Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,192 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Yet in major tournaments Rooney has scored once since 2004.

Yup, but considering how shambolic England as a whole have played in those tournaments, it's not grounds to drop the guy who's goals get you there in the first place.

The best thing that could be done is to take the goal scoring burden off him abut by playing Sturridge up front. Which is whats being done.

Is Rooney overhyped? Yup. Has he under performed in other tournaments? Yup. Is he one of England's best players? Absolutely.

Lets be honest here - any manager who completely drops their qualifiers top scorer (and yes, by miles in terms of goals per minutes), and one of their most dynamic players deserves to get slaughtered.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    If I were any use with Photoshop, that picture above would be seeing -

Fair Play On Being The Worst Fans Of The Season 2013/2014.

6zqbex.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Anyone know where the LFC thread has gone? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Anyone know where the LFC thread has gone? :pac:

It was abandoned in may.

This is the Panda appreciation and the 'we hate Wayne Rooney' fan club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,796 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Hidalgo wrote: »
    I'm assuming the plan is/was to be a better business model in a move away from the Martin O' Neill era of Spend big on a player, pay him big wages and then be left with little choice but to take a financial hit to get him off the books.

Its not like they were winning anything the old way. Possibly part of Ellis' plans to make the club more attractive to potential buyers

They've spent two years barely staving off relegation by leaning heavily on the performances of one or two key players. They've looked utterly hapless at times and most certainly in need of more quality and experience. Players in their early twenties aren't always good and players in their thirties aren't always bad. The correct strategy is a winning one.

Going young and cheap with on sale value is much more likely to work when Gerrard and Suarez are already in your team and you aren't leaving yourself depending on Ciaran Clarke at Center half. They needed an amendment in their approach.

Also, Ellis sold to Lerner in 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Rooney had 7 in 6 games.

Welbeck had 4 in 9

43% more goals, in 3 fewer appearances.

He deserves to start.

7 vs 4?
    It's almost double. How is that 43% more?
    75% more, your reference should be the lower number due to the way you've phrased it!

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

7 vs 4?
    It's almost double. How is that 43% more?
    75% more, your reference should be the lower number due to the way you've phrased it!

That was making me scratch my head a bit as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Ah feck not maths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Ah feck not maths

Maths and pandas...yep definitely the worst fans in history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Where's Glenjo when you need him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Where's Glenjo when you need him?

or Paul and his Suarez to Arsenal goal differential calculations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,025 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Oh lord that was painful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

God it's dull in here....sign someone already!

2 early signings, and then nothing. It's pa-the-tic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'd be happy with an official bid by Madrid for Flanno at this point. Something to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Looks like there are quite a few fringe players on the way out either on loan or sale if the right offer comes in.

Suso,Yesil, Alberto, Aspas, Assaidi, Coady and Robinson names linked in the Echo.

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Ah feck not maths

What was the great Maths debate in here a while back? It didn't make any sense if that narrows it down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

8-10 wrote: »
    Oh lord that was painful
    Morzadec wrote: »

What was the great Maths debate in here a while back? It didn't make any sense if that narrows it down

Ah sorry nevermind, that was the one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Looks like there are quite a few fringe players on the way out either on loan or sale if the right offer comes in.

Suso,Yesil, Alberto, Aspas, Assaidi, Coady and Robinson names linked in the Echo.

Link

Feel sorry for Yesil. Two bad injuries at such a young age, the odds are against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

gafferino wrote: »
    Feel sorry for Yesil. Two bad injuries at such a young age, the odds are against him.
    Thought he was only being linked with a loan to Turkey rather than a sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

D'Agger wrote: »
    Thought he was only being linked with a loan to Turkey rather than a sale

Yeah he is.....but my comment is just in general. He did his cruciate ligament twice. That can often be a career ending injury so to have it twice before you career even starts cant be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

We all know the drill

Suso - Porto maybe
    Yesil - loan Super Liga
    Alberto - Malaga loan
    Aspas - sale
    Assaidi - sale
    Coady - sale (Sheffield Utd must be interested)
    Robinson - sale probably

If Suso does go to Porto maybe it could pave the way for Alex Sandro rather than Alberto Moreno, could Liverpool at least suggest that? Might be a tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

I'd say that's spot on Mike. I wonder if a higher-up club would look at Coady, he had a great second half to the season.
    Yesil on loan in Turkey is a good move allround.
    I think Aspas may go on loan in Spain, wouldn't get much for him now, maybe get more after a season playing regularly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Will we get cash for Robinson or Coady?

Robinson never seemed to recover after fan forums gave him abuse for giving lip to Luis after he sent in a poor cross and Luis complained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    They've spent two years barely staving off relegation by leaning heavily on the performances of one or two key players. They've looked utterly hapless at times and most certainly in need of more quality and experience. Players in their early twenties aren't always good and players in their thirties aren't always bad. The correct strategy is a winning one.

Going young and cheap with on sale value is much more likely to work when Gerrard and Suarez are already in your team and you aren't leaving yourself depending on Ciaran Clarke at Center half. They needed an amendment in their approach.

