Smash Bros and Mario Kart but I personally don't think it's worth the price atm.

Daith wrote: »
    That's the reason I haven't bought one. I haven't bought a PS4 or XBox One yet but that's due to a lack of games tbh.

The Wii U should be cheaper than the other two purely because it doesn't cost the same to produce. They're not equivalent consoles.

Perhaps at Xmas time when I can play Smash Bros and Mario Kart but I personally don't think it's worth the price atm.

Are you waiting for Nintendo to knock on your door and hand you one for free?

The price has very little wiggle room. As i already said if it goes down any further it'll go into handheld territory which Nintendo wont want.

There'll be plenty of bundle deals but i cant see any sort of a meaningful price drop that would grab peoples attention.

Even if foe some reason they did drop it by lets say 40quid would you not just rather pay the extra few quid now to play it now as apposed to waiting on a price drop that firstly may not happen and secondly if it does will be so little it wouldn't have been worth your time waiting for it in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

Of course not. That's a big jump from me saying "I think it's expensive".
    Even if foe some reason they did drop it by lets say 40quid would you not just rather pay the extra few quid now to play it now as apposed to waiting on a price drop that firstly may not happen and secondly if it does will be so little it wouldn't have been worth your time waiting for it in the first place.

No because there is no games I want to play at the moment. Mario Kart is the only one atm but it won't justify me paying. As I said when Smash Brothers comes out that might make me pay.

It's about the price and what I view as quality titles.

my wii u is gone and i am heartbroken about it...

Again?????
    Is this one not self inflicted?
    Have you considered stealing one of COYVB's stable? He breeds Wii Us you know.

The price has very little wiggle room. As i already said if it goes down any further it'll go into handheld territory which Nintendo wont want.

There'll be plenty of bundle deals but i cant see any sort of a meaningful price drop that would grab peoples attention.

When I first bought my 3DS it cost me over €300.

It was then dropped to sub €150, now Nintendo was nice enough to give me 20 free games of which I only play 1!

So that's one of the main reasons I held out getting a WiiU.

But the price now seems about right IMO, so what shop has the best offer?

Is GameStops one the best? Or would Argos' one with Mario Kart be better?

Thanks!

I'm not going to answer your post because its been done to death on another thread over in the games section.

I just want to address the price.
    Whether people but it or not the prices out there right now are a bargain. console plus a few games still coming in under the other two with no games is a bargain end of. The ones that do buy it love the console and its games. The reason people haven't bought it is nothing to do with the price. It's been marketed so poorly people are confused as to what it is never mind anything else. The Wii itself had lesser graphics, less third party support, loads of shovelware yet it's price didn't put people off as it was marketed correctly. They couldn't keep them on the shelves!

Anyway it's become cool to hate on the Wii U be it the tech, it's price, etc and personally I'm just sick of it.

I have quite a lot of hardware at home and will have a ps4 in time but right now the Wii U is taking all of my gaming time which says a lot for it.

Your opinion is not a fact. You're blind to the reality. I know, I too was like you but I've seen through the lies and the spin. This is coming from one of Nintendos biggest fans but I'm not going to stick my head in the sand and pretend everything's alright. It's far from it.

When I first bought my 3DS it cost me over €300.

It was then dropped to sub €150, now Nintendo was nice enough to give me 20 free games of which I only play 1!

So that's one of the main reasons I held out getting a WiiU.

But the price now seems about right IMO, so what shop has the best offer?

Is GameStops one the best? Or would Argos' one with Mario Kart be better?

Thanks!

If you could get a Nintendo Land bundle from Smyths for €225, that's the best bargain. At this stage, it's really scarce though. Or the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. That's a very good game. Worth the extra €15 and much better than Nintendo Land. You could try buying secondhand. Stay away from the white basic model though. It's a heap of $h1t€ for the price.