Also, Ellis sold to Lerner in 2006.

Young and cheap is always a problem, no matter what team you're buying them for.

You don't get value from young players because they cost way less than their more experienced counterparts (Allen and Henderson for example).
    You get value because you're paying in the same ballpark but for (ideally) a longer stay at the club and, at the end of a normal contract, they'll be in their prime and worth at least some money.

The age of the players they're buying isn't the problem. The calibre is.

With the exception of Benteke, they've had a turnover of terrible players in and out for the past few seasons and have spent **** all.

Really, they should be in the top 10 wealthiest clubs in Britain, but their spending certainly doesn't reflect that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭KingJamsie

One of the lads on this week's Anfield Wrap said Agger & Lucas are 90% gone.

We all had an idea they were up for sale but confirmation soon I'd expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I had pretty much the same list as the Echo. Had a feeling that we would be looking to give Borini another shot given his Sunderland heorics. Hanging onto Borini will mean there's no place for Suso, which is a shame.

Suso - looks all but certain to go given that his demand for regular football just cannot be met. Given his profile though, we should at least be able to get decent enough money for him. You'd be thinking perhaps £4-5 million even with his contract running down.
    Yesil - Trabzonspor is a good move for him. If he gets games, he will get chances and this league should prove a good staging ground as to whether he can make it. Hopefully we won't be giving them an option to buy. I wouldn't be too hopeful though, those two ACL's have probably wrecked his chance at making it at the highest level.
    Alberto - who knows where he'll end up, but he looks out of Rodgers plans. We'd be doing well to get half the £6M we spent on him back.
    Aspas - will only be wanted in Spain you'd think, and most of the interested clubs there are probably bankrupt. We'd be lucky to get half the £8 million we spent on him.
    Assaidi - given his age and what he's shown, I'd say we should be able to get £4 million or so for him.
    Coady - can't see anyone paying anything beyond a small 6 figure sum for him.
    Robinson - proven Championship player, probably worth about half a million

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

KingJamsie wrote: »
    One of the lads on this week's Anfield Wrap said Agger & Lucas are 90% gone.

We all had an idea they were up for sale but confirmation soon I'd expect

two good players there, if 2 years ago someone said those two would be surplus to requirements within 2 years they would have been laughed out the door

I'd like between around 20 million for the pair of them but because of wages we may struggle to get even 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I had pretty much the same list as the Echo. Had a feeling that we would be looking to give Borini another shot given his Sunderland heorics. Hanging onto Borini will mean there's no place for Suso, which is a shame.

Suso - looks all but certain to go given that his demand for regular football just cannot be met. Given his profile though, we should at least be able to get decent enough money for him. You'd be thinking perhaps £4-5 million even with his contract running down.
    Yesil - Trabzonspor is a good move for him. If he gets games, he will get chances and this league should prove a good staging ground as to whether he can make it. Hopefully we won't be giving them an option to buy. I wouldn't be too hopeful though, those two ACL's have probably wrecked his chance at making it at the highest level.
    Alberto - who knows where he'll end up, but he looks out of Rodgers plans. We'd be doing well to get half the £6M we spent on him back.
    Aspas - will only be wanted in Spain you'd think, and most of the interested clubs there are probably bankrupt. We'd be lucky to get half the £8 million we spent on him.
    Assaidi - given his age and what he's shown, I'd say we should be able to get £4 million or so for him.
    Coady - can't see anyone paying anything beyond a small 6 figure sum for him.
    Robinson - proven Championship player, probably worth about half a million

Think given the financial situation in Spain Alberto/Aspas would be better used as bargaining chips in bids for players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Gbear wrote: »
    Young and cheap is always a problem, no matter what team you're buying them for.

You don't get value from young players because they cost way less than their more experienced counterparts (Allen and Henderson for example).
    You get value because you're paying in the same ballpark but for (ideally) a longer stay at the club and, at the end of a normal contract, they'll be in their prime and worth at least some money.

The age of the players they're buying isn't the problem. The calibre is.

With the exception of Benteke, they've had a turnover of terrible players in and out for the past few seasons and have spent **** all.

Really, they should be in the top 10 wealthiest clubs in Britain, but their spending certainly doesn't reflect that.

Young, cheap players is a great market to shop in. Wouldn't be relying on them to carry your team, but remember that:

Suarez cost Groningen £800K at 19 and then Ajax €7.5 million aged 20.
    Ozil moved to Werder Bremen at 20 for €4.3m
    Van Persie cost £2.75m at the age of 21

There's great value in signing young players before they make their big breakthrough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Young, cheap players is a great market to shop in. Wouldn't be relying on them to carry your team, but remember that:

Suarez cost Groningen £800K at 19 and then Ajax €7.5 million aged 20.
    Ozil moved to Werder Bremen at 20 for €4.3m
    Van Persie cost £2.75m at the age of 21

There's great value in signing young players before they make their big breakthrough

They're very much in the minority though.

If you rely on that model you'll end up with 1 Suarez and 50 piles of ****.

For a club to rely on it, especially in a league with the quality of the PL is suicide.