Your opinion is not a fact. You're blind to the reality. I know, I too was like you but I've seen through the lies and the spin. This is coming from one of Nintendos biggest fans but I'm not going to stick my head in the sand and pretend everything's alright. It's far from it.
    Neither is your opinion fact, so please try not to be condescending in your posts please.
    Or the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. That's a very good game.
    The Lego undercover bundle isn't available in any of their stores.
    Best deal currently appears to be the Gamestop offer, followed by the Mario Kart 8 one in Smyths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,565 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

The thing I don't understand about people complaining about the price is not the fact there's a big difference between PS4/XBox One and Wii U. It's the fact people seem to want it to be cheaper than the PS3 and XBox 360 which have been on the market longer.

If you could get a Nintendo Land bundle from Smyths for €225, that's the best bargain. At this stage, it's really scarce though. Or the Lego Undercover bundle for €240. That's a very good game. Worth the extra €15 and much better than Nintendo Land. You could try buying secondhand. Stay away from the white basic model though. It's a heap of $h1t€ for the price.

Thanks for that!

Yeah I'm avoiding the white one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭nix

Hey all,

Pretty certain im gonna get a Wii-U, is gamestop the best place for the bundle?? I see alot of great bundle deals in previous posts but no confirmation on where they were purchased exactly.

I do hate giving gamestop any money as they are rip off merchants, however i can bite my tongue for the once off console purchase.

Also where is best place to buy wii games? I wanna get skyword sword and maybe metroid, i predict amazon?

ohhh i havent been this excited about getting a console since the N64 + OOT era :D

Edit: the more games the better! I'm interested in the new mario bros and picking up the windwaker, mario kart is a bonus but not necessary, is smyths the best option for this? mario/luigi bundle and windwaker comes with mario kart for free?

You want skyward sword and metroid? Aren't Argos giving them (and Kirby's Epic Yarn) free with all Wii Us or is that deal over?

Banjo wrote: »
    You want skyward sword and metroid? Aren't Argos giving them (and Kirby's Epic Yarn) free with all Wii Us or is that deal over?

Don't think they are doing it anymore. It was Metroid: Other M which you can pick up in Tescos for €3, not the better Metroid Prime games.

The Argos console bundles aren't that great at the minute imo. Mario & Luigi for €299.99 with free Fifa or Mass Effect 3 (they're only €10.99 each if you were to buy them separate). Maybe they might have new deals soon in response to Gamestop?

Gamestop Mario & Luigi €289.99 and buy any other game of your choice for €40 if you want. As mentioned above, I was also able to get Zelda WW and Nintendoland for free when buying the console bundle.

So Mario & Luigi + Zelda + Nintendoland for €289.99. I then got 3D World for an extra €40, €330 all in. Replace 3D World with any game of your choice (MK8 + free download etc) - all for €330. Thought that was very good value.

Looking on the Smyths website their bundles didn't seem any better than Gamestop and they're not local to me anyway hence the decision to go with GS.

So for 330 you can get
    a 32GB Wii U
    New Super MArio Bros U
    New Super Luigi Bros - both in the box
    LoZ Wind Waker
    Mario Kart 8 as your €40 game
    Pikmin 3 or Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate via the download offer

And some old ****e that you'll never play but could trade in against Super Mario 3D World or Lego City Undercover....

not to mention any potential eShop credit you might earn via the premium offer

And this is still too expensive?

How many kidneys do you people *need*????

Banjo wrote: »
    So for 330 you can get
    a 32GB Wii U
    New Super MArio Bros U
    New Super Luigi Bros - both in the box
    LoZ Wind Waker
    Mario Kart 8 as your €40 game
    Pikmin 3 or Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate via the download offer

And some old ****e that you'll never play but could trade in against Super Mario 3D World or Lego City Undercover....

not to mention any potential eShop credit you might earn via the premium offer

And this is still too expensive?

How many kidneys do you people *need*????

You cant get that.. Atleast i was denied

You cant get the mario bundle and a choice of the 2 of the 4 games for €280, the choice 2 of the 4 games can only be purchased with the WiiU bundle with no game in it.

Just got back from Gamestop now and best i could get was..

The super mario/luigi bundle and mario kart8 for an added 40, total of 330, plus you get a free game download with MK8, Zelda the WW is one of the choices, so i came out with the same, i have no interest in nintendo land

Delighted, great value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Andrew76 wrote: »
    I was able to get the Mario & Luigi bundle and then Zelda & Nintendoland for free. Picked up Mario 3D World for €40 also so the console + 5 games for €330. Excellent value imo.

Dear Jesus what a deal. I've always planned on getting a Wii U but this offer is too good to turn down.
    My Wii remained unused for the latter years of it's life so there also a lot of games from that I'll be picking up, Zelda SS for example.

So can I still avail of this offer from any gamestop?

Nintendo really know how to make games "fun". Other developers need to remember that games should be primarily fun to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

so for 330 i can get a wii u mariokart, zelda, mario bros luigi bros?? where?? i need that now....

Gamestop do the deal, sadly haha

Dear Jesus what a deal. I've always planned on getting a Wii U but this offer is too good to turn down.
    My Wii remained unused for the latter years of it's life so there also a lot of games from that I'll be picking up, Zelda SS for example.

So can I still avail of this offer from any gamestop?

Nintendo really know how to make games "fun". Other developers need to remember that games should be primarily fun to play.
    so for 330 i can get a wii u mariokart, zelda, mario bros luigi bros?? where?? i need that now....

Looking at what nix mentions above it looks like I got lucky getting the 2 free Summer Sale games on top of a bundle - I had a feeling I wasn't supposed to get them free but the chap in the shop offered so I said yes please. Yoink!

So the best offer is buying a bundle (Mario & Luigi is great) for €290 then get MK8 for €40 + the free download game that it gives. Or pick something else instead of MK8 (if it + the free game offer doesn't appeal). Getting at least €15 off a full priced game is pretty decent imo.

Shame ye can't get the free games offer.

Hope the GameStop in Carlow have this offer.

Might ring up and ask.

Ask do they have stock or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Am I Evil?

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Looking at what nix mentions above it looks like I got lucky getting the 2 free Summer Sale games on top of a bundle - I had a feeling I wasn't supposed to get them free but the chap in the shop offered so I said yes please. Yoink!

So the best offer is buying a bundle (Mario & Luigi is great) for €290 then get MK8 for €40 + the free download game that it gives. Or pick something else instead of MK8 (if it + the free game offer doesn't appeal). Getting at least €15 off a full priced game is pretty decent imo.
    I went in today and got that deal. The lads wernt sure behind the counter but they put it through the till and it worked! they wern't told it was included. Originally thought the offer was for just the premium console plus the 2 games.

So I picked up the Mario Bros bundle with Zelda and Nintendoland along with Mario Kart as my €40 game. Probably pick Pikmin up as my download :D

Am I Evil? wrote: »
    I went in today and got that deal. The lads wernt sure behind the counter but they put it through the till and it worked! they wern't told it was included. Originally thought the offer was for just the premium console plus the 2 games.

So I picked up the Mario Bros bundle with Zelda and Nintendoland along with Mario Kart as my €40 game. Probably pick Pikmin up as my download :D

Nice one. Looking at the Summer Sale offer it does say "choose any Wii U console" and get 2 free games. Fair enough the picture is of a non-bundle Wii U, but it doesn't explicitly say non-bundle. Guess it depends on the staff. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Am I Evil?

Yeah thats what I put across to them so they had a look and it worked. Even stranger was originally the price went down to €186 and they had to ring the office to find out if they could sell it to me at that price haha, obviously not though!

Delighted now, my first Nintendo console since the SNES. Thanks for the heads up!

Preowned WiiU for €210 which seems good but I don't usually trust preowned.

But the 3DS XL is €200 but it's €185+ new in Argos?

Strange prices...